The Future Awards 2012 Full Nominees List | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 18 July 2012

The Future Awards 2012 Full Nominees List

Ladi Delano                                                      Toju Foyeh

As always, it’s the most anticipated list this year! The Future Awards, described by the World Bank as “The Nobel Prize for Young Africans”, after unveiling its spectacular Young Person of the Year nominees earlier this week, has now released the full Nominees List for all 21 categories.

Voting begins immediately! The voting numbers are 33120 (All networks) for Nigeria, and 1523 (Expresso & MTN), 1910 (Airtel) for Ghana. You can also vote on www.ynaija.com/thefutureawards. According to the organisers, voting takes only 50% of the second stage of judging, so winners are not selected by voting popularity – there is a 4-stage judging process involving a Board of Judges and an Independent Audit Committee. There is also a one-week period for members of the public to make complaints about any of the nominees to the awards Central Working Committee (CWC). Please send complaints to info@thefuturenigeria.com.
All the nominees will be celebrated at an invitation-only media and VIP Nominees Reception on Saturday, 4 August 2012 – where they will also be inducted into the elite The Future Alumni Network. The Reception is also a yearly charity fundraiser – and this year, the event will be raising money for the Down Syndrome Association of Nigeria, a pioneering advocacy platform for children with Down’s Syndrome.

“Though there were remarkable difficulties in getting young leaders and entrepreneurs closer to 20 than 30, but we are excited to have yet arrived at an inspiring run-down of young Nigerians,” said Chude Jideonwo, who is executive director of The Future Project. “We gave ourselves the tough task of finding innovators, entrepreneurs and the kinds of young people you don’t always hear about, which is the essence of The Future Awards and we are as always, incredibly proud of the nominees we have.”

Profiles of the nominees will be published on the official website www.thefuturenigeria.com and on www.facebook.com/thefutureawards by July 31, 2012. Let the race begin!

THE FUTURE AWARDS 2012 NOMINEES LIST

CHANGE
Best Use of Advocacy
  1. Ferdinand Adimefe (Interface Foundation)   28
  2. Olumide Makanjuola (The Initiative for Equal Rights)  25
  3. Orode Jade Uduaghan (Pink Pearl Cancer Foundation) 22
  4. Adamma Umeofia (WeBuilt: Nigeria)   20
  5. Chizoba Imoka (Unveiling Africa Foundation)  25
  6. Esther Agbarakwe (Nigerian Youth Climate Coalition) 28
  7. Priscilla Usiobaifo  (Brave Heart Initiative)   28
  8. Babafemi Oyediran (Rural Enterprise Development
Project)        29
Best Use of New Media
  1. Japheth Omojuwa       28
  2. Gidi Traffic        22
  3. Ediong Umoh       25
  4. #OccupyNigeria        
  5. #SaveOke        
  6. Seun Fakuade (Beacons)                29
  7. Nmachi Jidenma        24
  8. Wale Adetula       27
CREATIVITY
Creative Artist Of The Year
  1. Obi Somto (Photographer)     23
  2. Bayo Omoboriowo (Photographer)    25
  3. Chibundo Onuzo (Writer)     21
  4. Bobo Omotayo (Writer)      29
  5. Imole Balogun (Photographer)    23
  6. Remi Adegbite (Photographer)    30
  7. Onyeka Nwelue (Writer)     30
  8. Mohammed Abbagana (Painter)     26
Designer of the Year
  1. Adebisi Anita (Ms Makor)      23
  2. Kola Kudus (Kola Kudus)      30
  3. Olorunyomi Omoniyi Makun (Yomi Casuals)  27
  4. Toluwaloju Olowofoyeku (Toju Foyeh)   23
  5. Osakwe Amaka (Maki Oh)     26
  6. Rukky Ladoja/Obi Obi/Tola Ayanwale (Grey)  27/29/27
  7. Ugonna Omeruo (House of Nwocha)    28
  8. Akpos Okudu (Akpos Okudu)     25
EXCELLENCE IN SERVICE
Public
  1. Akin Rotimi  (Ekiti State Governor’s Office)  31
  2. Banks Omisore (National Assembly)    29
  3. Chime Asonye (The Presidency)    26
  4. Ohimai Amaize (Ministry of Sports)    31
  5. John Gomiluk Otokwala (Securities and Exchange Commission)        28
  1. Adaeze Nnamani (Ministry of National Planning) 31
  2. The Corper (National Youth Service Corps)  All ages
  3. Hadiza Abdullahi (The Presidency)    31
Journalism
  1. Chiemelie Ezeobi (Thisday)     24
  2. Tolu Ogunlesi (NEXT/Forbes Africa)   29
  3. Alkasim Abdulkadir (CNN)     31
  4. Toyosi Ogunseye (The Punch)    29
  5. Oluyinka Ezekiel Adeparusi (National Mirror)  30
  6. Tomi Oladipo (BBC)      27
  7. Barnabas Hunjo (Radio Nigeria)    28
  8. Elo Nkereuwem (NEXT/Premium Times)   31
Corporate
  1. Adim Isiakpona (Marketing Manager, HP)   27
  2. Seyi Ogunro (Associate, Banwo & Ighodalo)  29
  3. Aneto Okonkwo (Manager, Google)    27
  4. Ngozi Nkwoji (Senior Brand Manager, NB Plc)  30
  5. Tomiwa Adesida (Head of CSR, Sahara Group)  32
  6. Tomijogun Ogunlesi (Campus Brand Manager, Reckitt
Benckiser)         28
  1. Kayode Jegede (General Manager/Head of Facility
Management, Deux Project)     30
  1. Tokini Peterside (Communication Manager, Moet
Hennessy)        24
INNOVATION
Science and Technology
  1. Ahmed Mukoshy (Yrn.me)     23
  2. Nnoduka Eruchalu (Ploggin.com)    22
  3. Olumide Adewunmi (Gidilounge)    27
  4. Zubair Abubakar (Nigerian Constitution BlackBerry App)         32
  1. Chinwe Njokwu (Novel designs for microwave antennas using
Nanomaterials)        27
  1. Seun Onigbinde (BudgIT)     26
  2. Femi Alade (Pliris Mobile)     30
  3. Raheem Temitope Bello (geoUtil, a solution for 70%
current household energy consumption)   19
Education
  1. Gossy Ukanwoke (Beni Online University)   24
  2. Iyinoluwa Aboyeji (Bookneto)     21
  3. Tosin Jegede (One Child, One Book)    31
  4. Adebayo Adegbembo (ASA)     29
  5. Otto Orondaam (Slum to School Project)   26
  6. Desiree Craig (Efiko)        23
  7. Tolulope Sangosanya (Love on the Streets)  30
  8. Obinna Okwodu (Robotic teaching in secondary
schools)        21
ENTERPRENEURSHIP
General
  1. Oyigoye Doyle (Nylahs Catering)    30
  2. Kola Oyeneyin (Venia Business Hub)   31
  3. Titus and Tobias Igwe (Speadmeals Mobile Kitchen)  24
  4. Aisha Maina (Aquarian Consult)     31
  5. Ayodele Arigbagbu (Dada Books)    32
  6. Osaru Alile & Lape Caxton-Onakoya (Caxton-Alile) 30
  7. Ola Orekunri (Flying Doctors Nigeria)   26
  8. Ladi Delano  (Bakrie Delano Africa)     30
Agriculture
  1. Ajo Kunnuho John (Animal husbandry)   29
  2. Omoteso Sogo Ayodele (Piggery/Fishery/Poultry) 27
  3. Tochukwu Onyemelukwe (Jaeet Nigeria Limited) 30
  4. Olukayode Adeoye (Whails and Chase)   32
  5. Ayodeji Adeyinka Adeoye (Irewolede Farms)  30
  6. Fawolu Taiwo (Abivict Farms)    28
  7. Olusola Amusan (Olusola Amusan Company)  22
  8. Zechariah Obasola (Crop farming)    30
Media/Communication
  1. Julie Odia (WOW)       31
  2. Adaora Mbelu (Innovation Factory)    26
  3. Uyi Omokaro (DM2)      30
  4. Bobby Taylor (Bobby Taylor Consulting)   30
  5. Komolafe Adesola  (Media Insight)    30
  6. Samuel Olatunji (Big Sam Media)    30
  7. Uche Pedro (BainStone)      27
  8. Funmilade Alalade (Elev8)     28
Entertainment
  1. David Adeleke (HKN)      20
  2. Keke Hammond (Flytime Productions)   30
  3. Tana Adelana (Tana Adelana Productions)  28
  4. Emmanuel Dole Onoja (Delphino Entertainment) 28
  5. Don Jazzy (Mo-Hits/Mavin Records)    30
  6. Cobhams Asuquo (CAMP)     31
  7. Mamah Nwanchukwu (Ape Planet)    28
  8. Clarence Peters (CAPital Dreams Pictures)  29
Technology
  1. Ayodeji Adewunmi/Opeyemi Awoyemi/Olalekan  28/24/28
Olude (Jobberman)
  1. Ajibola Modupe (OTG Playa LLC)     29
  2. Jason Njoku (Iroko Partners)      31
  3. Eno Essien (Rheycrak)      30
  4. Bode Pedro (Veda Technology)    29
  5. Kayode Disu (IISA)       29
  6. Temi Kolawole (Antigravity)      27
  7. Femi Alade (Pliris Mobile)      30
ENTERTAINMENT
On Air Personality of the Year (Radio)
  1. Oladotun Kayode (Cool FM)     28
  2. Twitwi (Wazobia FM)      32
  3. Toke Makinwa (Rhythm FM)     26
  4. Maltida Duncan (Rhythm FM, Abuja)   31
  5. Tolu “Toolz” Oniru (Beat FM)     30
  6. Nike Adewuyi (Splash FM, Ibadan)    27
  7. Lorenzo Menakaya (Lion FM, Enugu)   26
  8. Mazino (Smooth FM)      30
On Air Personality of the Year (TV)
  1. Dolapo Oni (Studio 53/Mnet)     28
  2. Denrele Edun (Channel O)     28
  3. Uti Nwanchukwu (Jara/Mnet)     30
  4. Ill Rymz (Nigerian Idol)      27
  5. Andre Blaze (Nigezie)      29
  6. Adams Ibrahim (Soundcity)     24
  7. Yvonne “Vixen” Ekwere (Silverbird TV)   25
  8. Maupe Ogun (Channels TV)     29
Musician of the Year 
  1. Davido        19
  2. Wizkid        22
  3. Tim Godfrey       31
  4. Ice Prince        26
  5. Flavour        29
  6. Naeto C        30
  7. MI         30
  8. Bez         29
Actor of the Year
  1. Ini Edo        30
  2. Tonto Dike        26
  3. OC Ukeje        31
  4. Ivie Okujaye       26
  5. Gideon Okeke        29
  6. Ramman Hassan       30
  7. Kabirah Mojisola Kafidipe     31
  8. Lala Akindoju       25
Producer of the Year Music
  1. D’tunes        22
  2. SamKlef        27
  3. DJ Klem        28
  4. Jesse Jagz        28
  5. Ikon         29
  6. Fliptyce        30
  7. Legendary Beats       23
  8. J Sleek         24
Producer of the Year Screen
  1. Clarence Peters       29
  2. Victor Sanchez Aghahowa     29
  3. Onye Ubanatu       31
  4. Ishaya Bako       26
  5. Ladi Odebunmi       21
  6. Adeola Oloyede       32
  7. Anietie James Ekins      27
  8. Deji Adeniyi       31
YOUNG PERSON OF THE YEAR
  1. Bankole Wellington [Banky W] (Musician/Entrepreneur/Activist)         31
  1. Dapo Oyebanjo [D’banj] (Musician/Entertainment Entrepreneur)        32
  1. Jason Njoku (Media Entrepreneur)     30
  2. Peter and Paul Okoye [Psquare] (Musician/Entertainment Entrepreneur)        31
  1. Linda Ikeji (Blogger/Media Entrepreneur)    31
  2. Chinwe Njoku (Scientist)      26
  3. Idris Akinbanjo (Journalist)       30
  4. Raheem Temitope Bello  (Scientist)     19
*Note that, due to the adjusted The Future Awards calendar (it was moved from its traditional January to August, the period in review is October 2010 – May 2012. Nominees who were still 31 years as at March 2011 (six months into the period in review) are therefore eligible.

77 comments:

Atobatele said...

You can be sure of my countless vote. Gudluck

All dis people stay faking age here. How can Obi Somto be 23 years? 23 his big head infact it's only linda and Banky that come's out wth their real age.

u gat my 1million vote*smiles*

*Kingsley* said...

Long list. . .hm. . .wait o. . .i think i see my name on it! Or don't you?. . .lol. . .na just time! Congrats to LORENZO (the Sugar) Of our Able lion FM UNN. . .am voting him and of course. . .LINDA. . .g2g exam fingz. . .

itsekiri's finest said...

congrats linlin. for entertainment, did they mean keke or her husband, cecil who is the naija p diddy? i didnt know keke worked at flytime too. congrats to the power couple :)

laide said...

lin lin...dis is your best background so far...my own prayer to God is to please my ideas and little doings..just the way he blessed Linda Ikeji.

Eme Achanga said...

huham i dreaming?is this LIB blog looking so bright?yay!!!would vote for you Linda..u rock

Nigeria does not need these kind of awards at the time. We like awards o... Kai. But these award is meaningless tho.

truthhurts said...

Nawa for the ages listed o!!! No one wants to grow above 31!!!

Atobatele said...

Linda this is another background ooo....Abeg let's share in this your deal nah...Am sure this is more money for you. I dey wait for mai own share o

Kabuoy said...

Wow... Am inspired... I can see 19 and 20 year olds ond this awards list!

Linda ure up against really strong people oº°˚! Like banky w, d'banj,and some other people that I know are doing really well in their field... All d best... And may the best man win!

Btw... Am suprised tosin bucknor is not on that list... On air personality of the year(radio) for top radio. Uhmnnn... Okay!

Goodluck Linda☺

kunkun said...

Linda this Ladi is cute o!he fits you.thats somethg u shd look into

am happy orode's on the list. congrats to all the nominees but is Uti 30?

all these lie lie awards.
there are a million and one future(s) out there.
the poor young groundnut seller on the road who stays out there come rain or shine and who uses her income to feed and take care of her siblings.......that's what we want to see. let's go back to the basics.I appreciate the concept, but i really have not seen the relevance of it in our society over its years of existence.
until it starts to be the voice of the powerful voiceless youth....i refuse to reckon with it.

SAMUEL said...

Why are we not always telling ourselves the truth in Nigeria? Some of the ages I saw on the list are amazing to me. Why is everything in Nigeria about lies? I thought the Youths are the ones expected to correct these anomalies? Then why are they telling us lies about their ages? Nigerians are too good at bringing down their ages thinking they can cheat nature, but not knowing that nature cannot be cheated. No matter how they bring down their ages, they will still die at the appointed time for them, so why the cheat? This is a call for young ones to desist and live upright. No wonder we do not have old people in Nigeria! Everybody is young.

biko nu who be this brotheroooo i want mbok

Allegra said...

Good to see people doing good stuff over there and not those looking to idiots to keep up with the Jones'

Bobo Omotayo is not 29 o. I believe he was born in 1979. The Future always mess up People's ages.

OBINNAAA OKWODUUU!!!!

OLASHORE INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL STAND UP!!!! HE IS REPRESENTINGGGG! WE ARE PROUD OF YOUU!

CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL YOU YOUNG PEOPLE WHO ARE DOING SOMETHING TANGIBLE!

seriously,I do not care about the awards, who is this Ladi guy. Na wa o. How can sumbody be this handsome and enterpreneural?
God bless his wife o.

Efe said...

WOW!!!!LINDA,i fink i luv dis new look,i mean d background of ur blog.Its pretty-cool.Well as for the LASTMA Official,its so sad dt he learnt his own lesson the hard way....

Yes o! Lorenzo dey represent us wella for Lion fm. Great Lions and Lionesses!!!!!!!

U don turn matchmaker abi??

The new background lights up the blog. I like it

47vids.com said...

Men..if you notice the nominees are not above 34 if my eye dey see well....It shows that we the Youth are doing things..and with all this people we need to form a strong bond/party and fight all this PDP power and rubbish govt..Infact we need a new youth party (47vids.com recommends)..Good luck to everyone on the list..

Linda you are 36 years. Stop reducing your age. Congrats though you made the list.

Ms Dee said...

Seconded!!

DORIS said...

linda, kindly send a direct link that we can vote on oooo!

What is the cut off age for this awards. I love the idea and like to see people win awards for their various efforts in doing good and making a a difference or making money. all good.

Some of these youth ae not so young. maybe the name of the program should be revisited or something

Princess Zee said...

This post just got me thinking, am 23 and now i wonder wat am really doing with my life, need to start thinking of ways to make an impact too o

Guy man said...

How can we vote nah?? The link doesn't work!

But plz why shld a poor groundnut seller win a future award?? Na wa for some ppl

p.s. Toju Foyeh can get it

Anon 3.28pm well said, can you imagine these young ones too have started fixing stuff.

Bella naija and her husband are there, this award is no longer authentic, its who you know and thats what happens when these young ones take pics as well for their site (I KNOW ITS THERE SITE) but you see the same recycled people there - their friends.

Which way Nigeria even when this age group are at it as well.

The AWARD had its goodwill before but now its who you know. Come on people shine your eyes well, well.

Linda all the best but your category is strong nonetheless you can still beat them.

Adedamola said...

Spoilt with choice here. Sooooo nice to see a lot of young Nigerians doing great things. For the critics, be informed that no matter how much you achieve in your closets, if people dont know about it, recognition might be delayed.

What has Banks Omisore done?

Infact how are the nominees generated?

Why did they put David Adeleke and not Davido (which is what voters will probably know him as)

Nonya said...

Make una kukuma give award to everybody for Naija. Nonesense...Hiss

Tolu ogunlesi is not 29. he is my sister's age mate and she is 32. Toke makinwa? seriously|? dt one is 26? Lie lie fire!Flavour will bew atleast 34. lol. too much lie lie about age on this list jare. All the best Linda

Maupe Ogun 29?!am I missing something?na lie lie future we dey?

ZoeQuadine said...

Gidi_traffic and Raheem Temitope are the only outstanding people on this list... Am voting for them because they deserve it...what about the Nigerian Boy who graduated with a 4.48 from John Hopkins he doesn't get to be recognised but some people on this list does? A lot of folks do not deserve to be on this list they are great no doubt but they don't scream "future" of Nigeria... Anyways Great achievements Very Inspiring!

Ayo Tee said...

I see Funmilade of Elev8 on there! Very well deserved dude, you've worked hard for it.
It's inspiring to see so many young people doing huge things in Nigeria. And it's even better that we choose to celebrate achievements!
Congratulations Linda as well, more honour for you xx

craig david said...

Ha, na wa O! See Office oh! u need to see the bank account of the organisers' of this free for all awards. chai, berra Office. Anyway, werrin concern me. My own be say make berra ppl like linda win wey go remember us for future. as for una wey dey alter una age, *scratching his head* e b like say na d way oh. fink say na only footballers dey do dat kain fing

The bobby Taylor company all the wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

Na wa for dis list oh! A lot of lies about age and tins and for on tv,adams is claiming 24?dude is like 32 and for radio,how come amaka and charles of hotfm abuja not dere??? D due are d craziest on airs inn naija(tru talk)Wat is maltida duncan doing on this list? Na wa ooh

A said...

My dearrrrrrrrrr....HOW CAN OBI SOMTO still be 23 since 2009 o this same age..is it fair :'( :(

Anon 2:14 obi somto ws in my class in primary school. Trust me dts his real age.he is eida 23 or 24.

He ws my mate in primary school.trust me dts his real age.he is either 23 or 24.

Anon 2:14 obi somto ws in my class in primary school. Trust me dts his real age.he is eida 23 or 24.

Seriously toke 26!!! Oma ga ô

madbisi said...

i tire too, toke makinwa was my 3yrs senior in high school, which means she graduated when i was still in jss3 and if i am 27 now. how in d hell is it possible that she is 26 yrs old. like seriously. y'all can do better than all dis false age.

Princess of Zion said...

This is honestly very inspiring!! Congrats to all the nominees! God bless and you Linda, congratulations on your nomination.

Dating a married man? - www.princessofzion.wordpress.com/2012/07/18/he-is-married-why-are-you-dating-him/

David Adeleke is 20 but Davido is 19.........isnt it the same person?

Futures award you have lost credibility with this your fake list

kokomma said...

these ages are fake joooor.how can u say toke makinwa is 26 yrs old. meanwhile she was 5 yrs my senior in sec school. and i am 27 now. mtchewww......pure rubbish abeg....

madbisi it just means you were a dunce in high school.

Olodo

Victor "Sanchez" 29?? Omg! I knew him from way back UDSS benin days...dude is 31 going onto 32! Why evils?!

Seconded o...these ages pass official age gaan! Abi the organisers are aiding and abetting falsification of ages??? Jeez!

I agree too!

Ziba! said...

Err, Linda no vex o. Are you sure some of the numbers they put for the ages are correct. I mean Don Jazzy 30, Davido 19???? Like seriously??? So they're saying Don Jazzy is younger than D'Banj (32)? Haba!!!!

Please Lorenzo Menakaya is not 26 yrs old. What a joke! He was my classmate in secondary school and he should be 29 or 30 years old. Why lie???

common dolapo ooni aint 28...c lie ah ah

so surprised at the names of the nominees.God dey sha.

Ibukun said...

Dear Future Awards, Toyosi Ogunseye is 28 and not 29. We were born the same year and she is just a week older than me. Kindly get details right. Information like this matter a lot becaue they are in the public domain. Thank you.

don't Agree with the actor one where is Mercy Johnson?half the people there haven't really acted this year.

Designer of d year? Am so voting for Akpos Okudo. D chick is good at what she does. Pls ppl, vote for her. Thanks. Aunty linlin congrats oh.

U are haters,I pity ur life.ur mate her breaking barriers and crashing ceilings and u stay glued to Lib to make cheap noise.if u are blind or deaf and u can't see or hear of d impacts dis young people have made or d inspiration or motivation derived from d Awards pls go and hug transformer.bad belle people.

Pls oooh dese age reduction nah die, only linda, banky w and bobby taylors age is correct dodas i doubt. Pls who is lala akindoju, is she not d1 dt was dating chude and won cos of it. who knws her and her movies abeg. she does nt deserve to be dere oh. Hw many pple knw her?

Mohammed Abbagana, amazing artist full of potential. Seen him work first hand and his new pieces are magnificent, but he can only get better

MmaY said...

Hmmm pls who is lala akindoju? oda pple we knw.

please please please who knows Toke Makinwas real age! I DO NOT AGREE WITH THE 26 Future awards is claiming o! NA WA!!!

FUTURE AWARDS IS TONTE DIKE 26!! YOU CAN LIE O!!!

Jula said...

Na So we c am oh! Ojoro of d highest oda! Future awards M̶̲̥̅γ̲̣̣̥ arse! Shei kunbi of april doesn't deserve2 b dere abi she's nt gud enuff 4d awards! Anyway,future awards recognition insie al ur pockets! Its shld hve bin called chude awards cos al d nominees r his frnds/clique! Am sure pple paid4deir awards bsides lindodo sha!

Thank u, M̶̲̥̅γ̲̣̣̥ thots xactly

madbisi said...

@ anonymous or whoever u are. u don't have to call names or call people dunce. why don't u think before opening up ur stinking mouth. i was like 13 in high then besides u have no clue of what year i'm talking about.d way u talk shows of how much a retard u are. why must u act like a barbarian u don't have to curse pple out to pass ur comment across. grow up nincompoop.

Dat lorenzo was ur mate at secondary school does not make him ur age mate, u r older than him, wake up guy, say what u know.

Cool.

http://www.under35ceo.co

I wanted to thank you for this wonderful read!! I definitely
enjoyed every bit of it. I've got you book marked to check out
new things you post…

my blog ... prezenty