Adeyinka Adebayo now Asiwaju of Yoruba | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 18 July 2012

Adeyinka Adebayo now Asiwaju of Yoruba

According to Vanguard, the Yoruba Council of Elders, YCE, yesterday conceded the controversial title of Asiwaju (leader) of Yoruba to the former Military governor of defunct Western Region, Major- General Adeyinka Adebayo (rtd).

Since the demise of the late Chief Obafemi Awolowo, who was the  holder of the title, a lot of interests have evolved in the region on who occupies the coveted title.

The council of elders otherwise known as ‘Igbimo Agba Yoruba' and the entire Yoruba nation, in a memo approved the nomination and acceptance of the President of Igbimo Agba Yoruba, Major-General Adeyinka Adebayo (rtd) as the Asiwaju of Yoruba nation in Nigeria and diaspora forthwith.

But wait o...can there be two 'Asiwaju'? Former Lagos State Governor, Bola Tinubu is an Asiwaju, abi? I'm Igbo, Please educate me! :-)

48 comments:

Ori Ade said...

Tinubu is Asiwaju of lagos.

Ori Ade said...

Tinubu is Asiwaju of lagos.

Linda thanks for the blue background. It is the background color of my company so I can read and comment with ease. That red was not it! Almost got caught twice

Atobatele said...

I also need to be educated concerning this title....

Smart girl. You've made the their vs there correction ni. -:)

Asiwaju of lagos is different from asiwaju of yoruba. Why do u like wahala? There's no one u can ask there.

It's not a pleasant situation for Bola Tinubu.
You see, he thinks Money can buy everything. But Yorubas are not a race beholden to money.
Infact neither are most Igbo or Hausa people.
And that's why this country is still together.

Tinubu is a good strategist. He Can marshall the forces. But of rare wisdom, long range insight, subtlety and kindness that is not tied to interest...I just don't know.

Anybody can be asiwaju but asiwaju ju asiwaju lo.you can decide to even put asiwaju before your name but the real asiwaju is the One conferred.that of Tinubu i think is for lagos state only but pa Adebayo's own is for the yoruba people generally.

Linda Ikeji an IGBO?*mouth opens*...I don't think Tinubu's was by appointment but if it was, it must have been by a King while the other was by Yoruba guild.

This is not to say Tinubu has not done a great service to the race and even if most Nigerians don't know it, to Nigeria. Because he has and continues to put many structures in place quietly. Even if some of those structures are a bit...
But you see, his high handedness is too much sometimes. There's a time to gauge and align reaction to action.
I guess no man is perfect.

I see this as a rebuke.

I do not know when Tinubu became Asiwaju; but I belive it was conferred on him by Oba of Lagos. So Tinubu's title is only for Lagos state. But he goes around as if he was the Asiwaju of Yoruba land.

asiwaju or no asiwaju is all politics.time and circumstances throws up leaders not men.

Tinubu can boast of foot soldiers .z.cant say the same of gen adebayo and a book i once read states that if u r a leader and nobody is following then u r just taking a stroll.

As for and my household, the leader is not in doubt, me!

People should make objective comments. Tinubu never claimed to be the Asiwaju of Yorubaland. He is the Asiwaji of Lagos and what makes it an unpleasant situation for him? If you have a problem with Tinubu's title, you should talk to Oba Oyekan. I'm sure you know where he is.

we love title so much

tinubu is jagaban of africa now abi?

Well, its not a pleasant, situation, because there is sanctity of respect amongst Yoruba elders.
Or generally the traditional elite. You think, of all the titles..they just picked the Asiwaju at random. No they didn't.

They selected the name to address a specific issue. The real
power-brokers operate quietly. Settling issues here. Establishing peace there.
At least within that top spiritual Yoruba caucus.

Why are Yoruba people so harsh-looking??, and before you go in on Igbos, I'm neither, nor.

Linda, the question we need to answer is, who empowers the YCE to confer title of Asiwaju on anyone. Besides, this new guy is too old and probably does not have what it take to Asiwaju. We need to design a system whereby we will be able to pick someone that will be acceptable to the generality of Yorubas.

nawooo na so the thing be

Linda dont be intimidated by posters who want you to identify yourself and the village you are from so they can say they are from the same place. What you have been doing is woking for you. People here also seem to have accepted you as a Lagos girl.

Linda abeg change back to your former blog background or get a darker shade of blue. this your sky blue is blinding and too shouty. I love change sha when its good.

Meanwhile you for ask ur loyal LIBrs if they like your new blog look, after all you always ask "you like?" hahahaha....well done my dear

Why una dey take panadol for another man headache .

My Asiwaju remains Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, any other Asiwaju can kiss LIB

Lol. Good for you dear

Yetinde said...

Asiwaju ni asiwaju....shikena

Lechie said...

Linda haba, u too dey ask.After now u will ask why I am Asiwaju Lechie.

Who cares???!!! Btw, I love d blue background! Its beautiful. BeTter than d red which was way too shouty

CHI

Son of Babylon said...

Tinubu is a self proclaimed Asiwaju but he deserves it more than anybody because he controls the politics and the affairs of our tribe. No respect for this Adebayo guy because as a General, what has he achieved? Where was he when the oil blocks were given to his fellow mates of Hausa origin?

Obansanjo is even more deserving for being a gangster.

Please click on my blog to see our OIL is being siphoned by the Hausas.
http://nigerianamericanboy.blogspot.com/

Son of Babylon said...

Linda,

We proclaim you and adopt you as a Yoruba babe henceforth. Your new name is Ronke.

Son of Babylon said...

Linda,

FYI - Its a big turn on when an Igbo babe speaks Yoruba so please keep it up.

Ikeji is an Ibo name? I didn't know this as well!

Tinubu is the asiwaju but just to balance power..he gave it to the adeyinka...this is a mind game...YOU PEOPLE SHOULD WAKEUP...the adeyinka is in no party...so the pdp and other parties will listen to him while he listen to tinubu SIMPLE....BOLA TINUBU YOU WISE GAN ....OGBON YI TI POJU

You people should not aguee over this....this a a way for ACN to capture the other state in the yoruba land...as jonathan is to obasanjo ...so is adeyinka to tinubu ...ja si....

CL said...

Bola Tinubu is the Asiwaju of Iragbiji in Osun State and at the same time, the Asiwaju omo of Lagos.... So is his mom, she's the Iyaloja of Lagos and Iragbiji.

Princess of Zion said...

Praying that they will use these positions of influence to impact lives; really that's what matters.

Dating a married man? - www.princessofzion.wordpress.com/2012/07/18/he-is-married-why-are-you-dating-him/

Who cares who is who? they r all a bunch of loonies.....

NecFix said...

These 2 anons must be plutonians. Like, seriously?

Linda is beginning to irritate me,don't you know what is really worthy to be here......omg .psheeew.the next log please...

@ Princess of Zion. Shey it's everybody you will pray for abi? LOL.

@ Princess of Zion - I need you to start cursing some people. The ones that deserve it sha. Your prayers are starting to bore me :) LOL.

Seyi Macaulay said...

This controversy "oblongoh" Tinubu want to be seen as Leader of the Yobuba People despite his greed and avaricious lifestyle, It was after his tenure he made so much money in government to acquire his stupendous hotels,and estate, this lifestyle is a complete opposite philosophy of Late Chief Obafemi Awolowo. How can you be regarded by common men when you made no tangible impact in their lives safe becoming renown and more famous by oppressing them (Lekki Toll gate still an Issue) forced on Nigerians. So If Yoruba People who until now have lost reputation to greed now appoint a General who hitherto has not affected any one, let us see how they will use this position to better the lots of the people who are already overwhelmed by their shame and disgrace. I am of the opinion that Leadership should not come by white hair or the oldness of a man. Young-er Yoruba reputable people can do better, NOT "Agberos" There are good thinkers who can effect a change and lead this race of of the mess
Thank you Linda. You should stop calling yourself an IBO girl. Your new Title is "Yeye awon odo" Meaning Mother of Young People. Approved by the Yoruba council of Youths. Igbimo awon odo

http://akinbami.blogspot.com/2012/07/gen-adeyinka-adebayo-is-now-asiwaju-of.html

Linda you are an Ibo girl not an Igbo girl. Ibo is the person while Igbo is the language. Please do not disgrace us. Our Future award winner!

frances said...

Linda lol@your new name Ronke.

It's Igbo not Ibo. Both Yoruba and Igbo languages have similar names eg Ogunji, Ikeji.
*whiterose*

Six feet below, resting in his grave, egbon

How can Bola Tinubu be a Yoruba leader? a corrupt politician,if a person of Tunubu is to be tried in u.k court.i sure he will be awarded life imprisionment

Anon July 19, 2012 2:08 PM Igbo and Ibo are both in the dico.

It's funny how people are just realizing she is IBO. She says it all the time. I see people who don't follow her regularly thinking Ikeji (second in yoruba) is yoruba.
BTW, what does Ikeji mean in Igbo?