Photos: Beware of cluster bombs, military warns Nigerians | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 9 October 2015

Photos: Beware of cluster bombs, military warns Nigerians

The Defence Headquarters (DHQ) has warned Nigerians living in the North East and other parts of the country to be on the lookout for Cluster Bombs (pictured above) sometimes called scatter bombs as the Nigerian Army Engineers serving in Adamawa State recently recovered some catches of these bombs in some areas in the state.

In a statement released yesterday night, the Defence headquarters said it has discovered that the Boko Haram Terrorists (BHT) in the troubled zones have used such lethal instruments during their attacks in recent times. According to the defence Headquarters, cluster bombs are bombs that house submunitions, that is, smaller explosives contained in individual cases.

These bombs are used against large areas containing many targets, such as columns of vehicles, marketplaces, places of worship or large troop concentration as the case may be. Some cluster bombs carry several hundred of very small explosives wrapped in a metal container like a pot while others carry larger submunitions that can find specific targets such as tanks. Some of these submunitions do not blow up immediately, but remain behind and act as landmines.

The military says the general publics should be wary of such concealed dangerous equipment now being used by the terrorist elements to cause havoc to both innocent lives and property. They advised that people should report any of such objects/materials if seen to security agencies for prompt action. They urged Nigerians to continue to cooperate with the security agencies by giving timely information to secure the country.

37 comments:

OK noted.

Chris J said...

So no where safe?

Thanks for the info

GOD ABEG OOH, HLP US..TOMJERRYSWIT

Pls Northerners beware.. the DHQ should also be fast in sweeping these bombs out of the public..

Noted. I will share this on my wall right away. God bless our soldiers.

God help us

Pray for Nigeria

Pro said...

Hm we are saved

That vuvuzela P guy

I will take note of this.

Phew! Can't wait to hear the last of this evil.
Our help is in the name of the Lord.

So this is how the damn thing look like.My cousin discovered one close to his shop in the market.Thank God security operatives came to the rescue.

May God continue to protect us all

Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB....

PARENTAL ADVISORY

Get Messiah by the day

Juliet Iwobi said...

Lord have mercy
Watch girls dancing naked, sexing on stage inside Agege club

I so apr8 all dis frm them for it wil surely go a long way to assist d public. God bless them.

PRESIDENT's DAUGTHER said...

how are we to know naw

Aunty linda.....

how are we to know naw

Aunty linda.....

how are we to know naw

Aunty linda.....

how are we to know naw

Aunty linda.....

Apple Berry said...

Thanks for the headsup

Noted!!

It is well o

Too bad ppl are living in fear cos of dis terrorists.

There is nothing we won't see.

This local fools....

May God protect us from these devils in human form.

alrigth i noted that. thanks

Thanks 4 d info

Before someone will mistaken it for a flower vase or toy

Anaigbo said...

Why haven't any Nigerian asked where is the origin of this bombs from Boko Haram? Which country is supplying that? Nigerian army, or politicians, investigative journalism, you will never discover the truth till you start asking questions