Foreign hostages killed in failed rescue attempt to free them from captors in Kebbi State | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 8 March 2012

Foreign hostages killed in failed rescue attempt to free them from captors in Kebbi State

British Chris MacManus, left, and Italian national Franco Lamolinara, right, in the first video released by their kidnappers in Nigeria in August last year
A British and Italian hostage have been killed after a botched rescue attempt to free the pair from Al Qaeda kidnappers.

Chris MacManus and Franco Lamolinara had been held since May last year after being captured in Kebbi State. Their kidnappers are believed to have killed the hostages as a special forces team - including British troops - moved in to free them today.

Christopher MacManus before he was captured
Eight members of the Special Boat Service, supported by between eight to 12 Royal Marine commandos, carried out the operation, along with Nigerian troops.
Their deaths were confirmed by David Cameron who phoned Italian Prime Minister Mario Monti to tell him the news.
The pair had been working together in northern Nigeria (Kebbi state) when they were taken last year.

They were seen pleading for their lives in a number of videos released by their captors.
Mr Cameron today said the rescue mission was launched because of growing fears that the men's lives were in 'imminent and growing danger'.

In a statement, he said the attempt was mounted by Nigerian authorities with British support but both hostages were killed by their captors before they could be rescued.

He said: 'Chris MacManus, a British citizen, was taken hostage by terrorists in Northern Nigeria in May 2011. He was taken hostage with his colleague, an Italian national, Franco Lamolinara.
'Since then, we have been working closely with the Nigerian authorities to try to find Chris and Franco, and to secure their release.

'The terrorists holding the two hostages made very clear threats to take their lives, including in a video that was posted on the internet.
'After months of not knowing where they were being held, we received credible information about their location. 

'A window of opportunity arose to secure their release.  
'We also had reason to believe that their lives were under imminent and growing danger.'

Culled from Daily Mail

48 comments:

chioma said...

May their soul rest in peace, so unfortunate that they died in the hands of idiots.
Now the british is reaping what they sowed by handing over power to animals and joined them to fight Biafrans.

May this EVIL not thrive in NIGERIA!! this is indeed a demonic uprising more than just the bloodshed,there's a demonic plan behind this! if we like,we can fold our arms and nor pray and be looking for only physical solutions.....while physical solutions are great,spiritual remedies are needed! thje enemy wants to destroy our great nation! the devil never attacks a DRY LAND!!! hmmmmmmm! GOD HELP US!!!!

K said...

RIP to the two men that lost their lives. Naija, wetin we no go hear from this country.

Seyi said...

Really, really sad! My heart goes out to their families. What is happening in our country is totally unprecedented? Heartless, callous, wicked, cold-hearted. . .and every other adjective applicable. O God!

BLOGLORD said...

damn! this brutality is crazy. people are just killing without blinking. may their soul rest in peace. quite sad

Very sad. May their souls rest in peace.

I can imagine wat their families re goin tru...may dey rest in peace..dis country is gettin outta hands ooh..

Omy bekee said...

Oya!Let dem come and stage manage this one,and produce the "Christians"behind this one too.This nonsense is getting out of hand.What was the crime of these two men now???What?I am so filled with rage right now,as in!!!It's a daily struggle with the increasing hate i feel towards these ppl every passsing day.30 sth years go,we wanted to go our own way ooh,dey said no,we must all stay as one,but how do u reason with people whose only language is babaric violence????Chai!my heart bleeds...to the two young men,RIP O jare.

As I talk so,I nor call anybody put for d mata,so if u read finish,talk your own.Make anybody nor take dia own join my own ooh.If dem no born u well,insult me.

Imagine these men being abducted by men of Al Qaeda sect in Nigeria, something also tells me the Boko haram sect are not working alone but wit aids from this deadly sect.your miserable days are numbered...Rip to these 2 men..

dave1 said...

Stupid,Idiotic,Barbaric...ok,wat av dey gained nw?! Jst dragging d already tarnishd imagine of naiJA down d shit-hole! Dz country needs help...lets look 'UP' folks!

MY VIEW said...

Chioma, you saiid it all .
May their souls , the souls of all the people who died in the civil war and Ojukwu rest in perfect peace. Amen.

beamer said...

Dat first post sure comes from an idiot....bringing tribal -ish to something as crazy as this...dumb gal

Uche said...

This is really heartbreaking, it displeases me when foreigners who are working in naija feel unsafe and worse when they are kidnapped, no thanks to Asari Dokubo who started this trend of violence that was previously alien to d country. May their souls RIP. My thoughts and prayers are with their families. However this is no reason why Sky News should be profiling us all evening and insulting Naija blatantly

And I sure say na our Nigeria Police fire d bullets wey kill them.RIP.

Omy bekee said...

oga/madam anonymous 10:28.The truth is very very bitter.At the mention of Biafra...they tremble.mscheeeew.I do not stand to be corrected when i say that Nigeria,as at at before the time of the war and more shamefully even now has NO business remaining as one entity.If there can be a peaceful means of separation,let us all split.Ogini?I am sure u are running your mouth because u haven't felt the wrath of these blood thirsty babarians.Go,and ask questions properly.So yes,the civil war may not have been the way to go,but one thing is for certain,there isn't any basis for nationhood if in the so called nation,we live in fear of one of our "own".Ngwa,taa m.

And no,I am not even Chioma...but i can like to buy this market that you are selling.

Oj said...

Government should do something about this morf..ckers.to avoid calamity. The world is watchn.

Abeg they need to seperate us (Christians)from those blood thirsty muslims that keep taking innocent lives.

#Speechless....

#Queeny!

Fearless! said...

When hunger kill u pple again,u will come back!

Long hiss.....
What has seperating 9ja got to do with the murder of these men?
Lack of yarns causes misyarns!!!!
Like you have any value that ure adding to 9ja or ur presence will be missed or noticed!

May their soulS RIP

ONOME says......................
rest in peace men....you didn't deserve this..........#I am not going to say more#

Chidoh Evulobi said...

Nigeria has really become something else

All dos malu, mallam, hausa pple shld go deir way! We're tired of deir thirst 4 innocent blood. Let us seperate so dat dey can have deir peace and live together as muslims only,(dey can kill deir xtains bros and sis as dey like!) and we can have peace too. Chikena!!!

I have always known that there is a foreing influence. They are here training their Dogs and performing the tasks that may be difficult for them. God of heaven is not sleeping.

@ Fearless...who nor go no go ever fit know.

how is their death more gory than the lives of so many nigerians that we have been losing from all these crazy bombersyears back.Somehow, i feel the lives of theseforeigners seem more precious than the hundreds of nigerians that have died...
the truth of the matter is that BH is a menace that must be nipped in the bud. it doesnt matter who they kill. THEY JUST MUST BE STOPPED!!! C'EST FINI!

the white enchantress said...

time to carry out total genocide wipeout in the north because obviously they dont value life so they should all be sent to their maker or better still sent to middle east where their counterparts are.

Muse said...

This is a shame! Who can ever believe this is the same once peaceful Nigeria whom many never imagined will be associated with terrorism.This is sad. I only pray they had an opportunity at receiving Christ.

kinky babe said...

Sincerely speaking all dis killings dt ave been taking place ever since is as a result of jonathan being d president and nt ibb and his cohort.If jonathan steps down now d killings will stop,i dnt knw y dis 'anofia ewu mme' people think only dem can rule dis nation bt let me tell dem something mi God does not sleep his words must surely come 2 pass d God dt fought 4 his people d israelitew must surely fight 4 us and dey all will be exposed and dey will knw dt our God does not sleep.

Let their souls rest in peace.

They have touched the head of a cobra!

wait and see how these idiots and barbarians would be wiped off silently by British and Italian forces.

Their cup don full!

Bloody fools!

omalicha nwa said...

i neva liked d muslims cos dey don't practice wt dey preach rader dey preach violence,tell me wt offence dese men ave commited 2 ave made d idiots people murdered dem in cold blood,wen u c dem praying it seems as if dey are seeing God himself wen in their heart dey are planning evil i so much hate their culture.'ndi ara ndi ara'am outa here

Mgbeke feeling funky said...

I am an Igbo girl, my grandad was a war veteran, God rest his soul, my ma was born duringd war and I have heard touching stories of the Biafra war. But to ask for a divide or to blame ALL northerners or Muslims for this is rather petulant, childish and the idea of a myopic mind.

Besides, what has the death of these two people got to do with tribalism?

Stop chasing shadows and start chasing substance, Chioma and omy BEKEE, ur hate is misdirected, Nigerians have a common enemy called Boko Haram, not religion , not ethnicity just terrorism.

Merinoz said...

The entity called Nigeria is a big farce. Split this nation so we all don't answer the bad name of 'TERRORISTS'. I'm ashamed to be called a Nigerian. Biafra on my mind! May their souls rest in Peace. Wish the British Government will carry out serious attacks on the Northerners..*smh*

Merinoz said...

The entity called Nigeria is a big farce. Split this nation so we all don't answer the bad name of 'TERRORISTS'. I'm ashamed to be called a Nigerian. Biafra on my mind! May their souls rest in Peace. Wish the British Government will carry out serious attacks on the Northerners..*smh*

SUE JORDAN said...

what has this country become...

David Cameron messed up with this. I'm sure the traitors on the Nigerian side told the hostage takers about the impending ambush. May they RIP. Italy is now questioning him and has said they were not informed.

wow said...

This is so bad oooo Let them stop this!!!

Shut ur trap if don't hv what to say,who told u Asari started this trend of violence...nonsense

Mine said...

@Fearless i hope u are not saying dt igbos add no value to d nation or won't be missed...Just asking

David cameron rushed things instead of waiting to see proper way. He just want to do like Obama on the way he captured OSAMA but failed.

Idiot.Thunder fire that septic tank u call a mouth.Fool.Useless pig.U n all ur family go doe fr d hands of boko haram.God punish you.

Jobs In Nigeria said...

Is someone seriously kidding me?al-qeada in Nigeria?Abasi mgbo?May their souls find rest.

GlamNotchApparels said...

mehn! they waited too long to come to their rescue.... since last year? haba! so sad that they have been killed.

The Nigerian people must have leaked information on the rescue operation and that's why those men were killed. smh.

Its very sad an unfortunate. If truly these extremist are acting in this barbaric way are doing it under the influence of religion, then our religious leaders HAVE FAILED WOEFULLY because they cant preach and talk against this wickedness of the highest order. May the wrath of God burn severely on this Boko HARAM members and their supporters (in cash and kind). USELESS PEOPLE!

Anonymous 9:29 pm March 8, what the bloody hell are you yammering about? Spiritual solution? Prayer? Isn't that ALL NIGERIANS ARE KNOWN FOR? Shooting ourselves in the foot and praying for solution while we do nothing to help ourselves and waiting for God to come and save us. Blaming the devil and refusing to take responsibility for our own evil acts? Have you heard the story of the guy that prayed to God for months to win the lottery and complained when he didn't? God said "stop complaining, did you buy a ticket TO PLAY THE LOTTERY?" Prayers indeed.

Muslims are not terrorists. My religion teaches me first to love my neighbour like i love myself. sure, there are a bunch of crazy muslims out there (just like there are a bunch of other crazies that are not Muslim), but we are not a blood thirsty people, our religion condemns such acts and it pains me to see that people are just too ignorant to realise that or just refuse to listen. Everyone wants to blame the Muslims. it used to be "the Black man did it" and we ALL fought against that because we knew it was just the others wanting to blame someone, now it is "the Muslim did it" if these white people don't understand, at least the black population should.
"I am Muslim, and it is a DUTY upon me to RESPECT and PROTECT the Ahlul-Kitaab (People of The book. i.e Christians and Jews)" These people are not doing it for God, they are using His name and they ARE killing US TOO!

I respect your anger but please, respect our Religion.

Nawa oooooo

@ Fearless u r jus an idiot of the 1st order. If u dnt knw d value dat igbo's r adding to nigeria then a bloody ignoramus is wat u r!!