5 scavengers sent to prison in Lagos for entering dump site illegally | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 17 July 2012

5 scavengers sent to prison in Lagos for entering dump site illegally

According to PM News, the Lagos State Waste Management Authority (LAWMA) dragged five scavengers to a Lagos court for allegedly entering a refuse dump site at Igando, Lagos, illegally. They were remanded in prison after the arraignment.

Do you guys understand what you just read? Those people who go to dump sites, pick things you are I have thrown away, sell them or whatever it is they do with them, just to make a living, were arrested and locked up.

The men are: Sunday Oyedele, 33, Waisu Ayeni, 23, Akinwumi Akintoye, 38, Fadeyi Sampson, 35, and Mathew Igene, 45.

The defendants told a PM news reporter that they had been scavenging at the site for some time before the new LAWMA workers came and started demanding money from them to enable them to enter the site.
They claimed that their inability to part with undisclosed amount of money daily caused their predicament, an allegation the workers declined to make any comment.

P. M.NEWS confronted some of the workers at the court on the issue of demanding money from them. One of the LAWMA workers identified as Nurudeen told our reporter they would not comment, saying he was not authorized to speak on the matter.

P. M.NEWS gathered that the LAWMA workers contacted the police at Igando division who swoop on the scavengers at the site and arrested the suspects, while others escaped.

They were arraigned in the court on a four count charge of illegal entry, obstruction of LAWMA and conduct likely to cause a breach of public peace by illegally assembling at the site. The police claimed that the offence they committed was contrary to sections 44, 52, 117 and 338 of the Criminal Code Law of Lagos State of Nigeria 2011. They pleaded not guilty.

The presiding Magistrate, Mr O. A. Komolafe granted them bail in the sum of N50, 000 each with two sureties in like sum.
The matter was adjourned till 13 August 2012 while the defendants were remanded in custody pending when they meet their bail condition.

Meanwhile, the residents of the defendants under a group stormed the court singing solidarity song, condemning the action of LAWMA. They said the victims resorted to scavenging because of the economic situation in the country, yet LAWMA went ahead to worsen their plight.

Source: PM News

46 comments:

Way to go Naija.. Imprison the scavengers while the terrorists roam free! Pschewww!!!!

Fashola is working, the poor get poorer, they can't even help themselves, The rich are being attended to nice. Bourdillon is lovely, Eko Atlantic is flooding Lagos. Makoko evicted residents can go die in acid. They are poor, the govt represents the rich.

theyinx said...

And yet Farouk Lawan is walking around town free as a bird. This country is done for.

LyricalMessiah said...

Na wa o...double wahala for dead body..God have mercy!!!!

My GOD, My GOD, My GOD!!
((sorrowful mood))
To u dat finds pleasure in sufferin di poor GOD IS WATCHIN U.

Cheekah said...

For wetin?unto how now? Our lawmakers and legislators are a pretty much confused bunch.When its time to prosecute the real transgressors,they"ll cover their eyes with murky cunt liquid...Their father lap!

Shameless govt! Why weren't they this quick to arrest & detain Farouk Lawan,Otedola & thieving cronies in high places!! It's poor people doing their best in a country with no jobs that they will speedily arrest! May God punish these heartless thieves in corridors of power!! I pray these poor men are helped as a result of your post Linda, God bless you for bringing this injustice to light.

Cheekah said...

For wetin?unto how now? Our lawmakers and legislators are a pretty much confused bunch.When its time to prosecute the real transgressors,they"ll cover their eyes with murky cunt liquid...Their father lap!

At least Vokal Slender was not one of those arrested...

DORIS said...

This is pure wickedness and greed! if they had paid them what they requested would they take them to court? we have better issues to deal with in Nigeria and sentencing people looking for ways to earn their means to prison is not one of them. Stupid lawma and the judge that granted them bail for 50k each are they insane? Yeye Judge u did not see OTEDOLA AND FAROUKS CASE abi???? God help Naija

These guys are in the wrong business, they need to go into politics, they can pick whatever they want from public coffers and get away scott free...

The rich have decided to oppress and suppress the poor. It's okay cos the one who fights for the poor never slumbers nor sleeps.

There's something wrong with this LAWMA officials o. We don't have a structured recycle system in naija, thank God for these guys...can't the govt see the profitable side of their profession ni. Even BBC did a report on them "Welcome to Lagos"

Crazy bomboclats acting as officials...mtchewwwwwww

which dump site is legal or illegal,they should please free the poor men, who are struggling for their survival
naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

Eyahh

=))º°˚˚˚°ÂºÐ½aĦaнaº°˚˚˚°Âº‎​=)) ,fashola is working .

This feels like a bad joke in my dream! A country that reduces her own ppl into Dumbster Divers will turn around And arrest them then remand them in prison custody cos they could not bribe police!
Next thing they may get long jail sentences for picking stuff frm the garbage! I cry for Nigeria!!

Alexis said...

Can u imagine!!! This our country sha I don't understand d kind of laws we now make. Meanwhile, pple like our Dame Patience are holding 2 very prominent positions in govt. I'm ashamed.

DUNNIE said...

WE HAVE SERIOUS ISSUES TO SORT OUT N THEY JAIL PPLE THAT R TRYING TO MAKE A LIVING WITH WASTE DEY WILL EVENTUALLY BURN? PURE FUCKERY.....

Ah but we r wicked.if they steal now we will call them robbers. so how r they to eat??? ,ay God forgive us as a nation

linda correct your error "you are i have". those men arent dressed like people who survive on trash from dump sites. i'll like to see what the charges are sha and know why its a crime.

Danny Glover said...

Nigeria and injustice. Steal N5 go to jail, steal N50 billion and be revered :( smh.

GbengaToye said...

Scavengers arrested? No comment yet till I hear more about this. Cant just imagine it.

AJ said...

Really? Seriously? is that what is wrong with Nigeria? Men who r trying to make a living out of rubbish? I weep o... we dnt even recycle stuffs yet they dnt want these poor men to eat...

What is happening in Lagos state for goodness sake?First traffic offences of 3 years imprisonment,now scavengers arrested???Haba

DR KHENINE said...

This is totally unfair, infact its a big joke... Linda try n help dem out if u can

Now Lagos rules are kinda annoying....Arrant nonsense!!

mschewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww
useless govt!
if no be hungry, wetin go make pesin go pick rubbish for dustbin!
fashola just dey waste im time!
his era would soon be over and i will see if all this noise he is making will last!
arrant nonsense!
make dem go find boko haram people and armed robbers wen dey terrorize the masses and leave this poor hungry people alone!
lawma? dem no get better work do, if not? EDIATS!

am sure they must be ibo guys.
GB

Lekeoo said...

This is irritating.

Linda please is there anything been done about these people? Wont mind financially supporting an action for their immediate bail and a civil action on LAWMA and the NPF for their arrest.

Ebukah Emmanuel Nzeji said...

Fashola, ur father there! I mean ur real father! In short ur Uncle laps! Ara gbachikwa LAWAMA or na SHAWAMA nti! Otorororo gbagbukwe unu there! Lagos state is kpefed up and Nigeria at large is kpafukard! Yeye de smell...*Big Mtchewwwww*

Now here is the thing....I have always said this...until we are all willing to die Forbes the cause, nothing will ever come of this nation and we will continue to get the thieves in government that laugh at us and say "Shebi dem go soon forget now."

Am I being extreme? Nah. We will all continue to talk and talk and complain about Bankole stole money, Patience was made perm sec, fuel prices were increased, Farouk is walking around free, Hembe is enjoying his loot somewhere. Blah blah blah. Till we demand accountability, we will continue to have stories like this. Shikena!

Have those pple heard of Recycling? How can u arrest someone helping you to make your job not only easier but depopulate the streets of criminals. Seems either way the poor turn, they are oppressed.Fashola, don't forget, it was such pple that put u in ofis. Nigeria,.........

Ajose Olasupo said...

One day the poor will have nothing to eat But the rich**smh* Nigeria is very sick!I only pray it get well soon.

47vids.com said...

Na today? Naija police only arrests the poor and oppressed..(47vids.com)

Deyon said...

This is just too saddening,i weep for Nigeria.Every country i know make laws to protect the poor nd weak but d revearse is the case in my country.The stupid judge that is giving them 50k bail,does she or he think if they had that kind of money they would be scavenging?

Yea, arrest people trying to find a way to survive while thousands of people are dieing in the north. Dumbasses.

The fact of the incident is not stated properly, they were not charged bcos they are scavengers but taking up arms against the site officers and disturbing the community, go to the site and make confirmation from other scavengers

Hrm paul Ojeih said...

OF COURSE LINDA WE UNDERSTOOD WAT WE JUST READ UR ASKING THE QUESTION AS IF WE DONT UNDERSTAND THE CAPTION OF THE STORY WE ARE NOT DUMB U KNOW .
IT IS WRONG FOR LAWMA TO ARREST THEM THEY RE TRYING TO MAKE A LIVING ABI MAKE DEM GO ROB IF LAWMA CITES HEALTH REASONS AND GROUNDS THAT WILL BE UNDERSTOOD AFTER ALL THERE ARE SCAVENGERS IN ABROAD THEY GO TO THE JUNK YARD TO DO THEIRS

We understand English Linda. Thank You!

Nigerian Govt are always in the news for the wrongest reasons! They should concentrate on eradicating boko haram and stop fighting against the poor and defenseless citizens struggling to make a living hello Clear case of bad governance!!!

Hot berry said...

God is watching

Henny said...

You all are daft, don't u see d way they are looking clean? I pity una. These people u are cursing govt for might not be real scavengers.
I suspect that they are sent to get particular thing in d refuse bin site to prepare something very important, u can never tell. Instead of u people to commend d police u ar insulting d nation. What are they doing there everyday? THINK. THERE IS NO ENCHANTMENT AGAINST ME NEITHER IS THERE ANY DIVINATION AGAINST ME IN JESUS NAME.

Its from the dumpsite that Vocal Slender found favour & yet the govt is not willing to help this scavengers.Who enjoys working as a scavenger?
God dey sha.

Make una de fear Godoooo,am referring to all government officials,eg fashola.

Na real waoooo,which is better robbing and picking from d bin,our governments are very brainless.