NYSC secures N200m bank facility as loans for corps members with business ideas | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 21 August 2015

NYSC secures N200m bank facility as loans for corps members with business ideas

The Director general of the National Youth Service Corp NYSC, Brig -Gen. Johnson Olawumi today announced that the scheme had secured a N200 million bank facility for disbursement to corps members as loans to enable them start any business of their choice. The DG said this while receiving the Commander, Guards Brigade, Nigerian Army, Brig.-Gen. Musa Yusuf who paid him a courtesy call at the NYSC headquarters in Abuja

“We train these corps members in the camp after the camp we have partners all over the country where corps members also receive training throughout the service year. Now, the issue is that when they get this training they don’t have start-up capital but we have been doing a lot to see there is opportunity for them to get startup capital. We have the NYSC foundation as we speak, the NYSC foundation has just approved loan worth N10 million for corps members. Corps members based on the business plan they submit could get as much as N250, 000 and N400, 000. We have also signed an MoU with Bank of Industry though it is yet to take off but we are working on it. A couple of months ago, I also approached Heritage Bank and Heritage Bank is setting aside the sum of N200 million under a package where corps members will get a soft loan and the only collateral they will have to drop will be their discharge certificate. We are also talking with Central Bank Governor to see that a micro credit loan could be arranged specially to address corps members in this category.” he said

43 comments:

@sugarcassie said...

Let's hope the money is duly used for the intended purpose!!! Lives will be changed n transformed!!

Wow! That's gud! A welcomed initiative

Nice one, its a welcomed development.

andre kelvin said...

Good.

Na them go still chop the money and giving out the said loans won't be preferential and they might even request for bribe....no be Nigeria again

Apple Berry said...

OMG. That's good news for prospective corpers like me o. Now service doesn't sound like a huge burden and waste of time anymore. Thank God

Na them go still chop the money and giving out the said loans won't be preferential and they might even request for bribe....no be Nigeria again

Hmmmmm.I hope dis wil go a way to assist d corps members and d fund not ending up in private pockets of greedy and corrupt army officals.

Nice one!
Well, I hope it will be disbursed truly and fairly.

Hope that money won't go missing

Believe me the money will be shared among this guys......

Nice 1

Nice 1

That's a good one.

Odiegwu

Nice one,only if the criminals there we not divert it to there personal account,because nigerian's has lying and criminal blood in them.

Nice one, na make one person no carry the money enrich himself alone cos yawa go gas seriously. Linda take note!

Nice one.

Mihearty said...

The foundation is good. It helps corpers after nysc to start something on their own before securing employment.

That's very cool

#it WILL only GET better
#IT must END in PRAISE

That's very cool

#it WILL only GET better
#IT must END in PRAISE

Great move!

<< LIB Addict >>

Ok.

Do u know that there was a hypercar built way back in 1967 that is one of the most technologically advanced cars of all times. The name is IKENGA and it was inspired by Igbo technology but designed and built by two white men. Check it out at www.naijacarlovers.com.

Abeg guys...... What of me that wants to make billions soon.... Im already a Millionaire

This is great. Well done Heritage Bank and BOI. I hope the interest rates are favourable. And I like love the idea of discharge certificates as collateral. That is quite innovative.

Na now i don pass out una go do dis kind tin, why una no do am wen i still dey serve? Yeye

Its already been done. We were asked to submit biz proposals in our last cds.

This scam they have being running for years! They will just swipe the money and put applicants on a long thing.

click on the link

click on the link ...

Daniel said...

click on the link .

good initiative,they should publish the names of loan corper inorder not forge another certificate

wonderful concept. i am a beneficiary of this goodwill. a loan with no interest repayable within 3 years

Good idea

matt said...

Great one, i love this its pretty interesting pretty good for some business run up -

http://matexwrites.blogspot.com/2015/07/40-lucrative-business-to-start-and-make.html