Sokoto state governor tells residents; Clean your street and get N1m | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 22 August 2015

Sokoto state governor tells residents; Clean your street and get N1m

In his bid to maintain cleanliness in his state, Sokoto state governor Aminu Tambuwal has announced a cash reward of N1 million to residents of any street in the state that will be adjudged the cleanest.

Governor Tambuwal announced this today August 22nd while flagging off the state's special environmental sanitation programme.

According to him, the gesture is one in a series of efforts lined up by the government to protect the health of the citizenry. He also announced that apart from the one million Naira to be given to the cleanest street, the runner-up street will get N750,000 while the third runner-up street will get N500,000.

72 comments:

Hummmmmm....na wa o. Seen though.

Rubylicious said...

Let the hustle begin. This is a right step in the right direction. Sokoto will sparkling clean.

Rubylicious said...

Let the hustle begin. This is a right step in the right direction. Sokoto will be sparkling clean.

Eeya. Nice of him. He's a fine man.

Nawa ooo
Abeg I need to deport my self to sokoto and start Cleaning Streets for them o
I need to get this money...hehhehehe

Fabian_Lee said...

Aww, I guess he trying to let his states to be one of the best in nigeria, oya aboki people time for competition.

Apple Berry said...

Happy for them o. Hope this one is not just to get them to work then after, we open LIB and read that the residents are demanding to be given their prizes.

Na so d place dirty wae he Dae beg dem with money..

Good one.

Nawa ooo
Abeg I need to deport my self to sokoto and start Cleaning Streets for them o
I need to get this money...hehhehehe

Favour said...

u go fear

Serious this dont male any chance bcos people will definately die for this and thats fact..... #NowPlaying>> ur best rapper is a lie: tr....

Ok ooooooo

What a way to create strife in a community. Is the money going to be shared equally among those who cleaned or among all houses? Either way, it causes strife. Also, after cleaning the street, where does the trash go? Will government commit to hauling the trash? I see where you are going - incentivize citizens to love their neighborhoods more. But you can add more structure around the process to avoid negative outcomes destroying the concept.

Huh???

#itWILLonlyGETbetter
#ITmustENDinPRAISE

Robot said...

For sugar mummy & daddy connection... visit http://sugarconect.blogspot.com

Smart move..but what would be more effective is fines for having a dirty street...how about that?

Lool. U go fear strategy

Oh no!

Dis idea is not good@all bcos it mak people to b easily discourage wit doing wht they r suppose to do.

Oh no!

Dis idea is not good@all bcos it mak people to b easily discourage wit doing wht they r suppose to do.

They've entered one chance.....

Lagos should do the same. The money should be used to do a project on the street, not given to residents. It should be done at regular intervals to ensure consistency....

Well, 1million is too much for keeping one's own environment clean

Mowgee said...

I wish they could do the same in kano state

andre kelvin said...

Lol. 1 weytin? Story for the gods

Ok, good luck to dem all

Correct

Make senx

I don't like this initiative. Its like bribing people to do the right thing. Sanitation exercise should be a compulsory exercise for the residents and defaulters should be made to pay a fine. Don't waste our limited resources sir

Teacher said...

Nah so e suppose be
The dirtiest must pay fine too

Teacher said...

Exactly and compounds inspected individually and fined

hrm paul ojeih said...

I really don't no wat to say bot this.motherless babies home full for sokoto, widows full sokoto homeless kids full sokoto chai tambuwal na wa to u o

Nice one.

Manchester city news said...

Good for them

QL Homes said...

Order for Denim Savage Jeans Shirt-#3,000. Jeans trousers, Office Shirts: male and female
Raulph Lauren Polo. Male: #2,300. Female: #2,000.
Delivery at your doorstep Nation wide.

2754B912, 08130373753
Whatsapp: 08034334692

Other items available:
Chinoze, Pant Trousers, Round/ V neck, Jeans trousers
Tie- Complete set Curtis-Hawes and T.M Lewin
Italian Shoes etc.

In other parts of the world it's your obligation to keep your environment clean, you litter the street of London it's £50 fine no if no but. You don't pay people to do the right thing. You should FINE them if their street is dirty...
Am sure "sakwoto" pays her citizens to go to school....MORORONIC governor.

UK Tog

That's your grave. The space you keep leaving. Useless son of a gun

Abia state needs this, the state of the environment has been neglected

Waoh!!! See motivation

Aboki people wey dirty like say tomorrow no dey. Dem never even shave their pubic hairs, wash their clothes and brush their teeth, na to clean streets. Lol

Na today you know say aboki dirty?

How sustainable is this idea? Besides, whatever happened to Sokotorians taking pride in keeping their environment clean and healthy? Nawa for naija-o

Nice one. Kudos 2 him 4 dis great idea.

You are right on point bro. Besides, how transparent can it be? Who're gon' be the judges? I doubt it'll last!

I think Ambode should do same in lagos huh lol!!!

Oya now, let d struggle begin n let's c who win @ d end of d year

but when they are not used to doing it why not encourage?

in my opinion this idea is very senseless. why would you promise people money to clean their own environment. that is unlawful...

Is it per month or annually?..and ongoing.
If it's a once off payment, only God knows how the streets will look afterwards..

Super story

Lắp Mang FPT HCM said...

Thanks You

I hope all dis dirty abokis go hear...dee

Some people can disown their tribal heritage, relocate to Sokoto and then localise in a street for this juicy package

Wow...who knew sweeping the ground could be so profitable

Something similar should start in Lagos and you will be amazed at the transformation it will bring but they should ensure the money gets to the real people on the street. If well organized can begin a new thing in Nigeria.

Discourage people? Why would anyone be discouraged by this? If you get upset that your street didn't win, then next time clean better and you just might. Besides, keeping your environment clean is your duty as a citizen. If you need to be paid before you do that, then you're not one of the people that deserve to win the prize.

We only respond to cash money so it is a way of him to even start a process.

nice one. quite motivating.

Get a life pls

cool

It is a good Idea.

We people want to be dirty for life, you have to motivate them to do what is right...is not senseless

Emjay said...

Plss frnds join dis channel Beryllium Neckel C0041B71B,to vote for me by liking my pix,am contestant 13, will really appreciate.

########LIB MY HABIT########

Lock em up. Filthy Animals. In the UK get fined if caught littering let alone keeping your environs dirty. Why pay citizens to do their civic duties. Moronic Governor.

UK Tog

These guys will clean the streets faster than Flash

It is cheaper for government on the long run

The foolish gov should pay them to take their bath as well. Filthy idiots! But Hausa girls has the cleanest pussy the clean up with water after shag. Not like you southern girls that stinks like rotten fish.

Smart one....U should be a political aide