Corpers who came late to orientation camp rejected in Lagos State | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 10 March 2012

Corpers who came late to orientation camp rejected in Lagos State

Despite the fact that 18 fresh graduates from Imo State University died because they were rushing to Taraba State to catch up after getting their call up letters late, the graduates that made it late to Lagos Orientation camp, also because they got their call up letters late, were not allowed to enter.

A few of the students affected have written to me asking for help. The only thing I can do is put it out there, hoping someone in a position of authority will do something about it! So not cool!

42 comments:

BLOGLORD said...

all ds NYSC sturv is not just needed at all. Nigerian youths r just suffering, others dying all in the name of serving their nation..to make matters worse, fg is not even doing jack about d brutal killings of some corp members.
they should scrap it jorrrr!

personally, i think this whole sham of nysc should be scraped. The purpose of it being created is been defeated with youth corpers being killed in north everyday. And many lose their lives every year in trying to get to the orientation camp after receiving their call up letters late into the night. I saw it happen life. Government should scrap it and leave pple;s children alone for God;s sake

Sammysosa said...

So not cool indeed.dis NYSC shuld b scrabed sef.

Laila Ikeji said...

Wow, they came a day late, 2 days, week late? Really, so not cool. Wow!!!!!!

NKECHI said...

If those 18 copers that died were rejected, the story would have sounded better to us. These ones can always come back again.

Why must 9ja universities always give students their call-up letters late ? *sad* ! Mstchwwww !

Heartless NYSC officials, na dis deir yeye attitude nai make innocent youths lose deir lives so. Animals in human skin, what is d so called orientashit compared to precious lives, na God go punish una! I am so MAD. Can u imagine 18 pple died bcos of d rush to beat deir stupid deadline, Wo dis officials should be castrated! Ewobi mumus!

Aaneetar said...

Aftr spending one miserable year in adamawa state in d name of nysc,reading how people r dying still cos of dis same stupid nysc.i cant help but get vry angry dat its still in existence.

To hell with FG NYSCprogramm.

Nice one linda keep up the good work.

Well if you have proof that you received it late then you can call the DG or go to abj to lay your complaints.

Did my service 09/10, and it made me realise that once you are right and fighting collectively and not selfishly you will win. Wen I wanted to attend my grad and they refused I simply called our DG and he gave an immediate instruction there and then. I was amazed cos the man no know me from Adam.

When I was registering for my service (foreign student waka) Some of the NYSC staff tried to double cross by claiming they cant help me and the others while they were collecting bribe to get the job done. *laughing* I walked straight to the 5th floor and asked to see the boss lol, my courage made them feel I came for something important. My people na so I go tear yanch oo. I said to the lady in charge *I can proof that they accepted xyz, so why are me and the rest of the helpless students left hanging, if there is space for one with cash bribe, there is surely space for the witness* And yes that's how I got all of us in, I didn't even know half the people there. Can I get an Amen.

Confidence & Honesty, that's what we lack as Nigerians

Dey shld travel again to Abuja to lay a complaint to d DG and get killed on d highway abi? Abeg abeg go drink water and sit down, i sure say ur throat dry, u no see matter talk, mr or miss yankee! Seriously, dis issue shld be addressed now by those concerned and in LAGOS!, no unnecessary travelling 4 dis young lads.

Modupsy said...

I also agree that it should scrapped too. How don't see how it is a service to the govt..

Even Last year, d same IMSU gave deir students deir call up letter l8..

ade said...

lol at the bold and courageous anonymous 9.38pm.
many nigerians wont do that cos we've been taught that there is no way for the bold and honest.

the whole NYSC thing, its easy to say that it should be scratched but i cant. With 50% unemployment rate, that is the only savings some university graduates have for another 5yrs when they take up mechanic job with a degree in political science :( :( :(

my heart just weeps :(

the white enchantress said...

yeye......de had berra do something oh bc if they had accident,it will....oh such a nyce fellow.

Engr Francix E-mail said...

Yu seem to hava weird filosofi of life.. I likdat!!

Str8FrmDaHips said...

My heart bleeds when i see the roforofo..the UK and Italian Govt made over 1 citizen..look at 9ja students and others dying not even a serious mention..and not allowed into camp..people that should have been accorded some level of sympathy!!

I weep heavily in my spirit for a logic-political summersualt of d whole NYSC programme. Institutions are not helping matters giving call up on time, d so-called NYSC disciplinarians do not conduct themselves well and work on time to send call up on time, their principles exhibition is on poor lads dat are innocent on getting their call up late. Nigerians cultured character should go with legal moral pardone. I'm fed up! Just imagine 18 dead! And one would say they should pay way to ABJ for complaints when some even borrow money to get to camp. This is a pitiable dismal and totally regretably lugubrious.

NAIJA CUSTOM LOGOS said...

Well it's better to rejected than dead. They 'll be reposted anyway

PoLyMaT said...

NYSC is a faaaailed body--and brings nofin bt bad news 2 us--FG no go scrap am bcos of d daily money dem dey thief every year frm NYSC--

kcee said...

How can you go through all the stress and at the end of the day, due to circumstances beyond you like late collection of call up letters, and you get there just to be rejected. This officials are just heartless. Some people here are just saying you can just come back next batch because you are not the ones involved. Please shut up because you don't know how it feels.

It's not just the universities that give the letters late. Students that studied outside Nigeria have to pick then up from the secretariat and mine came in 3 days before I was supposed to leave. I registered in August for November camp so there's nothing that can be used as an excuse. If you're moving to another state for a year you definitely need more than one week's notice, particularly so you do not rush to charter a bus and end up dead en route. This rubbish needs to be scrapped. It may have been fine 30 years ago but there are too many graduates, not enough facilities and those ideals they based NYSC on do not work any more! People waste half the year looking for jobs, work 6 months and are back on the streets looking and if you take the teaching job they give you you're still back on the streets after a year. You may as well have spent that year looking for a proper job. Nonsense.

beamer said...

Custom: GBAGAUN! GBAGAUN!!

Chimezie Njoku said...

I really dont understand the purpose behind NYSC. The student are not working in the field they read; They are just being forced to serve their country. FG is using them. If FG was using them but at the same time the student are gaining experience in the field they read, then NYSC will serve some good purpose.

Mama somtee said...

Hmmmm Nysc should release call up letters in time to these universities and they the universities should not play god with the letters by delaying the release , Nysc should consider distance potential Corp members have to travel ,they should extend registration from 3 days to 5 days , both organizations are guilty of the delays .
@ people calling for the scrapping of the scheme , have you ever heard of corpers rejecting the 19,800 allowee ? Even the so called foreign ones , everyone wants a piece of the national cake , with the rate of unemployment the money alleviates a lot in some people's life . The Dg too should look into corruption in the scheme when your workers are poorly paid tell me when they will not collect bribe from corpers.

Amen! Nothing beats confidence and boldness when u know u r on ur right. I think the Corpers shd go to Abuja or call the DG. I hate the whole NYSC thing but I daresay I met a young man 2 days to end of camp who looked for me and married me 4+yrs later (...love u babes).

oshin said...

wait,dont u know that nothing work right in this country? do u think our leaders are reasonable? they av no good minds

oshin said...

may their soul rest in peace

Anon 10:12, I never said they should go to Abuja, I said make a call to the DG. Sure your throat was too dry to figure out that his contact is pasted all over the camp *rolling eyes* The solution is staring at their faces. Please Call him and get your self into camp or go collectively and see the person in charge of your camp.

Dont mind some weak ass pple telling you its impossible. Remember Confidence & Honesty

Purity Ozaha said...

Its a failed system of education, why do you expect NYSC to be right, I don't know why its taking too long for ppl to know that the entire country is operating on a sinking sand, its high time the youth thought outta the box and create better alternatives to this worthless conventional archaic educational system we have here. some certifications are worth more than those Bsc of old syllabus they carry about,after the schooling u still face the trap of NYSC either u survice or die, what kinda rubbish is that !! whereas their own children didn't even school here at all !!!!

is it by force to do NYSC?

Are u sure d DG'll answer random calls or even consider treating issues of d sort without d physical presence of d affected corpers. Can dey just get tru to him on d phone w/out bureacracies and a retinue of unnessary aides? Dis is naija not obodo yibo. Dos in charge in Lagos shld sort dis out and can even contact him 4 directives and save d corpers unneedful stress jare!

Nigerians are indeed sick and insincere. Imagine a news like this which affects peoples life will only attrect say 50 comments, while argument between Linda Ikeji and Susan Peters attracted 637 comments. Unbelieveable! When they say Nigerians are suffering, I will never aggree to that. This suffering and smiling thing is so annoying.

What's ur problem? If its paining u that u didn't school in yanki its not too late o! Someone is just trying to help n ur there running ur mouth.

thanks 4 sharing this post with us

Restaurant Brugge said...

great post thanks

You can prove not proof. Foreign was where? Seme?

Abeg FG should find solution to this NYSC stuff Nigeria people are to happy about this every year student lost their life all the name of serving the Nation. can just imagine it parent that have been suffering from children hoping that one he/she will finish and the parent we enjoy the fruit of his/her labour will just die like that. FG abeg do something from corper to be next year. from OLA

INTERNET GLOBAL WORLD said...

Why will thay do that what about the ones who lost there life on the way comeing are thay doing any thing about it.....

This NYSC is no longer needed.GEJ shld pls cancel it ooooooooooo

Its a lie. The corpers were not frm IMSU. Only 5 of dem died. Follow dis link>>> www.informationnigeria.org/2012/03/five-nysc-members-died-in-taraba-car-accident-not-eighteen-nysc.html