Nigerian Actress in Oscar Nominated PBS Drama Series | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 16 July 2012

Nigerian Actress in Oscar Nominated PBS Drama Series

The highly acclaimed PBS America TV series, ‘Secretes of the Dead: Slave ship Mutiny’, has for the first time featured a Nigerian actress. Nigerian international model and actress, Sandra Omo Idugboe, featured in the highly rated historical TV series as the only female cast, playing the significant role of the slave whose child died on board as well as the interpreter between the slaves and slave masters.

This was a very challenging role as I had to learn Madagascar for it”, says Sandra for whom the film was her very first trial at acting. Known names involved in the film include American actor Liev Schreiber (Salt and X-Men Origins: Wolverine), directors Nic Young and Joe Kennedy, and an additional interview with South Africa’s leading human rights advocate, Archbishop Desmond Tutu.
Sandra was the first black girl to win the prestigious face of Brighton modelling competition in the UK, as well as the first Nigerian in Diaspora to return home and win the MBGN model crown in 2008, and was honoured with a high achievement award by the Nigerian High commission in the UK. In 2010 she was named Nigeria’s most outstanding model by the Nigerian models achievers Award (http://www.nmaang.com/2010_winner.html). Having done all the international fashion weeks and featured on Gossip TV UK, BBC's documentary on Black Beauty 2008, Channel 4 UK, SABC 3 South Africa, and numerous commercials, the model turned actress says falling in love with acting was the best thing she gained from being a part of the film. “All I want to do since then is act. I am still a model, modelling is my first love but acting is just the passion that drives me crazy right now. Sandra has also featured in two Nollywood movies to be released later this year.

This historical film is about the slave ship Meermin, whose fatal voyage tells a lost chapter in the history of the slave trade and one of Africa’s first freedom fighters: Massavana, whose story began 250 years ago when the Meermin set sail from Madagascar carrying slaves to South Africa. However, in a dramatic twist of fate, the ship never made it to its final destination. Instead, one man, who refused to become a slave, led his fellow prisoners in a mutiny and took over the ship. They then ordered the Dutch crew to sail them back home to freedom. But the experienced Dutch sailors deceived the slaves and steered the boat towards Cape Town anyway. When the slaves realized what had happened, a bloody battle with militia on shore left the surviving slaves captives again and the Meermin a sinking wreck.
Slave ship mutiny which was also nominated for an Oscar is an Off the Fence production for THIRTEEN in association with ARTE and WNET.ORG for PBS. Joe Kennedy is Writer/Producer. Katharina Pechel is Producer.                                                                   

36 comments:

WOW IT'S A HUGE DEAL

Janded said...

Good for her

if she is not gene, chika ike, omosexy, tonto, jumbo and co... Then she is on a loooong thing *in d'banj's voice*

Wow, this is cool. Exactly what we need for naija to get our good name back. Its also good to see new breed of actors doing big stuffs. So cool. Thumbs up girl... And shez soooo hot!!!

Anthony M said...

Waow.... She is hot!!!!!!
Will like to see more of her in the Nollywood scene....

keep it up girl, you have all it takes to get us an Oscar. waiting for you to explode soon in Nollywood. Azuh Amatus

Gola said...

...so proud of her!!! pray she wins.

Very intereating, can't wait to see this series & more about Sandra Omo. I'm proud of Nigerian Girls with Great ambitions.betty.

Alexis said...

How old is she pls? She has achieved a lot. So cool.

BLOGLORD said...

nice and encouraging!

Princess of Zion said...

Very happy and proud of her!! AMAZING! Very admirable of her to use her God given gifts and I can bet when she was chasing her dreams, many discouraged her and said they don't hire Nigerians. But here she is today. To God be the glory. May each of us also reach our aims and dreams. AMEN.

The third and final episode of tricks that cause delayed marriages, separation and divorce- http://princessofzion.wordpress.com/2012/07/16/trick-3-head-over-heels-in-love/

Making sure your relationship gets to the alter and stays a happy and lasting marriage- http://princessofzion.wordpress.com/2012/07/14/courtshipwhat-is-it-how-do-i-do-it-right/

THIS ONE NA LOCAL CHAMP! LOOK AT HER LOCAL MOUTH

Good, keep the flag flying high Sandra.lol

naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

Hmm said...

I think this is how we Nigerians should portray our county in good light to the world. Letting them know and believe that we are all not terrible peeps, and that they can still find good eggs within the bad ones.

na slave dem go quick give nigerian act. Shame!

Some peeps are so foolish. Wat is local about this? The person who posted the above insulting comment is a goat.

eya! Oga/antie international, ngwa make we see ur mouth na

Look at urself anno7:42pm. Aw spiteful u r, u don't seem to understand the girl has arrived and made it!!!!!!! Pls wat ave u achieved in ur pitiful life oda than coming here to hate on people who are following their dreams n making things happen on a heavy scale????

nice 1 sandra...keep it up

cynosure faces said...

@anon 7:42 U mean international champ #hatergetalife

Lets see yours.T A

NecFix said...

You, Anon 7:42 PM, are a massive cunt

omo, the Lord is your strength,,,,am happy for you.....congratulation!

Good Job OMO; hope to see more of your movies............

hey......am happy for you,,,,you are the best.....ride on..........

This report is dead wrong. Oscar nominations are for Films only . Not TV film or Drama series. Who wrote this report is Fake. Linda check authenticity of your facts before blogging.
Benin Boy

Onakachi said...

Pretty girl. Wish her all the best.

Very very rich profile. ĄΩ̶̣̣̥̇̊
d̶̲̥̅̊
she's very very pretty too. *I like*

Dr. Pinch said...

All the plenty write up is not necessary naaa. Haba!!!

I WAS THINKING THE SAME EXACT THING. GBAM.

9.34 ..Exactly my thots..at 1st dey said 'series' nd 2wards d end dey say 'movie'...I bliv its a series cos d story kinda sounds spread-out-ish'. Oscar is 4 movies!! Get ur facts str8!

U go gurl,kip representing us...we r so proud of you!!

Naya says; Sandra omo going places*yay*

Lets learn to encourage our own. Sandra stay focused.

chike okoye said...

Lets learn to encourage our own. Sandra stay focused.

@ Benin boy
Secrets of the dead is a film series with sequels. like lord of the Rings and Star Wars which are series, and they are nomited for the Oscars. They are sequels but people and film makes still refer to them as series.........

that aside, she is a beautiful young lady with achievements so far that has made your country proud.
Andy Crwadick