Dad punched, kicked and stabbed their pet dog as it bit his son to death | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 7 May 2016

Dad punched, kicked and stabbed their pet dog as it bit his son to death

A 22 year old civil engineer, Liam Hewitson who was having an epileptic attack was mauled to death by his own dog. According to Liam's girlfriend, Jessica Hill, the dog had attacked him 2 previous times in the past when he had epileptic attacks and she had begged him to get rid of the pitbull cross, called Trigger but he refused saying he loved the dog too much to get rid of him. She said she is heartbroken that the dog killed him this third time it tried.
She said in a statement to the inquest:
“I asked him to get rid of the dog because of the way it had behaved but he refused. He said he loved it too much to get rid of it.”
Liam's father, Phil Hewitson explained how he tried in vain to save his son form their pet dog. He told an inquest that he punched, kicked and even stabbed the dog in a desperate attempt to loosen its grip on the throat of his son Liam to no avail.

The inquest at Preston was told Liam was having an epileptic fit at his home in Preston when he was attacked by the dog he had raised from a puppy

He said he was upstairs in his bedroom when he heard the commotion downstairs and ran into the kitchen to see what was going on.
He said:
“I could see the dog had bit him and then come off him. As I shouted to the dog to get away it pounced back onto him. 
“I was kicking, hitting it, doing anything I could just to get it off him, but to no avail. I stabbed the dog and, after a second, it ran off. But it had already done the damage".

His Dad said by the time the dog let go off Liam's neck, he had suffered catastrophic injuries to the blood vessels in his neck and to his windpipe. Liam lost so much blood that by the time the  paramedics arrived, they were unable to save him.

Detective Inspector Jane Webb, who investigated the death, said there was “no criminal element” to the incident on New years Day.

Consultant pathologist Dr Jacob Joseph said Liam's death was due to injuries to the neck and trachea caused by a dog bite.
He said:
“Liam suffered from epilepsy and whilst having a fit his own dog bit him in the neck and face. He had difficulty breathing and couldn’t be resuscitated."
Phil Hewitson said:

“I have thought a lot about this since and why Trigger might have done that. I think the dog was thinking it was trying to help him while he was having the fit by picking him up by the neck and taking him away from that spot.  
“I knew from the bite and all the blood loss that the dog had basically killed him. I know there was nothing we could have done. It was very traumatic. “Liam really loved that dog. It was the first one he’d had and he took him everywhere with him.”

55 comments:

Linda place your oyokometer in Alberta and carry the Fort Mac wild fire news..

Hmmmm....na wa oooo RIP ooooo

Afowofa things

Dee Tee said...

Hmmmm dogs

Samuel Elizabeth said...

Just like how humans can't be trusted, animals Should not be trusted too, no matter how loyal they seem to be. Rest in peace young man.

The man is irresponsible keeping such dangerous dog knowing it will attack your son when he's having an attack!

damn!
another pitbull attack!!?

SCARFACE

God have mercy oooo,I think the dog was trying to be of help but despite that...this is not ordinary oooo.

So sad, I love pet dog n been dey consider to acquire one, but I got to re-consider.

#proudnurse#

May his soul rest in peace.

La face said...

The dog misunderstood the situation and probably didn't know he was killing him. RIP

Eyah

So sad rip Liam

Sad. Abi the dog saw the spirit of epilepsy?? Rip

So the parents had to wait for a third time haba

So where is the dog now?

Small time you will hear that one animal rights people wants to sue the dad for stabing the dog! Stupid country

OMIDAN ABBY said...

Rest on!
I hate pitbull, very wicked!
It's good for security, not pet I think..

Oyibo n their stupidity, so u couldn't kill a dog to save ur son's life abi guess u prefer de dog to ur son

Eeeeeeeeeeeyah! Too bad! Linda take note!

Dats why. I hate pitbulls very stubborn breed...I wonder why he didn't get rid. of it initially,now dis cost him his life..sad, so sad

One more reason to be terrified of dogs.

Interesting😀😀😀

neo said...

Tragic.

Demmy said...

Oh my God! Such wicked dog. D guy shud av gotten rid of it since.

Sad!

Eh ya. Sad
LWKM. Laugh at Nigeria's funniest pictures here

I always remember the saying... "Never neglect the warning signs, It's too late to cry when the head is off". They neglected all the warning signs, now they have an irreparable damage

Sylvia said...

Sad story... I will never forget my experience with a dog......a dog killed my friend...bit and almost chopped off my girlfriends eyes.... She died at d hospital after barking like a dog.... Dis happened abt 16years back but it left a lifetime scar on me..... Lets be careful.. Never forget that no matter how well u treat a pet....its not ur family member...its not human and doesn't tink like u...

Get rid of d dog he said he lovs d do so mch dat he cnt gt rid of it. Finally d dog has bitten him to death nw who loose??? Whites dearlier u pple quit dis madness u call lov for a pet the bettr 4u... Rip young man !!!

Is a pity

Oh oh

**********************Na only stab u stab am oga ??????????? Wetin d dog still dey do ur house ?????????? Abi e nevr bite belle full ????????? E nvr satisfy u ?????????? Oyanu take d dog up as ur son

won kilo f'olode o, shugbon kogba ikilo.....

olatee

Too bad. .

Eya

Chinedu said...

I still don't like dogs...

Rip to the young man

PrettyChi said...

He committed two murders at a time

UKAMAKA OKIGBO said...

POOR BOY. MAY HIS SOUL REST IN PERFECT PEACE, AMEN.

Nawaoo what a sad story we shld be carefull when hdealing with animals fgt pet names dy still remain animal

junia said...

Oh my God, dis is so so sad *crying* may his soul rest in peace

But this happened in January .shitty blog

junia said...

Aww so sorry 4 ur frnd. *sad*

Mumu.

Yetty k said...

Den it was d son dt killd himself

Dis is y I don't lik pets @ all

mimik said...

Dying in hands of those you love. RIP.

Olashile Canada said...

So na Cana u dey nd u dey always post comment for lib like person wey owu dey blow,smh

It's the son's dog and it was the son who refused to get rid of it despite the fact that it had mauled home twice.

*him

Monemi said...

These dogs are not pure dogs, pit-bull, Rottweiler, bulldog, etc they are mixed with wild animals like bear(which God forbids). So how do you expect them to act? RIP

Ebi...#bosschic# said...

Exactly! It misunderstood d situation.

Olaide Davies. said...

I hate all kinds of dog and I don't believe you can tame them successfully the animal instinct in them will surface one day. RIP to the man but you caused your own death.

so sad