The Association of Fulani Chiefs and the Chariman of the Miyetti Allah Cattle Breeders Association of Nigeria, Ondo State chapter, Bello Garba, said during a press conference in Lagos that Chief Olu Falae, was not kidnapped by members of Fulani herdsmen.
MACBAN, says the call by the Afenifere, to expel Fulani herdsmen from the South-West was unnecessary.Garba said that even though Fulani herdsmen are known for encroaching on people's farms, no Fulani herdsman would abandon his cattle and go about abducting anybody.
He said:
“We’ve been relating with security agencies and we have never had any issue with residents before. The disagreement with farmers has been ongoing for sometime but we have mediated and settled it on several occasions.
“Most of the Fulani people that came into Ondo came in as cattle breeders and you don’t expect them to just leave their animals and be kidnapping. We have been residing in Ondo State for more than 100 years and no one has ever accused us of any heinous crime in Ondo State or caught us with weapons.
“As an Ondo resident, I condemn this act. Clearly, this is impersonation. We live with our families in Ondo. How can we engage in such an act? We are pleading with law enforcement agents to do more investigation and expose the real perpetrators.”
The Sarkin Fulani of Lagos, Alhaji Mohammed Bambado, said it will not be in the interest of the Yoruba or Nigerians to denigrate cattle breeders at a time Nigeria was trying to diversify its economy and make agriculture more attractive.
He said:“Need we remind our brothers (Afenifere) of the African Union and ECOWAS charters that give people and animals, particularly, livestock free movement within and across international borders of West African states. Such calls and actions are in direct breach of a number of international treaties and obligations regarding the free movement of persons and animals.
“Banning the movement of cattle from one part of Nigeria to another also violates the constitution of Nigeria on the freedom of movement of people and livestock. It also amounts to ethnic profiling of the nomadic Fulani.”
He, however, called on the Afenifere that rather than call on the expulsion of Fulani hersdmen from the south-west, they should all join hands with them to find a lasting solution to the encroachment problem.
The Sarkin Fulani, Abeokuta, Alhaji Mohammed Kabir, who is also the Secretary, Association of Fulani Chiefs in the South-West, said said the government needs to create grazing reserves for herdsmen so that they would stop encroaching on farmlands.
He added:
“We have appealed to the Federal Government and state governments in the South-West to help create grazing reserves.
“It is done in many advanced countries. When these things don’t exist, the herdsmen have to encroach for survival. Even before oil, we were doing this.
“God forbids that we will be importing all our cattle from overseas like our cars. This cattle rearing creates jobs for thousands if not millions of people. There is ranching in advanced countries but we can’t be ranchers because we can’t afford it.”

37 comments:
They are liars
Thank God he's back safely, whoever did d kidnap doesn't matter anymore, ransom has been paid.
Would they agree at before?
this heinous act of brazen wickedness must stop and the only means to stop it is for fulani cattles and their carers to be confined to the north, charter of freedom of movement or not. please stay in the north. enough of this evil going on now. all should rise and strongly condemn it.
Why won't they deny ni
#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise
Why won't they deny ni
#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise
Why won't they deny ni
#IT will ONLY get BETTER
#it MUST end IN praise
Hello Linda. I have been reading your blog over time and I see that you don't react negatively to any bad report being circulated about you. You strike me as being humble. Now I pray, that the LORD that dwellest in Zion shall continue to lift you up. HE will fight your battles on every side in Jesus' name. HE will enlarge your coast. I appreciate you.
Then who received the ransome or is this a 419?
Why is everything about this case confusing,the police lied about the ransome payment,and now this.anyway,the fulanis should not panick, yoruba people are known for making empty treats.one even swore to throw certain group of people inside the lagoon only to be spotted later in london eating on the street like a school boy
Noted ma....fulani na animal.....
Emminickelvin@gmail.com
So who kidnapped him?
Okay. So who did?
Well said
I support the call for their banning. They kill and maim innocent people. They are deadly.
Banning d movement of fulani herdsmen from southwest ll do us good,those people r heartless and wicked
Ngwanu! Who den is responsible for the act??? Linda take note!
They problem, make them settle am
Seyilicious
Too late to pull that stunt
Oga how old is Ondo that you have been resident in the state for over a hundred years..nawa oo
then who now kidnap him
Why not explore ways to ranch than destroyed others people farmlands in other to rear your own animals and make money for yourself selfish and self centre people.
So olu falae doesn't know who kidnapped him abi? Soon they'll deny killing farmers and destroying farms.
Maybe u guys will get reserves now that a brother is in power.
Story for the birds. I witnessed an attack by fulani men on some women who were going about their legitimate businesses in kaduna I personally took them to the hospital and paid their bill. Another Tiv who lived along Miango road in Jos Plateau state near the golf club was murdered and his daughter raped by Fulanis. You can quote all the stupid charters to defend your selves while you kill innocent farmers and traders around you and rape their women and daughters and loot their wares and belongings. Your rights do not qualify you to be lawless. Your actions constitute another form of terrorism we have to deal with in Nigeria.
Olu falae saw there faces and heard there voices.
Nomadic terrorism. #Say no to Nomadic Terrorism
It might be that these are just men dressed as Fulanis, to throw suspicion the way of the Fulanis! Then again, the 'Fulanis' who allegedly kidnapped Falae wouldn't raise their arms claiming to have kidnapped him. The pertinent question then is, what do Fulanis gain from kidnapping him, away from their territories?!
Mtchewww y wnt dey deny it.. dey r knw 4 killing pple datz dia logo
The most annoying thing is that the Fulani cattle rearer carried out their activities with impunity. The argument of free movement of human and animals does not give licence to the Fulanis to destroy other people's means of lifelyhood while they are protecting theirs. What a selfishness? This nonsense must stop.
Liars!
Go and rest.
Was the Olu blind?
Most of your herdsmen are Killers, go and see what they're doing in benue.
This same fulani herds men are the armed rubbers who robs most of us traveling on road to east along that "BENIN BY PASS".I was once a victim of this incident.We were chased into the bush,thank God i was not with my kids that day bcos i wouldnt have been able to run for my life that.Some of us were seriously wounded wounded.One of us lost all her original certificates that bcos this fulani herds men collected her bag.If you have ever been a victim of this then you will understand what i am talking about.
So the government should please do something about them please.
Well,well,well. Fellow Nigerians, you have all heard the Fulani peoples' declaration that they have freedom and right to maraud all over the Nigeria. They have lived in Ondo for over 100 years and so are the owners of the place. That is typical Fulani mentality. The barbarians believe that might is right and so deploy violence to confiscate what belongs to others. What of the Igbos who were uprooted from the North after over 500 years sojourn? The Fulani is like cancer that eats up its host. They have eaten up the Hausa, Gbagi, Tiv and all other tribes in the North. It now the turn of the Yoruba on whose testicles they have latched through Bola Ahmed Tinubu. And once they consume the Yoruba, their conquest of Nigeria is complete. The Igbos? Forget the Igbos because they are too self-centered to even understand what is happening talk less of offering meaningful resistance. The solution is for other tribes to realize that the Fulani use them to achieve their hegemony and dump them thereafter. All must unite with the Yoruba to call the Fulani bluff. No tribe has monopoly of violence. The sooner we all learn to shed blood easily the better for all of us.
BOLLOCKS!!!
What do you expect a Fulani Government to do against Fulani Frontier Extenders? Or do you not know that the so called Fulani herdsmen are agents of highly placed Fulani movers and shakers. Buhari is a Fulani herdsman who declared his cattle as his major asset and once led a Fulani delegation to protest against the resistance of Ondo Yoruba to his fellows atrocities. Would you expect him to betray his people? No he will not do so because he not an Igbo or Ijaw man. The available option is resort to self-help.
As if they can account for the activities of all their herdsmen. So the elder statesman doesn't who kidnapped him or what? The better keep mute o.