Nigerian man jailed for marrying UK woman to escape deportation | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 13 July 2013

Nigerian man jailed for marrying UK woman to escape deportation

According to a report by Daily Mail UK, a 29 year old Nigerian man named Jayeola Abiola has been jailed for one year for paying a UK woman, Vania Pinheiro-Fernandes, to be his wife.

The Hull University masters student met his portuguese bride for the first time at their dress rehearsal and he stumbled to pronounce her name, reports DM. Read the rest of the report below...
Vania Pinheiro-Fernandes bought her dress, tiara, wedding veil, and flowers from British Home Stores in Leeds for £245 with the groom watching, Hull Crown Court heard. She had bought the dress two hours before the ceremony and still had 60 miles to drive down the M62.
Leeds law student Ayodeji Abbis, 25, was paid £1,000 to act as the best man. He was one of six people who turned up for the ceremony.
But the wedding plans turn sour. Officers of the UK Border Agency had been tipped off by the Hull Registrar that the couple seemed to barely know each other when they were interviewed at the rehearsal. 

So Border Agency secretly filmed a wedding video of the cars, groom, bride and best man arriving outside the grand 19th century council town hall before arresting them at the door. 

Jailing the bride and groom today at Hull Crown Court Gurdial Singh said: 'It is often said sham marriages are too prevalent and strike at the heart of the immigration system. 

'Deterrent sentenced are called for and custodial sentences are inevitable.
'You Abiola were in danger of becoming unable to stay in this country. It was ultimately a sham marriage and you were prepared to pay for it. 

'It was not a question of family and friends wishing to indulge love, to do you a favour.
'You Pinheiro-Fernandes played your part and were to be the bride. You went along with this and bought the dress turning up at the ceremony.'
He said Pinheiro-Fernandes, a former air-steward, should be jailed for eight months because she played a lesser roll.

Abiola, 29, of Hull, and Pinheiro-Fernandes, 29, of Park Hotel Manchester, appeared for sentence after pleading guilty to conspiracy to breach immigration law by arranging a marriage so Abiola could remain in the UK.
The marriage was to cost £5,000. Around £2,500 was paid in advance and the rest was to be paid on completion.

Crown barrister David Bradshaw said Jayeole Abiola was a Nigerian student in Hull and his visa was due to expire a few days after the marriage. Knowing his visa was due to expire he paid Abiola Kumoye to arrange a sham marriage. Portugal being a member state of the EU entitled him to citizenship.

It was fake because he did not know her,' said Mr Bradshaw.
'He was not in love with her. He didn’t want to set up a loving family unit. He did it because he wanted to stay in the UK. The bride and the organizers stood to gain because they were being paid for their services.'
He said the Registrar Callum McDonald first became suspicious of the marriage at a meeting into the Wilson Centre in Hull on October 16.
It was to be a formal check of birth certificates, documents, passport, immigration documents and opportunity to pay the deposit.
'The groom gave his proper name, but the bride gave a fake name when they spoke to the registrar,' said Mr Bradshaw.
'The bride did not want to be married in her real name. The registrar was suspicious because the bride didn’t look like her picture in the passport. He asked them both some questions. They were not very convincing in their answers.'

He said they filled out a Registrar’s choice form giving details of music and readings for the ceremony.
'There was to be music for the bride to walk into,' said Mr Bradshaw. 'The song to be played first was Celine Dion’s: 'The First Time ever I saw your face. It was quite apt.'
A poem was to be read by Mr Abbis. There was music for signing the register and music for leaving the room to.

Recorder Singh adjourned sentence for a report on marriage fixer Abiola Kumoye, 34, of Manchester.
He has pleaded guilty to conspiracy to breach immigration law acquiring criminal property £2,650 the first part of the fee for the sham marriage.

The judge also adjourned sentence on best man Ayodeji Abbis, 25, of Hunslet, who was found guilty of the conspiracy and received £1,000 for his trouble.
Det Sgt Andy Norris of the UK Border Agency said sham marriages have grown considerably in the country but the problem has only recently come to light in Hull. 'People who think they can use Hull in this way will need to think again.

80 comments:

This UK self...their own too much

BURSTED!!!!

samuel said...

Yoruba people keep disgracing nigerians. Igbos or hausas will not condescend to this level. Work hard and struggle but you won't. Always want it the easy way.

The much ado about British residency! I don't blame him though, when your country is upside down, no one would wanna come back here.

I still don't get why many nigerians hype this country, its basically shit tbh
Many r even risking themselves staying illegally in the country, its sad, where the hell is ur pride nd dignity? Why would u rather live as a pauper nd a rat and constantly running away frm the law, a fugitive.
Even we the citizens r getting tired of this country, the thing that annoys me most is; you work ur ass off at ur job only for the govt to heavily tax u nd then where does a lot of it go? To thos stupid lazy idiots living on benefits.
Rubbish!

Nonsense,na by force to stay 4 uk,dat money don reach u start beta bizz here,no place like home jare

African Sweetheart said...

Sad to hear.

When will Nigerians grow up n hold on to d fact dt Oyinbo's have RECORDS!d minute dt lady didn't use her real name,I mean it will take a fool to know ds won't click.

poor guy. I wonder who he offended. All that money, he could have used to build himself well in Nigeria or Ghana sef.

Idiots!! £5000 for a scam wedding! Since when have things changed! Back in the day for this £ 12000 half upfront and half later!! Besides you can't fool the UK Border Force!! Even me I can scent and scan these kind of bullshit from a far! Nigerians spoil it for the Good nigerians in the UK!! Scaming and defrauding people for their own gain!! Dumb Idiots! Would you DO all this to your Love once!! Answer this please

Shepherd said...

The American Immigration system and Border Control Unit are worse. You need to come check out what they do to Mexicans.
If only the Nigerian government would devote time,energy and funds to developing the country's educational system,her citizens would not have to be treated like this in foreign lands.
Very few Americans would leave the states for other countries just to get an M.sc,not when we have got a functional educational system. It isn't where we want it to be but then,it isn't so bad compared to that of other nations.
I would expect that diplomats are sent from the Nigerian Embassy in Britain to negotiate the release of this young fella,its not such a huge a crime for them to take away a whole year of his life.

Yoruba dem too mumu n dull, if na igbo guy dis 4ckup no go apen, relax for prison jare

What a moron! If u v £5,000 2 spare, surely u v d tym 4 sum background info. He is handsome enuff, cud v found a gullible desperate citizen dat wud v done it 4 free. If u must do bad, be smart. Just sayin...D Curious1

Anything to get a green card. Stupid guy,why didnt he plan this long b4 now.cos as mentioned all was just 2 fast. Mumu of the century :)

Igwe said...

It's unfortunate! I wish we could have a better Nigeria which we all will be proud of. As a diasporan, I've come to realise that there is no place like home. Home is home! It pains to see how my lovely country Nigeria has turned out to become a PARIAH. A great NATION that flows with milk and honey. O! What a people, what a leadership!! Abiola, take heart! I can never blame you but the CHARLATANS and IMPOSTORS who are lost in the political wilderness as the ship (Nigeria) continues to sink... Linda, how are you today?

jessica morphy said...

Hmmmmmmmm as nigeria no get value again wat do u expect,how many men or women 4rm orda countries wil send der kids 2 come and sch here ?its a pity may God helps us.

Dis is wat apenz 2 9ja guyz in uk evrydae..dey wanna cum bak 2 hell in 9ja mehn....

Na wa dis is really bad,so all this while the young man could not look for a woman to date knowing one day his visa would expire dat even if they want they can get married on d grounds of love then he would get his Visa without stress.short cut no dey ever pay. #mamaj#

bros no be so dem dey do am.you suppose go where others dey go.who ask no dey loss.lmao

Y wont he pay to get married? If d nigerian govt av made livin condition favorable for nigerians de wont b desperate to stay away frm dia country.
#bitessugarcane

Some nitwits have turned it into a tribal issue.

@Shepherd, at 4:43 PM- your statement about few Americans leaving their countries to go to other countries for an MSc is just not true- Americans are studying in a wide range of top ranking universities in the UK for an MSc- Cambridge, Oxford, King's, LSE, UCL, Imperial, Bath, Bristol- these are really top universities that attract US graduates from Ivy league colleges!

Suuuurrreeee... Ignorance is bliss. Isn't it? Now crawl back into the dark hole U came from.

Rotfl... Too funny. And yes I'm Yoruba

YKiluminating on Yahoo plu$ plu$ said...

no biggie in spending few cash for UK parlee, nepa, mosquitoes and traffic in lagos alone will not want you to come back, its a pity he was caught

YKiluminating on Yahoo plu$ plu$ said...

no biggie in spending few cash for UK parlee, nepa, mosquitoes and traffic in lagos alone will not want you to come back, its a pity he was caught

I love you for this comment! I live in NY, a citizen here and I'm already tired. We work, yet the tax is outrageous and who gets it? Baby mamas and the lot! Plushgyal.

this might be one of the reason why i dont associate with yorubas. No single truth in their mouth even the "Ekaro" greeting sef get mixture of truth and lies. The worst be say, all of them dirty. Fire go burn una yansh if u insult me.

Lol. Wey the school wey dem send u go bomboy? I guess others will learn from this. If ur visa expires,pls come bk home or u make arrangement in time.

Hope you are okay like this? How can u refer to my country home as dark @ 5:42

@5:42 are you ok? Hope its not my country home you are refering to as dark??

i married a bristish woman last year before i finished my masters in UK...it was based on love and understanding, i didnt have to pay anything, we fell in love and that was all..

Very sharp naija dude don hit a misfortune on d way. Abeg, naija is getting greener oh, so when u commot prison there, make u return oh instead of roaming about stupidly in Uk

Am rilli sick and tired of Nigerians ooo

Abeg wetin be that hausa guy's name d suicide bomber and the igbo couple that did fraud n run come naija and dey were arrested,Oloshi,olote

Wat do yo know Samuel, am sure u live in naija. Igbo, Hausa and whomever does dis thing.

Lmaoooooooooo

what a pity Abiola....so much spent on nothing. Just a victim you are.

Dental news said...

See what Nigeria leaders have done to this young guy.
He doesn't want to come to Nigeria to look insecurity of lives and properties in the face.
He does not want to be ill and not get good medical attention,he is afraid of motor accidents on Nigeria bad roads,he doesn't want to come back and seek employment where it does not exist ,he is probably allergic to noise from generating sets and fumes from exhaust.Long drive in traffic on our roads is what he dreads,what about feeding himself and family how easy does Nigerians get it.these and many more drove this guy into the act.Dear Nigeria leaders please have our interest at heart,don't be self centered ,work with a conscience , think of the day you will give account, how you will leave the surface of this earth without anything and all you've stolen and sure to get judgement on will be squandered by those who do not even know you.Poor boy,God will see you through

jauntysmiles said...

I always say, STAY ONLY WERE U R CELEBRAD NT TOLERATED! Lindaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! post ooo

Rubbish. God will sav u dere oooo.

@samuel 4:01....U r an ignorant fool, u need help ASAP. Mscheww, Ode,alainironu.

@anon 5:42 Hahahaha so much pain. Ignorance abi but its two yoruba men that are being charged. My hole is quite comfortable though compared to the dog house you live in.

nawa oooo na by force dat money sef issokay to establish u in naija

Wat do you mean Yorubas, Hausas and igbos re the worst, Nigeria is regarded has one of the worst because of boko haram(Hausas

Not a Yoruba tin, Nigeria Tin, boko haram Na Nigeria tin but they are Hausas.

Anon 4:01 Will u close that ur dirty gutter u call mouth, av u seen the video of ur fellow igbo that was busted at the airport lying he was 15 when visibly he looks 45 ode

Surprised to read this o,Sad sha , I knew this guy back then in primary/ sec school. O ga o

meme said...

Up naija , bt the guy would ve done it by getting married to someone dat love him n not by arrangement sha, d lady is stupid for causing dis problem for d guy becos she didn't use her real name ,all d same naija no dey carry last

Yemmie Oscar said...

Tribalistic fool

Yemmie Oscar said...

Honestly, he could have done something tangible with da money in nigeria.
Most nigerians believe, the best place to make it in life is abroad. Ain't disputing the fact that they have a standard economy more than nigeria' but whether naija or abroad*God's grace na d koko

Footyalert said...

M.U.MU.

bitchplis said...

Milk n honey?NO...it flows wit blood n tears,weapons n explosives...corruption n bad leadership

bitchplis said...

If u collect ur iwe finish now,u go drive her comot...love kor loff ni

bitchplis said...

Milk n honey?NO...it flows wit blood n tears,weapons n explosives...corruption n bad leadership

Well, you've been busted too....for wrong spelling

***Twizzy***

Don't mind the stupid shepherd fool, always spitting out rubbish, like he knows everythng ode kekere

Ode kekere, abeg shut up dia, who says us citizens don't leave the country to study outside??? Mumu wey dey speak thru his nyash, olodo

Love kini?? Wen dey hand over dat red passport u go jus kick am to the kerb and find ur country woman marry, i like ur style sha, u jus pose with love collect ur thng free of charge. I knw say u be ibo man, no be dese mumu yoruba pple! Lool

My frnd go to oprah for ur own talk show! Too long I nearly slept off

Anything for papers... Hmmm

Ayibumakolo.com

Anything for papers....hmmm

Ayibumakolo.com

Uk no good for black man o.racial segregation,odd jobs that is poorly paid.except if you be athletes.forget their currency value,tax go consume half.na only politicians and their children fit rock that country.

@samuel u r just an ignorant idiot idiot...have forgotten that it is your ibo brothers that has given us the 419 , drug and other reputations?

ABiola sorry ...... May God save u

Most unfortunate. To me it doesn't matter which tribe he his, and should not be tribalised, but the past and present Nigerian government are responsible for this ambitious boy misfortune. Please look at the truth of the matter and don't kill sympathies by tribalising it. I hope and pray that time will come ,when Nigerians will intelligently and amicably have an immense thought on the damages they are doing to their citizens and their reputation diaspora and will change for good. God help us. Long live Nigeria.

hahaha, was shocked to my bones when I saw the guy had his masters in Hull, finished from there too... it's sooo a shame, a small city where blacks aren't regarded that much, you now do this kinda thingy again... this would def take a while before the people from hull forget.. #cryingprofusely

Yoruba can mumu o, if na igbo pesin dey 4 no catch am.

What is so important about the UK that he had to scheme and break the law to remain there? And since he was bent on breaking the law, couldn't he have taken the time to properly plan and execute his scheme? Now he will waste one year in jail and still be deported thereafter. I hope he will learn to make smarter decisions when he is returned to Naija.

Sylvia said...

hahaha

Sylvia said...

hahaha

Diva Originale said...

Hahaha..funny shit..busted for wrong spelling.

Daft sod.... Igbos are worse.... I work in one of the prisons and we have about 17 of them with d same offence.. Ode... Tribalistic fool indeed....

Una do arrangee* too.... â„“☺â„“, asiri e ti tu... How much did you pay and hope you don get ur tomatoe passport.. Congratulations

Hahahahahhhhahahhahahahhahahhahahahahhahahaha

Jade said...

We Nigerians always try to make everything about tribe. Its not about yoruba, igbo or hausa . the sooner we start seeing ourselves as one the better for our future. We have cases of igbo 419ers is that not disgracing Nigeria? We have the case of Mutallab is that not disgracing Nigeria? Samuel and the other ignorant morons who dont want to think outside the box.. u should all refrain from posting comments that make u seem dumb.

Diamond said...

Doom, is the outcome of despration & when one is trying to play smart. Sorry bro.

Manga said...

We should leave UK to their problems. Let them not add theirs to ours.

All Nigerians eager to travel should be beware.

may thunder surely scatter the mouth and teeth of all the people blaming the Nigerian government for this guys problem!!! fine we all know that Nigeria has been under corrupt and selfish governance for a while now...like many years now. the question is what have you the Nigerian citizens done about it???? absolutely nothing! if you think your government is corrupt and you are suffering, what do you do?? you remove them. bloody cowards!! make thunder scatter all of una head. nobody wants to die but you want to enjoy. when all the brave ppl who stood up against this evil government were being killed...what did most of you did? run under bed.

I am a kenyan but I cant see any wrong thing done by this Nigerian man, he did what he did to make his life better life is hard back at home hence have to do anything to succes, I would have done the same.