Florida policeman of Nigerian descent charged after punching handcuffed woman in the face and chest | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 30 April 2016

Florida policeman of Nigerian descent charged after punching handcuffed woman in the face and chest

26-year-old Akinyemi Borishade, a police officer with the Jacksonville Sheriff's Office has been fired and charged with battery after he repeatedly punched a woman in the chest while she was in handcuffs. In a video released by the police department, Borishade is seen attacking a bar worker, 31-year-old Mayra Martinez who was charged with trespassing and resisting police.

According to a police report, Martinez was drunk and belligerent when two officers, including Borisade, attempted to remove her from the bar where she worked after she quit on her first day. She kicked out at them and tried to bite them.

Sheriff Mike Williams said in a press conference: 
'There are ways that this could have been dealt with without striking her. He could have turned her around and held her in a transporting position that they are trained in.'
The shocking video begins with a handcuffed Martinez walking towards towards Borisade who pushes her back against a wall.

Martinez then lifts her leg and appears to kick the officer and he launches into an attack of at least three punches to her stomach and chest.

Borisade, who was hired by the force in March 2015, holds the woman against the wall until another officer puts his arm on the officer's shoulder.

The woman is released and slumps to the floor.

At least two other officers and other bystanders witness the attack but do nothing to intervene or help the woman.

In the rest of the video Martinez is left alone on her knees.

Corrections officers who witnessed the incident reported it to their supervisors, and it was investigated by the Jacksonville Sheriff's Office Integrity Unit. 

The National Sheriff's Association wrote on social media: 'We give much credit to [the Jackson Sheriff's Office] for their transparency in releasing this video.'

40 comments:

Hian

Good for him

That's so cruel

Na wa o! Dis is not good. Linda take note!

It's wa!

Agbero stuffings

He should carry his cross...Please vote for ur girl Sandra to become one of d 30 contestants for d miss tourism Nigeria 2016 send MT18 TO 33140...networks are MTN,AIRTEL, ETISALAT & GLO...I REALLY NEED ALL UR SUPPORT GUYS.. THNKS

Fool

Who knows what the woman must have said to the man. Maybe slave or monkey. Don't be quick to judge he is a human being. White Police man that shot black dude what happened to him. The three of them are still in the force.

There's always a name if it's one tribe,your blog is now known to promote tribal bigotries,too bad.

Trust 9ja always showing demselves. They will never change

Goaldyn Boy said...

Anon 12:03 shut up! Is that the only thing you can deduce from this story? Your kind always view everything through myopic point of view! No Nigerian, whether from any tribe, that will not feel pity on the man for losing his job due to overzealousness!

Some people are so difficult to deal with. Please don't judge anyone.
Check out www.townkryer.info and become a townkryer yourself.

Some people are so difficult to deal with. Please don't judge anyone.
Check out www.townkryer.info and become a townkryer yourself.

De li said...

i cant be a slave bcos of extra coin$$$

Beautiful said...

Thank you. My thoughts exactly.

Bash Ali

Goaldyn Boy or whatever it is you are addressed by, If you don't have a sound sense of judgement, I'll advise you quit writing thrash on blog sites. I don't think anyone ever taught you not to hit women. Cos he's Nigerian you think he should be vindicated? The woman in question is in cuffs, if you missed that part out. What threat does she pose to him in that condition?

If she was black it would be a diff story.

THEY decided to take police credit and show example using a Nigerian,black police..when this happens all the time if you resist arrest and stuff...what has happened each time a white police man shoots/kills unarmed and innocent black men which we hv seen over and over again...F u guys..remain small they for call am BH

neo said...

Its a pity. The woman must have said something. She even tried to bite them,what of if she did, and tried kicking him. Who knows? Why he acted that way. But he is not justified because he is trained.

my thots exactly,this one ws sacked immediately

tsalz c.e.o said...

Cos he is black.. if he ws white the video won't b out so fast..

Lol...
okay

SCARFACE

You should too, carry your cross!!

That's conspiracy, because he is black, your fellow police reported you. Mr police u ain't smart, you know you have stigma, you this kinda thing alone when no one sees you, you beat your subject to hell.

abi "woman goes on a slur of racist insults to black cop and he retaliates" the man was only investigated because he is black and put his hands on a non black woman. You know how many times white cops beat black people and they all unlook. na wa o

Mayb he thinks he is a nigerian cop

Na wa ooo

Hehehehe....nigerians no de gree ooo

How to tell if they are into you and Why it’s So Hard said...

The painful part is that he's Nigerian. This are the people who Ruin our already tender reputation worldwide

Abeg come naija come join police, we need u here.

9ja go alwyz b 9ja d blood stil flows

He's very sick. which man in his right senses hurts an already handcuffed person. be it a man or a woman.

Its normal, he must have worked with Nigerian Police before he traveled to US

Omo naija always rep evry whr dy go.

Charlotte said...

@Anon,even if d woman had said something to trigger his button he should still have kept his cool.that"s y he"s a policeman and I beleive they are trained on that.when you're around the whites as a black person be careful,cause they get away with a lot of things but blacks don't!see what he ha gotten himself into.

amanda uzo said...

Yoruba men shaaaaa