Church of England bishop becomes first cleric to declare he is in a gay relationship | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 3 September 2016

Church of England bishop becomes first cleric to declare he is in a gay relationship

Nicolas Chamberlain, the Bishop of Grantham has become the first Church of England bishop to publicly declare that he is gay and in a relationship. The Bishop who said his sexuality has not been a secret was forced to go public after a newspaper threatened to reveal his orientation.

Speaking with the Guardian in an exclusive interview he said: “People know I’m gay, but it’s not the first thing I’d say to anyone. Sexuality is part of who I am, but it’s my ministry that I want to focus on.”

He disclosed that his superiors including the archbishop of Canterbury who is the leader of the Anglican church worldwide knew of his sexuality. “I was myself. Those making the appointment knew about my sexual identity” he said.

Chamberlain said he adhered to church guidelines, under which gay clergy must be celibate and are not permitted to marry. In the appointments process, “We explored what it would mean for me as a bishop to be living within those guidelines,” he said.

In a statement, Welby said: “I am and have been fully aware of Bishop Nick’s long-term, committed relationship. His appointment as bishop of Grantham was made on the basis of his skills and calling to serve the church in the diocese of Lincoln. He lives within the bishops’ guidelines and his sexuality is completely irrelevant to his office.”

Christopher Lowson, the senior diocesan Bishop of Lincoln who appointed Chamberlain said in a letter to parishes in his diocese: “I am satisfied now, as I was at the time of his appointment, that Bishop Nicholas fully understands, and lives by, the House of Bishops’ guidance on issues in human sexuality. For me, and for those who assisted in his appointment, the fact that Bishop Nicholas is gay is not, and has never been, a determining factor.”

Chamberlain said he had been with his partner for many years. “It is faithful, loving, we are like-minded, we enjoy each other’s company and we share each other’s life,” he said.
Members of the C of E’s College of Bishops will meet this month to discuss the next stage of the church’s discussions about sexuality and all eyes will be on Chamberlain.

“I will speak [at the meeting], and this part of me will be known. I hope I’ll be able to be a standard-bearer for all people as a gay man. And I really hope that I’ll be able to help us move on beyond matters of sexuality,” he said. “It’s not to say this isn’t an important matter – I’m not brushing it aside,” he added. But the church needed to focus on issues such as deprivation, inequality and refugees, he said.

Asked whether other bishops might follow his lead in openly declaring their sexuality, he said: “I really can only speak for myself. If I’m an encouragement to others, that would be great.”
Chamberlain said the C of E was “still at the beginning of a process of learning” about issues of sexuality, describing it as a struggle. “I don’t think we’ve reached a position where the church is going to be marrying same-sex couples,” he said. He declined to express objections to the C of E’s celibacy rule for gay clergy. “My observation of human beings over the years has shown me how much variety there is in the way people express their relationships. Physical expression is not for everyone.”

He hoped to be “judged by my actions as a parish priest, a bishop – and by the Lord ultimately. My sexual identity is part of who I am, but it’s the ministry that matters.”

In a statement, the C of E said: “The church has said for some time that it would be unjust to exclude from consideration for the episcopate anyone seeking to live fully in conformity with the church’s teaching on sexual ethics or other areas of personal life and discipline.”

The church of England has been divided in recent years over it's stand on homosexuality, LGBT groups have pilloried the institution for its insistence that marriage as ordained by God is meant to be between a man and a woman. This week, a group of C of E conservative evangelical parishes held a meeting to discuss their response to what they claimed to be the watering-down of the authority of the Bible on the issue of sexuality, in what was billed as potentially the first step towards a breakaway from the Anglican church.

47 comments:

Endtime bishop..na fire go burn dat ur nyash..

May God have mercy on him mbok

Lol... Good for him,so many happenings with pastors lately 🙌🏾

Genny's Blog said...

His cup of coffee.

......... Apologies to sodium and gormorra...... That's all I can say

........... Liber maniac.........

Lol Anglican church has not seen anything yet. Once you allow one, get ready to allow other abominations. Quite unfortunate.

"we pray for God's glory may His kingdom come, we pray for His Vicar, Our father and Rome"

Congrat to u old man.
But why now that u are old huh?
WHO ARE MY TO CRITICISE HIM HUH? Is he not better than Muslims and apc huh?
Since that his happy with his life fools should leave him alone AFTERALL HIS NOT BETTER THAN TERRORIST BUHARI AND HIS SCAN, GOVERNMENT FULANI HEDSMEN

Hmmm God have mercy.

Congrat to u old man.
But why now that u are old huh?
WHO ARE MY TO CRITICISE HIM HUH? Is he not better than Muslims and apc huh?
Since that his happy with his life fools should leave him alone AFTERALL HIS NOT BETTER THAN TERRORIST BUHARI AND HIS SCAN, GOVERNMENT FULANI HEDSMEN

Good for you,man.

Such evil... Tufiakwa! #Endtime

Hmmmmmmmmmm! Linda take note!

Gay and Church are inseparable now

Hmmmmmm

As an Anglican and a committed communicant in Church of Nigeria, this is one of those news from that side that makes me very uncomfortable.

Just Negodu, stupid man, See leaked video of this cleric kissing

End time more r coming d Bible says it all repentance is d answer

Doris Gideon said...

It is well

Lolz, congrats sir. May God be with you.

Jeezz!!!! I'm shocked to my bone marrows

Ehi Frank said...

"He lives within the bishops’ guidelines and his sexuality is completely irrelevant to his office.” The one set by you or as recorded in the bible? Shame on you all.

I just pray Catholic church won't follow suit. It's not even possible anyways. I'm done going church of that happen's honestly.

I just pray Catholic church won't follow suit. It's not even possible anyways. I'm done going to church if that happen's honestly.

Ladun Liadi said...

Anglican, Catholic or Pentecostal, it's all d body of Christ. For there is no Jew nor Greek, free born or slave, barbarian or Scythian.

EXACTLY MY SENTIMENTS.TO THINK IT'S THE HEAD OF THE ANGLICAN CHURCH MAKING THIS STATEMENT IS DISGRACEFUL
I HOPE THE ANGLICAN CHURCH NIGERIA WILL KICK UP A STORM ABOUT THUS AND IF POSSIBLE SEPARATE AND DISOCIATE THEMSELVES FROM ANGLICAN CHURCH UK

Hey bishop, u do not work for a church, you work for a worldy company pleasing the world not God.

Let it be told that I leaved in the last days.......#lord you coming is at hand the signs are obvious

Now na end time dem call am.once is Alfa or Islamic cleric turn gay.u for hear different kinda insult. God have mercy on our soul amin

nzuzu

Hmmmm,God have mercy

HRM Paul said...

This is what I don't get about this churches and their authority's God said in his Bible a man shall leave his father and mother and cling unto a woman.The word (WO)man conflates female.why cannt they just understand dis.The same bible says in. Last days men shall burn up in desires and lust towards his fellow man seeking to lie with.The bible has warned us yet gullible parishioners won't open their eyes

Is better 2be gay than been a terrorist. Endtime bishop repent b4 God start flogging dat ur nyash with hot iron rod.

Hmmm, not even surprised at all. They are all over the world but most can't come out cos it's not biblical. Indeed the bible is complete, judgement will start from the house of God. God have mercy

Even to phosphorus and uranium loooooooolllll no be only sodium looool

Endtime pastors here n der

Davincci said...

Now hw did we get here?? Such a shame!!! Aren't we all guilty of Christianity of comfort N convenience , it's all about what works for us now. Any compromised doctrine dat suits us is just fine.. D simple question as a Christian is, What will Christ do or say in every situation we deal with. Food for thought..

Imagine Islamic cleric in such scenerio,no be small insult for dis. Forum.

Ladun Liadi said...

He's not exactly being patted on d back for dis forum.

yeye people, now its end time things, it would have been a different coment if the guy were to be a muslim

@freeborn why always talking rubbish why calling Muslims was it Muslims they said or your so called xtains ,I pity all of you that una so called man of devils are deceiving in the name of Almighty Allah ,I won't be surprise one day church will catch fire

As if Catholics Rev fathers dnt do it, dey indulge in adultry n homosexuality so is not Abt church

jojoneky said...

Its now obvious people don't know the real meaning of bishop. Am not sure he even reads that portion of the bible where God said homosexuality is an abormination.

U neva see anythin.

I've attended Anglican church services in Nigeria of elevation to priesthood where the priests had to vow they had never been involved in homosexuality. As if that is the only sexual 'sin!' They are not asked to swear they have never been involved in fornication with a woman, although sex between a man and a woman who are not married is forbidden by scripture. Why do people only remember Christianity when it comes to gays? The English are more enlightened than Nigerians over this issue. To be gay is a biological given. To discriminate on the grounds of sexuality puts you on the same mental level as those who killed twins, seeing them as abnormal whereas twin-birth is a straightforward biological occurrence. Good luck to the Bishop. I'm glad for him that he is a bishop in England and not in Nigeria.