Sad story! Blogger shares his encounter with Nigerian legend, Majek Fashek | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 12 June 2015

Sad story! Blogger shares his encounter with Nigerian legend, Majek Fashek

Investment banker and Blogger Joseph Edgar ran into Nigerian music legend Majek Fashek this morning in Lagos on his way to work. The story he shares is quite sad. Read below...
On my way to work this morning, I spotted a loony figure. Pants sagged, dirty black underwear showing, a caftan perched precariously on his extra lean shoulders, shock of long unkempt dreadlocks cascading down his head and teeth yellowed by years of hard living and a face still surprisingly handsome despite the ravages of illicit living. This was Majek, my hero, the one who brought down the rain.
He it was who redefined Reggae and in that one album forced us to look deep into our consciousness, calling us prisoners of conscience. He it was who took that Bob Marley piece, Redemption Song into the sublime. He infused it with his pangolo rhythm and turned it into an anthem of social and spiritual awakening. Majek was a god, strong Adonis like looks, talent yet to me replicated in our clime and charisma of the gods.
This same Majek, I just saw like that in Fadeyi, begging for ogogoro becuase he did not have 100 Naira to pay for it. I stopped brought out 1,000 Naira and was immediately struck by confusion. Should I give him this money and contribute to his death or should I refuse him and watch him throw a tantrum like a disposed toddler. He saved me the dilemma as he grabbed the money from me and rushed to the ugly, black dirty merchant of death, who gleefully poured him a glass full. 
Majek downed the drink and hugged me like I had just saved him from the hang mans noose. I looked deep into his eyes and saw a lost soul. He was actually begging for help, the demon inside of him peered at me from his once very beautiful eyes, daring me to do my worse. Assuring me that he had no intention of leaving this host until it finished it's dreadful task of killing him ever so slowly. 
He called me a fine boy and wished he was as good looking as I was, I laughed. A laugh that was more of pity, a laugh that was laced with internal cry of pain. A pain that cascaded through every pain in my body. If only I had one tenth of this talent, I would be far from fadeyi begging for N100 worth of ogogoro. 
Did we fail him as Nigerians, did we put an umbrella over the Rainmaker, did the flood of his talent wash away his life, what can be done, do we continue watch him make a mockery of a Life once blessed?
Majek in his destitution represents Nigeria. Blessed with more than enough resources., rich in human capacity, more fertile land than the whole of Asia and filled with gifted and talented people, but yet beggerly and poor. Daily our leaders go to 'jibowu' to beg poorer countries for aid, for debt forgiveness. The contradiction never leaves me. Japan with no known Natural resources is so developed that we can only look in shame. 
Majek with all the talents of a thousand people, begging the woman who can't lift a finger beside him for N100, Majek being laughed at by miscreants and being mocked with so much joy by those who were not half as blessed by God. 
What can I do, but to write this piece and just walk away, lest his guest demon attempt a move on my life. I saw it and felt it look into my soul and with one withered hand, offered me a shot of the Devils brew. A shot I knew would throw me into the darkest pits of Majeks torture, a shot that will take me spiraling down the tunnels of oblivion, destroying the innocent dependent lives of my children while giving Majek solace that he has finally found a room mate albeit a very reluctant and scared one. 
I pray for you sir.  I pray God gives you peace. God bless you Majek.

Joseph Edgar is an investment banker who writes as a hobby. (The photo above was taken this morning)

308 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 308 of 308
GODSPOWER said...

All,
Edo State Goverment,People and Big wigs must help Majek now.I beg all of you in the name of God.This man brought joy to all of us in those days(80'and 90'S).Linda,please contact one of your associate banks to open an account for Majek Fashek{Real Name:Majekodunmi Fasheke)(PROJECT :MAJEK REHABILITATION TRUST FUND)} and let us(All Nigerians) know the BANK ACCOUNT NO.Please, Linda you must drive this for all of us especially your readers.I beg and trust you.My phone No:08037238430.
I am in tears,pain and not a happy man for this.This must be done now.
Regards,
Godspower.

So Sad...

Let's form a forum or something to rescue such ppl in our society, they once brought us glory we shldnt allow them waste away.... Both Governments nd individuals shld come together and help this man and the likes of him in our seciety, iv got 100 USD to donate as my little token pls linda create an account or a means to donate , thanks

John Edgar you are a good writer....

kenny said...

hmmm! dis is xo touching i pray God visit him and change his story.

xo touching! i pray God will visit him nd change his story.

bummyla said...

What A Pity And A Waste Of Talent! Satan Is A Liar!

http://bummyla.com

Oo majek I wish I can help I really want to help you #sobbing

Nothing but tears. Majek was bigger than D'Banj plus Davido plus Wizkid during his prime. The first Nigeria to be on David Letterman's Show. His first and second album were sold out world wide. He was the next big thing and brought a lot of attention from foreign music label to Nigeria. He killed his dream and the dreams of many who would have taken after him.

I still listen to his songs, nobody makes beautiful music like Majek. He should still be paid royalties for them - but no kobo gets to him.

Mr Gandes said...

Im in tears here. I still wonder how Majek got to this Level. Like the writer stated. MAJEK FASHEK was a god. He influenced a lot of us growing up. His SPIRIT OF LOVE Album (Cassette as we called it then) was the first tape I had used my Hard saved N20 to buy.

I feel Bitter that my Hero has been reduced to a Road side Begger. .....What a waste. I wish I would help him. But would it make a difference with his present state of mind & Orientation?

In Life, we all should be cautious, because the little Choices we make today, go a Long way in affecting our future.

Mr Gandes said...

Im in tears here. I still wonder how Majek got to this Level. Like the writer stated. MAJEK FASHEK was a god. He influenced a lot of us growing up. His SPIRIT OF LOVE Album (Cassette as we called it then) was the first tape I had used my Hard saved N20 to buy.

I feel Bitter that my Hero has been reduced to a Road side Begger. .....What a waste. I wish I would help him. But would it make a difference with his present state of mind & Orientation?

In Life, we all should be cautious, because the little Choices we make today, go a Long way in affecting our future.

Cocaine is a life destroyer, he was destroyed by cocaine. I really dont blame some Asian countries who impose death sentence on drug traffickers.

Tears rolling down,life is so unfair

Mr Gandes said...

I feel Bitter that my Hero has been reduced to a Road side Begger. .....What a waste. I wish I would help him. But would it make a difference with his present state of mind & Orientation (Substance Abuse)???

I am in tears, I feel so sorry for him.. may d Lord reach out to him..he needs serious deliverance o to be whole again.. nice write up

So very sad and unfortunate.

What has happened has happened, can we please move forward by helping him instead of blaming him.

El Haj said...

Drug ruins life. Femi & Seun Kuti were smart not to go their father's route . African society is not where one toys with destructive habits. To think that MF was once on David Letterman show back in d days shows how low he has sunk.

I am soo sorry to hear this. But please don't blame friends, family, et all. Let's ask ourselves the truth " What lifestyle led him to this?" too much drinking, smoking weeding?" if we have fame and money let's be cautious about the lifestyle fake friends will introduce us to. It might drag us down. Most popular artist, sportsmen, politicians have gone down like that. And it's a pity we have no rehab facilities in Nigeria....

FW NYC said...

Saw him in the same situation at African Combination in Brooklyn 10 yrs ago. I guess he finally went back home. The teachable moment is once u are rich stay away from Africans mostly ur Family(A la Adebayor).

Mr LIB said...

This Joseph Eagar is dem good.. his use of words are so on point ... he commands Litrature and figure of speach to it fullest... ESECTRA AND CHALYBOY NEED TO COME LEARN ... lol

MY PRAYER IS WITH MAJEKODUNMI

lovely write up poster!..u remind me of me...@majekodunmi only God can turn tins around.#JESUSFIXIT

Doing drug is evil, more reason I want Kashimu Buruji to visit US to face the law.

Very intelligent write up i must say.It feel you totally. Majek needs prayers and help seriously.

life said...

A very intelligent write up,i must say.I feel you totally. Majek needs a lot of help and prayers.

Hmmmm indeed sad story

Amy said...

Exactly!!! This writeup is very good and intelligent! Left me with goosebumps.

anayo said...

Yes we can but is not enough when u suggest it with a wave of hand and do no do anything give us a clue@ Nkechi

his book is Loud whispers is coming out month end. Visit www.josephedgarng.blogspot.com for how u can get a copy

D truth is dat for so many people managing success is dre greatest challenge. Also lyf style is a trap & a net 4 so many people all d more bad lyf style. Nothing can do against d truth but for d truth: Woteva a man sows, dat he'll reap, dre's a way dat sims gud 2 a man but d end is destruction. Destruction is d rewod of all bad choices med by men.

Lol. Yes its the same Joseph Edgar. he blogs at www.josephedgarng.blogspot.com

Damn thats deep. except the shot part...its just a shot lol. Majek was in New York for a while. I think he got mixed up with drugs blah blah and that story never ends well. smh. The part of rejoicing with Joy was also another hallmark of our nation. schafenfreude and less fortunate haters everywhere ready to rejoice at ones misfortune.

So he can continue drinking...sorry that's not the way forward for him.He needs deliverance,and we should all remember him in our daily prayers.

When someone is singing, playing football etc he should always have savings cos it doesnt last.

D truth is dat so many people hav issues managing success. I day dis 2 mean dat dre are so many people hu are or may on dre way 2 dre personal chosen destructiv paths hu wudnt hav chosen such path if dey weren't successful 2day. Lyf in its totality is a bunch of choices & options. Sorry 2 say he'd chosen his path long b4 now but too bad dat his lyf 2dy is a result of one of dos many options he chosen & bad ones @ dat. It's just a pity.

So pathetic. He really need help.

Clearance Sales: 100% Human hairs, 24 inches =18k,
20 inches =16k,
16 inches =14k,
10 inches =10k.
Grade A brazilian hair. Other types are also available.
Pin: 33578C1D

What is this one saying?..

Americannah said...

Lol @ "the devil described is the guy with black lips behind them".. but for real, his colleagues will not help him now o. When he dies they will comman be crying upandan. + where him family dey? Choi!

There is a rehabilitation centre in Aro Abeokuta that's the DATER unit. He would be taken care of there.

Ode ni ee..Assylum for what,they have rehabilitate him will be the pretty step..

That's what consistent abuse of drugs and booze will do to a person.

@anonymous, not stupid. Drugs messed up a very talented Majek nd its not a hidden story

Na wa o, which kind bad belly u be. R u jealous of his writing skills. Majek is an adult and he chose to tread the path of self destruction. At least Joseph's post has opened the eyes of many to see Majek's present condition and help in whatever way they can.

Chichi said...

Speechless!!!

I always see him daily opposite my office on allen at a mallam's shop smoking and peeing into the gutter.

Your comment is so stupid. The young man did his own bit by creating awareness about the problem.

#SAD#

BLUNT said...

Oiza, you're the man/woman. I duff my hat for you. Most people like to swim with the tide. If you complain now, the next thing they'll tell you is that you're player hating. This moron of a writer used Fashek to impress us with his poem. Nonsense! All because he gave him 1K! He should be ashamed of himself. I wouldn't just hand Fashek 1K and leave to seek cheap fame on Linda's blog if I were an "investment banker", whatever that tag means. Shame on you Mr Shakespeare.

Linda help him!!!

Senor

BLUNT said...

Don't mind the cheap fame seeker.

BLUNT said...

You see? "Very good writer". That was the aim of this write up.

scott said...

True talk... I'm in full support

I wonder what will happen to people of his like when d bann on ogogoro makes it real scarce. Sad story.

WHERE ARE THE CHURCHES, WHERE ARE THE PASTORS THAT ARE TRULY MEN OF GOD...... THIS IS A POTENTIAL SOUL TO SAVE AS YOU ALL KNOW THAT IF HE MISSES HEAVEN HE CANNOT MISS HELL. GO TO HIM IMAGINE HOW HAPPY HEAVEN WILL BE IF YOU CAN GET HIM SAVED AND HELP HIS LOST SOUL AS THEY SAID... stop thinking and act on this as on the day of judgement you just might be asked if you reached out to him.... I SAID SO ....

DIGITAL Naija Mum said...

Park well oga,clearly majek is not who he used to be so even street urchins ride on him for free please, u are one of those Nigerians that have nothing to offer yet condemn every offer,i saw him once at redeemed church vi on a Tuesday service, he came with his brothers, they could barely keep majek still,he kept going in and out and each time his entourage followed to calm him down and bring him back i,it was hilarious...lol,but I feel sorry for the dude

DIGITAL Naija Mum said...

Rehab is not magic,u have to be willing else its a waste of time,so majek has to be willing first

@ Moses, I have never seen anyone as silly and unreasonable as u are. You have never made any reasonable comment on this blog. You criticize and insult people all the time. You are tribalistic and your judgements and opinions are highly stupid! I wonder where u always bury ur brain each time u wana make a comment. It's not compulsory for one 2 say something. If uve got nothing reasonable 2 utter from that gutter u cal a mouth, keep quiet and read other people's comments. Go back to sch and work on ur decorum and manner of approach. It ain't like ure perfect or smart. Stupid gorilla!!!

really good write up...triple twale for Joseph Edgar, ever considered writing novels cos you flow well with words, thumbs up

Oiza how are you?

C.F.I said...

'Mama mama mamayo' send down the rain! 'Papa papa papayo' send down the rain!... D sky looks misty and clouded looks like the rain gonna fall today...The great Majek. Smh

Really sad story.... I have had two encounters with Majek. Both in NYC. The first encounter was full of shock, pity, fear..... And list goes on. I heard his story of substance abuse from the fella sitting across me. I prayed and cried in my heart.

The second encounter was on a NYC train, where he was singing and playing his guitar. He had a friend who I had seen the first time I encountered him. Majek wasn't asking for money. He just played and sang his heart out. I joined him in singing and nodded my head to his song. Before I got off the train,I gave him money. The second encounter was of mixed feelings - pride, shame, pity and wow! , he's still got it.
He probably got help in this country but he needed to have ppl around him who would hold him accountable to his treatment.

I am glad in his back in Nigeria. Maybe the love of our ppl would heal him.

Everyone has tried. Even Tony Okoroji put it up on his facebook page days ago for people to donate to help him. You can go and check, its still on his wall. Don't say they're not doing anything.
*BabyPebbles*

Awww a hero, Majek.

Folashade Idowu said...

I support this! Linda let's start something for this man, if our government can't, if his friends can't, if his colleagues can't, if his family and friends can't, WE CAN!

We can easily save Majek if we all do something now. Linda can something to fully rehabilitate Majek be anchored around you. I will start with 50k at once . If we chip in, we can get him detoxed, cleaned, treated, fed and returned to playing those beautiful songs in no time.

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha...yaff mad I swear

Most drug addicts take one but Majek takes four with alcohol so why wont be like this. Heroin and cocaine plus ogogoro finished him. Going to America was not good for him.

Paris said...

I concur

Innocentia Annie said...

Help needed asap
God help him

Golda Awosika said...

My mum used to talk about how Majekodunmi Fashakin used to look so fresh and dope in doz days, see wat life can do to ppl. I personally rocked his songs at 10yrs old, it's sad to see him ds way. May his soul find peace

ColdFlame said...

Merciful God!
Just two hours ago I was devotedly nodding away to his lyrics in slow moving Lagos traffic... "they say am tired...but am not tired....can the dead praise you, no way, but the living man, yes I...
Pure soul lifting gospel music far as am concerned. And look what happened to the messenger!
Let God be true and every man a liar. Let Him bring back this man's sanity today....
And let the songs of freedom and praise that only Majek Fashek can deliver so effortlessly ring out again... From his voice.

Olaide Davies. said...

But why is the wife and family members not helping him? Is so sad to see Majek this way.

Please drive this foundation. Linda oblige your blog as a platform. Majek made me appreciate reggae and see it differently.

Olaide Davies. said...

Are you saying nobody in his family can help him na wah o.May God send him help soon in Jesus name amen.

@lwkmd u ma no know am sef. @nnenne, na Bob popcy joreh

Edgar J!

Fame blind folded him and he quickly forgot that money has wings, if not properly managed it would fly away and mayeb return no more...i no pity am at all cause no be me say make him go take cocaine, this can only serve as a lesson without God we are nothing

My o My...what a pity.

Doesn't Majek have parents, siblings, brothers, sisters, uncles, aunties?? If Nigeria was that good, we should have reharb homes for drug addicts and destitutes. Our leaders have truely failed us.

When did Majek reach Nigeria? I saw him in New York years back begging for one dollar with a small plate in his hands outside one eatery. He was thinner then and looked malnorished. Abi them deport am? It's a pity.

FunsoFx said...

He needs HARSH, loving rehab. His poetry and music are the soundtrack of our lives!

I remember the rainmaker vividly as a young child growing up in the benin. as a gifted edo boy, his success was our collected success. siting quietly in my office i weep profusing seeing what has become of our dearest MAJEK FASHEK. What a world, what a life. Listening to your song "HOLY SPIRIT" I pray the same holy spirit take over your spirit and heal your troubled soul. God bless you Sir.

Very true. Nice write up.

Pro said...

This is so touching. Gush nawa making me feel so bad

That vuvuzela P guy

Dreezy the quidnunc said...

Lmao

otunba Damilola Adesheyoju said...

Majek Fasek: Mama tete oyoyo*3/ eee oyoyo,oyoyo. Mama mama mama yo. Papa papa papa yo. Send down the rain. What a lost glory. Linda pls, could you pls initiate a platform here where goodhearted Nigerians can reach out to this dying glory? Something has to be done to salvage this situation before we read it on the national dailies that 'he is no more'.

Majek suffers from poly substance dependence and needs in patient psychiatric care. However, the relations who need to seek a court order for compulsory admission are no where to be found. He hallucinates and wallows in delusions in addition. Unless he submits himself to expert psychiatric care he may end up that way. So sad.

Majek suffers from poly substance dependence and need in patient psychiatric care. Since he is not insightful enough to present himself for treatment , the onus is on the relations to get a court order to compulsorily admit him. He equally hallucinates and is deluded and thes

.....and these are features of a psychotic individual.

Drugs!!!

isioku said...

Jeezzzzz... are you for real? So lame and shallow. This is how it starts...exhibiting Majek tendencies and u think u are sane? Good Lord, this guy oiza is lost!

O God of rain, send down the rain on your son Majekodunmi. May he be healed by your precious hands in Jesus' name. Amen

Abraham Oceanzy said...

This is one heart broken story.... hummmmm, well my suggestion is that all Nigerian Musicians should put heads together to do something about him. Him being once a music icon in this country, for him to be saved from this dying path! I think this could be his last chance of redemption, God used this man that found him to pass a message to everyone... Mark my word, if nothing is done about him and he keeps on this drug abusive living, Then am afraid he won't he last two years... God bless his and save his soul! Amen.

If only this will sound as a listen to our hero, who make millions of money, waste them on unnecessary things instead of investing. and above all, i have never see a man or woman who made money and invest in God's work, and fall to zero, use your money wise, invest in nice business, invest on less privilege in the society, so that if in any time to fall to be less privilege, God will also use someone to rise you!

Dprecious said...

this is so sad.. i'm in tears right now.. the question is can't any of this Nigerian artiste help this man? cant just imagine this man's life to be so worst to the extent of begging for 100 naira... ahahah...!!! something have to be done.. plsss.. lets help this man... b4 he dies and be remembering him. we can still save his soul.. i believe...

Above all...where is his family???! He didn't drop from the sky! With all the ills in Africa, the one thing I can always say is everyone always has "people"....They must have written him off...poor guy.

Your contribution will be generous to help our brother Majek Fashek...Peace and Love !!! gofundme.com/wwn86ps

You can monitor this Page so we can be transparent with the donation..Lets help our brother and Hero if the government wouldn't do anything to help our brother..Peace and Love !!!

Please PMAN should come to the aid Majek. PMAN welfare committee should take up the rehap of their member by creating a foundation that other people can contribute to.

Silver and gold u have none??? Are u not on d same boat with Majek????

Nigerians should help him right? And u are west German abi

So So true..was going to post same..

Its a shame that Majek is seen in such light. He was a star, a songster whom many musicians looked up to. Yes. It is just a lesson for the very desperate fame-hungry Nigerian youths who will think of living the movie-life just after earning a few million quids. I hope he gets back to his old self and become better but I doubt we will ever see the sparkle that attracted us to him. Its a shame.

God have mercy.... God help us in all we do.
Don't under estimate the power of prayer, find time to pray even though you don't read you Bible everyday... make sure you say a word of prayer everyday.
Is important.
Blessed be.

Ice prince even called his name in one of his track REMEMBER

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 308 of 308   Newer› Newest»