25 year old Nigerian wants $1 Billion Google buyout | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 9 July 2013

25 year old Nigerian wants $1 Billion Google buyout

Nigerian entrepreneur is positioning himself to be acquired by Google, after the company recently bought a traffic based app, Waze, for a whopping $1 billion dollars

Today, Traffix.ng launches a social traffic report for Lagos .Users can receive traffic alerts by “following specific Lagos streets, in the same way you follow people on twitter.”

Users can also update fellow commuters on the traffic in their areas.

51 comments:

Ezekiel I Mcbernards said...

Hmmmmm.......dis is mouthful...men I gotta start thinking hard

Interesting...

isnt this what @giddi_traffic does on twitter? abi is he the 25yrs old nigerian?

Anjorin said...

Wow! That's a lot of Money though.. May God Help him acquire his mission...
Click Here To Date a Millionaire In Nigeria Today

Cool idea....with every problem comes an opportunity

Shepherd said...

$1b is nothing compared to what Google would make from that deal. Corporate America is very greedy...nice work young man,just make sure you have got a patent right for your work. And to those who think it is only through music that one can make it,well its high time you had a rethink...its a shame that 7 out of every 10 black guy you come across in America is an aspiring rapper,I'm sure the statistics won't be any different in Nigeria. GO TO SCHOOL KIDS,no record label would ever give you a $1b!

vivian said...

first to comment........

May his dream come true,amen.

Lovely innovation.

May God bless your hustle!

Don baba E said...

lmao...why would google buy his app for $1billion when they have already done that with the "waze" which does the same thing and which u already stated in the article.Nigerians are just copy copy...linda just fooled everyone with the caption "25 year Nigerian wants $1 Billion Dollar Google buyout" just for pageviews

too~kno said...

Boy ! Take a chill pill n fine tone on ur project to make it somewhat extraordinary!.. they ' ll come for an offer if need be.

pretty T said...

lol. isnt there always traffic in lag??? like ALWAYS

Wow. Not bad. I wonder they can really sell the company for, for one Facebook would be more interested as google already bought waze

First time in ages I'm seeing a very smartly put together comment on LIB.
Linda quantity isn't quality. The quality of comments on your blog are quite low. Its better to have 50 qllity comments than 500 dumb and childish comments.
Think about it.

Kachi said...

hmm...linda is that TRUE?

Tonnasammy said...

The Boy, better yet, the man is a God Fearing Christian who wants to change the world. I believe he will do so. This is a brilliant idea and will be brilliantly executed.

Solomon Sonaya said...

Don baba E, I get you. Instead of seeing it as copy copy, why not see that an idea has been tailored to fix a problem we all face?

Wonderful!

mereze said...

I hope and wish google buys it BUT they must have a good reason to do so cuz they have bought Waze.

Very nice N inspiring idea, especially 4 People who is in D US while trying to find a financer 4 my app idea/s.

Hope he realizes his dream of selling d app one day

Sure. Being educated still yields a lot of cash. All the musical equipments, SW and app used were made by educated people. So anyone that deceives himself with the education doesn't pay talk is a joker.

--Teeteelahyo--

Hmmmm!

copycat said...

So

THIS IS RATHER A SELFISH ASS PERSON! THEY HAVE ALREADY DONE AN APP LIKE THIS ALL OVER THE WORLD, ITS NOT EVEN FULLY DEVELOPED AND U WANT 1 BILL DOLLARS LUNATICC! IF U GET MORE THAN $5000 FROM THIS APP THANK THE LORD!

@Don Baba E. Waze has zero market penetration in Nigeria leaving a huge niche to be filled. It's not about imitation but innovation. If you check out the two sites you'll see that you are comparing apples with oranges. I commend the young man and may Allah grant his wishes.

Bill Gate was a drop-out, though. Nigerians and callous words.

linda is dis an ad for samsung? coz the headline and the story no relate @ all.. i have a sex app to sell to samsung for 1 billion dolls can i get a headline too

shouldisaymyname said...

how would he want that amount of money for a Lagos only tragic app...waze covers most of the world already...smh

Your points are all valid, but I think the bigger point of the article is to inspire people to be innovative and entrepreneurial...

this is exactly what we need here in lagos to make our journey easier while boycotting avoidable traffic log jams. God bless this guy

Google has no need for Nigerian traffic. We don't have roads. Once you report traffic on ikorodu road and few other roads, the roads are finished. The guy should look for another idea, if attracting investment from Google is his motivating factor.

And for Shepherd, shut your trap. I guess you don't know Nigerian youths well enough, for you to think that 7 out 10 of them aspires to be rappers. You can never get more ambitious youths than Nigerian youths anywhere in the world, bare none.

geeJay said...

Cool story tho!

geeJay said...

Cool story tho!

LIB readers please get it right. Waze is an Isreali company that just got purchased by Google for a billion dollars. Linda is only telling y'all that a nigerian is positioning himself with the launch of Traffix which is sort of a similar application for possible acquisition in the future. Lets not get too carried away now people -- read between the lines

Possibly, it shld even b him @gidi_traffic
•Estraano lala

we have been fooled by the caption, how does the young man website relates to google paying 1 billion for waze. linda dont even know what she is saying

Chop Chop said...

Nice app. Download nd see 4 ur sef. The only problem, too much personal info required from end users.

Bako said...

hmmm...let's not conclude. Let's wait time will tell. But i really like it as nigeria is begining to showcase their talent in the tech world.
www.sandalili.com

looooool i just used the site...no speciaL exciting feature....i doubt google would buy for that amount..

Danaty.org said...

Wow! This is true innovation

It's good that we're seeing different apps from roadpeer,tsaboin and now this trying to tackle the traffic congestion in lagos

Awesome idea but let's chill out with the $1b Google acquisition. Just because it's a traffic app doesn't mean all traffic apps will now start getting bought for $1b. We have African social networks, doesn't mean they're worth billions like Facebook.

e bonto said...

Cool 4 d guy,if d deal goes through,I hope they0won't frustrate him. I wish him d best.

Traffix Founder said...

Founder of Traffix here. I appreciate all your comments. Lagos is just the starting point. Even Zuckerberg conquered Harvard first before moving on to other IVY league schools, before moving to all universities in the usa, before including high schools and before opening it to the world. This is a small stepping stone to my dream of world domination. email me a admin@traffix.ng to discuss further :) cheeres

I thot d same

Bad belle tins on point... Go get yours pls

pls stop misinforming people, Waze was developed by some israeli geeks not a nigerian

Her subsequent hits included such standards as" fusion".
Not only that, let's work to maintain a genuine YouTube 2 MP3 conversion is
possible that the finished product is high quality studio monitor.

Some good ones to start with using the GuitarToolkit digital tuner.
Here is a goodmassage. Nothing in our minds for our clients.

Then strap mp3 player yebhi the belt, which was made especially for newcomers.

Downloads offer you their experiences and resources in mp3 player yebhi primary schools.

Stop by my web page mp3 player batteriebetrieben