Photo: Nigerian lady walks her sister down the aisle | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 11 June 2015

Photo: Nigerian lady walks her sister down the aisle

Found this amazing photo on instagram. A lady walked her sister down the aisle. The bride's name is Damola. Don't know what their story is, but this is refreshing to see. Photo credit: OurWedding

104 comments:

Tufiakwa

Comeseesomthing

Don't know why but am kinda happy

Awww. This is beautiful.

Mi like.

Damola and Bimpe Oladosu!!! My sisters from way back!!!! God bless ur Union Damola!!!

ITS NYC MAYB DRES NO DAD,.CONGRATS TO DE BRIDE...TOMJERRYSWIT

Lovely, but believe there will be a story behind this.

@ Henry Eze,Y are u beefing your ibo broda Bonario?Hmmm!Human being...,Just do your own thing now.very common to Igbo people shha.Greedy set of people.

Bimpe and Damola Oladosu!!! My sisters from wayback!! God bless your Union Damola!!!

How nice!

That's nt a bad thing.. Feminism will soon be d other of d day
What a man can do, a woman can do better

#ITwillONLYgetBETTER
#itMUSTendINpraise

D guests don't look happy. See dat yellow woman's facial expression tho

Good.. awwww they look alike
Linda post comments na wetin dey worry u sef

And so unlike...it's beautiful

JUMJANTOM said...

DAVE HALLIDAY SEE AS U DON FAT, STOP STARING AT THE BRIDE'S ASS MY FRIEND DIS AINT NNSS PH.

Maybe their father is dead.....nutin really is amazing here, its called next of kin.

LINDA..LINDA..LINDA...How many times i call u?

Nothing is refreshing in that pix.

Awwwww!

na wa to the fair woman on the side sha o

marrymenownow

Trendyify said...

Beautiful

Wow! Dats lovely. Tho, traditionally is wrong bt wat if dey don't v parents n help didn't come 4rm any of d expected uncles n aunties? She's d 1 dat knw ao she has hustle 4 r n r sis 2 survive so no 1 can take d joy of dat day 4rm r.

Rike said...

COOL

What is refreshing about this? It is said to be the father's duty. It is written in all religious contexts. And the wedding in question is a religious 1. So, there's nothing refreshing about this. It may just be a situation of circumstance. Please stop making comments that you presume would make you look cool to the next generation.
This world is disgusting to live in right now.

merryfrancee said...

look at that woman on yellow gele! looking like a wicked mother in law! .. it wud be nice to know their story!

BLAQ said...

Awww, that's so nice. breaking from d norm.

Effects said...

hmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Wow!

see the woman in blue wrapper's disapproving stare.lol

I whs her HML, and d very best thereof. God bless her abundantly.

Amycool cyril said...

what's the meaning of dis?

That's good.

So lovely

Lovely...sisters for life..shows how bonded they are.

Ok..........

Why are their guests frowning lmao see the fair woman bad belle them

Linda it is obvious na. Her father is probably dead and her elder sister was the person who took care of her and brought her up

I think her father is dead and she doesnt have brothers and uncles to give her out. Or maybe the person that is supposed to give her out could not make it to church

OK

Lagos Man Inserts His Penis into His 14yr Old Daughter to Check Her Virginity (SEE HERE)

Nothing new under the sun. Linda take note!

Anonymous 4:49 u are too hillarious..its true oo see the womans face hahahaha chaii these comments..

I love.....would want my mum to walk me too

Well to the last commentator yes their parent died within a month of each other and they are the only kids their parent had

Husband scarcity

Linda cogitate

Dr David Chux.O. said...

It is not refreshing. It is embarrassing.

Tufiakwa Ishi gi there! Or are u thinking they are partners? What's the tufiakwa about?

YUSUF BUHARI BABE said...

D face of that woman by d ryt though

Dr David, you are the one embarrassing yourself here with your ignorance. The white man who's custom the white wedding is has brides having whoever is close to them giving them away at their weddings. Their parents are late so of course her sister will walk her down the aisle. Nigerians always adopting foreign customs then claiming to know it more than the owners.

Ways tufiakwa its cool na,see d pride on her face Wld love 2 do dt 2 my sis am day.

How did tribe affect this matter

How foolish of you to say that. Do you know their story? Iru efi!

Bonario's baby mama said...

Ok so kill yourself

For??????? Or you didn't have anything to say. Read one quote which says "if you don't have something nice to say, don't say at all"

Dani said...

Where is it written liar

i think say na only see am..

Calm down

They re sister lost dia parents d same month so people should stop drawin up conclusion about what they know nothin about....

Mojisola Abegunde said...

If the world is disgusting, get out of it. What. They did is right. If you don't agree, at least don't berate them.

If the world is boring, leave it. If you don't agree with what they did, don't. Berate them. Don't be a hater.

All d best, and I wish them well.

You are an idiot!

Lol ^ cute

Guess u have eaten enough.... Ofe nmanu

Pls tell me how is this beautiful, we are Africans and such shit us not allowed, doesn't mean they have no brothers, uncles or related kinsmen.....why must it be a bloody bitch, are there village ppl these wicked that they have killed the whole men..........Guess they are lesbians

They are cool people who enjoy their privacy. Dey don't deserve all this judgy" comments. Yes dey have a not so cool story. But dey only have their selves left for each other. So who else to walk her than her sister who is d only family she has left. Bump and damola God will never depart from you and the best publicity with great accomplishment is what I wish upon u.

Abeni said...

As awkward as it looks, there is a story behind it. Besides, they look happy. Learn
how to install your beads and sequins for free here...
http://goo.gl/eXpdER

Some comments on here are so disgusting... don't jump to conclusions if you do not know HALF the story... ignorant people

Lol! Hahahahhaha

Funny reading different comments when u know d true pix. Lost their parents few weeks apart.

I saw it too lol

Innocentia Annie said...

They look happy
So whatever is the ishh doesn't matter
At that point in time

Dere is notin wrong in dis

Do you know why she had to walk her sister down the aisle. Like douche is you have nothing intelligent to say shut the f up no one gives a flying rats ass!

And it's obvious Yellow Sisi over there Is angry

You are a RETARD!!! Tufiakwa for what? Idiot!!

Bongo said...

Who cares what anyone else feels...their feelings de their pocket

Suzielicious said...

Wow! Dey ve dia reason(s) I guess... So let's respect it!

Blue said...

She didn't walk her down the aisle as she is not her husband....she gave her away....Linda!!!!

Really. Is there need for such a response. Joblessness. Its a beautiful picture

Wow Bimpe and Damola, so happy for them yet so sad, lost both their folks within the same period last year. Happy married life damola

Okpo

Aww. So sweet. But why r d people in d background looking anry?

Damola, my paddy from QC! And Bimpe her younger sis! Parents died within a month of each other. god bless your Union sis!

cheezy said...

The first person to comment is obviously an illiterate, abeg who moderates these comments. The guy no know wetin be "walk down the Isle" mierda!!

famehouz said...

Linda Linda, refreshing speaks volumes o....

Linda if u r reading dis am angry dt u posted it dis cos u r allowing idiots who dnt knw wat dis girls av been tru to jst b sayin rubbish cos dis girls lost der parents same yr jst a month frm eachorda dts y she walked her sister down d isle linda abeg go find news if u lyk dnt post. Nt bodad

Shame on you

Even in d western world its men dat handles dat too

Y call her a bloody bitch? U r a disgrace to the bitch dat gave birth to u. Go bck to skool son.

May the souls of their parents rest in perfect peace.. Happy married life Damola!!! love you... Foyin

U son of a goat...park well

KWEEN said...

Henry Eze, you are a stupid, fucking, Cursed chauvinist bastard! She's her sister so how can they be lesbians? And do you know why they had to do it this way? There is a story behind this and you don't know it so why Call her a bloody bitch? . Instead you're there spilling the shit sitting in your skull anyhow.

I can see my prof at the background in grey suite....lovely concept, a Man would have been ideal though

Business Barbie said...

Linda. They are orphans. Parents died within months of each other. I am so happy she found happiness through the tragedy. Congrats Damy!

In some traditions or cultures, women are allowed to give hands out in marraige but in some cultures, it is not allowed. Men are supposed to give ladys hands' out in married. So it depends on their culture. There is nothing wrong with it if their culture does not forbid it.

A man from her father's family is meant to give her out in marraige if her father is dead and she doesnt have a brother. Except they are not in good terms with their father's family members.

Madam abeg go and learn how to speak English.

Where is their father?

preye rosel said...

Peeps pls think b4 u post

preye rosel said...

Miss Gloria how re u

'Wole's thoughts. said...

Look a these fools here. My friend who is married to her husband is who umpire all talking shit about? Someone's sister walks her down the aisle because their father passed and you're all here posting at BS. NIGERIANS ARE HUNGRY OO