Former Maldives Vice President, Ahmed Adeeb (pictured) has been
convicted of plotting to assassinate the Pres. Yameen Abdul Gayoom, by
setting off a bomb on his speedboat in September 2015. He's been sentenced
to 15 years in prison. Adeeb who was once a close confidant of Gayoom,
was impeached in November last year after being accused of the
assassination plot.
Following a closed-door trial yesterday, the Criminal Court
found the ex-VP and two of his military bodyguards guilty of attempting
to kill the President who was with his wife and others in the boat. Gayoom escaped
unhurt, but his wife and two others were slightly injured.
After being enlisted to look into the incident, FBI
investigators reported there was no evidence that a bomb was behind the
blast. However, President Gayoom who is accused of jailing and silencing
his rivals in the country, seems to have found a way around it. Adeeb
was arrested by the police and tried in secret following allegations he
wanted to topple Gayoom. Reporters were barred from the trial after the
court invoked national security concerns and said it would not make the
hearings or verdict public.
With the sentencing, almost all of Gayoom's key rivals are
either living in exile or in jail in the island nation, which has been
rocked by political turmoil in recent years.

20 comments:
Goo for him.
LIB addict#just passing#
Good bye for love long
Awoof! How To Get 11.5GB Data Bundles For Just N1,000 Only On MTN
hmmmmmmmm
15 yrs only,should be life imp
Oh well...
Good.
says,Genevieve.
15yrs is even too small for such an offence from a man of his calibre. 25yrs would have made more sense
Hmm
Stop wasting money on high data subscription. Get free and cheap browsing cheats on all network @ Entclass.com
In Nigeria, this isn't even possible! Our judiciary needs healing, and only God can do that.
If u are guilty , that's shows only one thing. U can't bite the hands that feeds u. Engr Emeka
Look at his face like a terrorist
Calling the dog a bad name just to hang it.
FBI didn't find him culpable.
Politics! It's not a game for the faint hearted. Linda take note!
Nawa ooo dis one is corruption himself
Nawa o
Enjoy your tenure in there man...!
Good for him. My people,virgin coconut oil is available for u, very affordable, when I mean Virgin, I mean pure frm mother earth. For more info on hw to get call 07032612007 or bbm on 2B4B527B
Very shocking.
Serves him right.
Oh oh