Armed robbers raid bullion van, cart away N58m, kill policeman | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 19 July 2012

Armed robbers raid bullion van, cart away N58m, kill policeman

Armed robbers, on Tuesday July 17th, raided a bullion van belonging to a first generation bank along the Lagos-Badagry Expressway.

According to reports, the robbers laid ambush for the bullion van which was coming to Lagos via the Badagry expressway and succeeded in taking all the money in the vehicle (58 million naira). They also killed an escort police officer in the process

The Lagos Commissioner of Police confirmed the robbery attack and said the bank did not use the customized bullet-proof bullion van that banks are advised to use in order to reduce the incidence of robbery attacks on bank vehicles.

51 comments:

Akin said...

Yep. I smell an inside job.

beebee said...

Laila illalahu!!!!!!!!! Aiyekaiye for dem dis weekend (na wa oo , dere is nothing we wont c again) I jus luk forward to d day wey dem go carry d robbery enta aso rock and cart away d billions too.ee kpeleh ooo 'supposed new generation bank'

Such a dumb statement to be made by the police force. What are you guys trained and paid for.. Those guys go dey smiling mode now sha...choi!!!

I don't know why you'd carry N58m without using a bullet proof van. I can see that their stinginess has backfired.

Instead of them 2 do their jobs of protect n serve they r makin excuses every organization n individual in naija should be their own FG by providin 4 themselves PHCN(generator wether na I pass my neighbour or not make e sha give u light),Waterboard(borehole) n ofcourse security(it could b machine gun,cutlass,bullet proof cars,maiguardi cause dem de more reliable than d po po only se dem fit b BH,jazz dependin on ur prefernce). Mstchewwwwwwwwwwwwww!

shows that this is an insider job

Hmmmm dtz al I can say

thats bad. its the banks fault

its the fault of the bank they should have used the real bullet proof bullion van.

NecFix said...

The robbers knew the route the van would take & also that the van wasn't bullet-proof. Guess they worked with intel from an insider. Hope they're caught.

Abegi,money don go e don gos,all those ones na plenty talk. Those boys r millonaires already... Them wan put am for wrong bullion van head. Msthewwww

Yup
Xactly what I tot as well
Inside job toh bad

zeba said...

Serves them right! What bank in their right sense would not use a bullet proof van?????!!!! But damn! 58million naira is alot of money oh.

N58m what? the police must not give any excuses for not tracking down this elements
naijabreakingnews.blogspot.com

Exactlyy!!!! Choii! Dats some serios cash. Dammmmnnnnnn!

Princess of Zion said...

That is a lot of money Let's be wise when making decisions. They should have used the bullet proof van. I wish them all the best.

This post will bless a lot of marriages; excelling as a wife- www. princessofzion.wordpress.com/2012/07/19/excelling-as-a-wife-this-is-for-the-women-and-men/

SAMUEL said...

What a weak excuse from the Nigeria Police. what do they mean by customised bullion van when they are expected to prevent if not stop the robbery? This is a minus on the part of the Nigeria Police.

Each time i drive behind a bullion van am always so scared and in a hurry to overtskr.i just wish they could carry out their dastardly act without killing innocent people.bastatds,routeless criminals.may God punsh them and their generations

Allegra said...

How do you rob a bullion van - they are in-penetrable.

WHAT IS A BULLION VAN BIKO NUNU???

beebee said...

Hmmmn mayb/mayb not! I hope d police sef dey amongst d inside job u speculated cos dea own sef don pass armed robbery.killing one of dea own myt just be to make it luk super bloody (hehehehe too many action film in ma head......wea d good cop always turns out to b d bad cop) .

puffinsposh said...

Inside Job toh badt!!!

Ruth Richards said...

For real! What were they thinking? The bank officials should be arrested because, why in the world would you put that kind of money on the road, in a bullion van that is not bulletproofed and only one policeman. They wanted the money to be stolen in the first place. There is no two way about it.

Linda, dat wasnt d van. Remove it. D stupid policemen used d conventional van not dis bullet proof type. I live around where it happened

I am a Nigerian based in the US with extensive security experience, I sent one of our Reps to Nigeria to sell our products including our Armored Vans and trucks that can disarm 200 to 500 armed robbers in an instant via our bio gas, or fog, (van perimeter 6ft to100ft around). This device can be used in residential and commercial applications. The banks looked at my Reps as if they were crazy, I’ve worked on different projects in the US and around the world, I wanted to give back to my father’s country, I guess I was wrong and naïve.

Wow.......................................................dats a lot of money.May GOD help the robbers to repent and give their lives to him AMEN.

Ruth Richards said...

For real! What were they thinking? The bank officials should be arrested because, why in the world would you put that kind of money on the road, in a bullion van that is not bulletproofed and only one policeman. They wanted the money to be stolen in the first place. There is no two way about it.

This shows the high level of insecurity in this country.may God safe us

How did they know the route of the car?

Please what bank was this? If I have an account there I need to move it sharp sharp because their management may be suffering from brain touch. In 2012 Nigeria you are transporting 58 million naira in an unprotected vehicle? And to the person in the US who tried to sell the armoured vans... I don't even know what to say. Nigeria is just sad. We do not learn from hindsight and we still do not know the value of long-term thinking. And it's not getting any better

GiftD! said...

O Mehn!!! Boys haff Hammered!!! Thr own better jor! Wetin man go do? Abegi! NEXT!

ONOME says......
just another typical "normal" incident in Naija.SO what is the gist really?Would the thieves be caught?NO
Would any lesson be learnt from this and appropriate measures put in place?NO.Would the police sit up and do their jobs properly the next time?NO.

So Linda why is this news????Pray tell.I am listening dear.

Doing the same thing over and over and over again while expecting a different result is insane.

NEXT!!!

deekay said...

Fab business idea that will come in very handy. Maybe the person doesn't want the system cos he be thief.

Why are u insulting d police? Why did the Bank in question refuse to use the Bullet proof bullion van ? Dem don dey paln dis heist Tay Tay ......mtcheeew

Withh their cock and shot guns? You think they don't love their lives........abegi shift

its an inside job,greedy managers,drivers,mayb they've smelt mass sackin n decided 2take their own share b4 being sacked

PAY DAY

just like in the movies ..

sQo said...

Are you fuckin kidding me? How can u not fucking use a bullet proof van?
The police guy's family shld fuckn sue the bank on this

After the thoughts of their havoc, all I can say is its not too late. The notes have numbers on it abi? the bank abi cbn know from what number to what number were collected by the buillon van. so why are we crying if not that we have a shameless system!!!!!!!! if only they had/have or will have a way of de-validating(xcuse my grammer im not a banker..una know wetin i mean) does particular notes, then the problem is solved. The money is useless to them except they do not intend to deposit the money sha...just saying...

To sell any security gadget to a bank, you must have approval and clearancce from the supervising organisation (CBN, NDIC, etc) being Nigeria, other government agencies like AMCON, EFCC, ICPC may get involved.
Your rep must also prove that the bio gas will not arm innocent people around while preventing or stopping the robbery.
Then the issue of cost comes in, remember most banks just bought new armoured bullions, buying another one now will not be wise. Wait until theu start depreciating and approach them again.
You can go through CIBN or supervision department of CBN.

wagzi said...

Men wit small hearts for financial pressure culd do much. more however no matter how lucky they might ve being it s. A chase after d winds bcos there is time 4 everything under the sun, moreso the worms nd te termites are waiting 4 the produce of the 58million

Nigeria jagajaga....* jst sayn*

Hmmm ma friend's mum witnessed d scene! i hrd d ring leader is a very young gurl ,wearin bum shot n tying a bandana.. God help us O弡

Big shame... While other countries transfer money via online transactions, our retarded Nigeria still actually move cash around physically!

What a shame once again??? Police killed in it

Big shame... While other countries transfer money via online transactions, our retarded Nigeria still actually move cash around physically!

What a shame once again??? Police killed in it

Che!!! Only 10percent I ll be aii,I can send my bank details Linda(no insult o!

Insecurity everywhere and they expect people to come back and develop their country. God forbid.

Femmefatale said...

If u one of d robber nd u ere comment on my post I luv u alredy,let's share d money na*walksaway*

Hmm, clearing my throat...e be like say u like d F word dat u can't make a sentence without it!

stonearmor said...

@Tony Atse, thanks for the advice, StoneArmor.