Former Ivory Coast captain, Didier Drogba has defended suspended Serge Aurier claiming the Paris
Saint-Germain defender had been treated unfairly over his ban for
abusing coach Laurent Blanc.
The 23-year-old Ivory Coast International was suspended by his club last Sunday after being caught on the social media video
site Periscope verbally abusing PSG boss Blanc. He also took aim at
several team-mates including striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic. His suspension ruled him out of his
team's 2-1 win over Chelsea in the Champions League on Tuesday.
In a post on Twitter on Wednesday, the Montreal Impact striker complained
that Aurier's treatment for directing homophobic abuse against Blanc
amounted to double standards.
Although
Aurier has since apologized for his rant, Drogba said he believed the
reaction to the Ivory Coast international's comments
had been excessive.
"I don't often comment on these things but the way my little brother
@serge-aurier has been treated over the past few days has really upset
me so I feel the need to say something," Drogba said.
"Yes he made a mistake, yes he said things he should not have said,
but we have all made mistakes, players (myself included), coaches,
managers, referees, club presidents, even the fans!
"Even the people saying he should be 'put in jail'.... how can young
players learn from their mistakes if they are not given the proper
support and advice?
"Should we not be educating younger players on how to behave,
preparing them for a world where social media can make or break your
career?
"Or are we simply pointing the finger and banning some players but
not others? Which simply achieves nothing... Bon courage mon frere.
#justiceadeuxvitesses'".
World Cup-winning former France defender Blanc was unimpressed by a subsequent apology from Aurier.
"Lots of people in this new generation spend their time apologising.
Rather than do that they should think more before they do anything," he
said.
36 comments:
Hmm no comment
Drogba or what ever is stupid to defend the idiot.
Only in Africa.
Nice advice.
Whatever
Nicely said
Oknoted
Ok seen but that is why you should always think through before you act cos sometimes they are no chances to undo what has already be done by you and the repercussions are irreversible....ProudlyDeltan
Bloody Queers.
To hell with them n their supporters.
Ofcuz na im fellow person
Buy naija to grow d naira
#spritual
He has a point though
He had seen nothing!
He had nothing !
Ennyaaaa
~Make I go drink one bottle of beer~
Read
Drogba u beta stay away frm dis
Didier has spoken...respect the legend.
#LibBadBoy
Hmmmmmmmm
K. * it's well*.
seen....angelmakiz@yahoo.com
Alright
Racists, it is well
Ok seen
I'm not a robot
Don't ruin your life work ignorance. Mind your business.
If you don't like gay people, don't be gay.
The gays have taken over.... Tread with caution
Well said Na cos he be Africa....nuel
Good advice
Get the biggest odd biggest bonus on sport betting, visit accessbet.com
Oshey homosexual
Whatever...gayism is just unacceptable
Na dem sabi biko. Linda take note!
Psg com and meet me, your coach is gay, your coach is gay
Nice one drogba