For the first time ever, women top men in IQ tests | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 17 July 2012

For the first time ever, women top men in IQ tests

Women have overtaken men in IQ scores for the first time in a century after scoring as much as five points lower than men for the past 100 years, the Telegraph reported.

The findings represent a dramatic twist in the battle of the sexes, as in the past 100 years of IQ testing, women have lagged behind men by as much as five points. But now the gap has closed and females have stolen the lead.

Go women! Hehe! Continue reading...

The results have been published by James Flynn, a world-renowned expert in IQ testing, who believes the demands of the modern age are raising standards of intelligence.
He said: "In the last 100 years the IQ scores of both men and women have risen, but women’s have risen faster.
"This is a consequence of modernity. The complexity of the modern world is making our brains adapt and raising our IQ."

One theory for the result is that the demands of juggling family life and building a career have made women more intelligent.
Another theory is those women have always had the potential for higher results, but are only now realising it.
Flynn, who will publish the findings in a new book, added: “The brains of modern people are growing differently and showing increased cognitive complexity which we measure as increases in IQ.
“This improvement is more marked for women than for men because they were disadvantaged in the past.”
But he said more data was needed to explain the trend.

Supporting the notion that women are more than capable of taking on the stereotypically-male hunter-gatherer role, is Helena Jamieson, 33, a consultant who studied English literature at Cambridge.
On her marriage to stay-at home father Luke, 37, she said: “We have done the role reversal. I’m definitely the more intellectual person in the relationship and I’m at work full time while he is raising our daughter.
“I think women probably always knew deep down that they were the more intelligent ones – but as the gentler sex we were quiet about it and let men continue to believe they ruled the world.”

Culled from The Telegraph

35 comments:

Ahmed said...

Good news, but from personal experience, it's not the first time women or women have been on top of man or men. lol

Let the misandry begin.

Get off your high horses. It's not like they made the whole world go through IQ Tests. Furthermore, the way they administer IQ Tests varies. You can't come to a village and administer an IQ Test to someone.

My advice: Do not look much into this. There are smart and dumb people of all sexes.

Unfortunately, there are too many women on this site so the senseless comments will begin pouring in.

Chioma said...

UP ladies, yes we are more intelligent, am happy.....kudos to all the ladies

naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

Lls...am not surprised

“I think women probably always knew deep down that they were the more intelligent ones – but as the gentler sex we were quiet about it and let men continue to believe they ruled the world.”

If a man had said this, it'd have been deemed sexist. Honestly, women are delusional. Case closed.

In my opinion, women have always been more intelligent than men. Thats why they lie better, cheat better, & so on. But their primary weakness will always be their inability to control their emotions which will always put we men ahead :p

They tested people aged 15-18. Pathetic.

I'm sure the women will jump in their rooms and get drunk like Linda is probably doing after reading this :-)

I'm nt suprised Linda. Women grow up faster thn Men these days. So many men r stl boys @ heart. Hv u tried having a convo wt a guy ur age? U'll b shocked!Little wonder women choose men way older.

Pfft....

For the first time nothing! Before it was researchers that couldn't stand the fact that women are smarter than men, that was publicizing the results! Now the truth has come out and they can't hide it anymore! Men are not smarter than us by nature! If you raise a boy and if you raise a girl, you will know exactly what I'm talking about!

so Beyonce is right...... "girls run the world".....lol

DR KHENINE said...

U beta go marry b4 u start tinkin ur IQ is too high for all men...if u like don't post my comment

Jealousy, jealousy, jealousyyyyyyyy

Ebukah Emmanuel Nzeji said...

This is why our forefathers didnt want women to have formal education. They had already forecasted an event such as this. This would officially mean the end of 'marriage' globally;ehén,cos what does a woman need a man for again now,they now act like men and even do better? Sign of the endtime sha...what a pity!

doris said...

mr misogynist, vex not for what is written is written. go women, go women, go!

Linda, as much as I don't ooooh and ahhh about you all the time, I must commend you o....You dey chop serious shit for this your blog, people make crazy comments and you still post them? This one na real "YABA" left ARO doctor!

princess of Zion said...

Congratulations to the women!! Taking our place in society!! God bless

Blue print for a successful courtship- http://princessofzion.wordpress.com/2012/07/14/courtshipwhat-is-it-how-do-i-do-it-right/

May be the males got distracted during the IQ test session, we all know women are not that inteligent #natural phenomenum#

mirian said...

Pls accept our sincere Condolence.

this nah old news now linda we ladies already knew that asin why do you think that a woman can multi task and not make mistake but when you give a man a simple assingment to do dem still go mess up doing it ehhh

I prefer leavin my 10 year old daughter in charge WHEN GOIN OUT THAN MY 12 year old son.

Jude Abaga said...

Puff, Puff, Pass. Linda whats next on the menu, cos we'll still own the stable and Mares stare from a a distant. And we'll act like we care for an instant.

Women: You can all roll up and dot your sleeves with stars, but you all know thats crass if you aint got that brother, friend and lover, to run to and cry when shit hits the fan. So savour the pancake, there is more to life than just cutting the tape.

what of Goldie?..........lol!!

I'm not surprised. All you need to do is listen to Keitta on BBA and you will know the survey is correct.

Am sure u wudnt have vomitted dat same comment if d result was d reverse.

signs of wat endtime? Pls wer in d bible did God say one of d signs of endtime is dat women wil b more intelligent dan men? And whoever told u dat women marry men cos men r more intelligent? Pls I really want to no. People shud talk wit sense abeg.

Did I just see M.I's comment on this blog? I'm honestly surprised. M.I! I'm a huge fan O!

helen said...

Linda we ladies know the truth,women re more intelligent than men,u can't imagine a man working,taking care of the kids,coming back home to prepare food for the family.But its a only woman that can do that nd do it well(we re multi tasking).

FAAKIMS-UCC said...

is this part of women emancipation program? Whats the sampling technique? Am not feeling any dummer! Its good to encourage your self, but not wifh factless claims.

Pls no gender battle.its good news though but we all know that a high percentage of men have a lot to be involved with(and that exposes them more naturally)..women think of very few things..its simple..and pls this test wasn't done in nigeria.

murph said...

Its very easy..u can test urselves(talkin to naija girls).I've done a random research for fun..I was @ 119,no girl got above 98.no pun intended.IT DID NOT BOTHER THEM..and its true

Pls no gender battle.its good news though but we all know that a high percentage of men have a lot to be involved with(and that exposes them more naturally)..women think of very few things..its simple..and pls this test wasn't done in nigeria.

Forget IQ test, if you na intelligent pass, why aint you calling the shots, Men still do so. The only truth is that women pay more attention to details than men. But for this IQ test, the men were probably dumb one's. I dont remember participating in this IQ test, dont think we would have lost

Linda, even MI na your fan sef? See rhymes hehe...you got something going for you here MR INCREDIBLE.