At the ongoing cross-examination of the star witness in the trial of Senator Bukola Saraki, Mr. Michael Wetkas, an operative of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), has admitted, based on questions from Saraki’s counsel, that the EFCC did not investigate the accuracy of some of the exhibits presented as proof in the trial of the Senate President.
Saraki’s
defense team, led by a former Attorney-General of the Federal, Mr. Kanu
Agabi, have poked several holes in the Code of Conduct Tribunal (CCT)
case against the Senate President in their thorough scrutiny of Mr.
Wetkas’ testimony.
For
example, Mr. Wetkas has acknowledged that neither he nor his team
investigated Exhibits 11, 12 and 13 of the charges leveled against the
Senate President. An online news portal, The Nation, owned by Mr Tinubu,
the Southwest leader of APC that Saraki fingered as being behind his
ordeal, reported that Mr. Wetkas said the petitions pertaining to the
three exhibits were not investigated by him.
Exhibit
11, which was dated May 22nd, 2012, contained a petition written by the
Kwara Freedom Network inviting the EFCC to investigate the Kwara State
Universal Basic Education Board.
The
witness, while giving evidence in chief, told the tribunal that the
petition by the Kwara Freedom Network triggered the investigation.
“Exhibit
12 was dated on May 7, 2011 but was addressed to the Chairman of the
EFCC asking the anti-graft agency to investigate the Kwara State
Government on borrowings for projects described as phoney. Exhibit 13
was a petition dated June 7, 2012, which dwelt on the mismanagement of
local government revenue in Kwara State between 2003 and 2011.”
It
was also observed that the EFCC did not interrogate the Accountant
General of Kwara State to clarify the allegations levelled against
Senator Saraki. The EFFC witness said that interrogating the Accountant
General was not part of his investigation, despite the fact that a
careful investigation into the petition required such an enquiry.
The
EFCC’s witness also stated that his team did not also get any
verifiable document to back the petition written against Senator
Saraki.
Also
under cross-examination, the witness admitted that investigating the
assets declared by the defendant did not form part of his schedule of
duty. He also admitted that Exhibits 3, 4 and 5, being the asset
declaration forms of the defendant, were duly examined and stamped by
the Code of Conduct Bureau (CCB) and not the EFCC, his employer. He
added that there was nowhere in the petition he investigated where
Saraki’s assets declaration was in contention, bringing into question
why the the Senate President has been dragged before the Code of Conduct
Tribunal, a body that is solely meant to hold public servants
accountable on their asset declarations.
As
more and more holes are drilled into EFFC’s star witness’ account, if
the law is followed, a mistrial might be declared, leaving the Senate
President vindicated of the 13-count charge that he has been on trial
for.
45 comments:
She should win..Amen
Saraki might come out top...#onMYway...
Smart man has his cards set, LOL
Saraki is a THIEF. Please stop writing all these paid for writeups. So ANNOYING. He should be stoned and beaten on the streets of Ilorin. Bloody thief. Barawo.
Waiting
Then good for him
Prophecy from heaven.
God said it ones but thousands i heard that saraki will win.
My dear even 1 year almajiri knows it,his witch hunting is against both the gods and humanity.
If its normal i will not support him afterall his an hausa man but because i know that all theses accusations are cooked by thiefnubu and his cohorts so the must be put to shame because i will not be brain washed at allam bigger than that.
Linda linda Linda! How many times did I call u? U are not a politican ! Do not get involved in the roforofo right... Which nameless lawyer wrote this piece. The other day it was a witness report now independent lawyer ... As a fan, my advice to you is not to soil your brand a la AIT. He who has ears let them hear! My 2 kobo
Is this not contemptuous?
Check this pussy photos for you
why wount he win... how many of them have u seen loosing such cases or even going to jail?? we are in Nigeria o hare..This is naija!
Lies.....who gave you this info? #Libdatakenote
Of course, he'll win. Plenty magomago.
All the best to him. Linda take note!
Why won't he win? The guy is seriously pressing all d necessary buttons nd closing every loop hole
It is real!!!. Make money through your phone. Follow the link to get started.
http://dollarcell.com/?ref=234962
Okkk
okay, we are watching very closely.
SCARFACE
M Tinubu, jagaban, lion of budilon etc... just because Saraki opposed your quest for power to be nominated as APC vice presidential candidate, to hand pick the Senate president, speaker of house of representatives and some juicy position which you belive is your right. You searched for d skeleton in his cupboard( indeed a of u have one) But you really miscalculated cos Saraki has proved to be up to the task. This goes a long way to buttress the fact that all of u in that party are nothing but power drunken individuals with your selfish interest and n only God go fit punish all of una.
Noted
The victory of evil over good is always temporal!!
Okk
It was evident last week and again this is Buhara administration and APC for you...toothless bull dog
They shud nt do magomago poo
And TINUBU is a saint. He should be honored. You are an idiot
No wonder, you cannot be a lawyer! Kolaq
If he wins, then Nigeria can never be liberated from corruption, Never!
Go and beat him now. Why rant here? Whether linda posts this or not, it makes no difference. Some supposed witnesses revoked their statements before us. The bank evidence burnt. Has EFCC ever sent a powerful man to jail before?? Mstchew.
I won't be surprised one bit.
Mr. Anonymous, pls stop writing trash. Go and work with EFCC and provide evidence to nail him if you have them rather than being a nuisance on this blog.
I'm a Media personnel, I know how lies and shit sell in the media. So this ain't a Media war. APC and Tinubu have clearly won the media trial but haven't won the court case yet.
Wait for the court to pronounce judgement
Even if he wins he wont stay long dere
The law is encouraging big time stealing from the government and let them know the youths are watching. They are destroying the future of this country with their greed. It will come back to them or their children in a bad way in the nearest future if they don't take a stand to fight corruption and sincerely persecute those who commit these offenses. Disgraceful act, from fathers ,mothers , Leander's in key positions.
Odinawa in you guys desire to justify Saraki's grand theft, you always bring in Tinubu or Ameachi. Have you ever heard of a case where a rapist was exonerated because there are other rapists in society? You are the biggest idiot ao shut the f**k up.
Saraki will win...
Between Saraki and his co accusers who are better thief? Between Saraki and TIN...
check this out.
No matter what the writer is sponsored to write about Saraki, it was not Saraki who claimed to have attended a primary school that never existed. It was not Saraki who claimed to have attended a college which the authority of the said college had denied as false. It was not Saraki that was dragged to court over certificate forgery. It is not Saraki that is the well-known biggest landlord in the state he once governed. It is not Saraki whose paternity is still subject of public controversies. It was not Saraki who made a plea to forfeit all proceeds from his drug deals to the government of the United States of America. It was not Saraki who had to forfeit over $450,000 being proceeds of drug trafficking to the American government. It was not Saraki who was tried for drug trafficking in the USA. It was not Saraki who coordinated the white heroin trafficking ring. It was not Saraki who sold his party to the presidential candidate of another party in 2011. It was not Saraki who bargained for softlanding and snatched errorful judgement after running foul of the laws of the land. It is not Saraki that is a drug baron. The list of what can not be said of Saraki is endless.
BRAIN DUNG JAM BRIAN. LAWYER DUNG JAM LAWYER, THE DIFF IS CLEAR. U WANT TRY AGABI? FORMER MINSTER OF JUSTICE WHO KNOWS THE CRIMINAL ACTS? E DUNG SET FOR JUSTICE UMAR AND CCT AND EFCC AND THE PRESIDENT AND APC MEMBERS AGAINST SARAKI
Make we de see
Thumbs up @Anonymous 9:14 AM .
Didirin Adeyemi Oduwole, what's your point exactly?
China the coward, why not name the person you are referring to and provide proof for his/her prosecution instead of this boring tale by daybreak.
Chima put a sock in it. No, infact put a sock in each of your holes as I am not sure which one of them you are blowing this nonsense from.
All thanks to the clueless Judge outburst.
Thats exactly what we want to see. that is why it is prosecution and not persecution. with this fact at the back of his mind, can Saraki allow this trial to proceed? enough of this jumping from one court to the other trying to stop the trial.
Anonymous 9:14am and Anonymous 1:01pm are from the same poster.
Stop replicating posts to score cheap points.