Man accused of killing girlfriend for denying him sex | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 8 March 2012

Man accused of killing girlfriend for denying him sex

Edith Nwokolo, who resided at 94, Mushin Road, opposite Ire-Akari Road Junction, Isolo, Lagos State, was visited by her estranged lover, Amaechi Uchenna, on February 23 around 10pm. By 11pm, Nwokolo had died in mysterious circumstances while Uchenna was still in the apartment. Nwokolo’s family members alleged that the victim was strangled by Uchenna after a failed attempt to rape her. But the police said the cause of her death had not yet been ascertained as they were still awaiting the autopsy report. The suspect is being detained at the Lagos State Criminal Investigation Department, Yaba.

PUNCH Metro learnt that the suspect, a native of Emekuku, Owerri North Local Government Area of Imo State, had informed Nwokolo that he was visiting her since they had not seen each other for long. It was learnt that although Nwokolo, who hailed from Owerri Olubor, Ika North-East Local Government Area of Delta State, acceded to his request, she told one of her relations about the proposed visit.
PUNCH Metro learnt that Uchenna and Nwokolo’s romantic relationship soured four years ago when the 40-year-old woman became pregnant for the man. Uchenna was said to have denied responsibility for the pregnancy but after intervention by their families, he accepted it. However, Nwokolo’s uncle, Mr. Emmanuel Adukpe, a computer engineer, said when Nwokolo had a baby, Uchenna abandoned her and the child. He said, “At about 1.30am on February 24, my telephone rang; and when I picked the call, for more than three seconds, there was no response. I thought it was the usual network problem. But when I attempted to cut the line, the caller uttered, ‘it is Uche on the line.’ I now asked, ‘why calling at that ungodly hour?’ “He said Edith (Nwokolo). I asked, what about her? He said, unfortunately, we have lost her. I was jolted because nothing was wrong with her. I did not know what to say again but I picked courage and went further to ask him what happened? He said, he visited Edith and that they had minor argument and she complained of chest pain and later collapsed. “He said after she collapsed, he carried her and one of her neighbours to the General Hospital, Isolo. When they got there, he claimed that the hospital referred them to a private hospital and that she died on their way to the hospital. “Then, I suspected something terrible had happened to Edith (Nwokolo). I decided not to be harsh with Uche so that he would not run away. I then thanked him for his efforts and asked him to meet me at the deceased house by 5am the next day. He agreed. Later, I called him to ask him about the corpse. He said he had deposited it in a mortuary. “By 5am, I was there waiting for him and he arrived with two of his brothers. Then, we reported the case at Okota Police Station and he was arrested along with his brothers.” Adukpe said after his arrest, the police took him to the mortuary to confirm if the corpse was there but were shocked when a mortuary attendant said Nwokolo’s corpse was not brought to the place. He said at that point, the suspect started blabbing and confessed that he left the corpse with a private ambulance driver. Nwokolo’s uncle said when they saw the driver; he told them that Uchenna had asked him to facilitate issuance of a death certificate from a private hospital before taking the corpse to a mortuary. Adukpe said, “Uchenna told me that Edith (Nwokolo) died on the way to a hospital, but the driver said the hospital demanded death certificate. That was the reason he (the driver) took him and the corpse to his brother’s hospital. “I have been reliably informed that Uchenna’s brother had confessed that his brother killed her while trying to rape her. When we opened the door, we saw Edith’s pant on the floor as well as Uche’s pair of shoes.” But the spokesman for the Lagos State Police Command, Mr. Joseph Jaiyeoba, told our correspondent on the telephone that the case was still being investigated. He said the autopsy result was not yet out and it was difficult to ascertain whether the deceased was strangled or died from natural causes. Jaiyeoba said, “The man is being held at SCID, Yaba, Lagos. The case is still being investigated. The result of autopsy is not yet out. “Preliminary investigation has not given enough evidence to ascertain the cause of death. But I can assure you that the autopsy report will soon be out.”
Culled from Punch

33 comments:

the scale is domestic violence against women in naija is becoming a scary. this man is full of evil and will not enjoy life because he has spilled blood. he is doomed already

What is really wrong with some men?

ayeesha said...

Series of murder cases either by lover, husband, gateman,driver houseboy/housegirl etc is becoming rampant.. Its alarming, one has to be very careful bcos nobody knows who is who and u can't trust anyone.. May God protect us from such people.. Amin.

wonders shal neva end...

BLOGLORD said...

what is with some men and sex sef??????
disgusting. just becos of 5-10 mins kpanshing, n u r refused, u kill. terrible. no need for further investigation as its obvious he killed her. if not why lie that he had deposited the body at the mortuary when he hadnt; n how come its only wen he got to her aprment she had chest problem?
its really sickening the level that some men could go cos of sex. its really crazy.
am pretty pissed

Nawa oooo.notin we no go hear

God pls save us from these Igbo men oh

hmm! Terrible thing indeed, I use to think sex is an agreement between d two parties

NKECHI said...

Now he can have as much sex as he want because the corpse will no longer resist him.

IBO MEN AGAIN.First na 419,drugs,and now rape and murder....Wetin????
I dey shame for una....My son or daughter will never marry an Ibo man/girl.
-Gbenga

@BLOGLORD:
U are such a gullible being!
Even thou the reporter wrote dat.."...the cause of her death hasn't been ascertain..." u have concluded he killed her 'cuz of sex! *Things aren't what they seem*
One WORD...don't beliv everytin u read.

##Olubabafemi##

Gbenga u re very stupid for talking trash,ofe mmanu,

incredible.

Luffy said...

For Christ sake, go and wank it off, must you kpansh?

Haba.....If she refused u at dat time of the night n there were no prostitues....abeg Goat don finish for street if u cnt wank....what a waste!

#Queeny!

Ewu hausa

I am, the no Sender. said...

It's a pity. You @Gbenga are simply pathetic. Unfortunately, for you this is some kind of a joke, Ibo bashing. Very soon it will go from being fun or a strategy of sort you use on this blog to get attention to your miserable and redundant life to really becoming an eccentric Ibomanic condition. Soon and very soon your cereberal end will be heralded. Thank God there are more decent yorubas out there because you sure are not representing. At this point I suggest you see a shrink quickly and desperately too cos you're almost loosing it. Alternatively see a deliverance pastor to cure and deliver you from the Ibophobia currently plaguing your doomed soul.

Gbenga it's GOD dat will punish dat ur smelling mouth, ignorant, illiterate yoruba!

the white enchantress said...

and you saw some men are not beasts running wild as humans......i pray the police gets to the end of this case. when it comes to sex and money, men have no self control.....just take a look @ their eyes @ that moment and you will realize you are dealing with something that isn't human.

Amaka's Notepad said...

You all are aiding Gbenga in achieving his aim of being the most popular commenter on LIB. That is what he wants, why give it to him??? Learn to just ignore him and his silly, uncalled-for comments and he will stop. That is the way to treat attention seekers like him.

As for the story at hand, only the man and God knows what actually happened. I pray that the truth be known and justice served.

YINOTINTO said...

OLUWA HELP US O. everyday, man kill woman, what sort of life is this. attrocities all over the place. just for sake of releasing some nonsense semen u kill a human being. o boy u shall rot in jail.

meg said...

so sad .every day we hear cases of domestic violence.mothers need to start doing a better job wih bringing up both the male and female kids. i am a victim of a very very bad and abusive relationship but i ran away of course with my kids.and i promised myself that my kids will be shielded from such and i will raise them up to respect women.i have two sons and they have started by respecting and protecting their sister and other women in their life.women rise up and bring a change for your daughters and grand daughters.

Na wao!! Nigerians r watchn too much oyinbo film!! Wats wit all dis murder case!! Person go think twice b4 marrying o.

'is becoming a scary' @anonymous 10:30am GBAGAUN!!!!!

ene said...

I knw d lady in question and its such a pity dt she died. Very Easy going and always σπ her own,wz a staff of a cleaning company @ d intl airport hustling to take care of her babyboy without a husband. Buh heard d guy strangled her kos he was tryna collect the child from her,and dey rili fought before he strangled her to death. Woteva the case maybe,i pray she rest in d bossom of the almighty and her killer must not go unpunished! #toosad#

gbenga are we talking of tribalism here?u are so sensles wat a shame.

na wa for Gbenga amd the ibos ooo. make una no turn this blog to tribal war oo

u lot attacking gbenga are the ones making him feel relevant. he enjoys the attention u give him. why not learn to ignore him and he will be quiet and stop making comments here. cant yu guys see he loves attention?

@ Olubabafemi, "...don't beliv everytin u read" is actually elipses+ 5 words.
Gbenga's fan

@Gbenga, I dnt take ur comments serious.U are just one clown linda has created to generate argument and keep the blog alive.
Am always looking forward to ur comments(no matter how senseless and illogical).
Love u bro
Gbenga's(G baba's) fan

So someone makes an ignorant statement about Ibo people and U make an equally ignorant statement about Yoruba people. U and Gbenga deserve each other. Freaking abringers of genocide. Ignorant villagers

Mally said...

@ Gbenga, u shld see how ur yourba men struggle so much to marry our women every december and april. And ur galz dont want to marry ur guyz anymore, cos they want men dat will care for them, not men who are know worldwide for promiscuity, and depend on the women to bring the fruits of their labour home. The last i checked ur galz cannot challenge ours to culinary skills. Better to be a 419er than to sit around touting.

This uche of a guy must be a stupid sex freak at his age.