History 101: Free Nigerian Education Cards... | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 31 January 2015

History 101: Free Nigerian Education Cards...

When primary school education cost nothing in the past - 1965. Current Nigerian politicians need to take a cue from this. Credit: @SeeMeSeeNigeria.

151 comments:

Dave Mide said...

if wishes were horses!

OMG!WOMAN said...

Nigeria got so corrupt

We have to pay a fortune to be educated now

Sadly Nigeria can't go back to dat agn. Now na tiving dey everybody eyes, mcheeeeeeeeew! Linda take note!

Primary school education shouldn't cost a thing, especially with all the money those in power are stealing. If public funds were applied properly, there's nothing stopping this from happening in 9ja!

They wont take any cue!!! They hav our money at their dis posal to send their children to oxford for quality education....yle the poor Nigerian child attends "Aba-owerri road primary school". God will judge them

A better Nigeria is coming, come Febuhari.

Sadly Nigeria can't go back to dat agn. Now na tiving dey everybody eyes, mcheeeeeeeeew! Linda take note!

How days have changed!

wow. gone are those days. It will take a man of discipline and selflessness to adopt this.

linda you forgot to add as it was stated in the picture .. the education was free in WESTERN NIGERIA

Hmmmmm you can imagine, what's suppose to be happening don turn history, waiting for better Nigeria
!
!
!
**man in suit**

Ain't nothing free about Education Now#smh#

Hope all these self-centered politicians going about deceiving People in d name of campaign can reconstruct their minds and work for d better changes in our educational sector dis country will be positively great.

That was when education was worth it in Nigeria not dis days when there is nothing to write abt Nigeria education mostly@d public level.

God help us. We wil definitely get there.

That was when education was worth it in Nigeria not dis days when there is nothing to write abt Nigeria education mostly@d public level.

gud 2 knw
xyz(Dara-ima)

If only they could. God bless Awolowo

Joy(sharonlady002@yahoo.com said...

Oh yes i think dey really shud do

Naijasportscrib.com said...

Good Old Days...but I mean we can still do this with the right leaders in place. Vote wisely.

http://naijasportscrib.com/

This is when 9ja was still good not now. Samuel_augustina@yahoo.com

STORY, STORY.............STORY

@SOPHIA STEPHEN

Free education nowadays is totally meaningless cuz d headmasters/mistresses still collect money from d pupils coupled with teachers who can't even spell their names.

Good old days... when moi moi was still five naira.

Abi oooo

Heya, gone re those days...

CAN IT BE FASTFORWARD TODAY ATLEAST TO HELP THE POOR HAVE THE BASIC EDUCATION

Nda dnt think there were private schools then, besides govt. Schools are still free now

kenkypresh said...

Wow! Chai! Lord pls raise up this kind of Nigeria again

Mehn!!! I wish.. Nigeria was sooo cool then.

I want you to see this:
Dear Linda,
This is your regular commenter Oluchi Lambert fefeson2002@yahoo.com
I received a mail yesterday from Linda Ikeji on how to claim my prize on which I tried to download but the attached file didnt download. So I click reply to say the file didnt download. Not long after that I started receiving text message on my Mtn phone that I have reset my password for both yahoo and gmail. Then I quickly tried to log in to my yahoo behold it has been compromise, them I tried to log into gmail, the same time.
The address that sent the mail with user name LINDAIKEJI is nathbennet@yahoo.com but the number of the person that hacked my account is 08090566817 and the alternative email he provided is mr.davidclarke05@gmail.com
I have recovered my yahoomail like 6 times today and he still change something and take over the yahoomail. I know he is doing this becos of the 25k I won what people can do for money.
Pls I beg you Linda dont accept any account details that is not my name. My name is Oluchi E. Lambert and I have account with that name.
Now I have being able to recovery the yahoo account but I am going for reception now, he may take over the account before I come back. He may keep doing this till you send the mail on how to claim the 25k please I beg just give me sometime to sort this out, I have called him and begged him to release my account.
Just wanted you yo know.
Pls I will get back to you when I come back later.
For now I cant comment with my name because I have not being able to recover my gmail account.

ow I wish it was still like dat now..it would b easy for sum parents..Nigeria I dunno wed a we going from good to bad Abi d bad to bad..we really nid a good leader

Wow, interesting.

They really need to oo

history never die
our politicians should learn from this

End of Month Prayer for Linda (January)

As you have put a smile on the faces of your readers and commentators through your educative, interesting, captivating, investigative and exposing posts. Also through your philanthropic nature of LIB Giveaways too numerous to mention, and the self made project for young ladies that u just embarked on, my prayer for you are thus-

You will never see shame
You will never know lack
You will experience no sickness
You will be above your mates
You shall break new grounds
You will enjoy God's peace
You will enjoy God's protection
Your family will celebrate you beyond how you are being celebrated now.
You shall meet the man of your dreams before the end of the year in Jesus name, amen.

Jane Ike winner of LIB 2015 N100K

Ekene Obodo said...

Tho commendable but is not strange to me cos, as an indigene of Delta state, ma primary education was free n we only paid boarding fee in ma secondary school

Toor...... Tell dem

Secondary nd primary sch education is free in lagos state,wit books sef..... d pupils jst resume sch wit dier bags nd pens...

Free education in western Nigeria....so its xclusively for the west.....good to know

••••••QUEENMAYA•••••••

They enjoyed it and depriving us of it

For where? Them no get the time to take a cue unfortunately most of them benefited from it.

Hmmmmmmmmn well quality education ain't cheap so don't be misled my people

@Tamara said...

Of course these selfish old hag politicians knew the benefits because they benefited a whole lot from during that time and many of them leading us today were either placed on scholarship or paid little.....so how on earth will they value such program.

gone wre dos days. omase ooooo

I tell u

Awolowo wz a great man

Woww cool.

exactly. true talk.

visit pamscrib.blogspot.com

What are you saying its happening now even to secondary level ,but my Governor TA orji stopped the secondary level stuff and put in some fees but he still claims on media he's giving free education till secondary level.He's owing teachers 4months salary oooh since October Linda hear this,S.O.S.

#Linda's give away

during buhari regime abi

#LIBBOO
I WILL RATHER BE SELF MADE

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

Gone are those days. #happysaturday

Current politicians wont see dis now oooooo......Its irrelevant things dey will be arguing about.......

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB.....

And where is Jude's wife? I guess she hasnt gotten back her pre- pregnancy body,dats why she isnt taking pictures.

Not even the cost now, but the standard and environment.

Them never chop the oil money finish let alone free education

Cynthia Iyede said...

Hnmmm! When will it ever be like this again? Its well

Kam nukwa that this happened. The government will even increase the school fees sef.

Princess G said...

Good old days.

Our present leaders ole....bt GMB all d way

I pray so. Wot most of our politicians are after now is to mak policies dat suit dem n thr pocket n not d masses. May GOD help Nigeria

Shay na like this we go dey deyyyyy?

Zombie huntress said...

Oh I doubt if our corrupted politicians will

Those days are far gone...

Why don't you always link to your source?

Wow.... Were them fishout this paper abeg.....

What an iconic post. Thanks linda plzz tell them.

Upon nigeria has more money now than then
Still this kind of is not done except in some state
I wish for a nigeria of that time

Good old days

Charlotte love said...

Politicians take note

Wish it can still be so.

Linder corruption is the order of the day in our political structure...YES! Its everywhere but Nigeria own too much and too obvious...the little opportunity they see to deprive the masses of something good they tend to.sieze it...well their urge for state money won't allow them to think good

God will restore Nigeria

Redcandy said...

Na wa o. How times have changed....

Redcandy
****www.idoncomeagain.com****

cutestlove said...

I pray!!!

They will never learn....stealing is their handiwork.

Buhari didn't get this card or he was busy discussing with the principal when the card was shared. Well, I wish that R Kelly sing will play again. Hands of time

Linda Ikeji said...

It's so sad how education has degenerated in this country over the years. Public schools up to university level has become play grounds for delusional kids.

Amablaze said...

Chaiii Nigeria don spoil ohh..Infact e don jagajaga*inedrisabdulkareem'svoice*..rite naw govt skools even pay pass sum private skool..smh...

LINDA OLAMIDE IS A FUCKTARD. YOU WERE RIGHT AFTERALL. HE DESERVES ALL THE NAMES HE CALLED YOU PLUS MORE. OLOSHI OLAMIDE!!!

Can u imagine. These retards ve now commercialize education they got free of charge to the extent that Churches have now turn it to big binnez. Our retarded leaders have murdered peace.

When it costs nothing, the spiral downwards would be ten times what it is now.

Lol. Good oll days

OKORO UPGRADED **

Till date D West still ve more educated people than any tribe in Nigeria bcus of dis free education offered by Pa Awo.

This is when Nigeria was still a country...it's now a one man's business. God help us

Linda, I have recovered my yahoo and gmail account. Some people are over computer guru but this guy suffered my today sha.
I had to beg and beg before he removed his phone number and reset the account using my phone number. He even gave the new password.

Linda, I have recovered my yahoo and gmail account. Some people are over computer guru but this guy suffered my today sha.
I had to beg and beg before he removed his phone number and reset the account using my phone number. He even gave the new password.

When every body eye don tear for money

gidis said...

Hmmm word....n meanwhile linda guess u were rit wen u put up a post bout olamide's gf bn pregnant 9mnths ago bt ma Q is "y den ws he furious bck den"?

Otunba Pumba1 said...

dis is d naija we crave for n APC will make it happen in due time wen elected...
GOD BLESS NIGERIA!!!

Even if there is free education now,will the children of our leaders school in Nigeria.NO

We say thank u to Awolowo.

I went 2 govt skul n my parents paid 4 dat, our govt shud beta do somtin abt. Free education but yet dey still pay more dan Som private schools.

iRep_LAFTYLAD said...

Exactly!!! My State Governor, Rochas, is doing that already at University level and it encouraged more Imolites to enroll for studies. Kudos to him on that one!

#RollWithMe

iRep_LAFTYLAD said...

Exactly!!! My State Governor, Rochas, is doing that already at University level and it encouraged more Imolites to enroll for studies. Kudos to him on that one!

#RollWithMe

iRep_LAFTYLAD said...

#RollWithMe & #RollWithMe

Primary education is free in Rivers State, I don't know about the other states.

<< LIB Addict >>

Awww when naija ws better than Yankee

Wilsoniyke said...

If Nigeria is ruled by good historians our country would have been a better country because there is a lot more to remember... it's a pity for being ruled by forgetful minds..

Amen to the prayer. Lmao to the last part.

Can u imagine d extent an idiotica can go to collect another person's 25k...Linda I pray u read dis comment n help dis chick out. naija I hail!!!

LMAO!!!

Vote for Buhari and Osinbajo, for #change#! He can do it. Don't let people deceive people party, deceive u. They are coming again oh!!! Shine ur eyes well, OJB, called them hawks that surround GEJ, Its has been proven that we are not moving forward. For past 6 years now, all what they do is to recycle themselves, and continuity embezzlement of Nigerian money, people deceive people party, that is their mentality, my people the rain may fall, the sun may shine, but doesn't disturb the snail to get to its destination. No matter what people deceive people say, about GMB, u nd I'll overcome them! Nigerians! Wake-up! the time has come my people lives matter. PDP party and corruption insecurity darkness no electricity bad government must go. Dear Nigerian's pls forget tribalism especially we the youths, we need change in our country Nigeria, pls lets vote right nd make Nigeria a better place for u nd I,ur children/unborn children nd the next generation. We re tired of CORRUPTION, GREED, ND INSECURITY, etc. That has eaten so deep into our past nd present leaders, the unfair treatment to the masses especially,the rich getting richer while the poor are getting poorer. Its so sad. May God continue to be with us Amen. Vote for #change# vote Buhari and Osinbajo. For president next month 14th.

Vote for Buhari and Osinbajo, for #change#! He can do it. Don't let people deceive people party, deceive u.They are coming again oh!!! Shine ur eyes well, OJB, called them hawks that surround GEJ, Its has been proven that we are not moving forward. For past 6 years now, all what they do is to recycle themselves, and continuity embezzlement of Nigerian money, people deceive people party, that is their mentality, my people the rain may fall, the sun may shine, but doesn't disturb the snail to get to its destination. No matter what people deceive people say, about GMB, u nd I'll overcome them! Nigerians! Wake-up! the time has come my people lives matter. PDP party and corruption insecurity darkness no electricity bad government must go. Dear Nigerian's pls forget tribalism especially we the youths, we need change in our country Nigeria, pls lets vote right nd make Nigeria a better place for u nd I,ur children/unborn children nd the next generation. We re tired of CORRUPTION, GREED, ND INSECURITY, etc. That has eaten so deep into our past nd present leaders, the unfair treatment to the masses especially,the rich getting richer while the poor are getting poorer. Its so sad. May God continue to be with us Amen. Vote for #change# vote Buhari and Osinbajo. For president next month 14th.

Osafele Fredrick said...

The days has gone, Nigeria can't get back to that stage because of our urge to make money by all means

Linda your blog has become borrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrring! There's hardly ever gist this days

Emeka MacCarthy said...

The better person is surrounded by those we have looted our treasury, his daughter is schooling abroad and he pays over 40 million naira per section were did he get the money? Please no be is good they are all after their own interest.

Is it a 73 year old man you want to rule Nigeria? Why are Nigerians so wicked? Buhari is old and feeble! Do you want to push him to his grave?

Sai Buhari

My dear.

At Irabo you lie. You don't even know your right from left. What change do u anticipate. Buhari will so dissappoint you

Politicians then were there to serve the people unlike what we have now.
@Carlos via Nokia Lumia

CELEB said...

Loll@Aba-owerri road primary school. Anyway, we dont understand how deep corruption has eaten into Nigeria. If any Govt does this, the teacher will find means to collect the fees back, onstead of tissue and soap, they might request cooperate suits and shoes!

At last!
welcome back...

Taichi Chichi Okere said...

Truth's if our funds're judiciously managed,Nigeria can still afford free quality education up till secondary school level and personally:I believe nursery and primary education're most important because they lay the foundation.

HAWT TALH WITH TOSAN said...

And I bet it was way better!

U'r a Mumu

ehisokhai@yahoo.com said...

Guess linda went on a date...cuz she cnt tell me dere is no news worth posting all dis tym..

change that has no agenda? change from what to what? dont deceive nigerians we dont need old brains in this new generation,,,,,,,,,,shame on APC all u could present to us is a man who is afraid to face gej on a face to face debate, what a pity........

Buhari receives millions monthly as a former Head of State. With this funds, he hasn't ventured into any business; even if it's a small-scale industry to create employment for his people. For Buhari to receive millions as allowance, and turn around to tell us he borrowed money from the bank to pick up party nomination form, proves he is a bad manager. Gowon went back to school to improve himself; he has a PhD. The same thing with Obasanjo who has written several books (though some are controversial). With the hundreds of millions that the Federal Government uses to sustain Buhari as ex-Head of State, he has neither improved himself education wise nor economically. If a man doesn't have ideas on how to improve the economy of his family, how is he going to handle Nigeria's economy. In an interview on Channels Tv, Buhari said he will stabilize oil price. Do you see how dumb he is? Does the Nigerian President fix oil price? Maybe he is referring to groundnut oil.

Buqore said...

Am back+linda is my role model!

Not just that my dear..we need a man who goes by the name David or Elijah..Surely

Shut ur trap already

Tinubu demanding three (3) oil wells from buhari if he wins. That is the corruption they want fight and the change they are chanting everywhere.

Under Goodluck we wil get dia soon. #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Primary School education is still free till date in all government Schools. What are you guys here blabbing about???? I dont get all this rubbish. If you send your child to a private Primary School, are you expecting it to be free??? So many Nigerians are so clueless. Linda Ikeji research some more before coming up with such Posts. I have relatives in Primary Schools and they dont pay a dime ( Delta state to be precise)

Anon 1:30, Linda only sees what she wants to c.

jay00 said...

my father benefited from this dats y today am in Canada

U ppl are dreaming. U are talking abt Nigeria when this was only in the Western Nigeria. I guess LInda got all of u confused by insinuating it was in Nigeria.

Linda post news now
Why the silence
There are plenty news everywhere

Nigeria Is so screwed.

Nigeria, Nigeria. Linda pls find another way of giving people this money. I hate the extent these scammers goes both locally and internationally. But everyone is quick to criticize the govt. If these kind of people get close to power, tell me what will happen in Nigeria.
Whoever that is doing this, May you know no peace until you repent.

Shalom in Nigeria, Amen.

Lmao, u already win 2015. Amen to your prayers.

Shalom in Nigeria, Amen.

not gonna happen in this century

Mercy seat said...

Things can only get better... Amen!

oloriananda said...

this was only in western nigeria. ask your parents if education in the east was free cos i doubt it.

Prince Ovie said...

"We do not know if we change, things will get better but if things must get better, WE MUST CHANGE!"

You are welcome dear

Buhari For 2015