Lauryn Hill begins her prison sentence | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 9 July 2013

Lauryn Hill begins her prison sentence

Four months after she was sentenced to 3 months in Federal prison for tax evasion, Grammy award winning singer Lauryn Hill has turned herself in...

From TMZ
Lauryn Hill has just reported to federal prison in Connecticut, where she will begin her 3 month sentence for tax evasion.
Officials tell TMZ ... the former Fugees singer was booked into the Federal Correctional Institution in Danbury at 11:15 AM EST. (Yesterday July 8th)
We're told the FCI is a "minimum security type facility" where inmates live in "barracks type" housing.
We're also told 38-year-old Hill will not be isolated in the facility -- and will be housed with the general population.

48 comments:

FYSAM said...

Ndi ocha, Hmmmm, no one is above the law. Isi kote oburu.

She is stunning!! Damn!! Forvevr looking young! Plus her voice!! Double damn!

America.. nobody is above the law. 3months will soon be over.. take heart....LOL! ....Click Here to Date a Millionaire In Nigeria

Stanley Onduru said...

Tax Evasion is considered and treated as a serious crime in developed countries and no one is above the Law....here in our dear country ....WHO CARES

Nneka said...

Lol. Talk of Tax. Down here in d East, some market women almost went naked on the streets to riot because they were told to pay taxes. Over there ppl go to prisons for tax evasions. Hmm mm

Ada Igbo said...

Ok ooooooo

Cos she's broke? Wow! Thank God its just 3 months. People should learn from stories as this....we cannot Solely rely on money, WISDOM IS THE PRINCIPLE THING

--Teeteelahyo--

Linda pls your blog is getting dry :(

ricardo frm lag said...

L boogie yo. Lyk clef use to call u.its jst 3 month u will b out soon it can happen to anybody nt too bad.

B€£ said...

Na wa ooo.I get as d tin be ooo

I hope there Is someone to take care of all your children,enjoy Ur stay!!

Ameriestyle said...

So sad
Visit www.ameriestyle.com and see how to rock your white denim

Paschal O said...

Linda, when are you coming back? Don't you know we miss you? And send us a pix or two of what you have been up to.

Lol,@housed with the "general population". That's wickedness oo hahahahahahaha,no celebrity tinz in prison.

boySESAN said...

Farluck.

boySESAN said...

Farluck.

boySESAN said...

Farluck.

boySESAN said...

Farluck.

Nawa O°˚˚˚ , if na naija she ll be housed seperately from the others.

boySESAN said...

Farluck.

Law abiding citizens...........You break d law,u face d consequences

The us gov is so hash on blac Americans. If it was a black behaving badly like Lindsay and the rest, they would be in prison by now

US govt always go after successful black people there.when they were striving nobody assist them.when they become rich one form of excuse is made to put them in jail

I pray she comes out alive

Gud 4 her atleast next tym she will pay her taxes

Why evading tax, is she dat broke?

Shepherd said...

I used to take her seriously until she threw in the Race card,I mean everybody knows you can't owe Uncle Sam and not get burnt for it...this isn't some 3rd world country where their billionaires evade tax and the weak government gives them a kiss for it...tax evasion is as serious as almost any other crime around here. However,I'm still a huge fan of her music...I think her music is more subatancial than nearly all these new rappers/singers joined together. In 3months,you shall be outta there..be strong for the many women that look up to you. Meanwhile,Somewhere in America Miley Cyrus still twerking!

BARBIELICIOUS said...

woooww just luv dis woman... shez not even ranting or trying to avoid it

This is not good..not good @all

kunle said...

Just 100 days, is matter of time. She will get corrected.
Visit this Blog to learn secrets to burning fat and eating healthy

olivia oliver said...

OMG.....i feel for her

I know of some white folks who broke the law the judges are lenient with them.there was a white actress(i cant remember her name)who was sentence to community service in a morgue,she failed to show up several times and nothing was done to her.if it's a afri/amer she would be jailed.

No one is above the Law..

No one is above The Law...

If it was our 9ja artist they will make sure people contribute to pay off the tax and those that fail to donate ( mostly fellow artist) will be crucified .

I hail her for keeping her head up, I didn't hear her call her babies daddy ( Damian ) I didn't hear her call Wycliffe or any other top artist she used to jam with.

Same thing happened when mr snipes was jailed for tax evasion. Ppl let us learn

GOD bless you .its a bore!!!!!!!

dats US for you... They don't take nonsense. But Naija for life!

a hhmmm 4 me!!! all gud, God help her.....all join shaa.

Take heart Dear, it will soon be over. God is with you!

Hmmmmmm na wao

YUCEE said...

Just pretend u r on vacation. It'll be over b4 u know it.

Ok...that's cool. U can make it dear,only stay outta trouble in there.

She paid the bill in full before going in front of the judge for sentencing and still threw her in jail. A mother of six isn't better off rotting in jail for any time when her debt to society is well paid off.

Y r this celebrities always involve in tax evasion. Doesn't mean they don't remember or they just don't want to pay.

From palace to prison? Sad!

For the anonymous guy that is talking shit about top artist donating money, why not make your shit clear?

Smh