Is Wizkid changing his name? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 17 July 2012

Is Wizkid changing his name?

The music star turned 23 yesterday and it seems he no longer wants to be referred to as a kid. He Tweeted:

69 comments:

#JustPassingBy said...

So whats he gonna be called now
WEEZY???
#JustPassingBy

#JustPassingBy said...

Oh its WIZ right!
#JustPassingBy

juliet said...

I say it coming, jst like Bow Wow did. Upcoming celebs better think of befitting stage names not names dey will feel like changing after they've become brand names. *rme*

SUE JORDAN said...

I LIKE WIZ...OR WIZZY

E go b WizMan na....23 no b pikin again! Michelle

sleemeto said...

i thought he bin tok say e no go change am?...well..'lil bow wow' is now jus 'bow wow'...as long as e doesnt start singing rubbish its fine...

Atobatele said...

Dats exactly what he's doing. He's dropping the kid and wil now be cald Wizdayo. He's no longer a kid again nah.

who cares?

Make him go sit down biko, who cares see his tiny legs mshewwwww....

Oluwaseun Adewunmi said...

Likes of Bow Wow, Romeo did same so its cool

Loudmouthed said...

Aproko boy! Bow Wow removed the Lil'

Dayvheed_ said...

So errm...he's saying he just wants to be referred as 'WIZ' ??? Dont fink that's fresh thoe #justSaying

So simple,I suggest u go with wizMAN, when u've a child wizDAD, when u celebrate ur 60th bday wizGRANNY.~BONARIO~ says so via NOKIA3310.

well, i tink he shud, he isnt a child anymore! n he shud pls drop the carrot jeans too, i tink it looks gay on boys shaa!

Who cares about that talentless, auto-tuned goat.

Wiz is alryt on its own!!
But not Wizzy cos lil wayne is already 'weezy' and it sounds d same!
Just plain ol "WIZ" will do!!
Billie Jean

Wizman then. *mrra*

Olapeju Alabi said...

Dats a good thing cos he is not a kid anymore. Wizboy, wizguy or wizman will be d perfect name for him. Congratulations!

Princess of Zion said...

Well, I hope this works for him!! Wishing him many more years. AMEN!!

The third and final episode of tricks that cause delayed marriages, separation and divorce- http://princessofzion.wordpress.com/2012/07/16/trick-3-head-over-heels-in-love/

Making sure your relationship gets to the alter and stays a happy and lasting marriage- http://princessofzion.wordpress.com/2012/07/14/courtshipwhat-is-it-how-do-i-do-it-right/

yeah.... expected dt to happen soon. you a grown man now:). Be gud n God bless u n ur talent.

So what's he going 2 be bearing now?

AND SO? SO WHE SHOULD WER PNT AS BRAZZIER? ABEG NEXT JARE. AND BETTER POST MA COMMENT LINDA *eyesrolling*

Awwww.....hw cute,now I knw his real age as he din wan to tell me before....I'm shocked he's older tho..lol...

Pshewwww.who cares

Nkaytchee said...

how abt WIZMAN? lol

What's wiz without d kid? He shld keep d kid jor! Dis how dey make wrong career moves, dis what we know u as, not some grand sounding name. D'banj wey change him name to Banjo naim u wan imitate? We'ree,see ya mouth! Leave ur name boy, we luv u just d way u are.

DEEFLAMEZ said...

OK, GOOD...AM GLAD YOU KNOW YOU'RE GROWING. WIZBOY SHOULD BETTER FOLLOW SUIT

@willadebo

jan said...

somethin funny abt dis pic, Tubaba posing like the fan, and wiz posing like the boss. anyone with me on this

What do u want to change it to wizass? U will not lv d 1 u r known for.mtcheeew

Sigh, this guy is a fool!

Fearless! said...

Oh puleeeezzzzeee!

Alicia haba. Why label him a goat? Aren't they all auto-tuned? BET must like him because he won an award. It's a starter. He can still use Wizzy as opposed to Weezy for Lil wayne.

It takes nothing away from him, he is still the bomb

naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

well i said it from the unset why wizkid when u will soon grow into a man.

Unlike wizboy u can Continue that name for the rest of you life but wiz kid nooooooooooooooo
i kn it will come to this.

why all the hating na, well he's 22 not 23

michelle said...

Bt Lil'Wayne didn't remove the little in his name nah.. I fink he shud leave the name... Its sumfin evry1 knws him with and changing it would be kinda #Lame

California love said...

You too think far lol,I honestly know what you mean because I am always very good at reading action and people's postures lol.
Let me analyze the picture for you further, if tuface was his height we will admit he acted the fan while wizkid the boss .

In this case tuface acted that way because of his height as wizkid is short for him to stand upright,so If you take a deep look yiu will see that tuface wanted to come down to his level so wizkid won't look like pikin or tata or baby lol. Tuface swag still over show wizkid lol.
As for wizkid changing his name is no big deal,the fame and recognition is already established no doubt.

I thought naija already has an artiste named Wizboy ,and the Us has wizkhalifa,whizzy ,breezy(chris brown)

Whateva works for him..wetin consyn vulture and barbing salon?..its his life..NEKS

WIZADULT KAPISH!!!

What's the beef now?

evidence said...

Leave d name d way it is, biko,it doesn't matter

Lol! I think I agree with anonymous 9.09. So funny!

I so h8 dat twat...I personally fink,whether he changes d name or nat,he'll olwaiz act lyk a 'kid'!leh him b peeps!he iz jes a 'kid'

good move!!, unlike saucekid who won't change his name at his old age...lollypop

Hrm paul Ojeih said...

if im like make im changing im name to wizard wetein concern or how im take affect us abeg sister linda give us better gist after all 2 face change im name from 2face to 2 baba the only impact was dat he got more girls pregnant so wizzy wizzy change ur name it is not our bizness instead of u working or ur sophomore album u dey change name oloshi i tot u was 19 abi na David o be 19

So is he asking for a name suggestion?

Wizadult maybe

Does it rily mata?? Person wey bin date t**** na kid??? Lolz. Its a brand name, no biggie wit the kid attached. Lil wayne still bears that buh we all know he's no lil both in d industry n bank acct wise. I kinda like d name tho!

jossylad said...

Linda make sure U̶̲̥̅̊ publish dis,cos U̶̲̥̅̊ ve neva published my reply 2bad.wizkid is my best naija artist,but is lyk he is 4king up cos,wiskid as a definite meaning in d dictionary,i even thought dats y he as choosen 2 bear dat,but no lele sha,wats 2baba doing beside him,shey na him 1 rename am ni!!!joooh

he is even too tiny sef. why is he removing the kid? he still looks a kid abeg let him keep it jor. besides naija celebrities and copy cat. why did he use wizkid if he is going to change it someday. let him keep it, when he born, let him dash the name to his kid.

Wizdayo doesnt sound right

XclamationsGroup! said...

Saucekid still kept d "kid" even @40 so puliz let em be n by d way mama linda he is 22 nt 23 whack journalist... Misleading peeps

LWKM,you cray cray

Williams said...

I dnt see his reason 4 d change of name, neways dat's his business. Can't imagine Lil Wayne waking up 1 day nd changing his name 2 Wayne. Come 2 think of it 'Lil' being d abbreviation of 'little' is even more childish dan 'kid'.Lil Wayne still 1 of d best rappers of our time, Kid Cuddi isn't far behind. So erm, changing name doesn't matter at all

Alexis said...

He should keep the name joor. Its what he started with, he started as a kid so there's no need to change it. And all u dumb asses that called him talentless, make una tell us una name make we count how many pple know u.

Demola said...

Yes, wizkidayo
naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

Frenchie said...

Like all the other singers with Lil' or Kid
this poc is disturbing why they so skinny???

He shuld jst leave d name jare, wht of charlyboy
Hehehehehehehe

Peecz1 said...

Hahahaha!!!!!!

I dunno why artists don't like using their real names. Ayo Balogun better pass all.

Lil Kim is 38 and hasn't removed the "Lil" in her name. I don't think it matters, but it's his choice to do as he wants or pleases.
As for Alicia, you're right that he is 100% autotuned, but no need for you to be too negative. You need to realise that most of our local artists aren't vocalists, they're just good at entertaining with their music, e.g D'Banj, Wizkid, Davido, etc. It's people like Dare and Omawumi dat are vocalists

Michelle, the problem is that Lil Wayne is still little, grown ass man as he is. I think Wizzy works though.

he is still a kid jor... kmt

ty

@alicia says he's talentless abi?? Wat can u do?? Ride on a dick 24/7 nonstop or give head perfectly well oh wow nice talent u got there bitch pls shut the fuck up and stop hating on a successful young star, I'm sure in ur whole entire life u won't be as successful as he is now, so stop hating u inbred water donkey slut -___-

Mr wizy does'nt sound bad you know.

D guy is a goat wot hapin 2 wizkid ok wizayo or wizadult since is nt a kid oh wizard hmm dat is prefect dey call him wizard noni noni a wow c vibes

HATERRR!!!!

maybe u should answer wizny