Al-Mustapha discharged and acquitted by Lagos Court of Appeal | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 12 July 2013

Al-Mustapha discharged and acquitted by Lagos Court of Appeal

The former Chief Security Officer to late Head of State, Gen. Sani Abacha, Major Hamza Al-Mustapha, was today discharged and acquitted by the Court of Appeal in Lagos for the murder of Kudirat Abiola.

The judgment overturns that of the Lagos High Court which convicted and sentenced the retired Major in January 2012 and sentenced him to death by hanging. The Court of Appeal, in their ruling, said there was not enough evidence to incriminate Al-Mustapha in the murder of Late Mrs Abiola.

Chief  MKO Abiola's wife was shot dead on June 4, 1996, on what was alleged to be the orders of Al-Mustapha.

158 comments:

AFRICZONE.COM said...

OKEY

In his mind now, he's free abi? If he truly did it he won't escape God's judgement den

Shepherd said...

I haven't got enough infromation on this case to make a valid comment but I hope the on-going Zimmerman/Trayvon Martin case doesn't end this way.
Legal proceedings can be very funny sometimes,to think this Al-Mustapha guy did confess to some of the allegations leveled against him,to think he had already been sentenced to death by another court and now this?
Justice for Trayvon Martins.
Ps,I'm white!

well....hmm...discharged....no wahala...abeg do enter politics back...

WoooW!!! This is baffling

Na wa ooh. Discharged hmmmmmmm. May God help us in 9ja

red said...

Linda first you addressed him as a "Major" next thing as a retired "Colonel"...........which levels na???

Na wa oh... Nigeria and its corruption. I have no time for all this messy stories anymore.

Who killed Kudirat?

Lammy said...

Na wa 4 dis country oooooooo

akaboyo said...

where is truth and justice?

Cordy said...

Thank God 4 ur life.

kbrown#dench said...

Smh.Now the Question is ,Who killed Chief MKO Abiola?

maggie said...

this is sooo not right.

No problem but one day we shall all go to face that which we ve done on earth

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOW!!!!!!!!!!!!

truth and justice,where art thou?

So who killed Kudirat Abiola???

In his mind now, he's free abi? If he truly did it he won't escape God's judgement den

There is more to this than meets the eye abi no be nija we dey again? God is watching.

Officially, Nigeria is a hopeless country!!!!!

In this country when you can't gather enough evidences...Justice has been served because the prosecution did not convince the court beyond reasonable doubt with the evidences required for this case.
In other words, Al-Mustapha is innocent until proven guilty.

Are u sure this is for real

Yoruba v Hausa @ least for the next two weeks !lol! That woman that convicted him @ the High court has the highest number of death sentences to her credit! The witnesses recanted their confessions and said that they were tortured and forced to implicate him ,the same evidence was rejected by Olookoba J in a similiar murder case against Mustapha but that woman who sentenced a boy to death for robbing with a toygun was bent on taking a pound of flesh for the Yorubas! Lagos govt should compensate him for keeping him in Kirikiri for 15 yrs!

Tanty said...

Boko haram signed peace agreement with FG last week, Al-Mustapha discharged and acquitted by Lagos court of Appeal today...Tears for my country !!

may he die soon

Nigeria!! Well, there is no place for justice in the land again! Here is an evil genius walking free to cause more mayhem in the future. GEJ knows best!

2015 things.Another way for GEJ to warm himself back to the North.Before goin to China dis week,he gave two instructions; remove that Amaechi guy by any means possible and release Mustapha for he ll be useful for me.

U see, all na bcos of 2015.

SHEHU MANZUMA said...

ALHAMDULILLAH, I SAY MY PRAYERS TO HIM ALWAYS. I'LL CELEBRATE THIS WITH HIM BY INVITING 10 PEOPLE FOR IFTAR DIS EVENING IN SHA ALLAH. HIS MY BROTHER IN ISLAM. HAPI RAMADHA MY BROTHER.

Political agenda

I feel so bitter. Kudirat will never truly rest in peace with Al-Monsterfa walking free. Show some respect for the dead awa politi-judges

Ode, u are white. U sound very Black... a black nigerian. Baje Baje

Well, what can an ordinary man like me say when the court has ruled in favour of the retired colonel.

ASA said...

I think you will be leaving Kirikiri the right time Major Mustapaha. This sounds great for you and family. For over ten years, his case was pending. His parents both died while he was in prison. Sergeant Rogers who was supposed to be an accomplice is out there enjoying himself yet Mustapha was made to spend years in prison. Your brilliance and intelligence should not be wasted in prison. Nigeria need to borrow from your knowledge. Good to be free man after years of unfortunate incarceration. I am happy for you.

2015 here u come , politician un na welldone o .

Dis iz Nigeria where anything is possible. Some piple shld b very afraid oooh! Cos d Al is out

After 18years....God help us in dis country....

Another perversion of justice against mko....sad face. So what is the fate of Kudi's P.A?

nothing hidden under the sun

aysha said...

2015 things, GEJ don buy north vote. Power is not by force oh

Only in this country can this kind of man be set free I weep for this country, sad.

patalex said...

Hm!

He ordered but he wasn't d one dat kill d kudirat.he was also ordered,the sniper,sergent Rogers was released a long time agonhe even turned born again and preached salvation so pls leave d dude.dat is y Nigeria politics isn't worth it.those people jus died for nuffin. No offence oh buh dats d truth.

THEOGEJ.. said...

He may b discharged and aquited if dere A̶̲̥̅̊я̣̣̥ε̲̣̣̣̥ no substantial evidence claiming d accused ȋ̝̊̅Ƨ̷̜̌̋ guilty of d charges leveled against him..iam no fans of al-mustafa.in as much as we r luking at d moral standi of d judgement we shuld not forget to take cognisanze of d legal aspect of it into consideration...

wagzi said...

Sometimes I wonder what actually prompt people in reading law becos u end up in a lawless society where a lawful man is regarded lawless

And who gives a fuck if ur white or black or yellow? Stupid mentality....

Igala will say ochopochopo, na dis u go fear na.

Nigeria with its corruption, one justice sentence him to death, now another one free him. No justice in Nigeria atall. what iknow is sinner can not go unponish by God.

Let God b d judge ppl haba dis case has been draged for tOo long.keepin hm behind bars wnt brinng kudirat bak ds is lik 15yrs nw haba....if u cnt find any concrete eveidence dt he killed her den he hs no case to answer.nxt pls

madona said...

can't believe this guy is still alive..... wadafuck

Ebukah Emmanuel Nzeji said...

This is just a Travesty of Justice. Indeed there is no Justice in the world. Only God can dish out true Justice...Still waiting to hear what the Abiola Family has to say about this

This is bad for the judiciary.soon people will start taking laws into their hands because they have lost faith in the Nigerian judicial system to do justice.

I won't be suprised if I see posters of this man next year that he's contesting for senate.

Sean Manuel said...

Good or Bad, the justice system prevailed. The law is a two edged sword. You need hard evidence beyond a reasonable doubt, not feelling, not a hunch, but irrefutable hard evidence, specially when you are sending a man to be hanged if found guilty. I just hope this type of hard scurity is applied accross the board to all accussed persons. #wishfulthinking# I know.

Hmmmmm, no evidence abi money don blind judge??

Lets see what His next step will be

Angelic said...

so he's absolutely free abi??????? God will surely judge

Thank Allah 4 dt

Ha ! Nigeria ! Don't be surprised if ds man deside to go for presidency nd he would win !

am happy he's free; he was not acting alone when he carried it out. others are going about scot free and they aren't prosecuted! who killed kudirat, ige, rewane etc?! only God knows!!!!

Let d well of God be done....!

Firm, Flatten and Correct your Posture in a snap. click here said...

Thank God, he was a military man and was following the orders from the military powers that be.....obey the last order. If they want to sentence the killer, they should go and get Abacha but since he is no longer there, make his family compensate for the mans death

I hope Tinubu and his friend Buhari will continue with their fake marriage called merger...South west will never learn a lesson since some of their leaders are so selfish to distance themselves from killers like hausa/fulani people..WHO KILLED MKO ABIOLA AND HIS WIFE?

Okay not okey. Ur always making this mistake.

Who collected money for abiola's dealth???bola ige wish ur here to ans ur yoruba brothers

Only in Nigeria... If this man were to be an ordinary civilian/citizen, the only time you will here of the news is when he's being sentenced... The rest is a forgoten story.

If u don't know what to say OR u don't ve anything to say... Jst park well abeg.

If not al monsterpha, then who killed kudirat abiola. If I were kudi son, I will hunt Al monsterpha down and kill him. I believe in eye for an eye. Nigeria is useless country ruled by incompetent people. It seem No one is going to pay for all the actrocities committed by Abacha regime.

Hrm paul ojeih said...

oh wat a travesty of justice abiola is gone kudirat is gone and those responsible walk scott free this hamza guy was involved in a whole of deaths during abacha regime he is free but he should know dat he is not free from Gods judgement son of a dog

D guy is Nigeria's No1 Mafia. Very powerful and Influencial, even in d prison. I'm not surprised tho.

When will true justice prevail in Nigeria?

chizzie said...

SMH for Naija!

Na wa 4 dis country.

God judgment is the best allow him to go

na them sabi

Very political. Probably a bargaining chip for 2015 and a pre-condition for peace. My guess.
This guy is still very well connected but he will do well to steer clear of IBB and OBJ.

e bonto said...

Al-Mustapha's release,part of Boko Haram pact with FGN. I just hope dat d bombings and Killing of innocent citizens will soon stop.

nigeria my country una too much people get away with evil deed just like that na wow some lawyers will be more richer now because big settlement have been made kai

This is disgusting, and the idiot is even smiling......issorai God dey

nigeria my country una too much people get away with evil deed just like that na wow some lawyers will be more richer now because big settlement have been made kai

Whant eveer a man sows he wil Also reaps.

NA WAH OOOO ............... NIGER DON SPOIL. WHAT KILLED KUDIRAT ABIOLA WHERE IS TRUTH N JUSTICE.

shepherd i agree with u,there's no justice in this world. but he's served 15yrs 4 his crimes,not enuf nut most of our politicians dt r running this country 2 d ground deserve worst. i hope trayvon martin getsw justice cos d way i see it,zimmerman may walk or do minimal time

9jadeltapikin... said...

Naijadeltapikin... Now I knw NIGERIA Ȋ̊§ FINISH y would pple not go α̲̅πϑ steal in government α̲̅πϑ do any Ђδω wen D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ knw that nothng can happen, »W̶̲̥̅̊н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇@̤̥̣̈̊̇†̥̣̣̣̇̇̇ will D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ do Τ̅☺ dem, paddy paddy paddy government. Ahhh except God ₪☺ D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ ds world but as long as God Ȋ̊§ in dis world al-mustapha U̶̲̥̅̊ will surely βε̲̣̣̣̥ purnish by God.

God bless u for this comment

That is nija 4 u.Anything can happen with money involve.

Olusola Oso said...

Well,Al Mustapha's trial has lasted for too long. 14 years in prison is not a joke,his acquittal may have seasoning of politics.DR Frederick Fasheun,the OPC helmsman in his last interview with City People magazine said if Al Mustapha is released,the Boko Haram will stop. Let's wait and see if he is absolutely correct. Olusola Oso. http://www.olusolaoso.blogspot.com/

God is watching

Nawaoo..this news of Al Mustapha's release came as a shock to me too when I heard it ds morning. Jst wondering.....shee na like ds we go dey dey? Soon,I mean very soon, ds boko haram members that bombed d church will still be released. Who then is fooling who?

soladunn said...

Nigeria is finished!!! where is justice???

Alhamdullilah!!! We thank God, this man suffered! Now please finish the good work of sani abatcha, too many infidels and thieves in this government we Don tire.

cherykoko said...

That's total bullshit. The rich and well connected always get away Scott free..only in Naija!

Jonna n his politricks...

I hear that it was an all female panel and they let him go?sad VERY VERY SAD. he did confess to most of the allegations why let him go? anyway an eye for an eye. he'll pay someday.

Nigeria is not a country

Na wao for nija,I can't believe dis

Don't know d details of d case so I can't say if dis is a good or bad ting. millions have been stolen from nija coffers in d 90s.., nija legal system u get as e be. Since return of democracy in 99 are dey saying dat not one of the big wigs who committed pen robbery has been charged, investigated and tried in an impartial court. I mean, even ibori what do d Brits have on him that warrant arrest and jail that nija efcc couldn't find? Justice should be blind.

Obj, hmmmmmmmm. Bewareeee!

See murderer raising his hand like a freedom fighter,Naija is realy doomed

Ok o, but there will be enough evidence against that Yahoo boy. Enjoy.

Buks said...

Congrats Major Mustapha wishing you the very best .
If you don't like my comment hug a transformer or pay you would be in jail without justice .

Am not surprised but trust me am disappointed by Nigeria court. But I hope they are also aware that the world is watching as they keep passing their bed room judgement so if tomorrow Nigeria is rated the most corrupt nation in the world people should not complain . Same country a judge free Ibori but today where is Ibori? Look at what is happening in Rivers today, well let them know that God is not asleep ooo. shame! shame!!shame!!!

Shepherd, you are white? So? You mean you are not a Nigerian. It would not matter even if it were true.

Ibori was acquitted of 171 charges straight here in Nigeria. Do you ask for anything better?

Na wa for our Judiciary system!

9ja is a Banana Republic............ GodMaRk said so

See the result of boko haram's negotiations!!! OBJ I pity ur ass sir.

Vking said...

2015 aso run in d making.This guy will do wonda in d lives of do or die politicians and am beginin to fink that is y dey released him.

Now he will be feeling like a superman! Funny ehn!!! Hmmmm! Impunity. God save us.

Now I hv to kill him my self

I tire ooooo!!!

You're not ur!

Whoever has killed/kill anyone has murdered sleep.And they'll sleep no more.Let God be the Supremost unbias judge to this case.

Oh shut up! U fucking tribalistic cunt! U wanna talk politics, talk or just shut d hell up!

Anonymous of lyf-That guy that said Alhadullah, may God forgive all of you

*evil lafta* buhahahahahahahahahhaha!!!!!!!!

Michael said...

God is the Ultimate Judge *chilling with ma cup of coffee* :D

my dear, i am glad he has been released. the northerners already planned to cause a massacre in lagos if d judgment wasnt in his favor.this man has spent close to 15yrs in jail awaiting trail, d sentence has been done. let him go free, all our leaders are worse plus dis almustapha is one of d most owerful men in nigeria, i feel he can solve dis boko harram issue to be honest.

Am happy for you mustapha my man n I know u will be d next governor..ik1881

He will soon declare his interest to contest for Governorship election. Foolsssssssssssssss

Shepherd said...

I'm sorry man but I've got to respond to your comment in a manner you might consider inappropriate.
Really? Infidels? Oh my world!
This explains why your country might never rise above and beyond its present state,are you in any way suggesting that Al-Mustapha continues his killing spree?what do you mean by "the good works of Abacha"?
I'm amazed by your level of social myopia and bigotry,for you to refer to another man as an 'Infidel' just because he's of a different religion shows beyond every doubt,that you my dear friend,is pro terrorism.
Until you lot vote a man,not because of his religion or ethnicity but for his Character,you country will never move forward.
Its a Shame how a non-black has to borrow words from MLK's famous 'I've a Dream' speech to correct you!

wat an hapy mood

Shepherd said...

I don't get,non-Nigerians aren't allowed on this blog?
Well for the records,I'm of Nigerian descent(my maternal grandfather was Nigerian). Only been there once(last winter). I would pass for a white fella but I hate to be refered to as one,since my sister is a little darker than me.
I'm just trying to get acquainted with my roots,sorry if I said anything wrong!

Ah! Nigeria! Ah!...Hmmm..

Pot calling kettle black! Oversabi!!

computer guy said...

Oh, na now una go know hausa peepz dey dis blog. Yoruba as usual always rant their stupid mouth with useless comments.

Mind you, know matter who you're, anonymous or visible technology makes it simple to track you.

Bottom line watch your words. Yorubas yell all you like even the devil won't hear you. Asap, trace wiped!

Am so happy when I heard of Al- Mustaphas release,he has suffered enough,14yrs in jail is not 14 weeks.this man is the most intelligent Nigerian army officer,if Nigerians real wanted justice what happened to the secret Mustapha reveals during the Oputa panel,why did government refused to follow it up.welcome back my dear.I suggest u travel abroad just to refreshing up.

Shepherd said...

Usually,when I don't give a fuck about a comment,I don't bother replying it.
You should try that too,bloody anonymous 3rd world country piece of swine shit!

HmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmMmmmmmMmmmmmmmmmMmmmmmm

You and you family would be killed in the same way dis murderer killed kudirat.

it funny how, when "OJ simpson walked" no one accused the judge of being corrupt but in Nigeria every decision is rationalized by corrupt or selfish intentions. the truth is that in Law sometimes, to prove things beyond reasonable doubt is difficult. not every decision taken in Nigeria is based on corruption or some selfish political agenda. just like not every decision taken in the west is just and sincere. we are the only ones that can market our country,m dont expect anybody else to do it for us.

I will not be surprised if he is fielded by PDP in 2015 as governorship candidate in one of the states, or be appointed as special assistant to the current oga at the top!

Come 2015 now he'll be running for president! Only in Nigeria!

FGN signs cease fire with boko haram...less than 48 hrs later this happens....hmmmm

Diz country sha!!!Y ddt dey sentence him 2 death instead of keeping him in Prison..Nw he is out..wat next o..stupid country..#smh#

Such ignorance, prejudice nd biase. Please go read d judgement b4 u cme here 2 rant nonsense. Bunch of ignoramus

Whats wrong with our judiciary .. justice would be delayed until all incriminating evidences disappear.. well not new!. Rich people dont die by hanging in Nigeria. Only petty thieves.

Shepherd u are a Damn fool,we are frm the third world but u spend all ur wretched life on this blog, one dat is owned by a 'third world country piece of shit swine'.... ur problem is ur IQ, u think ur beta Dan the pple frm third world countries? u son of a fucking bitch! Am sure u can't even spell ur name right, useless child of a useless father! Go take several seats pls as u wait for ur momma to come wipe ur ass! Bastard

Pathetic... who gave u internet access?

ALORA MI FINGER......SS

God of karma take control

Lol! Shepherd, why are u so pained, ogbeni whitey, oponu... I guess u are new on LIB, sha don't go n commit suicide on top comments..

Your pple killed her....mumu somebody! c d kind question she's asking

Mr Vex said...

But u dy reply am too.. So I guess d both of u re sensless. Goat and Ram.. Lol

And that's why it has banana island in it

De court has once again lived upto its expectation,ds judgement is in good conscience naija plz accept it in good faith

Frank said...

We Nigerians are simply religious cowards. We shy away from taking actions and keep saying 'God would do this, God would do that'. If you know the solution to some of the problems we are facing in this country, please speak up, share your ideas but please stop cursing our country because if you don't reap the fruits of that curse, your children just might. Even a blind mute knows that things are terribly wrong, a thousand page book would be too small to document a quarter of the rubbish we see in this country, but after how many years of our grammar, what has changed? Even the so called #occupy Nigeria# that we did in January 2012 claiming that it was our own version of the Arab spring, what became of it? Did Umar and Peter not sell us out?Nigerians, please let us go beyond cheap talks to firm actions.

Lol badluck u think u can use dis to win 2015 election? Taaaaaa u and dame be packin ur load small small ooo come 2015 u are goin bk to baaayalsa

Vivacious Diva said...

Al-Mustapha for governor come 2015. Hmmn,Naija I hail thee!!

@anonymous 7:13pm,ur own too much‎

Anonymous 4:05 and 4:22, I think shepherd just mentioned he is white so that some folks (maybe like you?) Don't attack him for knowing more about Trayvon than Al-mustapha. Try to process stuff before replying and be CIVIL regardless of whether u are 'safely' behind a PC. Jeez! And shepherd, I understand ur anger but restraining from cursing back would have put you a level above them.

Mama somtee said...

Congrats Major Al -Mustapha . Been praying for your release , it made my day yesterday to hear the good news please be weary of people am sure you have realized that you so called friends are your worst enemies .

Don't you all think this one of Boko Haram's demand. Watch out, more to unfold......

Honest Nigeria said...

@Anonymous (July 12, 2013 at 9:58 PM)

Pls shut the fuck up.. Pls. Do not abuse freedom of speech. How daft & incredibly senseless can one be? Pls go back re-read ur post and pause for 5mins and think.

What do u know about the 'OJ Simpson' case? There is no basis whatsoever for comparison. This man not just murdered pple, the men he used confessed. He himself exposed some truth during the Oputa panel. There was never any doubt about his guilt. Clemency is totally different from acquittal. This is no doubt the handiwork of PDP and our dear daft President.

May God save The Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Congrats Al-mustapha .

Anon 8.35am, shepherd is obvious not above dem, frm his cursing u can clearly tell he has got this complex thing going on, referring to dem as 'third world country swine' isn't he clearly trying to racist? I dnt blame him sha, he is a big fool dat lacks respect for oda human beings

ALLAH BE PRAISE