If Jonathan loses, Nigeria will break - Tompolo insists | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 30 January 2015

If Jonathan loses, Nigeria will break - Tompolo insists

Former leader of the Movement for the Emancipation of the Niger Delta (MEND) Government Ekpemupolo (aka Tompolo) has restated the resolve of the Niger Delta warlords to make Nigeria ungovernable if President Jonathan fails to return as president in next month's general election.

In a statement released by his Media Adviser, Mr Paul Bebenimibo, in Warri yesterday January 29th, Tompolo attacked Gen Theophilus Danjuma for calling for his arrest alongside Asari Dokubo and other Niger delta warlords. He said the treaty that merged the Northern and Southern protectorate of Nigeria expired last year and everyone should be grateful to President Jonathan for keeping Nigeria together. Part of his statement after the cut...but meanwhile, the presidency has condemned this war threat from Tompolo and others..

"Gen. Danjuma and his cohorts should know that I remain resolute on my position in Yenagoa, Bayelsa State, that President Goodluck Jonathan must win this election for Nigeria to continue to stay together. Gen. Danjuma should be reminded that the devilish treaty that brought the Southern and Northern Protectorates together in 1914 expired last year. Danjuma and his likes, such as Gen. Buhari, Gen. Obasanjo and Mr. Bola Tinubu, should be grateful to President Jonathan who has been keeping this country together. If not for President Jonathan, Nigeria would not have been any more.  Danjuma and his cohorts should be reminded of the saying that ‘those who live in glass house should not throw stones’. The call by Gen. T.Y Danjuma (rtd) to arrest me and other agitators for a better living for the people of the Niger Delta region is an indication that he is behind terrorism in the North eastern part of the country as well as the stoning of President Jonathan’s convoy in Kastina and Bauchi states, because he has never condemned those acts, even though Boko Haram attacked churches and mosques in his home town. Is Gen. Danjuma not aware of the peaceful atmosphere when Gen. Buhari visited Delta, Rivers and Bayelsa (home state of the President) states for campaign?  Why is it that President Jonathan’s convoy was attacked in Kastina and Bauchi states without any provocation? Who is Gen. Danjuma if not for the oil wealth he is enjoying from the Niger Delta? He should be rather arrested for being behind terrorism in the North. Where was Danjuma when Mallam Ciroma Adamu threatened to make Nigeria ungovernable, if President Jonathan defeated the All Progressive Congress Presidential candidate, Gen. Muhammedu Buhari?  Where was this so called statesman when the APC campaign Director General (DG), Mr. Rotimi Ameachi threatened to form a parallel government if President Jonathan wins the 2015 elections?  Where was this hypocrite when Dr. Junaid Muhammed, Muhammedu Buhari and Atiku Abubakar all said in separate interviews that the nation will boil if Jonathan won the election in 2011? Is it the interest of Nigeria Gen. Danjuma is protecting or his oil bloc in the Niger Delta?  Is it the interest of Nigeria Danjuma is protecting or his 50 million dollars donation to Gen. Buhari for his campaign? Let Gen. Danjuma and his cohorts know that they will not see any Ijaw man, the Igbos and others to fight on their side if the war that they are planning broke up,”.

In a related development, the Ijaw Youths Council (IYC), also released a statement signed by its spokesman, Eric Omare yesterday January 29th where they faulted the call by Gen Danjuma to arrest the Niger Delta ex-militants.

"We are surprised that General Danjuma swiftly called for the arrest of Tompolo, Asari and other Niger-Deltans, whereas he has neither condemned nor called for the arrest of those who have been consistently attacking the convoy of President Jonathan in the northern part of the country. General Danjuma’s call is not deserving of an elder statesman who is supposed to be unbiased rather than his obvious bias against the Niger-Delta people. Only yesterday, in Gombe State a supporter of President Jonathan who was pasting his posters was attacked and seriously brutalised. Why has General Danjuma not condemned this dastardly act if he is really an elder statement? There was no time at the meeting the Governor of Bayelsa State, Hon. Seriake Dickson, with youth leaders and ex-Niger Delta freedom fighters where it was resolved that Niger Delta people would destabilise Nigeria, if President Jonathan fails the February 14, 2015 presidential election. This did not form part of the resolutions of the meeting, which were read out by Hon. Kingsley Kuku for Governor Dickson to transmit to Mr. President. The meeting was called by the Governor of Bayelsa State, to solicit support for President Jonathan from Niger-Delta youths and ex-freedom fighters. However, the meeting frowned at and  its dissatisfaction with the persistent attack on the campaign convoy of President Jonathan in some northern states when General Buhari, his main opponent, was protected and campaigned freely in the south during his campaign tour. Hence, the meeting condemned in the strongest terms the attack on President Jonathan and resolved that nobody can intimidate President Jonathan out of the presidential race. At the meeting, all the youth leaders and ex-Niger Delta freedom fighters resolved to put their grievances aside and agree to work for the re-election of President Jonathan. Therefore, the report on ex-militants threatening to destabilise Nigeria in the event of President Jonathan losing the 2015 election is not part of the resolution of the meeting. The meeting could not have discussed that as we are confident that President Jonathan would win the February 14, 2015 presidential election. We, therefore, call on Nigerians and the security agencies to disregard the call for arrest of Tompolo, Asari and others, which is based on a misleading report. The accusation levelled against President Jonathan by the APC is also unfounded,” the statement said.

270 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 270 of 270

Lmfaoooo

Adokiye said...

These greedy people. Haven't he made enough money? Instead of him to think how bthey can invest the billions they have made they still want to milk the nation dry. We all know its not love for the President but what they can embezzling that is making them threaten fire and brimstone. They also forget they have started living a life of luxury and can't begin to sleep with mosquito's in the creeks anymore. We are watching.

Goodluck Till2019 said...

TY Danbury has shown himself as another bigot. Clap for yourself.

Vote for freedom. Vote for continuity. Vote for progress. Vote GEJ.

For this reason, i'm voting Buhari. Go to hell, moron!

Eze911 said...

Oga, money making militant.
Overnight billionaire wey dey only fight when money dey involved.
Make you help relieve pressure for your patron Jona neck, go join Cameroon, Chad, Niger and your country forces fight Boko Haram..........silence.
I know say sharing of money no dey involved for Boko Haram fight, but you fit make yourself useful for once in your life........silence.
No just siddon for house dey count money, laugh and call your people mumu because you get plenty weapons and don turn your boys into zombies with juju oaths.
How you take different from armed robbers? Your actions dey make your patrons pockets swell and your own too no lack.
Your people condition still dey the same even though your so called brother don dey for FULL power for six years, steal past $20 billion, build estate for wife for Otuoke for another plenty billions.
The most greedy and most incompetent holding power will never bring progress to any region or group of people.

Nonsense! Vote GMB

Royaltyplus.blogspot.com said...

The only reason why am voting for buhary for Nigeria to disintegrate let every one go on it's own way and let there be peace once and for all... because I believe in the federal Republic of Niger Delta, believe in God promise for our land and I believe in Asari Dokubo and Tompolo...
Micho say so.....

The only reason why am voting for buhary for Nigeria to disintegrate let every one go on it's own way and let there be peace once and for all... because I believe in the federal Republic of Niger Delta, believe in God promise for our land and I believe in Asari Dokubo and Tompolo...
Micho say so.....
Niger Delta boy

What is Gbam? Nigeria wont break even if GEJ loses everything ....life goes on

Micho say so.....

and this idiot is walking the street freely

Ure supporting nonentity! Must GEJ win?
It's a contest. If he loses, then he should peacefully go back to Otueke

Very un intelligent piece.....Tompolo you still sound like a Militant...why do they refer to you as an ex-militant?

No u go to hell uninformed fellow. The time 4 carefulness has passed now terror will meet with terror and good and evil will be balanced 4 d first time. D South is ready and very ready to every letter of d word, it doesn't matter what u guys think or believe anymore. D living will envy d dead after all these is over

General Oluwole Buhari, certificate scammer and forger, Islamist, Jihadist, Murderer, Fraudster, Rogue, Thief, Terrorist and Commander In Chief of Boko Haram, has already lost the election and lost his reputation. Very soon, he'll join his brother, Shekau, and commit more atrocities and genocide, but this time around, Buhari will be indicted for murder, genocide and treason and jailed for the rest of his miserable life. Buhari, the FAKE "General" will not rule Nigeria again. Not now. Not ever. Buhari is both uneducated and behaves like an illiterate and a barbarian. Most Nigerians are educated, excluding Buhari, the former goat herder, white man's slave and traitor, who, helped by white imperialists and slave masters, scammed his way to the top in Nigerian Army and stole power.

Dude controls Lagos already..he owns NIMASA.

nystyle@ said...

Yes oil money is what u all are fighting for not nigeria and the care for her, may her ground curse all of you eating her wealth and Not taking care of her. .the ground of nigeria curse every asari dokubo to danjuma who eat from Nigeria ' s ground yet ruin her due to militants activities. ..may the word of God be manifest in 2015 upon them according to deut28, 15 TO 65.

That would be nice for a Buhari govt, cos trouble in the Delta will mean increase in oil price. And judging by the growing hatred between Itshekiris, Ijaws and Urhobos nothing will happen. Besides these clowns have amassed so much wealth that going back into the trenches would mean no more lives of luxury. Shut your trap and better go sit, ICC is waiting for you.

Gerry said...

Gbam. GEJ till 2019

Those of u hiding behind ya phones nd laptops 2 type nonsense re more stupid, calling tompolo an attention seeker??? Really????? Has dajuma called 4 d arrest of d BH leader????? Mean while boko haram can't stand naija delta militants... Tompolo aint asari, he carries out his promises, lemme also remind u guys that there's an ateke tom who's more powerful than tompolo nd asari put 2geda.... If jona loses we will fight.... No 2 ways

Lol ,true tlk o!!!

Joy said...

This is my first time on great lindas Ikejis blog and I commend dear linda for her strong will of purpose to remain the no 1 blogger till date. God be with you sister linda ikeji. Now to the post. I wish people can read and understand clearly Tompolos reasons than to call him names. I stand fully behind Tompolo and all other Niger delta current or ex militants. The hypocrites of these hausa Fulani born to rule is something else. They want peace when they are in the South but when you go up north they insult you and throw stones. Can you imagine a president of the country being stoned because he went to campaign and their almighty buhari was all over the place in the south campaigning without any incident?. I wonder why people are not seeing the handwriting on the wall. A disaster is in the offing should buhari be allowed to rule Nigeria a second time. I stand by all Niger deltans and the larger Southeastern and western Nigeria. Say no to buhari, say no to the sharialization of Nigeria if buhari is elected

God bless you.GEJ has been there for 6 years.has the region improved?

Rule where??????. We Yoruba will never allow a clueless man to rule us

BICESTER VILLAGE said...

We have the power to hold our leaders accountable let's unite ourselves and vote for the right person come election day.

In as much as I want GEJ till 2019, I do not understand why people have refused to be constructive.
What is all the threat and trouble about? Not necessary abeg. We should be asking and doing the best for our dear nation.
This is what the politicians have failed to understand.

adeola said...

Yes! They ain't blabbing but they tend to forget in hurry what happened before amnesty especially tompolo..........

To polo or whatever you call yourself, Nigeria will never break if Jonathan loses because the country is too big for one person. Jonathan does not owe Nigeria neither you or Asari. You guys are just ranting like a toothless bulldog. You cannot do anything. Wait until Buhari wins, he will send all of you to where you belong 'jail'.

To polo or whatever you call yourself, Nigeria will never break if Jonathan loses because the country is too big for one person. Jonathan does not owe Nigeria neither you or Asari. You guys are just ranting like a toothless bulldog. You cannot do anything. Wait until Buhari wins, he will send all of you to where you belong 'jail'. Senseless fools!

Please how is my Jonathan keeping Nigeria together?.. is it with his teeth?.. be thinking like Fish...@Mr tompolo.. if noone has told you, Jonathan is one of Nigeria's biggest Mistake!

cindy black said...

And You're not after your daily bread?

James Olorunosebi said...

I don't blame To polo fighting so vehemeny for G.I.Joe because his govt awarded him the contract of protecting the territorial waters of Nigeria which allows him to buy those 7 Norwegian armed with missiles warships. Besides how are we sure these guys are in their right thinking faculties. I hope the Intelligence Agencies are monitoring them and gathering data on them.

STARGAZER said...

THE TRUTH IS THAT SOME OF YOU WHO MAKE COMMENTS ON THIS BLOG ARE UNINFORMED ABOUT THE SEVERITY OF WHAT THE MILITANTS IN THE NIGERDELTA CAN PERPETRATE ON THE ECONOMY OF THIS NATION, IF YOU DO, YOU WOULDNT MAKE CRAZY COMMENTS BUT READ IN BTW THE LINE, TRUST ME I WORK IN THE OIL SECTOR, I CAN ASSURE YOU THAT NIGERIAS LIFEWIRE IS THE NIGERDELTA. THESE SO CALLED CHANGE CRONIST WILL LIVE WELL WITH THEIR FAMILIES WHEN DISHARMONY BEGINS IN THIS COUNTRY. THE BOKOHARAM INSURGENCY IS ONLY A CHILDS PLAY......ALL THE FUNDS STATES GOVTS GO TO SHARE IN ABUJA AT THE END OF THE MONTH WILL END AS SOON AS THESE SON OF ANARCHY STARTS TO DESTROY OUR OIL FACILITIES, BELIEVE ME WHEN THIS STARTS, NIGERDELTANS WILL BEGIN TO EXPORT THE CRUDEOIL THEM SELVES, THEN THERE WILL BE NO GOVT TO DIE FOR, IF YOU THINK ITS A JOKE....WELL PRAY HARDER....I AM NOT MAKING A CASE FOR THE MILITANTS, BUT I AN=M A NIGERDELTAN.....TRUST ME THE REAL SUFFER GO START

Apart from crude oil what else do they have in Niger Delta? If they leave nigeria who will suffer....seriously Smh

Shut up. Is BOOHARI the change. Has he told you how hes going to bring about the change? Fish brain like you

All of you are biased. Is it proper that years back ppl had made threat statements that Nigeria will boil and its indeed boiling. And no state man spoke up until now. Ya'll had better take off the nylon from ur eyes. All of a sudden you need change. Na today naija start to dey spoil? All of a sudden Nigeria should change over night in Goodlucks regime. I can't wait for when Buhari will dissapoint you all and you start crying wolf.

Go and read the article before you start talking shit

Ode raised to power 100. Nigeria will break. I don't even want to be a part of you guys anymore. A part of ppl bullying the nigerdeltans

BOOHARI will so disappoint you. He has tried it before. Everyone screamed change change change. Was he able to rule for up to two yrs? His reforms were not working sooner than later ppl got tired. BOOHARI will fail Nigeria

Shattaaaaaappppp you dirty mouth. Isn't he better than those blood sucking Boko Haram demons? He's a freedom fighter. He fought for the right of the ppl of his community. And not senselessly bombing them. Olodo. Can you even differentiate reality from fiction?

OMG!WOMAN said...

True my brother. All this old state men won't let it happen again over their death body. Northern and western politicians aren't just used to not having the lions share from the federal purse while the other part of the country are begging from them and saying yes sir to them to survive, that's why they are beating themselves up. All this change they are screaming they just want to be the commanders in chiefs to the federal money. Them no see to chop as them dey chop before since the birth of Nigeria and some foolish Nigerians are joining them to shout change. What change. Change only for their pocket? Do they really have our interest at heart? Why hasn't this changed occurred since they were ruling till now.

Ya? Any right thinking igbo , cross river, akwa ibom, Niger deltans. Should even act stupid to support buhari. Because this is a tribal war. Nothing else.

Shattaaaapppp Bonario

They are war Lords. Not so called. They were courageous enough to fight for the freedom and liberation of their ppl. And not senseless bombing their very own ppl.

OMG!WOMAN said...

At least someone here sounds sane. Let silly Nigeria n's join politicians that are only concerned about their pockets to be screaming sily change.

He's not mad. He speaks the truth. Why didn't any state man speak up when some one said they will make Nigeria ungovernable. And some others said Nigeria will boil. You sound insane to say he's mad when the truth and his point is so glaring.

Fool of the highest order

My dear brother. Stupid,greedy, self serving., state men. They don't condemn bombing churches and ppl saying Nigeria will boil. They only condemn this

GBAM!!!!! This ppl are all fucken tribalist. He won't condemn ppl saying they will make Nigeria ungovernable. He won't condemn them saying they will make it boil. He won't condemn the bombing. Yet speak up cos a Niger deltan said something. God punish Danjuma. God pass u.

Right sir. Cos in the absence of retaliation it'd cheating. Why can't the north just forget thus thing. Let Jonathan rule in peace and leave. Is governance their birth right?

NICE RESPONSE. #TO BE OR NOT TO BE#

What change. Fake agents of fake change

Spell stark well before you label someone an illiterate. Smh for some libers

Buhari and atiku said the nation will boil

Be ready to declare your Odua Islamic Republic if your tribe is not made up of bunch of greedy cowards...

U can see how 'loose' your mouth is. U and ur APC bigots are in for a big surprise.

FailBuhari 14 shall hit you like tsunami.

Be ready to declare your republic

...while your kinsmen are busy looting the oil wealth from someone else's backyard. Time shall tell.

Faceless coward, be bold enough to mention the your part of SS.

Be ready to form Odua Republic. Bunch of treasury-looters!

Who cares if you and your people join Arewa Islamic Republic? Arrant nonsense from parasites, sycophants and saboteurs who can do nothing on their own.

Is Nigeria making progress with greedy and tribalistic bigots like you? Arrant nonsense!

U cn go join ur alhaji in Borno State.

Stupid ranting from tribalistic and greedy treasury-looters!

And u still think d oil wealth shd continue to be looted by ur kinsmen?

Speak for yourself and not for Igbos. You can do well to become a member of Arewa group. Nonsense!

What change do expect a man who sold out country out to bring? U know nothing so u better watch what u say!

hello people, i am shocked at the comments most of you Nigerians are making, i am sure you all havent done your history lessons well.
to be honest, Nigeria cannot stand any war,i am sure that none of you guyz watched your parents or family member buchered during biafra war. may God not allow us see any of such again in this beloved country. the Northerners have been in power since forever, corruption started with them, yet i cant believe most Nigerians will dance to the tune of their music this time. allow GEJ finish his tenior and then you guyz can assign to whoever you want to.
trust me, Nigerians are one of the best soldiers trained for war in Africa, lets not start what we cant finish, GEJ have avoided too many wars for this country and you all cant see it.

do you expect him to level the north like Udi because Boko Haram started there?
do you expect him to bomb the sambisa forrest because Boko Haram captured the girls and they are somewhere in the forest?

Boko Haram members lives in houses, streets, communities,villages, states, in this same country and i am sure the indigene of those states know the rebels in their homes, streets, communities, what are they doing about it?

i am no fool, and i dont think Nigerians are, but these politicians are actually taking us for granted.

let GEJ finish his term and leave peacefully.

AS i speak, trust me i am 90 yrs and speaking from experince.

ask your mothers and fathers what really happened during Biafra and how it started, it all started like this.

long live Nigeria

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 270 of 270   Newer› Newest»