Who knew DaBrat and Lisa Raye were sisters | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 3 September 2016

Who knew DaBrat and Lisa Raye were sisters

Actress Lisa Raye, 49, and rapper, Da Brat, 42, are biological sisters with the same father, David Ray McCoy, but different mothers.

Ray McCoy was a well known Chicago businessman, who owned several hotels and nightclubs, and he was also known to lend money to people who wanted to start their own businesses. He was brutally murdered in 1988 by his girlfriend and her brother..

From Iloveoldschoolmusic.com
David McCoy (pictured in a framed photo in the above pic of Lisa Raye) was found shot to death on November 12, 1988 in the back seat of his Cadillac, which was parked in a Southside Chicago alley. He was 52 years old. McCoy's then 32 year old live-in girlfriend of 10 years, Sheila Daniels, and her then 20 year old brother, Tyrone, were convicted of McCoy's murder in 1990. Sheila was slapped with an 80 year sentence and Tyrone was hit with 60 years.
There are various reports of the motive behind McCoy's murder. According to Chicago Tribune, three of McCoy's other daughters, Jehlan, Morgan, and Cynthia, believe Daniels killed their father because she found out he was about to cut her out of his will. While other reports state that Daniels killed him after the two had an argument at their home over a high electric bill. Tyrone claimed he shot McCoy only after his sister, Sheila delivered the fatal shot to McCoy's head. They then drove McCoy's body in his Cadillac to the alley and left him there
On September 16, 1997 - just one year before Lisa Raye made her debut in "The Players Club" and during the height of Da Brat's multiplatinum selling career- their dad's girlfriend, Sheila Daniels, was officially convicted AGAIN for his murder. She had appealed her original 1990 conviction and ended up getting convicted for the exact same amount of time as her prior sentence- 80 years.
Throughout the years, Da Brat and Lisa Raye haven't spoken much publicly about their father's murder. Although Lisa Raye was filmed in one episode of her reality show a few years ago, crying uncontrollably, as she and her daughter visited her dad's grave site. The two sisters are extremely close and we're sure that they, along with their other sisters (who are very successful businesswomen in their own right) have made their Pops proud.

44 comments:

Good for them! #sistersister

Yahaya bagudu said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

They are? Oh really??

Now I know..beautiful women

WoW! Now i know

Wfb Prince Abidogun said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

How does that change the price of RICE in the market...

Just asking...

#MY_POINT_THO.

#SMART_LIB_READER

Da brat!!!beautiful,afterall lion does not born goat.

junia said...

He was handsome wit beautiful children

dammymartins said...

Nice for them

Oh really dats cool

Dunno them, why name yourself Da brat tho?

Woooooow! Who knew! Linda take note!

Whoa! I've got no idea these two are related not to mention being sisters....I luv Lisa's Single Ladies role.

Good to know

Onyx the local girl... Google players club and single ladies then Lisa raye will be clearly known. she was a very bad bad girl and video vixen. Village onyx.

Abike the geh said...

Wow, I didn't know.

Abike the geh said...

Wow, I didn't know.

Linda take time oo

You see why you don't have to put your mouth where your elders are talking?!!!

Are you kidding you didn't know??? Linda not as knowledgeable as we thought...heeheee

Are you kidding you didn't know? Linda not as knowledgeable as we thought heeheee

The lips on Da Brat though. Me likey.

Dunno dem tho

Linda ur too much. Keep it up

Really

My frnd shut the fuck up ur still a smal boy & indomie generation at that. Hw old ar u as of 1997? Just keep mute u must not comment on evry post u see here..

This world. Hmmmmmmmm linda BIKO...

Now we know

Girls everywhere no boys...

Wow! Didn't know

Is this news? I knew how many years ago. Who doesn't know they are sisters?

la tahzen said...

la tahzen

Genny's Blog said...

Good for them.

Linda I'm back oo

Anon said...

I knew since "Single Ladies"...I liked Lisaraye so I looked her up

Anon said...

Success runs in d fam...luv

Anon said...

I tell u o!

all the same

duhhh!!!! who didn't know they were sisters?! Linda you must have been living under a rock!

Julie Onoh said...

And u just found out? Old news

Julie Onoh said...

And u just found out? Old news

Fine girl said...

You see.Girlfriend things

wow