Read Buhari's remark at the signing of the 2016 budget into law | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 6 May 2016

Read Buhari's remark at the signing of the 2016 budget into law

Buhari signed the 2016 budget into law today. Read his remark during the signing below
1. It gives me great pleasure today to sign the first full-year budget of this administration into law. I thank the leadership of the National Assembly, in particular, the Senate President and the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and indeed all members of the National Assembly for their cooperation in making this a reality.
 2. The budget is intended to signpost a renewal of our commitment to restoring the budget as a serious article of faith with the Nigerian people. This Administration is committed to ensuring that henceforth the annual appropriation bill is presented to the National Assembly in time for the passage of the Act before the beginning of the fiscal year.

3. Through the 2016 budget, aptly titled "Budget of Change’’, the government seeks to fulfill its own side of the social contract. The Budget I have signed into law provides for aggregate expenditures of N6.06trn. Further details of the approved budget, as well as our Strategic Implementation Plan for the 2016 budget, will be provided by the Honourable Minister of Budget and National Planning.

4. I shall be speaking in more details about the Budget, its implementation and the over-all national economic and social policies of the Government in my address on May 29th, God willing.

5. In designing the 2016 budget, we made a deliberate choice to pursue an expansionary fiscal policy despite the huge decline in government revenues from crude oil exports. This is why we decided to enlarge the budget deficit at this time, to be financed principally through foreign and domestic borrowings. All borrowings will however be applied towards growth-enhancing capital expenditures.

6. The signing of the budget today will trigger concerted efforts to reflate the Nigerian economy, a key element of which is an immediate injection of N350bn into the economy by way of capital projects. To illustrate our renewed commitment to infrastructural development, the 2016 budget allocates over N200bn to road construction as against a paltry N18bn allocated for same purpose in the 2015 budget.

7. Despite the current difficulties we will work extra-hard to achieve our revenue projections. Our revenue generating agencies are coming under better management and are being re-oriented. The implementation of the Treasury Single Account (TSA) is expected to contribute significantly to improving transparency over government revenues.

8. Our determined fight against corruption is resulting in improvements in the quality of public expenditure. The work of the Efficiency Unit, as well as other public financial management initiatives, are also contributing in this regard. The continuing efforts to reduce recurrent expenditures should hopefully free up more funds for capital expenditure in 2017 and beyond.

9. As I said in my New Year message, living in State House does not in any way alienate me from your daily struggles. I read the newspapers and listen to the TV and radio news. I hear your cries. I share your pains.

10. We are experiencing probably the toughest economic times in the history of our Nation. I want to commend the sacrifice, resilience and toughness of all Nigerians young and old who have despite the hardships continued to have hope and confidence of a great future for Nigerians. But permit me to say that this government is also like none other. We are absolutely committed to changing the structure of the Nigerian economy once and for all.

11.We are working night and day to diversify the economy so that we never again have to rely on one commodity to survive as a country. So that we can produce the food we eat, make our own textiles, produce most of the things we use. We intend to create the environment for our young peoples to be able to innovate and create jobs through technology.

12. I cannot promise you that this will be an easy journey, but in the interest of so much and so many we must tread this difficult path. I can assure you that this government you have freely elected will work with honesty and dedication, day and night to ensure that our country prospers and that the prosperity benefits all Nigerians. God bless Federal Republic of Nigeria

91 comments:

Bubu..

Linda how far?

Best president ever!
Massu gudu su gudu.

Way to go bubuh!!! Proud of you sir!

The clueless Man named it budget of change. Yes it is indeed a drastic change as naira has fallen, power supply has gone worse, terrorism on the increase all around Nigeria which has now extended to the east (Enugu state) and many more that I can list from now till tomorrow. This is the change your "president" has brought upon every single one of you.
CHANGE OF DESTRUCTION.

Noting special about his remark.
Welcome home the budget of quaraption.
Am sure that fulanis killing is in the budget.

hmmm...
well said in implying transparency. hopefully, the implementation of the budget will be well managed .

SCARFACE

o'ben said...

Big big talk every time ...no action!!

I hope for a better today and the future #NoEpistle

Great Nigeria, great!!

AM PROUD OF UR COMMENT FREEBORN!

Jerryniceblog said...

At last

hungry tout keep waiting for linda giveaway.shameless jobless idiot.

Well, we pray our patience pays.
Lol. Read this funny akpos jokes here

@freeborn...@stern where is thy common sense???? what has your role models been doing in their days???

Dee Tee said...

K

In this administration I believe. Change is not Magic

Jossy said...

God bless Federal Republic of Nigeria

KEY-POINT said...

NO MOR EXCUSES

STERN....Don't be harsh, it's not easy. Hate or love his the president or a nation and as a citizen, we all have to put our heads together to mace forward, all we can do is pray for them and not hate...Thank me later

It's easy to know good new when u hear one

@freeborn...@stern where is thy common sense???? what has your role models been doing in their days???

GREAT PRESIDO OF LIFE........................I HAVE FAITH NIGERIA WILL BE BETTER FOR US ALL...

Sai baba. Is a new dawn. God bless nigeria !!! #letsmaknigeriagreatagain

Great one Mr President. Now let's move this country and its economy forward.

www.awoofnaija.com - Win daily freebies, deals and promos.

I'm proud to have this man as the president of the Federal republic of Nigeria.By the special grace of GOD, Muhammed Buhari alongside those that mean Nigeria well, will succeed. All those elements be them man or woman that will try to sabotage this mans best efforts for their own personal gains will perish immediately they conceive their plans IJN.

Amen

It's time for practical, we had enough of the theories when the budget wasn't signed.

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

It is well.

Budget of change indeed

I commend the president's decision to send the budget in time

I strongly belive in you PMB#GodBlessNigeria#

Ijanyimitch said...

Well said Mr president, I believe 100 percent in you!!

Jagaban Of Ikeja said...

STERN learning to shut up is not so hard to learn, can you from time to time just shut the f**k up?

Thank you

Hope he is not in china signing the budget???

chikaezez.blogspot.com said...

Oh God let my portion of the 2016 budget locate me speedily.

Shutup!

pixiedust said...

Continue hating Mr. Man, I guess your father is misleading you. You will suffer no be small.

pixiedust said...

Proud to be the children of bitches.

RealTizzy said...

Now I can fully hv right to blame d government if they work beyond expectations

DL said...

its time to keep our opinions aside and give this Government a chance

RealTizzy said...

Now i can fully have d right to blame the government is they fail to meet up with expectations

First full Budget. I want to believe the change has just begun. No great country today is great all of a sudden but great after passing through the hardest of times. USA is an example, It got its bearing after about 200years of colonial freedom (i believe). We are on our way there too, God willing.

Stern you are such a negative person.you are obviously an igbo man.your mum just contributed to the problems in Nigeria by bringing you forth

BennyJAY said...

Nice job,b4 haters talk, una don shit?

We should keep all sentiment & negativity aside & collectively pray for this gov't.....

PARENTAL ADVISORY
^^^Adult Content^^^

This is what happens when u surrounded with great men, that speech is second to non in d history of reassuring Nigerians....

OMIDAN ABBY said...

Well done my president!
I know you've got good plans for this great nation but problem with most people is they want to see NOW, which has always been a path past administration towed... forgetting that a long-term plan will always be more beneficial..
God bless bubu!
God bless Nigeria!

God bless you sir

DTN said...

AMEN..SO HELP US GOD.

Which way Nigeria, which way to go with Buhari the Johnny Walker...... before ur change go come, pple go don't die finish...... na waoooo.

frankid said...

Hmmm,... May God help we all Nigerians cos all we see is bad 2 worst #change indeed

It's well

Shame on u

Okk seen

Shut up stern. You just an apology. Sorry for ur girlfriend or wife... rubbish

Sir Paparazzi said...

It can only get better. I've never for one day stopped believing in Buhari having voted for him in 2003, 2007, 2011 and finally 2015. If things had gone very easy since he came then I would have bn disappointed knowing that good things don't come easy especially with the way previous administrations left the the country. With the way the budget drama had gone, it's now clear to all that the days of impunity is over where senators pad ministries' budget to tunes of billions of naira and they then forward to the executive to sign without details then go back to the ministries to collect their billions. Let us pray for this present team to succeed. God bless our country Nigeria.

The Worst president so Far, anu mpama

Oluwa oshe

Wale said...

Jokers. Mofo comedians RUINING this nation.

In May, which is 5th out 12 of the year, they are still signing yearly budget, hunnn? I wonder What will they do for the rest 7 month? Craze world which great Fela sang about be that.

This guy. You are very stupid. Can you just help yourself out and shut up. You just criticize everything without an iota of decency or sense

Tee said...

You don't have sense!

Tee said...

God bless Nigeria!

You never have anything intelligent or positive to say! Very sad fellow

I think that in order to achieve a better Nigeria, we as citizens will have to sacrifice a lot. There'll be more economic hardship as the government strives to clean up the system and push us forward but in the long run, I think there is hope for Nigerians in the future. We just need to be steadfast and very patient. We must bear the hardship because the country won't be cleansed in a day. Let's support the government and be good citizens of Nigeria. Long live the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Stupid man

I hope for a better today and the future.#Lindangwanu#

Arise said...

Haba Linda, you can't even refer to the President of your nation by his official title, just 'Buhari'. Maka why?

Some pple talk like fools, as if it is easy to manage and reform a corrupt nation like Nigeria. You shld av talk ur father in to go for president. God bless nigeria

zy said...

Great news

valushi said...

Thanks a lot to our dear President,for the close marking of some crooks, who were hell bent on padding the budget. It is no longer business as usual.

I just want to see a better Nigeria..

Masu gudu su gudu

Stephanie said...

Nice one #Abkeeys#

Let trust and have hope one day God will restore our land.

thank mr president for the speech and d signing of d budget,but some people are just been stupid and senseless on dis blog writing rubbish abt d man,if its ur father will u be happy 2 insulted that way....foolishness @stern

Very funny

AppleofGod'seyeoriginal said...

God bless u for this comment, ive said it earlier she didn't post it,linda show a little courtesy to our president by referring to him as president Buhari's, if you re to big to say his excellency

It is well! Linda take note!

Good talk my brother. May God be with you always

AGB said...

This foolish Stern (just like his friends, Freeborn,Nnene George and Wilhelmina) is just a fool.

AGB said...

Same thing I always say, but she's always so quick to attach 'president' to Obama's name. However, to be fair to her, she attaches 'president' to Buhari's name sometimes tho.

R u stupid...am sure it's a Yes!!!

If it's ur portion to die...go ahead and die...dre r kits of pple lyk me dat believ so much in dis administration...change is a gradual process, not an instant miracle...idiot!!!

Jez as ur name implies...u r indeed an okafor...d gods r not to b blamed for ur foolishness

Luv the 9th verse Die.

Mumu as usual.
Frustrated Fuck.
U r like a Stray Dog in that Clime.

Retard.
Go n Hang.

This fool called stern I have never heard s good word from ur mouth before .u look evil .speak evil am sure ur father must be a native doctor .bc.u r otimkpu .ur jobless job has finished .whatever Mr president .must rule this nation..

Never use d wrd "common" 4 sense nxt tym cos it's nt common

Stern does not exit. It's a robot kept behind a phone to say rubbish and senseless things. Just to insult people on the blog. I bet you guys. No man in his right sense will be this stupid and idiotic. "Stern does not exist". My people. Let's not waste our airtime on "it", not him. Na robot en be full stop.