Girl loses eyes after acid attack by suitor | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 6 March 2012

Girl loses eyes after acid attack by suitor

When a man, Alabi Olokode, made advances to Lateefah Adesope, a National Diploma holder, the lady simply turned him down on the grounds that her heart was not with him.

Like a desperate man that he is, Olokode persisted. But Lateefah maintained her stand. This, however, did not go down well with the desperate suitor.

As usual, Lateefah set out for mosque around 5.30am on December 30, 2011, for her prayers.
She said, “I was on my way to say my morning prayers at Tekunudeen Mosque, Aboru on Friday, December 30, 2011, when Olokode, who was hiding near the mosque, suddenly called my name. As I turned back, he poured a liquid substance on my face.

“The liquid went straight into my eyes and started burning my face. At that time, I didn’t know it was acid but I just realised that I couldn’t open my eyes because of the burning sensation I was having.
“When I started screaming, people around me confirmed it was acid because the substance consumed part of my veil.”
PUNCH Metro learnt that Lateefah was immediately rushed to the General Hospital, Oke-odo area of Lagos, where she was given first aid before she was transferred to the Lagos State University Teaching Hospital, Ikeja.
It was learnt that after spending a few weeks at the LASUTH, Lateefah was told by the attending doctor that she would not be able to see again.
Lateefah’s mother, Haulatu, who spoke to our correspondent amid tears, said she had to take her daughter to another hospital for a second opinion.
She said, “Lateefah was given treatment at the LASUTH but we were not satisfied with their diagnosis because we felt the doctors there did not do enough.
“The doctors at the LASUTH were able to take care of her to some extent and gave her some drugs to ease the pain but they later told us that she would not be able to see again.
“I took my daughter to Antilla Catholic Hospital Eye Centre, Agege, and the doctors told us that if she had been brought earlier, Lateefah would not have lost her sight.”
A nurse, who claimed to be part of the team that attended to Lateefah when she was brought to the eye centre, corroborated what the victim’s mother said.
The nurse, who declined to give her name, said, “When Lateefah was brought in, her right eye was completely gone while the other one was glued together.
“We had hoped that when we opened the left eye, it would still be functional but when we opened it, it was discovered that her cornea had been badly damaged and the acid had destroyed other vital parts of her eyes.
“If she had been brought in earlier, the possibility of her regaining her sight would have been high but the previous hospital where the family claimed she was taken to, did not do enough.”
However, the LASUTH management denied complicating Lateefah’s case and insisted that she was properly attended to.
The Public Relations Officer, LASUTH, Mr. Dele Johnson, said the hospital remained one of the best in the country.
He, however, took our correspondent to the Ophthalmology Department, where the supervising doctor explained that attempts were made to salvage Lateefah’s eyes.
The doctor, who craved anonymity, said, “Lateefah was first taken to the Burn Unit where irrigation was done to clean her eyes and face of the acid. When Lateefah was brought in, the acid had damaged her eyes but we tried for weeks to salvage them.
“We also did prodding by applying an ointment in her eyes to prevent them from closing and she could see partially within that period. Even during the strike, she was attended to day and night and there were improvements.
“However, her eyelids later glued together despite all that and her globe was ruptured. So, we did our best and I’m willing to write a full report to clear any doubt that it was due to negligence of this hospital.”
Lateefah, who sobbed uncontrollably, told our correspondent that life had been unbearable ever since her ordeal.
She said, “I didn’t offend Olokode in anyway, he had been making advances at me and I refused to date him. So, he decided to destroy my life.
“I cannot see again, I have no fiancĂ©, no child and all my dreams and aspirations seem like a fairytale.
“I was still trying to gather money to go back to school so I’ll be able to take care of my family but now I’ve become a liability to my family.”
Her mother, who spoke amid tears, said the family had spent all their savings on medical bills.
She said, “Olokode was a customer at my canteen and had been telling me since last year that he wanted to marry my daughter but I thought he was joking.

“When he persisted, I told my daughter and she said she was not interested in him. I didn’t know he would go to such length to register his grievance.
“I am a widow, I have six children and no husband, we’ve spent all our savings on hospital bills and still she may never see again.”

The Police Public Relations Officer, Mr. Joseph Jaiyeoba, said Olokode had been arrested.
He said, “Policemen attached to the Oke-odo Division were able to arrest Olokode on Sunday following a tip-off.
“The suspect denied the allegations and said he was her boyfriend. He has been transferred to the State Criminal Investigation Department, Yaba, and investigation is ongoing.”

Culled from  Punchng.com

70 comments:

BLOGLORD said...

May God punish him in all ramification. what?? like what??? is she d only girl walking on the face of the earth? if she says no she is not interested why didnt the fucker fuck off?(pardon my curse words) am so fucking pissed off. they had better remove his own eyes ohh. it should be an eye for an eye.
Useless man! what nonsense. poor girl. her life is ruined

Payme said...

OMGD </3 this is pure evil. Poor girl..Jeez!

juliet igboekwe said...

this is absolute madness because before you know it now he would claim insanity. it would be wicked of me to this this but, if only it could be an eye for eye people might just learning their lessons because no duration of jail term can bring her eyes back

Tyra!!! said...

Wow! I'm speechless.

Hussler! said...

#Obara Jesus#

BLOGLORD said...

i just re-read the whole thing and i am so vexed. this man is a very wicked soul. Gosh! if they let this man go on bail it wuld not just be fair one bit. i think it will be fair if they cut his duck off or something... am just so angry

Atobatele said...

This is callous, cantankerous, barbaric, cruel and criminal. No other justice could be done than applying the divine law found both in the Muslim’s Quran and Christian’s Bible. The rule is simply to pay back the wicked in their own coin! The justice their is to make him feel exactly the same pain he had inflicted upon a fellow human. It’s arrant hapless that there is nothing called justice in our society. I know at the end of it all, he will be charged to court and either asked to spend some days in prison or pay a sum of money which can never undo the done and repair the damaged nor return the lost sight of the innocent girl while he continues to enjoy his own good looking face and the service of his eye sight. Neither a good Muslim no a good christian will support tampering justice with mercy. ‘Pour acid on Olokode’s face, damage his look and let him lose his sight as well’ – justice!.

Mans inhumanity to man, kai, when a woman or man says he isn't interested so be it, there are still alot of men/women out there and God surely has one specially made for each one of us, hard luck girl, may God give you the grace to push on. Amen

Seyitude said...

Before i could finish reading the story,tears rolled down my eyes already... this is unfair!!! wen did i'm not dating you or marrying you,become a crime??? May God comfort her and her family...... :(

Ooh poor lady dat man worthless goat

Abdullahi Aborode said...

this is pathetic!

%temp% said...

So! Na danger to turn down a man's or woman's offer abi!

OMG...what is all this? what demon possesses people to perpetuate such wicked acts?
I pray God sees this family through.

An eye for an eye. Someone should pour acid in that nigga's eyes.

This is a very simple case! The guy has to marry d gurl, for beta for worse and take care of the girl‘s family...life goes on!!

Oge (NR) said...

It seems violence is the answer to everything in Nigeria these days...

Such an unfortunate story, it seems Nigerian men are on a vengeance mission of some sorts because this stories of them beating and maltreating women is getting rather too much.

where the hell is dt gbenga!!! u see what ur fellow yoruba man has done to a young lady!!!! after you will be the first to criticise igbo guys!! tell me any igbo man that has ever poured an acid on a woman!! chino. this man should be jailed for life!!!!!!!!!!!

i just dont know what to make of this art of wickedness against another human..

why are sum guys animals....why???is it by force to luv...i fink d guys two eye should also be plucked out

GBENGA!!! You dey see your people again.

Dis is so unfair!!!wot is dis world turnin in2 self?nw d poor gurl wnt b able to see again.SO SAD.Justice has to be done...Airi.

Laila Ikeji said...

God please heal this lady's emotional scars!!

Some men are just terrible, seriously!!!
Woman refuse, na by force again?!!!!!!!!1

That guy needs to have his eyes removed from their sockets.

Oya, REMEMBER:

All roads lead to www.LailaIkeji.com after you are done at my idol websites - www.NairaLand.com & www.LindaIkeji.blogspot.com

Yes oo!! :cool: Tell your friends too!!

So that our ministry can move to the permanent site. :mrgreen: (Gordonss. I love that guy.)

Jesse's wife said...

oh my this is an evil man is it by force??? an eye for an eye they should blind him too. poor girl i hope you get all the help you need to be able to go through life in this state. Allah bless you.

joseph Alari said...

i no wan do, is now by force if na im sister person do that like that im go like am? or if he really felt anything for her would he have taken this action to distroy her life? he is just a wicked man..

When did this beastly afghani behaviour come to naija? He should be locked up for attempted murder and the key thrown away.

There must be a growing tolerance that is why tis is persisting. Secondly, where do they get this acid from. last time I looked, this stuff was difficult to find.
Schools can barely get enough fr students labs.Who is bringing this stuff in? they source should be fined or something

~!!@##$$%

marriage is not by false.MEN ARE VERY VERY WICKED I PRAY SHE FINDS THE MAN OF HER HEART AND A TRUE LOVE I PETTY HER. MAKE GOD HELP THIS GIRL OOOOOOOOO

Allegra said...

What is going on with 9ja's these days???

Wtz happenin in nig.????crazy stufzz evryday..ds man shld rot in jail 4 all I care..

kinky babe said...

The guy is a wicked fellow and has 2 rot in jail,as 4 d young girl i feel so very sorry 4 her and i pray that God will continue 2 guide and guard her, the pockets of her family members will never go dry in Jesus name.AMEN

The heart of man is truly wicked!

spicy said...

this is so so gruesome. May God console her and punish dt wicked man.

Dis is wickedness. Choi! Na by force 2 marry person... He should be put to death. #Gbam.

I hope he's sentenced to death.

God will destroy that man .......he needs to be killed he doesn't deserve to live again..........men men men....cos she dint say yes?!i wish book haram Celt with people like this not innocent people.....

They need to pour acid on his head and face too for justice to prevail. No imprisonment can match the suffering that this young lady will endure for the rest of her life.

As a Nigerian man, i am so disappointed in these cowards who call themselves men and have been attacking women lately.

sara said...

OMG!!! this is just pure wickedness. this is so unfair, so sad...the guy is a f**kin ass.

Vitamin C said...

They should make sure this guy pays for life for this he must continue to provide support all thru the gurl's life. Is an affair a must!!!

Vitamin C said...

Na wa oooo!!! that guy is a wicked soul, is it by force you must date someone, what rubbish is this. He must not be allowed to go scot-free o for life.

Vitamin C said...

They should make sure this guy pays for life for this he must continue to provide support all thru the gurl's life. Is an affair a must!!!

Damn. God punish this man

Anti-gbenga said...

Man's wickedness haba what are we not going to see. Gbenga where are you oh

chidiebere said...

this is evil

Agudosi said...

Gbenga you have now resorted to acid attacks right?..wow!

this is so wicked. he should have his eyes plucked out and his finger nails clipped off. why should he destroy someone like this?

Shaddy said...

Oh My Goodness!!! this is too much a pain haaaaa

thats all i can say

If the animal is convicted of the crime, it should be an eye for an eye.

Another Yoruba guy.....

Cynthia said...

Obviously he is a Muslim and am glad they practice the "an eye for an eye thing" so its simple. His face should be poured with acid with his eyes well targetted and he should be jailed for life too. This kind of person can kill if offended so he shouldn't be loose on the streets.

Modupsy said...

Don't even knw wat to say

Wat is dis? Na by force.. GBenga seen ur people no dey gree do u and out of frustration u took ur sista's eyes.. Chaii.. E no go beta for u.. Poor widow wetin she do GBenga? GBenga d Yoruba rapist.. Peado.. Now I don just have d word yet.. GBenga alabi u no go end well.. Y would destroy anoda person's life? D whole world don knw u.. Very soon u go dey do urself.. Bastard.. C wetin hatred dey cause u.. Shame to u

Nigerian men are beginning to act like animals oo, I mean some ooo, how would U̶̲̥̅̊ do such, it aint by force to date somone na, plz he shld be sentenced to death asap such person shouldn't be aloud to walk the streer.

short of words!

Frenchie said...

omg
this is mere wickedness but I kind of wonder what would have been her life if she had accepted?
This guy is sick he might have just killed her someday
She's still alive but with no more eyes
May God soothe her pain!

Str8FrmDaHips said...

9ja men u again!!..must u always take by force??..another girl scarred for life by a spurned one..why always Acid??..the ultimate means of disfiguring a girl!!..

The Abuse and Injustice that Nigerian women go through regularly in the hands of people like this man is soo unreal just unreal. I think we need stiffer penalties for idiots like him

this is the only crime where i would proudly vote an eye for an eye o!
poor me acid, then the consequences would be acid poured back on u! end of story/case dismissed! this is premeditated and pure evil!
Z

oh pls those of you bringing tribe into it should shut up your bloody stinking mouths. There is another story that Linda posted last year where the man was Ibo and the woman was Ibo.
The heart of man is desperately wicked. Not male only, not white only, not black only. HUMAN BEING.
I really pity this girl and wish I could help. The guy has it coming to him

thetalkingdrum said...

na wah!! this hurts

N G O said...

Tears filled my eyes. One of the pains in a woman's hrt(both the widow n de daughter).

father heal all these wounds in our hrt and make things beta for women in dis country. Amen.

Fiffy said...

really dont know what to say. what a pity. tells us the kind of love people claim to have for one. if u ever love someone, no matter how the person even provokes u or refuses u anything, u still wont have that heart to allow harm come to the person. what a world!!!

very very very sad with tears....but why why why is it buy force to love again nawa ooo the things we women have to put up with sometimes with men is shocking!!!!it was not even as if she took another womans hubby or sometin

May God deal with this man, May he never find peace and may his days be filled with hardship and suffering.

BTW LAILA IKEJI, stop this advertisement, this story is too sad for u to end it with that silly statement of all roads leading to whereever...soul searching babes, u dnt have to be a blogger o, cos ur sis is very good at it doesnt automatically qualify u to be one....R u sure this is what u want? U will always be compared to her, accused of using he glory...its gonna be a tough road - i wish u luck but pls think be4 u advertise ojare!!!

Bosa

PD said...

panti straight............he go c hell dere......so sad for the lady!!!! wickedness!!!

this is just sad

So becos I viewed my air on Laila Ikeji, my comment won't be published? Oh Linda!

This story is so sad. Such a pretty girl, so unfortunate. Does anyone know if there is a donation account set up to help her?

i saw this on the punch newspaper(online) 2days ago and commented letting the publishers know that i'll love to lend a helping hand. Linda please kindly find out a genuine and safe way i could reach out to this young girl and post the info on your blog. its not enough to sympathise and turn a blind eye lets be our sister's keeper please. God bless y'all.