Uterus transplants may soon help infertile women in the U.S. become pregnant | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 14 November 2015

Uterus transplants may soon help infertile women in the U.S. become pregnant

Within the next few months, surgeons at the Cleveland Clinic expect to become the first in the United States to transplant a uterus into a woman who lacks one, so that she can become pregnant and give birth. The recipients will be women who were either born without a uterus, had it removed or have uterine damage. The transplants will be temporary: each uterus will be removed after the recipient has had one or two babies, so she can stop taking transplant anti-rejection drugs.
Uterine transplantation is a new frontier, one that pairs specialists from two fields known for innovation and for pushing limits, medically and ethically: reproductive medicine and transplant surgery. If the procedure works, many women could benefit: an estimated 50,000 women in the United States do not have a uterus. But there are potential dangers.

The recipients, healthy women, will face the risks of surgery and anti-rejection drugs for a transplant that they, unlike someone with heart or liver failure, do not need to save their lives. Their pregnancies will be considered high-risk, with fetuses exposed to anti-rejection drugs and developing inside a womb taken from a dead woman.

Eight women from around the country have begun the screening process at the Cleveland Clinic, hoping to be selected for transplants. One, a 26-year-old with two adopted children, said she still wanted a chance to become pregnant and give birth.
“I crave that experience,” she said. “I want the morning sickness, the backaches, the feet swelling. I want to feel the baby move. That is something I’ve wanted for as long as I can remember.”
She traveled more than 1,000 miles to the clinic, paying her own way. She asked that her name and hometown be withheld to protect her family’s privacy.

She was 16 when medical tests, performed because she had not begun menstruating, found that she had ovaries but no uterus — a syndrome that affects about 1 in 4,500 newborn girls. She comes from a large family, she said, and always assumed that she would have children. The test results were devastating.

Dr. Andreas G. Tzakis, the driving force behind the project, said, “There are women who won’t adopt or have surrogates, for reasons that are personal, cultural or religious.” Dr. Tzakis is the director of solid organ transplant surgery at a Cleveland Clinic hospital in Weston, Fla. “These women know exactly what this is about,” he said. “They’re informed of the risks and benefits. They have a lot of time to think about it, and think about it again. Our job is to make it as safe and successful as possible.”

The hospital plans to perform the procedure 10 times, as an experiment, and then decide whether to continue. Dr. Tzakis said he hoped to eventually make the operation readily available in the United States.
Sweden is the only country where uterine transplants have been completed successfully — all at the University of Gothenburg with a uterus from a live donor. Nine women have had them, and four have given birth, the first in September 2014. Another is due in January. Their babies were born healthy, though premature. Two transplants failed and had to be removed, one because of a blood clot and the other because of infection.

Source: The NY Times

31 comments:

Hmmm. That's good. I'm not surprised. They should think of ovary transplant.
That'll be more helpful because there are more women with "frozen" eggs than there are without ovaries.
Nice one though. We hope to learn the trick someday.

Nice one...thumbs up to dem+ Linda post my comment oo..wetin I do u sef

Amen o

Ndi ocha wu agbala! Linda take note!

It's a welcomed innovation, will go a long way in helping barren women.

edDREAMZ said...

Anything is possible as far as this people are involve i swear.....

Nice one really..

iphy said...

Sounds interesting thoo

Wow...this is so cool. These whites are just something else! Nice one.

Medicine don de go anoda level
#Inogoschool

Hmm.
Soon there will be a factory for producing babies.

Human race keeps advancing technologically every day by dragging day.That's some good news for the women

Good! These will help lots of women,,, it's a welcome development

It's a gud one just danger aspect

very soon they will start transfering uterus to men and animals too.

SMURF said...

New ways everyday

Busy brains

oya said...

We are waiting

Okay nativ doc u can be the change you want to see

I have this will not be another way of getting innocent women killed just to have their uterus removed and sold. Lord save your children.

Linda sometimes I will love to comment but I don't see dem. Pls can u stp restricting my comments

Are you sure of what you just said?

kudos said...

Dis is a nice development we hope dis will get to nigeria someday

Jewel said...

Thanks be to God for this knowledge He has given to man

etochi21 said...

Bekee wu agbara...it's a welcomed development.

wow! This will help a lot of women to become mothers n happy too

Wow this is great but I bet it will be very expensive. But a welcomed development.

Wonderful drive. these are people that keep the hearth of humanity alive. luv dem all!

It is expensive. Do you have any
help for pregnant women