Masquerades arrested for stealing N57,000 from trader in Enugu | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 22 August 2015

Masquerades arrested for stealing N57,000 from trader in Enugu

The Police in Nsukka on today arrested two men in masquerade costume in Ovoko Community, Nsukka LGA, Enugu State, for allegedly beating up a passenger on a commercial motorcycle and robbing him of N57,000. The incident happened on the Nsukka/Oballo-Afor highway. 

A police source said policemen moved to the scene when the victim, Mr. Chinonso Ezewaji, reported the matter to Nsukka Police Area command and the two men were arrested...

"The escorts of the masquerade however ran away. There were eight masquerades. They blocked the Nsukka/Obollo-Afor road and harassed people. The two arrested masquerades however denied collecting the N57,000 from Ezewaji but claimed they know the person who collected the money from the victim. When we searched one of the arrested masquerade, we saw Indian hemp in his pocket,” the police source said.

When contacted, Public Relations Officer, Enugu State Police Command, Mr. Ebere Amarizu, confirmed the incident, saying investigation had commenced on the matter. He urged communities to regulate and monitor those who wear masquerade costumes, adding that some of them used the opportunity to harass, intimidate and rob innocent members of the public.

“The Police are not against the people practising their tradition and culture but community leaders must know the character of people they allow to wear costumes of masquerade in the name of culture. A masquerade has no right to mount road block on busy highways where motorists, motorcyclists and other road users move on daily basis. The police have commenced investigation and will get to the root of this matter as issues of masquerade disturbing people have become a recurring decimal,” Amarizu said.

The victim, Ezewaji, a trader, who deals on clothing materials, told the News Agency of Nigeria he was on his way from Nsukka to Obollo-Afor to see his mother when the masquerade stopped the motorcycle he was riding on.
“They beat me, searched me and collected N57,000. When they left, I ran into the bush and when I discovered they have gone some distance, I came out and went to the police to report"he said

The two masquerades identified themselves as Kenchukwu Eze, a carpenter, and Ejiofor Eze, a brick-layer. They, however, denied the allegation that they stole money from Ezewaji They claimed that their colleague, Chima Mamah, stole the money. Eze, however, admitted that the police saw Indian hemp in his pocket, saying it was the leftover of what they smoked before coming out.

“If the police release me, I will not wear masquerade costume, nor smoke Indian hemp again,” he pleaded.

53 comments:

Lol!

COLLIN said...

Very soon dey wil start arresting amadioha

Hehehe thieves pretending parading as masquerade. Rubbish.

Hmmm I thank God they where arrested.

Double Wahala !!!

Hilarious!

ogeee said...

Thank God they were arrested,thieves

So some people are still doing all this premitive things? they better repent before it will be too late for them. my own state kwa? the police should hold them seriously because they are thiefs.

Trendyify said...

Goodnews

it is well

Lolx.... See tactics abeg.... Funny post though....

kenneth said...

Hhmmm their cup don full

Hahaha. This is laughable

Lolzzz... Masquerade gone bad!

All dis local masquerades do it a lot.....

Lmao.
But I thought masquerades are spirit.

Lol...masquerade drama gone wrong...reminds me of one Alice the first lady film like that where she poured hot water on d masquerades.

aproko manager said...

Dem b tif I knw say dem b tif ooo

Espeaklekwa.. my brothers jiyanu nwayoo

Dey are always harrassing people des local masqurades, Nnsuka has many of them. Primitive people

See their cheap ass looking costumes, like tailor on crack sewed it

Loi.masquerade stealing people,i thought that it was a spirit.lmao?
Ibo people and money is like yoruba's and raping why hausa's and killing.

Lmao!...i shout "Ovoko!" (In chiwetele agwu's voice).masqurede arrestd kwa? Lol funny

EBOOK TUTORIAL THAT GIVE CASH LIKE ATM said...

Wicked masquerades! They only know how to beat and steal from passengers and that's all. Masquerades are not thieves. I know very well that the masquerades in my village are humble ones. They must stop this in order not give bad image to the African tradition.

Wonder dey say shall never end!

LOL and they even paraded him in his full regalia

Na waoooh!! Linda mind how you are reporting issues relating to masquerades. We were told they are spirits, so how come they are smoking afifia? How did police arrest an odomagana? So they are human beings?

Lol. Business don crash

HonsylGlobal.Com said...

Wages of a negative hustle..........

OK, lesson

So they arrested the spirit of their fore fathers...alu!

Ike Ani said...

That's so bad and barbaric. Why the stealing? I thought masqurades were spiritually inclined. So they need money too? Lolz
www.ikeaniblog.com

“If the police release me, I will not wear masquerade costume, nor smoke Indian hemp again,”... Amen!!

Mihearty said...

Story for the gods. It's always I will never do it again. Lol

Ole

Obollo-afor Linda not oballo afor

Enugu deje.

7F098C19 said...

I thought masquerade are not human, but spirits. Una papa. Engr Emy

Wicked generation, they should be detained in the police custody.

QUEERNAIJA said...

Nsukka asa ado, Lmao.. will d masqurade go 2 jail?

Buhhhahahaha

Masquerade ti je ewo o, chai!

Sweet Ama said...

....The Hunter becomes the hunted

Very sad

Lol so masquerade is now human being ooooo I thought its a spirit

Thank God they were caught.

Order for your beautiful bedspreads @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available nationwide.

What is primitive about ones culture? Ewu

Bastard learn to spell the name of my town, its Nsukka........modern man, atleast we have something we are proud of.......if na Halloween, the stupid u would be shouting awwwww, lovely......

Will your shut ur useless mouth....how on earth is someone's culture primitive.... but u gladly embrace foreign cultures.....big fool

Lol....am I the only one that finds this strange and funny. I'm glad they were arrested.

See igbos comments God,if na other tribe u go dey hear insults and curse,thank God thr's no tribe like d igbos....

Ovoko is in Igboeze South L.G.A not Nsukka L.G.A.Just a correction