Close up Breaks World Record with Teeth brushing challenge | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 8 July 2013

Close up Breaks World Record with Teeth brushing challenge

Over 300,000 young Nigerians gathered at the Teslim Balogun stadium in Lagos, as well as other locations around the state, to participate in the World Record breaking Teeth brushing challenge. The challenge sponsored by leading oral care brand, Close Up toothpaste, in partnership with Lagos State government, Nigerian Dental Association (NDA), HEIT Solutions, Vas2Net & Core Media, saw various school students take part in brushing their teeth at the same time at different locations. Continue

A cross section of sponsors and participants at the closeup World Record with Teeth brushing challenge at Teslem Balogun Stadium
Speaking before the kick-off, Executive Governor of Lagos State, Mr. Babatunde Raji Fashola, said that the challenge was a representation of how people ought to take care of their bodies, with oral care being a priority. 

“The Lagos State government supports a comprehensive healthcare system. A simple oral hygiene routine, such as brushing twice daily, restricts the number of visits to the dentist. Unfortunately, many people do not take care of their teeth and mouth because they consider them small among the body parts that should be taken care of. There is little consideration that this part of the body is where all the food that we eat in order to nourish the rest of our body passes through,” Fashola said.

Mr. Mabo Thabe, Managing Director, Unilever Nigeria, makers of Close Up toothpaste and other household brands, who spoke at the event, said that Close Up was supporting the challenge as part of its commitment to promoting and reiterating a healthy oral care culture for Nigerians.

According to him, “At Unilever, our mission is to meet the everyday needs of our consumers through great brands that help people feel good, look good and get more out of life. We have constantly provided quality goods for 90 years in Nigeria, and we are poised to create even more value for our consumers by staying close to them, understanding their needs and meeting those needs through consistent innovation. A healthy and good looking Nigeria is a great Nigeria.”

Vice President, Association of Private Dental Practitioners of Nigeria, Azuara Ifeanyi David; President, Nigeria Dental Association, Olojede Olurotimi; Brand Building Director, Unilever Nigeria Plc, David Arome Okeme, and Special Adviser to the Lagos State Governor on Public Health, Dr Yewande Adeshina, during the Closeup World Record Teeth Brushing Challenge
Project Lead, World breaking Teeth brushing challenge, and Founder, HEIT Solutions, Dr. Lawal Bakare, who also spoke at the event said that the Teeth brushing challenge was spread across communities in Lagos which include Epe, Ikorodu, Agbara, Ikeja and Surulere, with hundreds of volunteers from the Nigerian Dental Association (NDA), Schools, and other agencies, who were present at the different locations across the state to ensure that the counting was properly monitored.

In preparation for the Challenge, over 300 secondary school teachers went through a special Teacher’s Alignment Training Session. The teachers were informed of the World Record standards for counting the number of students brushing in each school, the designed model for the tooth brushing as well as the waste recycling element to the attempt.

Close Up Brand Manager, Mr. Dexter Adeola, thanked Nigerians for their unflinching support towards making the event a huge success. “At the beginning, we urged Nigerians to show their support for this challenge by brushing twice. I have been overwhelmed by the turn out and the number of people who told me that they brushed twice today already and will still do so later. This is one of the reasons Close Up loves Naija. The warmth and love of the people cannot be quantified. Thank you Nigeria! Today, together we have made history!” he concluded.
The Close Up Teeth brushing challenge would be the latest World Record on Teeth brushing, putting Nigeria in the Guinness Book of World Records. India previously held the title where an event brought together 177,003 people to brush their teeth at the same time.

42 comments:

Makeover by T.E.J.U said...

Lol, so much kelebe on that Race track tho,hehehehe

#phew! Linda too long, moral lesson being?

Ezekiel I Mcbernards said...

Uhhhmmm.....Ms. Linda Ikeji,I just have to say this but,ur news this days are stale....for goodness sake,I have seen this news like 2days ago,pls do and return back and hustle for news,u cld even copy from TMZ.com or hollywoodgossip.com 2 spice up ur blog. Yours sincerely,Izzie (LIBer)

There is no way that is 300 000 people

Shade said...

Thats Good.. Go Close UP, GO NIGERIA!!!!!!!! Date a Professional, Nurse, Lawyer, Doctor, Senators and Millionaire In Nigeria And Your Areas, Sugar Mummy and Daddy, Rich Kids and Meet A Millionaire Friend Today

Hei, Cee My little bros on the second left... so proud of himmm.
But Y was he late...

Please this kids shld take it easy oooh, make dey no pull thier teeth follow!!!!!

Really? Seriously?😦😕😕😕😩😱😂😂😢

Very funny gosh!ppl in ds country ,abg Linda

SEYI said...

So wat has dis added to my lyf??? ( ˘˘̯)

Prince said...

Linda abeg this is old news jare...bring better gist nah!!!

Boring! *yawns*

Am anurse with Randle general hospiral and it was a sori sight to see kids rushed in some dead and so many casualties from d stadium dat day. Heard after d show d kids were not given food and deh were tired since morning, all deh gave dem after d show were 2 satchet of mini close up and in d cus of coming down from deir sits some fell and dere were stampede, so many died and lots were injured. Rite now tens of casualties are stil in Randle and Gbaja, u can come for cverification

nice concept doo!!!!!!!! salute u guys

Dental news said...

Congratulations Nigeria! Let Nigerians translate this information into action. Get reorientated about your oral health for it's key to general health. Oral health care goes beyond teeth care rather, that and care of the adjacent structures. Oral and facial tumours exist but Nigerians know little or nothing about this. When they are faced with such ailments they believe the devil is at work and present at advanced stage of disease. Please get informed about your oral health care through this site www.dentistng.com for more information and advise on related matters. It's a blog dedicated to promoting oral health awareness in Nigeria. I implore all LIB readers to benefit from this as they enjoy their gossips and entertainment with Linda.Enjoyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

Footyalert said...

interesting

Footyalert said...

interesting, i guess young chapswon't forget this experience in years to come

don't just dull us abeg!! this is stale news

Gross!

e bonto said...

Good awareness,a lot of people do not take care of their teeth,only 2 chew and eat,no maintainance.

a yes 4 me!!! gr8 record breaker.....9c 1.

PowehNg said...

Wow! Nice one Close-up.......The love for Lagos though

Hmmmmmmm teeth brushing kia

ANYA IKENGA said...

THIS IS STUPID.HOW CAN THEY EXAGGERATE LIKE THIS? LESS THAN 6O,000 CAPACITY STADIUM TO CONTAIN 300,000 STUDENTS? NO WONDER NIGERIA CANT DO A GOOD CENSUS. DID THEY COUNT THE ANTS?

Rubbish!

NICE 1 from the Brand Of Choice.....

Nice 1

@ANYA, α̲̅я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ U̶̲̥̅̊ A̶̲̥̅ learner? ÐεƔ said @ different location.....

Where did they spit the shit? In the cup? yuck. Close up(mgt)u can do better?

@ANYA.... Α̲̅я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ U̶̲̥̅̊ A̶̲̥̅ learner? ðεƔ said @ different location..... Abi U̶̲̥̅̊ put U̶̲̥̅̊я eyes inside U̶̲̥̅̊я pocket ni?

Come,wats ur own problem sef? Date a lawyer,doctor,millionaire,senator etc ? Wats dat abt? Are u a runs-girl or a pimp? Or u run a dating site perhaps? Plsss,its rlly pissing me off everytym I see this shit on ur post. Go look for somewhr else to advertise ur bizness abeg.

My dear,I don't knw for some peeps oh. They dnt bother to read thru the whole write up before rushing to comment. Or is it that they can't understand simple english again or wat? Its rlly annoyin to av to explain to someone wat is clearly written there if only they will read before commenting. I just tire mehn.

Nna na wah men!!!!! See wetin dem dey use our brothers dem do? They'll take the glory while the kids still go back broke *smh*

Tiana said...

So wats d gist? So of all things to break record na brushing we fit do? American's dey invent new tins, discover new places, do shows dat helps dir kids discover dir talents...Etc but we na close-up we use break record! Ok no problem. So who will pay for d childrens bleeding gum when it strt?

Am irritated by that tiny cup used as sink.Really irritates,they could hv made a plastic mobile sink instead,is very cheap to make.

Wow, Nice!
-www.faithkel.com

So with all the money in the country dey can't even afford bottled water for dem kids, it's pure water dey are giving dem. nonsense

With pure water what happens if they give dem bottled water errrr na waoooo

nobody died abeg, mtcheeeeeeeeeeew! rumour mongers, i was a volunteer there, there was a stampede and some kids wer injured but only three were seriously injured they were rushed to the hospital and treated immediately. pls be sure of ur facts before u make such comments

That is a lot of pure water sales.

austin tx dentists said...

Very nice! It is a good activity, many people shall learn the importance of brushing their teeth. I admire Close Up for that. Thanks for sharing.