Gay Nigerian asylum seeker set to be sent home from the UK | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 8 March 2012

Gay Nigerian asylum seeker set to be sent home from the UK

A Nigerian asylum seeker has said he would ‘prefer dying’ than being deported back to his home country from the UK in two days time. (Which is today)

John Abraham, 25, is currently in Colnbrook Immigration Removal Centre near Heathrow airport, west London and is due to be deported to Nigeria on 8 March.

He told Gay Star News that an article on our site was his last hope to avoid being sent back where he fears he will face persecution and physical attack.
And he asked us to identify him as he said the danger to his safety would be no greater if he was deported – as everyone in his community in Nigeria already knows he is gay.

Abraham said: ‘I left Nigeria in 2008 and came to Britain to study business administration.
‘But while I was here I introduced my boyfriend to my cousin and she told my family. My father is a pastor and my family has abandoned me and now the whole community knows.

‘I would be sent back if I was attacked and persecuted but I also wouldn’t have any life as a gay man. I would prefer dying to going back.’
Abraham said he also had a male partner in Nigeria too, as a 19 to 20-year-old student, but his sexuality was not known by others at that time.
Despite his current partner attending court with him, asylum judges and officials have refused to accept he is gay, Abraham claims.

His case was further complicated by his arrest for ‘handling stolen goods’, which he says was actually an innocent mistake as he was trying to help his friend.
Bisi Alimi, who is Africa director of international LGBT charity Kaleidoscope and from Nigeria himself said that he had met Abraham’s boyfriend and several other friends and believed him to be a genuine gay asylum seeker.

But he said the UK asylum system struggled due to stereotyped understanding of what lesbian and gay people looked like.
Alimi added: ‘There is no framework in this country to allow people to prove their sexuality which is a flaw to the system. If you don’t know what you need to do you stand the chance of losing your case.’
He said that Kaleidoscope hoped to work with the Home Office to improve their policies, procedures and training.

Meanwhile he warned against sending Abraham back to Nigeria, where homosexuality is criminalized.
He said: ‘The situation in Nigeria is really bad. There is very strong, aggressive, hate coming from there. We get reports even now of gay people being the victims of police brutality and being harassed and abused by the community.’

Source

Gay people are victims of police brutality in Nigeria? Please stop the drama! I live in Nigeria and have gay friends. I have never in my life witnessed anyone being harassed or physically assaulted for being gay. Except you pass your boundary and start making passes at straight people. Find another excuse, abeg!

98 comments:

devour said...

linda it seems dis ur new found fame its getting to ur head ! you have gay friends ? since when ? after your few days trip to us ? people like you should not be let out of there cages.dont follow the crowd,be yourself and call a spade a spade .

N G O said...

Hmmmm Linda u hv gay friends abi lesbians friends? Abeg come out make we knw.

Meanwhile, de guy wan use being gay stay for london, am sure he's nt gay but no wan com back to naija. Na brain be dis ooo.

Ghen ghen...let the bashings start rolling in!grabs popcorn n pure water...TONI

Luffy said...

If I hear say the boy gay.....oyinbo open your eyes and if he truly is....welcome home to fourteen years in jail...and please let us truly start brutalising these yansh tearers...we dont want the rot of these oyinbo people....adam was given eve and not steve....shikena!!!

kcee said...

They need to review the law against gay people in the country. Let them just limit it to our country laws not recognizing gay marriages. If you want to practice gay let it be your own private business and let God be the judge.

the white enchantress said...

am confused! what is his offence really? gay or not gay? stolen goods? murder? fake yellow fever card? fake passport? please which because the story has no sense of direction.

See his strong head. This one no be gay at all. More like a criminal that wants to remain in the U.K at all costs. We knew people would start using this excuse to seek asylum. My people nor dey fail sha! LOL!

Make you come back home with that your fake name and resume your area boy activities for Oshodi.

This one dea fear d poverty that awaits him if he shld come back home.Oga u can still do ur gay in d under-g wtout anyone knowing, welcome back home
ME

Atobatele said...

He has better die dere...10yrs await you for Naija. smh for gay pple sha

Free d guy Linda pls.. He is lookn at 14yrs.. E good make dem deport am? Pls free Mr Abramham!!! Mayb ur gay pals are big bois.. He is a normal guy and Im case don spread everywhere... I hope they grant him d asylum he seeks.. We nigerians should be sensitive sometimes.. U can never understand wat he is going through.. If na ur brother u go say make dem deport am?

nobody is going to do anything to you! Just come back jare! Plenty gay people dey for lagos! Stop using Gay as excuse to stay in someone elses country!

I'm sure he's not even gay sef!

pegomay said...

MUMU Berra come back and join us here in building the NATION! lol Gay my Foot!

by exposing him to your homophobic readers, I suppose you are making it possible for him to die.

So now he has every reason to be afraid.

Linda Ikeji, you are probably the most homophobic blogger out there.

When something happens to him tomorrow. Be sure to claim responsibility.

thank you o, maddame ikeji, see these idiots wanting to spread false news about my beloved country. abi u don ever hearsay dem slap person because him be gay before? abegi... no go caliente go see as gay pple dem dey shaye...

hehehehehehhehee

the guy doesnt want to come back by all means

i dont agree with you linda...it depends on d area he lives in..if he lives in mainland or a ghetto place where people are less educated and very aggressive he could be severly bullied.chino

Please Linda don't say what you don't know. I was in great IFE when dapo the gay boy was there and he was seriously harassed. To the extent of them sticking candles down his bum and breaking it. He was brutally beaten times without numbers. I don't support being gay but I also don't support any form of abuse.

Linda, I think this guy's should be checked by psychiatrist.

Hahahahahahaha......His own don finish....Nigerians are waiting even at d airport for me...He berra beg UK well cos ......heee.........I cant even fit shout.......lol.....

OH PLS!!!!ALL THESE GAY PROPONENTS SHOULD PLS GET A FRIGGIN LIFE!IMAGINE THIS ONYE ARA SEEKING ASYLUM COS "HE'S GAY AND HE'S SCARED OF BEING VICTIMISED IF HE COMES BACK"!!!

WORDS OF COMFORT FOR U: IT IS ONLY 14 YEARS U WILL USE IN JAIL AFTER WHICH U WILL BE TAKEN TO MFM FOR 40 DAYS DELIVERANCE FROM THE SPIRIT OF HOMOSEXUALITY!STUPID IDIOT LIKE U!

that is always your nonsensical excuse. just because you have not seen it does not mean that it does not occur. Lagos is certainly not the rest of Nigeria.

Secondly, the fact that queer people have to hide their relationship for the most part should be an indication to you that they do not feel safe. When you get married tomorrow, you will feel safe walking around lagos with your husband and holding his hands i assume. you might even display affection publicly. Can you gay friends do that without fearing some kind of mob attack?

to what extent can gay people do that in Nigeria? Particularly with the new laws?

Do not be unreasonable Linda, its quite unbecoming and rather foolish.

It is almost like your homophobia will not allow you to see reason. I feel sorry for your so called gay friends. WIth friends like you.....

Sliyng said...

Linda,its a chance for you to take his Life Picture at the Airport
Even Animals of same sex
dont sleep with one another.
He better retires to his village

Menakayas Baby said...

Chai!! So it is true!! There are actually gay people in Nigeria!! Tufia!! Obulu ogwu omanle!

since d yeye idiot no know where im suppose chook his dick,make police use candle droplets burn im prick..moronic fool#vexing#.......sniper

Linda, you harsh oooo. I swear I go set Tontolet Dikeh on you :) Seriously, whatever be the guy excuse, make una allow get him papers oooo. The only way for them to find out if the Naija man be real gay na to let gay the judge from the back then play the sex tape for the jury to decide. I don't care if the man is gay or not, make them give him Indefinite Leave To Remain. Make them grant am STAY :)

Make him go straight To Lagos, Uti & him wife Alex go accommodate am.

Linda, I love you but I don't think he is afraid that every Nigerian he randomly sees on the road is after him. I think when he said community he meant his Family and relations. He mentioned that his sister 'outed' him to his family. I believe that is the cause for his concern. Tbh i know there are many gays in nail now and people are getting a bit more used to it especially in this generation but nobody wants their family member to be gay. i feel bad for him. if they deport him, he should marry his partner and go back.

Nollywood Forever said...

Be real Nigerians are EXTREMELY HOMOPHOBIC!!! Can you not even see it from the venom posted in your comments section? And you are here saying the guy should get real. No you should get real. If he is gay persecution is a very REAL threat.

all na lie....this guy should use a better excuse for not wanting to go back to naija ... jols

If this boy is looking for a way to stay back in the UK, i think he should try another method and not use being a guy as an excuse. I was in an all boys school(secondary) and we had boys that were guys.We never for once did anything to them, as a matter of fact they are now know guy people and thier families have come to terms with it. That is not to say i stand for the ungodly act.My advice to him, just go back home and find something to do and give ur life to Christ.Being in the Uk will not bring solutions to your problems.

Ayo said...

This guy is soooo ridiculous it is not even funny. I am sure he is not gay but is so desperate to stay in the UK that he is willing to say anything. Linda as you rightly pointed out, gay people abound in Nigeria, their getting married is what is the issue. As for Mr Alimi, he is talking nonsense, abeg which country has a framework that allows people prove their sexuality?????. They are both clutching at straws and as my girl said, find another excuse!!!!

Desperado. You better come back home and lets all tough it out here. Gay ko, Homo ni. As if police dont harass everyone for ordinary N20.

lie lie. u dont want to return simple. stop the tales. no body attacks gays in 9ja esp Lagos except u try to molest someone

Linda pls tell him there is a simple way to proove his "gayism". he should do the "DO" before d judge. only u be gay only u be thief... yeye dey smell

Chaunncy said...

Linda U don't understand the write up about the guy,the guy want a serious excuse to be able to stay back in UK,honestly any body who comes out open as guy will receive Serious beating,So Linda forget it ur friends who are gays ( homosexual and lesbians) cant come out open if not I go follow beat them,why will they come out as gay,all gays have spiritual problems. So that guy should pls remain in UK bcos we don't need him or gays in Naija abeg. I can't even live near them talkless of making them as friends. Na wrong life they dey live and na evil acts. So UK immigration pls hold that guy there tight we don't need him in Nigeria pls.

Nice article...I think dea should let abraham bee..he deserve wat he is asking for and I don't think forcing wil be he best way out!lets think about the gay influence he will bring to d country when he come..does are the simple tins we have to be considerin before pulling out comment....pls let the guy be..

Linda when did u start having gay friends linda?? is it not blogs like urs dat sensitize pple to treat them unfairly. Naija is a country where anyone can be a victim of police brutality...gay or straight. Only makes it worse wen d person is gay. Pple come to ur blog everyday to pounce on homosexuals just cos they wanna feel good about themselves. N u encourage them by posting such humiliating stories with ur sarcastic comments. u definately fan d flame linda so stop pretending like nigeria is a safe place for people like dat guy cos its not.and before ur avid readers pounce on me...im not gay but im also not ignorant n prejudiced enuf to hate pple dat are.

i knew once we had this law people will use it to seek asylum outside the shores . if you want to be guy in nigeria you can as long as you are not seeking equal right and legally married in short you can do what you like as long as you do not seek to be recognised . abeg he should come home and work hard and not go and be disgracing us in the UK

George A said...

D bigest nigeria MUMU, fine fine Toto ful deir, na boy lik ann e day fuck.... Abeg mke dem send ann bak garay

Lol, wow, thats all I can say. Can this story be for real? How can you determine who is gay or not??

Linda, What r u sayn? Maybe not beaten up by Police but in my secondary skul and university days, once u find out some1 is gay.. d person gets beaten up massively wiv or wivout making a move on a straight person. but o well, guess dis aint secondary skul days no more..

Mag said...

story!!!1Nigerians abroad ve now seen new excuse to be giving immigration wen caught. rubbish.

Amaka's Notepad said...

foolish boy. he should jump through the window of the plane if/when he is eventually deported. Is he saying there are no gay people here in naija? say we don kill them finish? yeye pickin

THE GUY NO WANT TO COME BACK, SO THE AGENDA IS TO STAY IN THE UK BY ANY MEANS POSSIBLE

even though i don't like the gay lifestyle...i know dat gay people in naija are constantly harassed ridiculed and assaulted for no reason other than that they are gay.. so pls let them grant him asylum in uk....but on the other hand as a sharp guy he may be lying to the uk authorities in a desperate attempt to stay in the uk..my 2 cents

Really Linda, are you trying to say Gay Nigerian's don't get persecuted in Nigeria? Please don't be so Naive. Did the government not just create a stupid law to imprison homosexuals.

Onyinye Chukwu said...

D dude is jus lookin for ways to avoid being deported. I can bet my salary he aint gay!

This one you're saying you have gay friends, make them no come catch you begin dey ask you to name them sha...lol
But for real, if gay people wont 'pass' their boundaries, i believe they are being tolerated in Naija...

I knew some idiot would try to use the gay law in Nigeria to seek asylum abroad...9ja people and their scam sha...na wa oh

This man is not gay Joor.nigerians and dere tactics to get stay in a country

bullshit.com! please send the brother home. I dont even live in naija but i know of a few gay guys that are not being victimized or terrorized. I dont like people making Nigeria seem like such a horrible place. Im ok with him claiming asylum and using whatever sad story but stop making us the rest of us in the UK look like we are monkeys from a forest.

Lair, he does not even look gay. Deport sharp

CHiCHiLuv said...

If they allow him to stay based on this reason, this will open a flood gate of men claiming to be gay in order to gain asylum. I think they will send him home, it is too much of a risk!

Gboza says:
So so sorry, he sounds very confused about everything including his sexuality. May God help him.

BLOGLORD said...

now ds guy is cooked. even if he is not persecuted, he will die of isolation; well except if he mingles codedly with his gay partners.
i just feel disgusted reading this piece.
n linda what du mean u have gay friends? wat r u doing with them? u know how they say "a friend of a thief is also a thief", pls dont let some people begin to look at u in that direction oh. i once had someone who added me on fb. i didnt know her and sent her a msg to ask her if we had met or something. she said no but just likes my profile pic moreso we were namesake. i took a look at her profile n found out she was a lesbian. it didnt take me 5seconds to unfriend, block n report that i didnt know her.
yes am waiting for gay/lesbian advocates to attack me on this but i got one sentence for such people
which is
"i hate the practice, i am against the practice, i dont swing both ways n will never willingly have any of them as friends"
if u insult me for my standpoint, back to sender double fold.

KofoLina said...

May God forgive me if I am wrong but the question is whether this guy is really gay? Keep us posted on the story please...

www.myflawsandi.blogspot.com

Na stupid person im be...I sure say na Yoruba boy...we no want am for Naija o....make im remain there....he too wowo for Naija community...person no know wetin im don carry after all his gay activities, make im remain over there dey spread d disease dey go...otherwise we go kill am as soon as his behind touch Naija airport!

#Queeny!

beforenko said...

Their law is kinda foolish. So until he actually starts fucking another man in their face b4 they can believe he is gay. Don't send him back to Nigeria. This guy MAY be hurt. But Abraham(you just destroyed that name and its deep Biblical meaning) anyways me I think they will not hurt you in naija as long as you don't marry another man and don't kiss another man in public. There are plenty gay guys doing them in naija. Even on facebook. Seal kamson, dane ephraim, darlington leo, james tosin, sheifunmi, korede wealth obasan. All these guys are on facebook and openly gay. Even some have pictures where they are kissing or hugging other dudes. Unless ur family or neighborhood is violent, nothing do you bro. But seriously tho we still have very violent gay bashers in naija. Pls don't send him back

IDIOT BY THE TIME NIGERIANS DEEP YOU IN FYING PAN YOU WILL REALISE WHERE YOU ARE. JUST PRAY YOU DONT GET YOUR FOOT ON IKEJA AIRPORT BLOODY LIAR!

What? Linda dapada. I have witnessed gay beatings o and lesbian harassment. Didn't you see the video where they forced those lesbians in Abia college to eat each other and finger themselves while they were slapping and beating them up? Stop playing ignorant Linda. Even your most recent story on stephanie or is it dapo adaralegbe, didn't u read prior to approving all the comments from guys who proudly said they used to beat that S/Him up just for being gay. Linda abeg park well jo. Gays are being harassed on a daily basis

Linda you have gay friends? O_o. He's actually saying the truth. Homosexuality is a taboo in this nation

Immanuel Odeyemi said...

Thank You Linda o, where the heck or when sef dem de harass gay people for this country? Mscheeeeeeeew!

Linda's Forehead said...

Linda common be quiet....you are sooo messy and disloyal. One day you are inciting hate against gays in naija, anotha day you want violence to stop. Nigeria has no patience for gay people that are not residents of Lekki, VI or Ikoyi. We all know several of the male fashion designers are QUEENS in the sheets. (being married doesnt mean jack, trust me....lol)

You have gay friends, doesnt mean they represent all the gays in naija....Please sharrap abeg.

And why do you mean by "overstep their boundary"???? arent they human beings? They have a right to approach anyone. How many straight men approach lesbos daily??? Should the lesbos start assaulting the men too??

Nothing dramatic about saying there is police brutality on gay people in naija. There is a law to back police brutality, so gay people cant live a violence-free life in naija. Yeye lawmakers passing bills that have nothing to do with the masses. If someborri is gay, thats their own life....

Mena UkodoisReady said...

poor thing...whichever way you look at it

I am, the no Sender. said...

Make una no mind the guy jo. Make the guy look out for another ruse jare. Anyway, cunny man die cunny man go bury am. All that na sharp move to keep him in the U.K. Abegi! No be today nyash get parting. The thing is today to send someone go MM airport to see the guy depending on his flight time and you will be surprised at the warm welcome he go receive from his pastor father.

Chrisilicious said...

What a shame, na wah ooh fine boy like dis come be c**ksucker, disgusting, come home boy make you meet your people dem, dem plenty for Abuja, Lekki & Ikeja sha don't make passes @ straight guy na die be dat

NaijaMan said...

Its hard to believe this guy is gay, he just wants to use that to gain asylum. Boko Haram would have been a better excuse.

He handled stolen goods? please deport him, I live in the UK and it is bastards like this who engage in criminal activity that give everyone else a bad image.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Good news back to back..see this idiot..was only time 9jas would trigger that Gay prejudice clause..And a 9ja Senator also got deported..maybe if u beautified your constituency you wouldn't be needing a visa to go to another African country!!..

Mama somtee said...

Desperado even oyinbo sef wey Sabi , dem dey deny you , aaaaabeg we are expecting here in lasgidi .

stupid boi and liars

The Great Oracle said...

He wasn't educated enough to know that the 14 years penalty for being gay is not yet binding & therefore unenforceable because only Senate alone has passed it. House of Rep yet to follow suit. Not yet a law.

Linda, what am i getting for this tutorial?

The Great Oracle said...

Well said, Linda.

Loool bloody lier but good tactics though his lawyer is relly smart but tut tut at the pathetic claims!

BLOGLORD said...

linda where is my comment??

Sorry to say, but mr Abraham is not gay, its just a flux to get permanent residency. Have seen it many times and was even advised by a friend to say i was a lesbian cos i wanted a change of environment then. Funny how he went about researching cases for me to use until i told him i wasnt that desperate to declare that i was gay wen i wasnt. Thats how a lot of pple who go seeking asylum declare to be what they re not and the british govt has caught on. He should try Canada, they have a more lenient stand towards asylum seekers who re gay/lesbian, he will get it if he succeeds in presently a solid case, cos as for the british, they know us very well and wont accept his story. They know how desperate nigerians are wen it comes to visas etc

I bet he's Igbo, but no one's hating on him now!

Dee said...

I completely agree with your comment.

Tank u.

ONOME says...........................
lolllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll
Tired much today;won't bore with my stance on this today;;;another day;another time;another story...

This guys is just lying. He should look for another valid reason to seek asylum rather than claim persecution. Afterall, Uti and Ebuka and Eyimofe Atake (SAN) have not been persecuted.

Are u gay?

Can't you read?

Gbagaun toh has better best!!!

Shut ur traps! Cork sucker!

I usually dont calling people out but for the first person who commented be very carefull. You never know if your husband might be a closeted gay/lesbian. Your children might even come out one day and declare their love for the same sex. What are you goin to do then... Hang yourself? Linda can be friends with whoever she pleases. Acting like your "IGBE" dont stink. Hiss!

Thank you!!

My fellow nigerians! Please wake up and smell the coffee. Who are we to judge. If a person loves another person of the same sex. Let them be as long as they are not imposing their sexuality on other people and abusing others. I bet the ones condeming like yansh sex. How is that natural???

babeontop said...

Shut up abeg...see your mouth.

THERE IS NO JAIL TERM FOR HOMOSEXUALITY. THE JAIL TERM IS FOR HOMOSEXUAL MARRIAGES! GET YOUR FACTS RIGHT. STUPID WHORES COMMENTING RUBBISH HERE! JUST WAIT AND SEE..YOUR HUSBANDS AND BROTHERS AND SONS WILL ALL BE EXPOSED! HYPOCRITES!!!!!!!!

Lmao...hahahah how do u know? But wait oh Alex will strangle him at night because he is so jealous that even his jealousy has no bearing,he is as jealous as a gf would be over her boifee its bad enough he can't hide it in public**pukes**. So the guy should rather stay there and not consider Alex and Uti because hmnnn this 2 na for better for worse oh!

Is he really gay or just pretending to get stay in the UK?

Linda, you are just a fake person...smh at you....too bad.. Its on you blog they post comments about how the gay people are being treated harshly... and now you say "I live in Nigeria and I have gay people as my friend"... Don't by yourself screw your self up.......

oby said...

@bloglord,so ur a girl.....chineke!!!

ppl STOP being dumb!d shape of his head has nothin 2 do with his sexuality!!!

Had better!

hollyedye said...

This one dea fear d poverty that awaits him if he shld come back home
MUMU Berra come back and join us here in building the NATION! lol Gay my Foot!

nigeria cheap flights

Please let us not try to behave 'holier than thou'and justify ourselves. We're saying the guy should come back when we'd all throw stones at him if we saw him in the marketplace. Have you not heard the stories of Dapo 'Stephanie' Adaralegbe and how he was almost burnt alive? We have the habit of pulling specks out of people's eyes without checking our own logs. Have YOU dealt with your own infidelity, adultery, maltreating of that poor househelp in your house, bribery and other social vices? A human being is only fighting for his right to some semblance of a 'normal'life and you're all talking trash! SHAME ON YOU NIGERIANS! BIG BIG SHAME!