Child trafficking syndicate arrested in Delta by SARS | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 14 November 2015

Child trafficking syndicate arrested in Delta by SARS

Suspected child traffickers recently arrested by the Special Anti Robbery Squad (SARS) at the Delta State police command said they engage in the business to assist pregnant girls including married couples who don’t have children.

SARS rescued five children suspected to have been sold by members of the group who operate within Delta, Anambra, Cross River, Akwa-Ibom and Rivers state.
The suspects said:
“We sold babies between 1-5 years of age to those who have been married for several years without children. Some of us are nurses and supportive members of staff of health institutions.
We do not know how the police got wind of our illicit businesses while we were operating in Asaba and Onitsha. In most cases, a child costs between N250,000 to N500,000 while grown-up ones are sold for N1m.”
Investigation revealed that the suspects took the SARS operatives to Akwa-Ibom State where two children were rescued and two other persons, suspected to be members of their gang, were also arrested.
One of the suspects, Patience Okon said, 
“Since their mothers cannot take care of their babies because of lack of money, we normally arrange for wealthy parents who have no children but in need of children, to come and buy from us and take them away. We issue receipts of payment to them, we don’t steal the children as police are alleging but the mothers of these children in most cases opt for their children to be sold. Some of them don’t even know the men who impregnate them while some would be hiding from their parents. So we actually help them to solve their problems”.
“We were just helping out some persons who are in need. We are not human traffickers even though we make money from it. The mothers of the babies wanted to throw them away so we came to assist these young girls so that they would not throw away the babies or kill them.”
The Commissioner of Police in Delta State, Alkali Baba Usman said that when they heard about the inter-state human and child trafficking syndicate cell in Asaba, SARS operatives proactively arrested the gang leader of the  group, saying that the suspect and her husband allegedly confessed to the crime and led the officers to their different hideouts in Anambra, Akwa-Ibom and Cross Rivers state.

Punch

66 comments:

Ok let's see what X. Noted.....

It is well wif Nigeria

SARS is working!!!!Add Up Sexy Diva BBM: 33290429

#The Morning Commenter# said...

Good work
Check out some hot new naija songs and music production hot gists at naijaproducers.blogspot.com

Serves them right, there's nothing people won't do coz of money, now the new one is selling human beings.

tahar said...

They must be dealt with

Wicked people everywhere,they should be punished accordingly biko,MORNING to you all liber . TIMILEYIN BLESSING

Ghan ghan

Ghan ghan

God will expose d rest.

Ice_shock said...

See as dem dey

Ibrahim Bio Abubakar said...

why would someone sell a fellow human like some festivity animal. The FG need to punish the offenders by sending em to prison for life.

Hmmmm orishirishi!!!

Na story for the gods and Tales by moonlight dem still dey talk. Dem never know the deep mess dey are into. Linda take note!

edDREAMZ said...

Somebody should just gun those assholes down abeg.... What nonsense....

u see the nonsense i am talking about........... in the paris terrorist attack post, people without brains are commenting that it is muslims,,,,, y wil they not comment here dat these women are christians...... u have bigger things to deal with,,,, all ya pastors r rapists, ritualists, drug dealers, kidnappers u name dem,,,, dats enof food for tot fa u ppl,, rather than picking up a religion fight

To me, they are just help out those in need as long as the persons of interest are in mutual agreement.

scadiano said...

Dis suspect should be handover to naptip for prosecution and Govt should assist dis naptip so dey liaise with law enforcement agencies to fight dis evil and danger within our society

juan jones said...

Please the FG should leave these women alone, they did not do anything wrong but they are only helping people to solve their problems. They are doing a great work and we should be thanking them.

Hang em.

oluwafunmike best cherish said...

It is well.... Never news again.

End of the road for them all. Let them face the full wrath of the law.

These ibo speaking deltans are beginning to give other Deltans a bad name. Last week it was Biafra this week its human trafficking

Hmmmmmmmm! Uwa di Egwu...

Damilola said...

Can we start with arresting all parents involved pls?

Nawaaaaooooo. Na Buhari cos am

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

They should b punished accordingly so dat dis wil serve as deterrent to others.

bastards!

Megadaik said...

Na wao

Megadaik said...

It's demonic

Igbo people with money, they can go to any extend

I don't see anything wrong with what they are doing if really they don't steal the children, instead of been killed better be sold some rich parents and if that is a success, it's ur destiny.

U r a big fool, hausa pple nd bokoharam, dy r all terrorist. Who told u evrybdy frm delta is igbo. Illitrate. Pls gt educated mama terrorist

Mr 47 said...

I just don't understand this yeye tribe sha!!! Always involve in every shady and illegal business. I pray they succeed with their Biafra

Is it that this people don't know their evil hurts other people ? Seriously

Making money on some1 else child robbers

Hmmm nawa o

I think government should find a way of legalising and monitoring this.
It is done legally in some countries.
It can help girls with unwanted pregnancies and women looking for children.

Stupid pple! They will now lie to the parent of the child they do sell that child die! Chai!!! God save us from this evil pple

Stupid pple! They will now lie to the parent of the child they do sell that child die! Chai!!! God safe us from this evil pple

i buy their idea but if they'r not steal a baby, those ppl that throw they baby away that one is woste

Useless people. See their faces. Yourba can also go to any lent for money

Zainab Adamu what has igbo people got to do with this pls if you don't knw what to type better shut that your aboki mouth..Gararaha menh (in igbo si ebea puooooo

Shuuuuu
Una don enter b dat
Make una start considering de corner una go take 4 prison
Quite a pity cos prison isn't gd at all 2 visit
Money remains de root of all evil
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Zainab Adamu what has igbo people got to do with this,better your shut that your aboki mouth.Gararra here menh(igbo means si ebea puooooo)

Unbelievable! So it's ok to have babies to sell for money? Wow.

U sound like ur name Adamu. Don't u like money? May God seal that useless mouth of urs. Oluku

ummi said...

They should have open an orphanage where the rich people will adopt the children according to the law.

Mummy Prince said...

Yes, instead of the babies being killed or dumped in a canal, i think it is better they give the babies to those couples who want them and who can take proper care of them and treat them as their own biological children. Someone might say, why didn't they take the babies to motherless babies homes. Yes, those people at the motherless babies homes use the children to make money. They don't like giving the children out for adoption and when they do, they still charge you hundreds of thousands of naira. So I don't really blame them. That's my take o!

Mummy Prince said...

Because it is frustrating going to adopt from the Government legally. That's why people pass through the back door.

Shut up you fool how do you know they are entirely igbo, don't u see the name of one of the suspects 'PATIENCE OKON' does dat sound igbo to you, you stark illiterate get lost u female Donkey.

naijawizard said...

If money wasnt involved, will the girls give up the children? Will the women help the 'buyer' parents to get the child they need? Moreover there are authentic means to get children through the federal ministry of women affairs. I think that ministry should make it easier for people to give their children legally and let willing adoptors take them home. Then we can truly tell who the child traffickers really are

naijawizard said...

If money wasnt involved, will the girls give up the children? Will the women help the 'buyer' parents to get the child they need? Moreover there are authentic means to get children through the federal ministry of women affairs. I think that ministry should make it easier for people to give their children legally and let willing adoptors take them home. Then we can truly tell who the child traffickers really are

No Igbo name. That is a good one.

Helping fire...they need to go to jail

Dumb police officers!
Instead of you guys to look for ways to make it legal, you want to punish them.
They are doing the work of gov.
No child should suffer because a can't provide for them.
There are wealthy ppl without kids that can provide for these unwanted children.

Madam Linda. I wonder why u swallow my msg

Story for the gods...Keep talking.

They can go to any extend* okwa ya? Keep extending your grammar. Aboki like you!

Una cup don full

They are giving kids that are not wanted N giving them to loving families who want them. Those that are arresting are they gonna adopt the children? Is there any route to take if you not ready to have children but don't believe in abortion. Nigerians can be self righteous hypocrites.

Thank you Barry. Is Sars gonna adopt the children. Children who are unwanted are going to turn out into street miscreants. If unwanted children were given to couples who want then Nigeria would be a better place

See the faces of criminals