Maltina Dance All 7: Taste of What To Come | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 9 July 2013

Maltina Dance All 7: Taste of What To Come

It was indeed a breathtaking spectacle recently at the atrium of the Silverbird Galleria, Victoria Island Lagos when unsuspecting movie goers, shop owners and shoppers alike witnessed the sudden emergence of a group of colorfully dressed dancers who delighted them with dexterous dance moves. The dancers gave a sublime performance depicting dance styles from the 1960’s to the present dance era. It was an ingenious flash mob deftly executed by Maltina, the premium non-alcoholic malt drink from the stable of Nigerian Breweries plc to herald the commencement of the 2013 edition of popular family reality TV show, Maltina Dance All season 7 aptly tagged “The Evolution”.

Speaking after the flash mob presentation Mr. Edem Vindah, Corporate Media and Brand PR manager who was representing Mr. Ageni Yusuf, Corporate Affairs Adviser, Nigerian Breweries plc said “the dance performance we have just seen is a tip of the iceberg from this season of Maltina Dance All. As we all know, it is the foremost experiential and sponsorship platform of the Maltina brand renowned for promoting togetherness with friends and loved ones. The TV show, which made its debut in 2007, has remained Nigeria’s first and only family dance TV show featuring families from various regions across the country”. 

He added that the show is “about the emotions, excitement, fun and the unbreakable bond that ten families will showcase when they challenge themselves by learning and performing various dance styles from the 70’s, 80’s, 90’s and to the present day in the famous Maltina Dance All academy. This is going to be evolution of dance from time past to the present. The winning family will go home with the grand prize of a whooping sum of N6 million and of course, a brand new car. The first and second runners up will also get N1 million and N500, 000 respectively. The show will bring to the fore, the Nigerian people’s essence and values of sharing, happiness unity, cooperation, vitality and creativity”. 

Also speaking, Mrs. Ngozi Nkwoji, Senior Brand Manager Maltina stated that building any brand is a very long journey, “We are glad with where we are with Maltina today. We are very excited about the 7th season of MDA, 7 years is a long time for a show to still be relevant and we’re very glad Maltina through MDA continues to bring the brand experience of sharing happiness and fun to the consumer.  The MDA Evolution is something not to be missed. We put a lot of work into it. Every year there is something bigger and better. What we are doing with Maltina Dance All is to “share happiness” and to also create more emotional connection with consumers because families and dance are two winning components in the Nigerian environment. Nigerians love to dance. Maltina is continuously nourishing millions of Nigerians. It’s still the most fortified malt drink in the market. It’s also the biggest malt brand in the market. For this year 2013, we already have MDA 7 the Evolution; we also shared happiness this year at the Lagos Carnival. We have a couple of surprises for our consumers as the year goes by”

The show proper will be preceded by regional auditions which will kick off  in Port Harcourt at the Atrium Event Center on July 19th - 20th; Lagos - National Theatre on July 25th, 26th and 27th and Abuja - Nicon Luxury Hotel on August 2nd - 3rd .Nigerians who intend to participate can go online and register at www.maltinadanceall.tv or they can register at the venues of the auditions. They can also visit facebook.com/officialmaltinapage for more information and to stay connected with online competitions and much more.

During these regional auditions respective family members also stand a chance to win any of the numerous regional dance competition prizes; Blackberry phones, 21” Flat screen TV sets, Home theatre systems and lots of refreshing Maltina drinks.

The TV show will be aired from 1st of September this year on major TV networks and video uploaded on YouTube and Facebook. Also, viewers can participate and win fabulous prizes through the interactive SMS platform during the show.

It would be recalled that the 2007 edition produced the Onye family; in 2008 it was the Opuwari family that carted away the star prize; in 2009 the nation’s best dance family were the Ibiams, in 2010 the Adejoh’s held sway and in 2011 the Ekuboh’s showed Nigerians why they were crowned the number one dance family. In 2012 the Greens were crowned the best dance family with the unforgettable swinging moves of Opus and his sister.

Snr Brand Mgr Maltina Mrs Ngozi Nkwoji,Corprate Media&Brand Public Relations Mgr,NB PLC Edem Vindah& Asst . Brand Mgr Maltina Abayomi Abidakun at the MDA7 Press briefing in Lagos

Maltina Dance All 7 (Flash Mob)

23 comments:

Copying step up..

Awww Maltina i enjoyed last years show hope dis yr wud be beta dan lastyr...connected to the brand emotionally i love maltina everyday...

Awhy said...

definitely not a flash mob. nonsense. too much of everything is definitely not good

Its finally here. Cant wait to get thrilled. But the prize money for the 2nd and 3rd winners is way too small compared to the grand prize.First to comment yaaaaay.

Ify going places....Nice one

Truly an Evolution

Sean Manuel said...

It was well executed. Whoever the choreographer is, definitely earned my respect. More grease.

AFRICZONE.COM said...

OKEY

Rosie said....Oh My Goodness!!!!!,just watched the flash mob dance i am quite impressed.The moves and the costumes were really nice. These are the kind of heart warming things that should be coming out of Nija not armed robbery,murder kidnapping,boko haram all the time.Thank you Maltina for keeping our youths positiviley engaged.

Thumbs up MALTINA! MDA...Great show always... Dancing talent reloaded. Can't wait 4 d fun & excitment.

B€£ said...

Very very and very nice
{I rep july 19th}

Nice dancing but definitely not a flash mob. A flash mob doesn't dress up, dance on a prepared stage surrounded by speakers or have a cameraman waiting to video the event. But nice one by Maltina - I'm sure we'll get it soon.

orela said...

d way some naijerians fink is annoying
its a fucking flashmob n yes u can use a stage for it. yu all shouldnt be foolish.

i love diz program

This is any thing but a flash mob. The stage was set up for crying out loud, they even had customs. It's not remotely random. A flash mob dance is a well executed well organised dance routine, done in public but made to look totally random. There is always the surprise element about it. Please let's stop using big words just because we want to belong its so pathetic, totally nigerian .

Well said. Beautiful. Got me wasting my mb till the last minute.

pixiedust said...

I love....this show

Truly an Evolution, from the oldies to the latest

Dis is really niceeeee am impressed

that was REALLY REALLY GOOD !!! way better than all of those yeye glo nad mtn dance mobs

I am loving this. so impressed.

Biko....too long!

I love dis