On November 10th 2014, 16 year old Kilee Brookbank returned to her home in Georgetown, Ohio and perceived a strange odour. To combat the odour, Kilee lit a candle and that was when her life changed forever. The house immediately exploded and she was engulfed in flames that razed off 25% of her skin. The freak explosion
burned off her finger tips, hair, eyebrows, eyelashes, and
obliterated the skin from her arms, back, legs, face, and stomach with
third-degree burns.
The fire was so aggressive it went right to the fat beneath her skin, leaving her hands milk-bottle white
Her
mother and stepfather were at work when the house exploded and Kilee
ran out the half destroyed walls into the street on fire. Her neighbours began throwing buckets of water on
her as they made efforts to call her parents. She
was rushed to a helipad with her mother then flown to Cincinnati
Children's Hospital 20 minutes away, then transferred to the specialist
unit at Shriner's down the road where her father met them.
In
the emergency room doctors cut open her arms in a desperate bid to
reduce the swelling, while she was given oxygen, an IV, and doused in
antibiotic solution.
Incredibly, the 16 year old has made a quick recovery two months later and and this week she
took the ultimate step to go back to school. After four operations,
skin grafts on her hands, and two months of physiotherapy, Kilee has
returned to RULH High School, where she is honour student and plays
soccer. She is one out of many lucky people who have escaped the harsh
effect of fire outbreak.
"I guess I'm just lucky,' Brookbank said to WCPO "It makes you stronger. You don't take anything for granted. It's life changing. I know there's worse things that can happen.'
Few could imagine anything much worse than lighting a candle to get rid of a foul smell, then almost burning to death.
'It
felt normal,' she said. 'My body felt the same, kind of numb. My hands
felt different. I remember it was really hot, but it didn't hurt.'
Investigators are still working to understand the cause of the fire, which is likely to have been a propane gas leak. See her pics below...
Source: UK Daily Mail
110 comments:
Choi....gladchinyere@gmail.com
Omg
Choi....gladchinyere@gmail.com
woooow.... quite a story
Omg
Coker.busayo@gmail.com
Thank God for her life
Kia...nawa ooo
Awwwww!
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone
God pass Oyibo sha
Wow! a clear case of "When there is life there is hope"
Please click on my name for Fashion/Fitness/Beauty tips
Heya fine girl...
God is awesome #hoperestored#
Jane Ike winner of LIB N100K 2015
Omg!
Thank God she survived it and alive
If na Naija make she forget am oooo. If she try reach hospital..you'll hear stuff like we don't attend to burn here, we'll refer her to LUTH and b4 she'll get to LUTH (BY ROAD), we'll start hearing stories that touch. olaoluwa.emmanuel@yahoo.com
I tell you, after God na oyinbo dey follow. Linda take note!
God works in many ways..
Hey Gladys I've started again o...this is not the rite post nowwwww.
Thanksgiving on her mind. Amazin miracle
Wow that's good....chai na why I like oyinbos,they are too good
I tell you, after God na oyinbo dey follow. Linda take note!
God is good to her. benotekcomputers@gmail.com
Glad she's getting better
Good she had a quick recovery.
Wow! Am happy for her. She is so pretty #onelovefromsnow#
Good she had a quick recovery.
She's a happy child. ..Happiness is key to a fast recovery..
This is so touching..such a beauty
Visit my blog
www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com
Wow....she looks so happy
"Heaven on earth!!!! Wonders without end,that's my new realm"
In other news... Happy birthday @Ellen degenres and @Moriho and @Anita baker....today in history
thank God for her quick recovery.the pain must have been unimaginable.
Liflblog.WordPress.com
Wow. Daz gr8. # oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#
Good, she resurrect.. Haha! But she somehow looks like Miley or do i need my glasses to be fix right? My observation though.
StillDatSame2015Dude
awwwww, it can only be God....
good.. tank God oh
Thank God for her life.
testing testing of the mic
Choi! Thank God for her life oo
Wow!
Thank God 4d recovering.
THANK GOD for divine healing.
Aww she's really strong
testing the mic
miracle, happy for her
But d recovery is really amazing...
Thank God all d same.
Hmmmm,
But stil it can not b as it was b4.
Really incredible...
Faith #
thank God for her life.
Helicopters, quick response and professionalism, that is one of the many things I got from this article. I wonder when a hospital will own a helicopter for quick transfer of patients for medical emergencies! I wondered what would have being the fate of the kid if she had had the misfortune of being a Nigerian, she would probably have died or be scarred for life!
She really went through pains no doubt, thank God for progress....
nice to see her gradually getting back to normal life
Well, tank God she wasn't killed by de fire.
MR EDDY said this harmattan is sponsored by MTN. It is everywhere u go.
To God be the glory.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~
god is indeed great.
Thank God for you dear
Plz dis Gladys girl get a life ur beginning to sound irritating
thank God for her life. i bet if na nigeria, make i hear
There's nothing like adequate medicare. If it wasa in my country nigeria, she's good as dead or she will have permanet scarsa and discolorations when she recovers. Smh. Thank God for her
Wow, thank God for her life oh!
Thank God for life.
Thank God
WOW WOW FINE GAL SORRI. THANK GOD SHE MADE IT
@ julie Louis true talk... Nigerians wake-up my people lives matter. PDP party and corruption insecurity darkness no electricity bad government must go. vote for #change# vote Buhari and Osinbajo. For president next month 14th!
we thank God for life of this gal,i can only imagine what the whole family would have gone through,thank God it ended in prasies.
am happy for her and it also remained me of myself i had the same issue..mine was complete 1st and second degree burn from head to toe and i spent like 13month in the hospital here in Nigeria and to the glory of GOD i only have few scars on my chest to stomach every other part of my body is OK that u wont even know i had such accident
lucky girl. Thank God for her life and doctors. Imagine surviving an explosion.
God is really wonderful!!..The God of impossibilities...dat's wat I call Him.
Thank God for her quick recovery.
GOD IS WONDERFUL
all thanks to God for a saved life
thank God it in d western world nd NAIJA cus too much story like hospital bills or can't treat r in dis hospital.
WISHING HER MORE RECOVERY!!! WHAT A MIRACLE WORKING GOD JC
thank God for her life..wish u quick recovery
i love you linda
Thank God for her life.
Thank God for her. She is beautiful
She's so fortunate..wow! Its amazing how she healed quickly
Am so impressed, if it's in Niger nigga 4get dat babe.
She is so lucky datsammy@gmail.com
Wow!!! Thank God she is fine and she will recover safely in Jesus name. Amen.
Awwwwwwww, thank God for her. Good health care services is very important in a country.
Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.
I wonder if she would have survived or what she would look like if she was in Nigeria.
Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.
Chai! Ekene dili onyenwe anyi
#nothankyoui'llratherbeselfmade#
God is faithful, in as much as i see the hand of God upon her, such incidents get you thinking, when will Naija get to this level? if it had happened back home here in Naija nko?
its a miracle....happy for her for the quick recovery
she is indeed a lucky one...#wondering if such had happened in nigeria, what would have been her faith**just thinking out loud**
Judging by your comment you sound like an illiterate, comments like these are the sole reason white people look at black people especially Africans as if we are still monkeys.
Thank God for her life, she is rily strong o... And thank God its abroad, here in naija wit no money, d person will be dead and buried now..8-| ˚°◦hmmm!.. All is well
Awww Alhamdullilah
thank God for her.
www.udokajane.blogspot.com
wow tnk God
Wow!! Really Ms Linda this is INCREDIBLE!! She is so damn lucky..
God is great. If na for Naija e don be for her be dat o
Thank God for her life.On the first of January a Nigerian couple and their two kids died mysteriously in Mexico by exact same thing.May God protect us
This white are jst too good medically; imagine d transformation within a short. Space of time...waOo so AMAZING...
THANK GOD FOR QUICK RECOVERING
Thank God for her life and this amazing recovery
Thank God for her life......she's really lucky
awesome God, she's back on her feet
Wow!... God's work! ~ceze
May God Almighty be praised! Amen!
Thank God for saving her life
All the same, thank God
The grace and love of God on this girl's life is wonderful. Thank God she is still alive to tell her story.
Happy ffor hr
congratulations ooo... total recovery for u by Gods grace ooo.
ifeayomi2009@gmail. com
http://payfunda.biz/reflink/?share=wizzy033
She's a strong girl
'Tis God giving her a chance to call on Jesus.
But we r still monkeys. To register to vote na fight and horrendous queues with pple paying to get infrnt. To get d pvc another drama altogether....wake up Nigeria