New penalties for traffic offenders in Lagos State | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 17 July 2012

New penalties for traffic offenders in Lagos State

If the bill which the Lagos State House of Assembly is trying to pass into law goes through, then you will spend three years in prison with no option of fine if you're caught driving one way in Lagos. Seriously?

Other penalties for traffic offenders are:
1.Riding a motor-cycle against traffic : 1st time offender – N20,000.00 subsequent offender N30,000.00 .
2. Smoking while driving - N20,000.00 fine
3. Failure to give way to traffic on the left at a roundabout - N20,000.00 fine
4. Disobeying traffic control - N20,000.00
5. Riding motor-cycle without crash helmet for rider and passenger - N20, 000: 00 or 3yrs imprisonment
6. Driving without valid driver’s license - Vehicle to be impounded.
7. Driving with fake number plate - N20,000.00 and 6 month imprisonment or both.

77 comments:

Hmmmmmmm.....

James said...

Some sentences are just too stupid. Meanwhile, they don't do anything about stronger offences.

Just today, I read in the news of how a man was sentenced to life imprisonment for stealing a Nokia handset. What rubbish!

Professor X said...

I hope those cop cars and bullion van drivers would also be sent to jail for one way driving. Because they're the major culprits.

Today is SANDRA IKEJI's Birthday Oº°˚˚°º ...Dats Linda's short sister!Linda oya post our own share of D̶̲̥̅̊ baidai cake ♍ake we chop!HBD to her sha.....

Cooooool

they should also include fines or imprisonment for those bus drivers that just load their buses in the middle of the road. the imprisonment is just a deterrence mechanism i believe, to scare people and make a scape goat out of the few that choose not to adhere.however, smoking while driving should be a crime..wetin consine the law n that cigarette?

number 2...as in really? smoking while driving? not even using phone while driving....these our leaders sef na wa o #BBconfusedface#

WONU: fashola ıs workıın lagosıan's are sleepın.

It will be a struggle to make this work. How will they fork out 20,000 naira from a motorcyle/okada driver. I'm sure many driver don't carry such amount on them everytime. The theory of this scheme is good, as in to help reduce bad driving, but in practical it won't work.

Lousy and stupid law. Nigerian law makers think you can legislate "away" every thin. Somebody should advice Fashola not to append his signature on such a crazy law.

It's good to have a modicum of order but smoking while driving gets you fined?

Driving without a valid drivers license - Vehicle to be impounded.
What if the license is at home?

How about speed controls especially on dual carriage ways?

When they get all this money, will they put it to good use?

These is harsh and stupid, nigeria has not gotten to that stage where you impose such stupid laws, trust our traffic officials, they will over do. Bunch of thiefs.

NEPA said...

Make dem also build more prison cells because e go soon full

These people are jokers. Prison go full.

Seriously,dis is gud and it'll enable us all 2 do d right thing...Thanks 4 d awareness my license is expired.

Woman of Virtue said...

Lmao Fashola don vex.@least accident will be reduced

Hahahahahahahaha. Law dey fo Lagos State? Una una sabi.

Wow! At this rate , its better you walk to your place of destination in Lagos rather than owning a car or riding a bike.

Nilla said...

Na today we don dey hear this one?*YIMU*

Ziba! said...

LAG House of Asses (sorry, Assembly): "It is time to use a sledge hammer to kill this fly. Everyone in support say ay, those against say nay... The aiyes, sorry ays, have it"... KMT

FAY said...

i hope this ridiculously strict rules also apply to the military/political convoys, bank cash-in-transits vehicles and rich people security escorts.... (na them dey drive nonsense pass)

not just average road users...

SUE JORDAN said...

ENFORCEMENT IS KEY...

Hrm paul Ojeih said...

Absolute and arrant nonsense some times governor fashola drives one way some times serving commissioners and political leaders drive one way this is crap let them pass it we will go to court and appeal it. the land tenancy bill that was passed for yearly rent is not being obeyed Shylock land lord still charge 2 years.roads are bad schools has not been fixed they are talking about road traffic bill.wat concerns smoking and driving i tot they would even say alchol and making or receiving of phone calls is prohibited dem dey talk smoking which one in particular cigarette or weed id-iota all of dem shege to them all theri fathers waka waka

oti ohh

Frank Diah said...

A very nice one, time that we learn to be reasonable in our doings, but the laws shd not be for the poors alone

Seriously? Smoking while driving? like WTF? how the hell is dat a crime in Nigeria now>?

Jenitusi said...

Now that is an improvement. I pray the rest of Nigeria follows suit.

omoyibo said...

2. Smoking while driving - N20,000.00 fine

I think some the fines are kinda high but hey drastic times call for drastic measures.
okay, need a bit of clarification on the smoking while driving, is this if the driver is smoking or the car itself is putting out excessive exhaust fumes?
If it is what I think it is then I think the lagos state govt must have bumoped their heads real hard against the railing on 3rd mainland bridge. and this is coming from a NON-smoker.........

babe said...

na police and paramilitary pple they wld first catch

Nelo said...

Smoking while driving? Really?! What happened to talking on the phone or texting while driving? Which is more hazardous? Priorities! Priorities!

Fashola develop the whole place first before any other thing !! Half and half government !! U want to copy developed countries, why not copy their developed roads?????????????? And the likes ????????

QF
Harsh! anyway i think its jst to scare demnd if not in d long run dey'l get used to obeying d law instead of payin fine.

Riding motor-cycle without crash helmet for rider and passenger is 3yrs imprisonment? Really!!!!! Seriously!!!

lmao, its about time lag drivers *give way to traffic on the left at a roundabout* bt d imprisonment ish i dont agree at all.

Draconian laws for poor people. What do you get if you embezzle funds? Steal all the lands in the whole lagos state? I pity.

Janded said...

it is about time hopefully they keep to it

It will be better if this imprisonment thing work out,cus lagos drivers like the danfo and okada riders are dam too stubborn

I did not grow up in Lagos and when i learnt how to drive some 20 plus years ago, the rule was give way to traffic on your left at roundabouts. It has never cease to amaze me that opposite is the case in Lagos.

Having said that, I think whoever came up with these punishments must be crazy!

Segun said...

Crap as far as i am concerned. When would the govt start paying fines for the damage done to our cars and lives by the terrible death traps they call roads?

Some of these rules are silly. I don't smoke, but common..smoking while driving is done even here in the UK, so what the hell is his problem... He should get a grip!

You all are knuckle heads, This is just to make you think about what you are doing.

Very stiff sentence which I think is unnecessary. It shows the level of exasperation for the authorities,

Eko o ni baje

3yrs imprisonment for Smoking while driving?come on datz absurd,dat will be a first in d world tho,we just av to be extra in evwiting.smh

Sure... as long as there's no discrimination. I especially support the okada driving against traffic one. And yes Linda, seriously. We need order. I'm tired.

Can sum1 pls explain no 4, i dont really understand

Can sum1 pls explain no 3 rather as i dont get

THESE PEOPLE ARE JUST JOBLESS. INSTEAD OF ENCOURAGING STRONGER FINANCIAL GROWTH and unfettered access to starting out business ownwers, Creating Industrial farms, passing Library and Literacy expansion Acts, they are concerned with road fines. As Fela don sing before...if you NO KNOW YOUR WORK YOU BE SUEGBE. And I second the emotion. 76

FANTASTIC development..but smoking and driving? Like seriously...They should kukuma just add "eating kit-kat and driving equal to N35,000" then we have a perfect traffic offenders act.

Ofilispeaks.com said...

#3 just cracked me up...

Yaay happy birthday sandra abi na laura??! Anyways

47vids.com said...

I don't think sending anyone to jail is a good idea whilst it may deter people. Come to think of it, how many big men will go to jail if caught... what they should introduce instead is community service...and the fine stays as well..47vids.com (political mode activated)

what of drink driving?

smoking while driving????! Like seriously. This def cant happen in the states!!!

the N20, 000 fine or 3yrs imprisonment for Riding a motor-cycle without crash helmet is highly disproportionate to the crime.

Implementation is where the issue lies, not making laws
naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

Ola jaiyesimi said...

I dey laugh o! In the court of law, it is my word against the lastma or idiot that will stop me. Has anyone seen the highway code for Nigeria ever cos I haven't , this is a
L bullshit jor

Ok now

lemme grab suya and alomo to watch the series unfold

www.gamugaza.blogspot.com

smoking while driving??? lol...abeg, tell Fashola to send me him account number, so I can pay in advance. nonsense. name 3 developed countries where smoking while driving is a problem, then I'd listen to the overpaid farts.

anyway, I heard this from the grapevine, Lagos wants to start issuing "Drive and Smoke" license.

@ Paul Ojieh,....writing from the grave? isorai.

Sounds like most people here in support of these silly narrow minded rules do not reside in Lagos. Or in the least, are not commuters. Anyone who has had tne misfortune of encontering LASTMA would know that this sort of nonsense will only go to increase their very illegal use of their powers. Smoking whilst driving?!!! Not even the very obvious 'no use of mobile phones'. It's at times like these that I really am ashamed of Naija. Moved back home a couple of years ago. Moved away again.

Mz Fortune said...

True talk jare...na only Bill them sabi pass,they won't prosecute the real defaulters...

Fasola how about lifting the embargo you placed on recruiting into the Lagos state civil service commission. So many pple r unemployed, yet you're recruitin only pple you know ......hiss!!! The order time okada was barned at alausa area,I see them allover the place now....!!?

Good idea by the Lagos State government but its all being carried done wrong by the Lagos State government. We are trying to reduce the number of prisoners and the high impact of prisoners who have been forgotten in prisons and three years is being added for such offenses then we are not serious about this. If you really want to get people to start driving well, threatening people with prison time is not going to work. We travel to the developed countries why cant we just copy well for once. Whatever happened to deducting points on the license or just banning reckless drivers from driving for a period of time. That way people become conscious of it and stop. Nothing stops me from just having 20k in my car on a regular basis just to pay the fine, after all its just a fine.

On the issue of smoking, I disagree completely because after all it is my car and its my life, what ever happened to freedom of expression. As long as I am not smoking pot or any illegal substance and driving and putting other road users in jeopardy. The Europeans and Americans have banned smoking in public places and residential buildings. They however can smoke in their cars and in well marked spots. Its just a money making drive by the state. Think out these laws well not just decreeing and passing laws. We have passed that era. Who is going to get the revenue from such offenders?

As much as I like the idea put forward we should do it well or not do it at all.

Dumb fucks aren't even saying anything about "Drinking while/and driving" but "smoking and driving" is an offence.............*crooked mouth smiley*

Fashola does not drive one way and thats a fact.

He needs to fine his people first oo + all this one way crap, some people no de know naaa. I pity new commers

ahahahahahaha i laugh in spanish!
mschewwwwwwwwwwwwwww
useless govt!
go and fight boko haram first!
ediats!

Ikunkun Babbles..... said...

Can someone please tell me how the hell smoking while driving is a crime??? and there's no Driving under the Influence of intoxicating substances on the list??? WTF??!!!
Stupid ass country where smoking in the building(second hand smoking) isn't even a crime yet.....as my grandma would say Itanraenije gbaa!!!!!

mssschewww!!!!

Just another excuse for those F-ed up LASTMA officials to make more money while pretendin to enforce laws half of them don't even understand!

Maybe they should try addressing other issues first- like how the hell do I get a valid drivers license in lagos?? Its so damn difficult!!

Pls wtf is evwiting. Some people sha....so now sounding like a 2 year old is supposed to be cool?

Those useless buses owned by Lasma officials,that ply BRT lanes with impunity,are they included in this driving law now

http://nollywoodfotoblog.blogspot.com/ said...

They just put more income into the hands of law enforcement agency, offenders wont mind settling for lesser amount, abi no be Naija we dey?

i think fashola made a mistake on no2, i want to believe he meant smoking vehicles not smoking drivers.
is fashola amending the highway code

So, smoking while driving is a crime and drinking and driving has been omitted completely? It's wrong to smoke in your own car but it's okay to smoke in public places? As for you guys saying that this smoking thing is stupid simply because it's not done in developed countries, you see what happens when you forget to think for yourselves and start measuring the value of things based on what developed countries are doing? I can assure you, even if it became illegal to smoke and drive in America, it would still be stupid *rolls eyes*

I thought traffic laws are made to be corrective and not overly punitive. The SAN should know best. I just hope the rules are for ALL including godfathers,politicians,generals and "big men".Anyway, i forsee an increase in the number of ex-convicts in Lagos in no distant future; no thanks to a non-corrective law!

4 me i ve no job.my okada is what i use 2 pay 4 my house my children sch fee.my family up keep.i lost my job as a police official.this laws is 2much 4 okada pls don't make same of us 2 become robber pls lagos

at last u post my comments.

jide said...

this is a crazy move from the Lagos state house of assembly. But i believe if it is well enforced, a lot of Lagosians will be more orderly. Nice one but really courageous and crazy!