Meet the Indian women who breastfeed deer and raise them as their own | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday, 1 May 2016

Meet the Indian women who breastfeed deer and raise them as their own

Women of the Bishnoi tribe in Rajasthan, a state in northern India have been taking in orphaned and injured fawns for more than half a century - and couldn't imagine it being any other way.
 They just don't tend to the animals, they breastfeed them and raise them as one of their young.
‘These baby deers are my life and they’re like my own children,’ said Mangi Devi Bishnoi, 45, a housewife from one of the villages.I feed them milk and food and ensure they’re given proper care and attention in the house like all my family members. 
'They are not orphans when they have us around, they have new mothers like me who offer them a mother’s feed for a healthy life.’
 It's not so strange when one considers that members of the group are nature worshipping religious folk who grow up living next to jungles and hence in close proximity to animals, they play with the creatures and have no fear of them.

Roshini Bishnoi, 21, a student in one of the villages said:
‘I have grown up with these little deers. They’re like my brother or sister. It is our responsibility to keep them healthy and help them grow. 
We play with them and we communicate with each other, they understand our language. Neighbour Ram Jeevan Bishnoi, 24, added: ‘We do not see them as just animals. They are very much like a family member.
'We take care of everything they may need to live a healthy life. We keep them protected in our house so that dangerous animals like wild dogs do not harm them. If they’re injured we keep them safe in our house and treat them like our children.
'My parents have never differentiated between a baby deer and me. We are one family and it is in our religion to protect them.’ 
The community have followed the teachings of Hindu Guru Sri Jambeshwar Bhagwan since the 15th century and religiously obey 29 rules suggested by their Guru one of which is protection and love for nature.

The community however views the deer as sacred and accords it special attention.
Ram Jeevan said:
‘We have followed this way of living for over 550 years with a lot of love and affection.We are very protective of our animals, especially the babies. We are helping them. Feeding them is what they need. We are very proud of what we do.’
More photos...

Source- DailyMail

53 comments:

Na WA ooo

Nollywood actor in sextape scandal with Prostitute (Download)

Dee Tee said...

hmmm nawa ooo Strange!

Victor Kachi said...

Strange
Checkout this blog for cheap and free browsing cheats on all networks.

Nonsense

Hmm.
Luv me some info.
Will KILL 4 some Education.

God forbid

Now dis is weird

Pearlie said...

Madness

Hmmmmm....na real WA.....No thank you...I'd rather be self made....

Hmmm, wetin person never see!

Hian!! Na wa ooo

This is why all horrible diseases emanate from India! Where humans and animals keep mixing............

ihe ojoo n'ato-ochi...mtcheeew

No be small wa o! Linda take note!

What the heck is this???/

Blood of Jesus

LIB PIKIN said...

Nothing wey person no go see in this life.

Jesu!! Wat kind of achaic tradition come be dt one na?

Seriously?????

Abomination.

Hmmmmm waiting person no go see for this indan people,if them like make them have sex with it,e no concerning me.

Hmmmmmm na was oh.later now one sickness go come out dry will name it.hmmmm abomination

They can as well get married, since there isn't any difference between animals and humans.

No wonder they always behave like animal while raping their woman anyhow. What do u expect from someone raised and share same breastfeeding not 2 act wat his brother doesn't with his kind openly. Good luck to them

Nawa

*does

Iranu leleyi o

Yetty k said...

Orisirisi

Na wa oh. What of if the deer bite her breast.

cutestlove said...

This is rubbish jor.

Na wa o. Abomination

Lol, the deer will always wish to be orphan na. So that the women will nurture n care for them.

#proudnurse#

My sister odi egwu oooo. Chineke

Like seriously!!! This is madness Linda are u sure this woman is OK?

free bush meat and you ppl are wasting time.the ones in nigeria should come and take breast milk also.

Tilda said...

Madness

lioness said...

Tufiakwa....crazy

Hmmmm abomination

End time

Jude Akinwole said...

Crazy, weird ish mehn! Yuck!

See her winch face

Ode!!!
~~Lib Baddo~~

nsogbu di

What if the deer bites off her nipples? Lmao!b

Officialmrssam said...

Rubbish..

Na wa oo...egwu di kwa
#ILL#

God4bid bad thing
India and there fetish ideology

una try, why dont u try other animals like tiger/lion?

olatee

this is pure madness

Very interesting, I love and respect nature. It is certainly better than the juju loving people who believe I all sorts of witches. Mami wata, and blood money. Nigerians don't have any room to talk.

That's so gross

^*~sexymikky.,., said...

Hmmm..by the year 2050 this world will be a different world we knew in from the 90s. At the rate new surprises are born

pure madness