Message from Asa to her fans: I do not have a new album | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 9 March 2012

Message from Asa to her fans: I do not have a new album

27 comments:

lady Q said...

I love this girl!! Her music pierces thru.....

Linda sleep na

i so love her music but i hear she is gay. is it true? (just asking b4 u guyz finish me with insults)

you owe them and don't want to pay so the only way to get their money is to do what they are doing i support 100 percent.

Modupsy said...

This question mark people just won't give up

Atobatele said...

Why would you wanna reap where u did not sow. Some people just love reaping on another people sweat...I love Asa

I bought it no wonder.........i was not really impressed, only track 6 was really nice.

*Girl Crush*

#Queeny!

Jiggaman said...

and i saw that fake album yesterday in Ikeja. it looked so well packaged even Asa wld tink she released a new album. lol. my question is how did they lay hands on her unreleased materails

Kelechi Nwora said...

Linda, post my comment jor!

Question Mark was there for Asa when she was unknown. She used Question Mark's money and influence to climb. Good, no record label is perfect - ask Beyonce and Lady Gaga - but Nigerian acts have the spirit of cheating people and walking away hoping that there's no law that will hold them accountable - Eg Kelly Handsome against Kennis Music, Ikechukwu against Storm Record, Jeremiah Gyang against Chocolate City, and Timi Dakolo against SonyBMG.

As is noted, Question Mark has legal rights to publish and exploit those songs. Asa was by her deal with which she left them supposed to pay them some money, she has not done that. The songs she took to France and recorded as her first album were actually Question Mark copyrights. If Question Mark insisted on Asa fulfilling her contract with them, she would have never been signed in France. If you don't keep your own side of the bargain, what do you expect?

When Asa needed her release she was crying all over the place for people to beg Question Mark to release her. Today, she has the audacity to disregard her agreement with them and go ahead to slander them. Meanwhile, she's owing them money.

These Nigerian acts are the reason for stunted investment in the sector. Where people think because they can voice some tunes into a microphone, they are king of the universe and everyone else is out to use them. But when they are hungry and unknown, they pretend to be humble and god-fearing. When someone has put them on their platform and they feel they have made some traction - they feel they can 'be on my own'.

I even hear that Bez is complaining about being "enslaved" to Cobhams. Imagine!

Karma always catches up with them for sure. Biting the fingers that fed you is not the path to enduring success.

Damn! Wish i heard earlier. As her ardent fan i bought the CD on Monday and was disappointed. Good thing she has clarified that she had nothing to do with it. BTW how do i get a refund of my 150 card

the white enchantress said...

na wa oh.....some of these producers are really going broke.

yinotinto said...

so its not all about piracy anymore, now they want to kill our stars... God help us and help our celebrities o. first SQ, then security guard threatening Goldie, now it is an entertainment company or woreva sending death threats to our very Asa

well done girl tell it as it really is

pam said...

Question Mark is a failed label who had multiple issues with fighting, pulling guns and threatening its artistes and partners. Ive never heard of a CEO of a label, Kevin being involved in so many fights in hotel lobbies and public spaces tearing his clothes and acting like an rabid animal. I heard Asa music long b4 Question Mark... the girl worked hard and performed her arse of building her songs and audience and even snagged the lucrative LNG feature... where was Question Mark then? ????? exactly! LOL. She boosted thier name. She was lucky to run from them and she let them release thier version of her 1st album to settle whatever she owed them. Even with the DUMB R&B Hip hop production they forced on her lovely sound. I can imagine her career would be over by now if she had gone the route Question Mark was struggling to force her into... minis, sexy looks and Hip Hop production on her songs! LOL... well they had the chance to release thier version 4 yrs ago and it flopped so hard... ppl just ignored it and bought the one that was her original sound and not question marks idea of what she should sound like. Well she has an international contract... if she wasnt clear with Question Mark they wouldnt be with her. She should lawyer up on the threats though. If Question Mark cant succed in the record biz they should consider running a merecenery or tout outfit since they love threatening, police case, guns and fighting on the street so much. Fools. This is lesson on how you stay true to who you are.

Damilola Oloko said...

don`t mind enemy among u ....

I already got d CD, mhen, those songs were brand new xcept for Track 9 and 10.

crushman said...

please pirates stop this act of giving nigerian artist troubled hearts. its not easy for them at all.

Shaddy said...

I love you dear! No worry your head no man lives on another man sweat and enjoy peace of mind

I sure wasn't there when she put her signature to the terms and conditions of the questionMark contract.. But emm.... I think the Qmark peeps are sure going to far... thsi would be the second time they are releasing her album, the first time was a good quality cloned make up of what she already coupled from Frace..
They sure need to give her a break, Abeg.... As much as i love her music i apprc8 her snappy info on the fake ish they gat out already...

Much Love A Baybay..
And Miss March 9, 2012 3:23 AM
As a female which i guess u are, whatz the right word u use when refering to a Female 1sex? Lesbian.. it aint Gay.. get ur ish straight... and i dault if she is, neither to i give a damn..If u dey fine Lesbica hookups go surf the internet..
Larry Jay

@Anonymous March 9, 2012 9:23 AM, u nor dea shame? u wan collect 150naira for a fake CD? Na so hungry dea bite u? Dash ur younger ones joo.
A Asa, pls we love n respect u babe, settles ur scores fast and move on wt ur life
ME

i am tempted to heap insults on Questionmark but these things are not often straight forward. It is not enough for Asa to be playingthe victim, she should tell us the full story if she wants our sympathy. What exactly was the tenets of her contract with QM?Was it legally dissolved? Our lack of respect for contracts will ruin us as a people. it happens everyday in the entertainment industry.artsits just wake up and walk away from contracts.artists are busy having publicist but no lawyers.Last time it was Flavour walking away from a contract when he felt like, now rumours of Bez are flying.These folks need to be careful. Not all record company owners are patient,some will just arrange for jungle justice and other will go the native way.
A word is enough for the wise.

If question mark is openly marketing her material, then there is more to it than meets the eye...

Ijeoma O said...

That person who said Asa used Question Mark's money to climb, you're joking right? We had already heard about Asa long before she got involved with Question Mark. In fact, she was the one that boosted their image because before and after her, where were they and where are they now? I remember going to a performance of Asa's at French Cultural Centre in Ikoyi long before Question Mark. That was where I fell in love with her. If they were so great, they would have also produced other artists by now.

Asa doesn't owe them anything. Didn't they also produce one album at the same time as the French one? Didn't they make money from it? And if you notice, Asa didn't complain about that one. Do they want her to be indebted to them forever? Of course they do. But no matter how much they try, they can't keep her down. Maybe they'll make a few bucks from this, but then when people cotton on to the fact that there's nothing of Asa's soul in it, it will sink like the other one. Kevin is an Oloshious fellow, he should get over himself. He didn't 'make' anybody, least of all Asa.

@Ijeoma O: If Asa was such a big shot before Question Mark came along, why did she sign with them? Abeg! Leave that story. Nobody is a baby here. Spin doesn't always work.

One thing is sure - for Question Mark to be openly selling Asa's music it means that they have a legal right to do it. This is a lesson for all, not everybody you just get up and walk out on - some will followup to get their money back.

This ingratitude of Nigerian artistes and outright using other people to become big and famous is what is keeping the industry down.

The truth is that at some point in Asa's career, she needed Question Mark to help her move forward hence the relationship she had with the label. Even if a label is run by a kitten, a bug, or a rhino, the artiste (and the label, of course) have to live up to the terms of their agreement.

For the record: The label in France refused to move forward with Asa unless they got clearance from Question Mark that Asa was free. Let's stop acting holier than we are. There is no jungle. Asa was crying all over the place asking anyone who knew Kevin to give her a release. So, what is all this victim-playing, Kevin threathened my life story. So, why are you alive? Doesn't Kevin know where you are? If he wanted to kill you, won't you be dead? Let us hear something jor!

pamela said...

as for threats Kevin threathtened and fought in public with multiple people... there are witnesses and numerous police cases. Thank God Asa is safe. I hope Question Mark can try to launder its violent Shug Knight image and find success. All your artistes and business partners cant lie at the same time about your violence. And fighting and tearing shirt in a hotel lobby isnt exactly a secret either. Which other CEO behaves like a tout and expects ppl to work with him?