Nigerian writer Tope Folarin wins Caine writing prize | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 9 July 2013

Nigerian writer Tope Folarin wins Caine writing prize

This is delightful news. Two Nigerians have won the prestigious Caine Prize for African Writing two years in a row. Last year, Nigerian writer, Rotimi Babatunde, won the prize for his story Bombay's Republic - a book about Nigerian soldiers who fought in the Burma campaign during World War II. And this year, another Nigerian has won. His name is Tope Folarin, a US-based writer. He won the prize for his story - Miracle - a short story set in an evangelical Nigerian church in Texas.

Tope, who was shortlisted with three other Nigerians and a Sierra Leonean for the prize, received $15,000 at an event that held at the Bodleian Library in Oxford. Congrats to him.

36 comments:

Tiana said...

Chai! But finally we sabi book oh! If only more attentn will b given to our Educational sector. See countries wit stable teaching facilities nd strike is not an option dir, we go nd come out tops! O God! My country needs ur help plzzzzzz!

9jadeltapikin... said...

Naijadeltapikin... Congrats folarin

If he was from another tribe, his tribe people would come out boasting how God has favoured them more than any other being in the world! just like the lady who won miss Nigeria. Omo-odua God bless u

Yubbie Akpan said...

First to comment! Not much of a big dal though but all the same, Congratulations sir!

www.youngospel1.blogspot.com

BARBIELICIOUS said...

luv my country people.... always repping us... unlike our leaders who are just busy looting our cash.... God Bless Nigeria

Nice Win Bro.. More Wisdom in Your writing....
Click Here To Date a Millionaire In Nigeria Today

Congratulations to him

Congrats to him.

@jaylicioussss said...

$15,000 4 winning caine prize, $300,000 4 winning bba... Really?

Shepherd said...

Great!this generation needs more books than it does music videos. I read Bombay's Republic last winter and was totally stunned by Rotimi Babatunde's ability to write...can't wait to read Miracle too!

True talk @jayliciouss!

You can see the difference that writers do not earn much until they become established writers.

Anony 8:35 u be fool,what has tribe got to do wit dis....oloshi

Congrats Tope.

good news! great stuff! congrats boy!

RE "Yubbie Akpan said...
First to comment! Not much of a big dal though but all the same, Congratulations sir!"
Winning the Caine prize is not big deal, right? Being 'first to comment' is I guess. By the way, it's deal nor 'dal'

Marital Infidelity: Kate's Story said...

In the news for the right reason, Nigerians are also good people. Congrats.

LADI said...

GOD BLESS HIM MORE, ANOTHER SOYINKA ANS ACHEBE IN THE MAKING

AMEN.

The Caine prize is not much of a big deal? Fools like you are the reason the youth are what they are today. Dumbo.

THEY ARE NOT NIGERIANS. PLEASE DONT LAY CLAIM TO WHAT DOES NOT BELONG TO YOU. REMEMBER ALSO THAT YOU SAID THAT MICHEAL ADEBOLAJO IS NOT A NIGERIAN.

And what have you written??Mscheew

PowehNg said...

Just wish blogger can add like button coz I just liked your comment.

Meanwhile, Miss Rivers state flaunts bikini body plus stunning shots See photos here

Yes, writers do not earn much unless they are highly recognised/ given a Nobel/their work is made into a film. E.g. J. K. Rowling who was poor before. Wish him the best.

Morgan.

love me said...

Congratulations!

*stilldatsharpishanbabe*

love me said...

Now how many Yorubas do u see celebrating him on ds blog? Abi una no dey appreciate una own?

*stilldatsharpishanbabe*

http://johnkennedyohiagu.blog.com said...

Its nice we have younger writers stepping into the shoes of departing pen-heroes. Thumps up guys, you rock!!!

a yes 4 me!!! gud 4 him......more success.

Yeah congrat boy u do us proud

Congratulations guy. I pray in Jesus name that I wil receive a prize like you. I am an author of so many unpublished books. God grants me favour in life.

Congrats. Tope Folarin! U r one of those still making us proud outside d shores of ds country!

You're too right Tiana.

@anon 11:28......dnt blame him much,he's a dumbass i believe this is the 1st tym he is hearing of such, he doesn't knw anytin abt it.....lyk tell'n a monkey dt sugar is sweeter than banana.

Thumbs up man! Keep making us proud.

Congratulations, I'll get there too.

Chelsey said...

This is gorgeous!