The African Billionaires 2012 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 8 March 2012

The African Billionaires 2012

Aliko Dangote                                                 Patrice Motsepe

This year, a record 1,226 billionaires made it to FORBES’ annual ranking of the World’s richest people.
(Carlos Slim Helu is still No.1). African billionaires occupied a little over 1% of the positions on the list. Here are the 16 Africans who made the cut:

Aliko Dangote, $11.2 billion
Nigeria, Sugar, Cement, Flour

Nicky Oppenheimer & family, $6.8 billion

Nassef Sawiris, $5.1 billion
Egypt, Construction

Johann Rupert & family, $5.1 billion
South Africa, Luxury Goods

Mike Adenuga, $4.3 billion
Nigeria, telecom, banking, oil

Naguib Sawiris, $3.1 billion
Egypt, Telecom

Christoffel Wiese, $3.1 billion
South Africa, Retailing

Onsi Sawiris, $2.9 billion
Egypt, construction, telecom

Miloud Chaabi, $2.9 billion
Morocco, Real estate
Patrice Motsepe, $2.7 billion
South Africa, Mining

Othman Benjelloun, $2.3 billion
Morocco, banking, insurance

Mohamed Mansour, $1.7 billion
Egypt, Diversified

Anas Sefrioui, $1.6 billion
Morocco, Real estate

Yasseen Mansour, $1.6 billion
Egypt, Diversified

Youssef Mansour, $1.5 billion
Egypt, Diversified

Mohamed Al Fayed, $1.3 billion
Egypt, retailing

Source 

58 comments:

Mgbeke feeling funky. said...

One day, you will quote my name too.

Atobatele said...

Aliko Dangote and Mike Adenuga are big boys.

Luffy said...

They did not put my name, can't blame them though, I have not declared yet..Emi omo baba olowo**winks**

I am sure Africa's [esp Nigeria] corrupt politicians are looking at this list and laughing, small change...

Maggie said...

Na Naija dey top the list for Africa...we no dey carry last.

as myself said...

lol, u want to start fight with Mike again abi.

Na wa ooo one day I shall be on this list. Yinka

How come I'm not on the Rich List, again??? I hope this list is not a Naija fix. Smh smh smh smh .... Ermm, please, Linda Ikeji, add me to the Rich List or else... don't make me set Tonto Dikeh ( @Tontolet ) on you and Vera. I'm not joking: I mean it :)

Anon 10:13, u hit it there. Politicians will be saying small change but whether dem like am or not they can never make that list. There is nothing like clean money cos u cn spend it as you want but dirty cash, lai lai.

Kai!! Chineke Nna!! Align things for your girl now!! Biko!!

NKECHI said...

@Anon 10:13 you are right. Some Nigerian rich politicians will be laughing at the small change that made list, but then they can only remain anonymous since they cannot give account of their wealth.

Lmaoooo!u re so on point!

So I think dt aliko dangote should propose to linda ikeji already...it will be perfect!yes I said it...TONI

Kbouy said...

Riches in the mist of poverty!!!

onyeka said...

By his Grace, my name will be mentioned very soon
.This my advice to them on the list

LET YOUR WEALTH BE OF BENEFIT TO THE POOR MASSES

kcee said...

Only 16 Africans made it to the list. We still have a long way to go.

There are more Egyptians on that list than any other listed african countries
2 rich men from nigeria says we never start even if we top d list.poverty every where............mschew

...They are not big boys.
They are men. Stop calling Men, grandfathers...'boys'

BNESON said...

BENSON - By this time next year, my name shall be on the list.

BNESON said...

By this time next year, my name shall be on the list of the richest people in the world. Stay tuned......

please does dangote have a son???
if he does hw old??

how can someone be a billionare because he imports sugar and flour and cement.

Nigerians open your eyes!

Rainbow Hospitality Ltd said...

Look out for VICTOR EVANS on FORBES list someday!

Rainbow Hospitality Ltd said...

Look out for VICTOR EVANS on the FORBES list someday!

Samuel Adeniyi said...

Very soon my name will be in the list.

Chidoh Evulobi said...

they omitted my name again this year.

Well I can see why Dangote can afford to buy Newcastle. It is a good thing he didn't

Criticalobserver said...

God go make me bigger oh!

Chidoh Evulobi said...

waoh

Former Gov Bola Tinubu should be on that list lol...12 bilion is chicken change to him..lololol

Alma said...

You've gotta calculate these figures in naira to know how extremely wealthy these guys are. Very whooping sums!!! My name's gonna be on this list one day. Better start famzing with me now.lol.

Aliko Dangote.D man after my own heart.I luv him and Sanusi Lamido,Mike Adenuga,Femi Otedola and Sanusi Dantata.Oh wait...God I luv guys with money.

Keke said...

ALIKO ALIKO ALIKO...HOW DO PPL GET THIS RICH?? I MEAN SERIOUSLY!!!I WILL MAKE THAT LIST IN JESUS' NAME AMEN!!!

Agent 007 said...

Hmmm, Mike should be really on top. However, he soley owns his business 100%, it might be difficult to really say how much his really worth. Wish them all the best. Just hope Aliko is not serious about his presidential ambition. That would finish him.

I agree with the earlier comments that these figures would make politicians laugh. Very true. A very good example is eeemmm.......
make i leave that for now.

Obj made way for aliko....all gud doe

KofoLina said...

Nigerian's are doing a lot. We now need to start bridging the gap between the rich and poor. #feeling proud sha!

www.myflawsandi.blogspot.com

BLOGLORD said...

Billions billions billions owned by one person yet millions are dying of hunger. it is well.

I am, the no Sender. said...

Just Aliko and Adenuga? Just? What ever happened to Otedola? Who removed Jimoh Ibrahim's name? What about Ifeanyi Uba of Capital Oil? Deinde Fernadez nko?Na wa. You'd think that these guys will be worth at least a billion dollars. They should have looked at IBB na? Even OBJ, haba? Egypt and S.A had more than three on that list. Whatz that for? Abeg we must increase that number, add me put.
But seriously just as its true as posted earlier that some of our politicos including the ones I named will laugh at this list when compared to what they've stolen I still feel and I stand to be corrected that Aliko doesn't count for a true self made entrepreneur in the likes of late Steve Jobs and Bill Gates. He got to this height by way of money laudering on behalf of corrupt politicians and undue favouritsm from his government stooges. To some extent the same counts for Adenuga. But then we can't still but commend them because these men have helped create massive employment and provided a great boost to our economy.

My Papa name no dey there naw....he be d Sec Gen Alaba Int'l....u know how many containers im dey import in a year?

#Queeny!

LINDA I HAVE BEEN GOING THRU THE LIST TO SEE OBASANJO, IBB,BANKOLE AND THE REST THE WORLD KNOWS WHO IS WHO CONGRATS TO THE GENUINE HARD WORKING PEOPLE AND SHAME ON YOU THE LOOTERS!

I hope they are paying their taxes

Chaunncy said...

It's true out obj,IBB,Atiku,uzor Kali,ibori,tinubu,inshore all the politicians will be laughing at this list for sure whether they make the list or not they smiling saying small change,for those of you talking about clean money I pity una bcos who no go no go know,na poverty statement be that saying people that made the list are legit or clean money,well when you get there u will understand what I am saying here bcos As far as money is
concerned it can never be clean 100%,as the rule says for you to climb someone must come down. Abi u think say u have to be politician to be corrupt?Mehn there are corporate sectors today doing legit with long time blood money,just like someone selling drugs abroad for year and then decides to return to Naija to set up a legit business ,what do u call that legit right?abeg una too sabi act holy holy. No money as such that I legit go ask any of ur close big shot. If u like sit down there talking about legit and non legit u go roast die

The Great Oracle said...

@Onyeka, pls take dis advice. If yiou hope to make d list one day, your wealth cant b 4 d masses. Make money, donate some (ususlly paltry & 4 publicity stunt only) to some NGO & continue making money. D day you stop, you r on your way down & out of d list.

Get d drift?

dis egyptian men sef nawah 4 dem oo, linda dn't worry vry soon u'll mention my name on dat list.onwa 1 of nnewi

Sweet Lord!God go make me bigger 2.

You just spoke my mind...The likes of bola tinubu and co...lips sealed

Roli said...

Aliko has 3 girls, no son. If he dies, his brothers son inherits everything

@anoy 10.13 you just made my day, exactly my thot. AWon oloriburuku dey wil be laughing out loud but baba GOD wil punish dem wit all their generatios....AMEN

U dat can't spell ur name "benson" properly... How u wan take do am? No go use blood money o

good for them but mike adenuga should employ more nigerians in his management structure as there are capable graduetes that can do the jobs that all these expatriates are doing in his company the same goes for aliko dangote

Diezani Allison Madueke would be laughing at this list,d woman is worth more than all of this people hands down!!!!!! God help us in this country sha,at least this people are providing employment while the theiving leaders we have are just wasting the cash.

Aliko Aliko I want to be like U̶̲̥̅̊ when I grow up.... But wait oo all these rich men in Africa and yet Oprah had to come and open a Free sch in SA, what are they doing with their money to improve those around them? U̶̲̥̅̊ can  of what American Billionaires are doing this ones Nko? Congrats to them ooo, I will be on that list soooonnnnnn.

i dont want be on dat list

Fredilia Ogbonna said...

Luvly prayer, Amen to that! My wealth will definitely touch lives, I have even started touching lives.
Www.frediliadtruthuncensored.com

Soon dey go take u do money

Thanks God my dad's is there. ....yetunde Adenuga

By God grace I will make a top list by 2015 inshallah