Dear DKB/men: There's never an excuse to hit a woman | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 5 June 2012

Dear DKB/men: There's never an excuse to hit a woman

I don't care what any of you say, there's absolutely no excuse for a man to hit a woman. Men are stronger, they can kill with just one punch. Zainab was definitely wrong for what she did but I know a few men who would have walked away. And don't forget she is a victim of rape and abuse. She lived through war in Sierre Leone, so there's still a lot of aggression, especially towards men. If she lived in a civilized society, she would have gone through serious therapy to deal with her anger issues. If you watch the video, her aggression really started after DKB threatened to slap her. I'm not excusing her behaviour, just trying to understand it. Watch the video above to see Zainab's behaviour after DKB slapped her. That's a woman who needs help...most probably because of what she's been through. #myopinion

251 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 251 of 251

LINDA,I MUST CONFESS, I AM IN SHOCK AT UR OPINION ON DIS ISSUE...U RIGHTLY SAID DAT ZAINAB CLEARLY HAS ISSUES...THEN WHY ON EARTH IS SHE ON DIS SHOW....AFTER WATCHING DIS VIDEO AND SEEING HW VIOLENT SHE GOT I WONDER WHY THE OTHER GIRLS CRIED WEN SHE LEFT D HOUSE COS FOR ME THEY WERE AT RISK OF GETTING MAIMED BY DAT GIRL...ZAINAB NEEDS SERIOUS COUNSELLING 4 6MONTHS AND ABOVE B4 SHE CAN FULLY UNDERSTAND HERSELF.....SHE IS A TERRIBLY VIOLENT WOMAN....PLUS LINDA U DIDNT NOTICE HW CALM DKB WAS WEN SHE STARTED THROWING THINGS AT HIM HE CLD HAVE DONE HIS TOO.....PLS TRY AND BE OBJECTIVE....

African men, and african women, no wonder we are a 3 class continent. A man is a man for a reason, truth is if Zainab had said STAB me, then would he have done so. Foolishness, which self respecting man can slap a woman, bloddy batterer. i hope she gets him arrested for assault, then he can have a chance to fight real men in jail, foolish idiot, total disgrace to Ghana. I have no sympathy for any man who has the audacity to lift his hand to a helpless female. I pity you all here with your backward comments.

Doris said...

@Miss Yoyin, people like you beat their husband and disrespect them always. You think men are not human beings with feelings? I have brothers and won't take it if any woman slaps them. Dont make us women looks bad pls,your kind of woman is evil from you comment here. Pls Change for the better

Ur long mouth like modern day man,what about modern day woman?Mumu

Unbelievable the stuff you nigerians are coming up with. You are clearly advocating it is okay for a man to hit, slap or beat a woman....if she provokes him. I am sorry but there is no justification for violence from either side. I pity you all. That OS why men have soooo much power over women in Nigeria, that's why women get kicked out of their homes by husbands families

Linda u are too bias here may be because u are a lady. The in question is so violent, so unruly, mannerless and an idiot. They should sent her packing from there, if it were the guy peeping and insulting the girl now u pple will shout rape and all sort of things

You guys make me scared for my unmarried sister. I watched this with my husband and he said what Zainab did barely constitutes a slap but a reflex action to the fat idiot putting his hand on her chest and pushing her. Are guys allowed to do that.
That girl is definitely provocative, but this dude is easily provoked if a little girl who is no threat to him is making him fly off the handle. If he had killed her, he will be lamenting all over the place and all off you will say he over do.
You guys are stronger and while that is not an excuse for a girl to get in your face, remember that with great power comes great responsibility.

Nekky said...

Linda,d way there"s no reason for a man to lay his hands on a woman is d same way there should be no reason for a woman to go and peep a man who's not her hubby,lover or even brother when he's having his bath. not that i'm supporting DKB buh u need to cut him some slack.that we are d supposedly weaker sex should not take away common sense from us. when confronted, she should just apologised instead she went ahead ranting.infact 60% of men world over wld hv reacted d same way DKB did. i ask u,if the reverse was the case,would u support DKB for being a victim of violence? let's try and be objective.Zainab called for dat slap in my opinion and i'm sure she wasn't xpecting to be sent home as well. i just dey vex for that girl!!!

Mehn! You urgently need a visit to the optician and the ENT ward ASAP!

You guys make me scared for my unmarried sister. I watched this with my husband and he said what Zainab did barely constitutes a slap but a reflex action to the fat idiot putting his hand on her chest and pushing her. Are guys allowed to do that.
That girl is definitely provocative, but this dude is easily provoked if a little girl who is no threat to him is making him fly off the handle. If he had killed her, he will be lamenting all over the place and all off you will say he over do.
You guys are stronger and while that is not an excuse for a girl to get in your face, remember that with great power comes great responsibility.

asawellbroughtupwoman said...

Let me state first that I am a woman. In as much as I don't support what dkb did and I am a fan of zainab. I cannot lie she kindof deserved what she got. why cudnt she just apologise when he comfronted her about the issue. Linda u shuldnt say because she has lived through war all her life and rape and the rest dt doesn't justify her agression or wtsoever. The truth about this life is that everyone has gone through one sort of hurt in their life or the other so people need to stop using their past as an excuse for stupid behaviour. If it is dt we shuld b using the hurt dt we have faced in our lives as an excuse for such then we wud all be allowed to kill and do a lot other bad things. It disgusts me when I hear sme1 say ehn I was raped as a child so cz of dt I dnt like men. Or d guy wud say my dad beat my mum everyday so dts y I always hit women. Or such more stupid bizzare excuses. There is nobody on this earth dt hasn't faced smething in their life. D babe sef she provoked him. When u knw sme1 is angry y do u hve to start shouting nd all of dt. Why can't u stay calm nd den later u go nd meet d person nd say in as much as what I did is wrong I dnt think u deserved to speak to me in dt manner. If they had done dt all of dt wudnt have happened. The 2 of them are the 1s dt are at fault. Women of nowadays have dis stupid attitude where they feel they can open their mouths anyhw to themselves nd even to men. And bcz it is wrong for a man to slap u u feel he wudnt slap u. continue like dt nd u'll meet d man dt wud kill u. If we learn to respect ourselves we wudnt enter dt sort of situation. I am a woman. And I have never been hit by a man. My father never hit ny of us. And whn my brother tried to hit us when we were little he wud warn him never to do such and he wud even beat him for it. Bt yet I knw hw to control my mouth. I dnt go around provoking pple cz I knw wt cn cme to me if I do. My mother is a woman who of late has developed a loud mouth. I love her nd smetimes I knw its because she's under pressure nd goin thru menopause nd d rest(these excuses dnt justify her actions) bt it irritates me atimes with d way she talks nd I look at my father nd say she's so lucky she met him cz anyother man wud hve hit her. Women let us all respect ourselves nd nt leave it for d men to act as men nd not hit us. Afterall the men also have their troubles in life. And please o. If ur husband beats u continously please pack ur bags nd leave bcz he will kill u for ur children. If u r d 1 dt has a loud mouth then reduce d way u open ur mouth nd talk like a fool. Mayb he wud stop hitting u. U pple shuld still see a counsellor or pastor. If nt pack ur things nd leave abeg...

at first i just wanted to read comments n pass but i just had to comment..

Linda, i'm a huge fan of n e club against women violence, but really Zainab did push it..
it is said that a man should not hit a woman likewise a woman shouldn't provoke a man cos if she does, she is obviously seeking for trouble and will get it..
let's be real and fair here..let's stop looking at this ish just from we women's point of view..

she was rapped, eh heh, isn't that more reasons to stay out of that bathroom where the guy is?...
she comes from a war zone, so all women in naija especially d naija delta n d north should go gaga, abi?
including those who were here during the civil war?
who hasn't experienced war of some sort..save it O!..life itself is a fight..

abeg o! let's b reasonable here, she got what she was looking for..
in my honest unbiased opinion..
E.G

Corleone26 said...

Sandi,i think this is d best narrative comment i've ever read on LIB. Notwithsatnding d male and female dicotomy u still were not biased. U also spoke my mind on what is good for d goose is all good for the gander Analysis. If DKB were to be the one who invaded her privacy,all hell would've been let loose...pass d mic

they say a guy shld never hit a lady. Between the two of them, who is the lady cos zainab is definitely not one (she be omo ghetto)

nonsense said...

I have noticed smething. In africa the law tends to favour men over women nd abroad. Mostly europe and america the law favours d ladies. And honestly. It isn't fair. Justice is always meant to b served not that they wud say bcause females are weaker or wteva. At 1st when I heard what happened without watchn d video I had already started cursing dkb. I was already sayin he must leave d house. Hw wud he do dt to zainab bla bla. Nd den I watchd d video nd I'm like dis girl is a foolish dog o. So even if u aren't a lady u cnt act like a lady once in a while. She lacks manners in so many ways. Its her parents I pity. If the roles where reversed nd dkb went in to look on zaniab while hvn her bath nd she got pissed nd started ranting nd all. I'm sure in his right senses in as much as I hate dkb he wud apologise. So y cudnt she. I am a zainab fan or at least I used to b. I used to like her boldness nd all dt bt nw it just disgusts me. Wt is wrong with apologising. Y is she too big to hve apologised to him immediately he confronted her with d issue. At 1st he wasn't shouting. He was merely stating dt he ddnt like wt she dd nd den she started shouting. I am a woman nd I hve noticed dt women of nowadays hve a very loud mouth towards demselves nd men. They just dnt knw hw to talk. When to talk nd when to shut up nd its clearly bcz nwadays laws abroad favour we women to men. I am nt sayin he shuld hve slapped her bt I dnt blame him. Do u knw hw irritating it is for u to cme nd tell sme1 dt wt d person dd was wrong expectin a simple apology only for d person to start talkn like dey hve d right to do wt dey dd. Its stupid nd irresponsible. Honestly she deserved wt she got. If u dnt knw hw to talk sme1 out there wud teach u hw to. Linda is tellin me she has gone thru rape nd war. Ai moye awon to ti go thru rape... Is she d 1st girl to b raped. Is she d last. Was she d only 1 in her country dt witnessed d war. Or u think dkb hasn't faced sme demons too. Bcz he's nt tellin every1 u think he doesn't hve problems... Abeggie no 1 shuld cme nd b using their problems as an excuse for their stupid behaviour. If u suffered smethn in ur past deal with it nd become a better person bcz of it. Dnt say bcz dis happened to u dts y u do ish like dt. The dumbest grls r d 1s dt say bcz dey hve been raped dey like to fuck around. Na u dey 1st rape for d world. Nonsense... Whn ur fellow mates dt hve been raped hve picked demselves up nd r doin better things with their lives u u r living in ur backward life. That is the thing dt is even drawing nigeria nd africa backwards. We tend to use our problems as a reason for us not to strive to b better. It is not ur past issues nd troubles dt is holding u back. U r d 1 holding urself back out of ur own stupidity. If the babe knew she had issues she shuld hve sorted herself out b4 comin to d house. And as for dkb he shuld better go nd learn hw to control his anger cz he too shuld b able to walk away frm provocation. Thank God dey bought went home.

David said...

DKB should be dismissed from the house with immediate effect. How on earth will you slap a woman like that? I'm a man and completely ashamed of his actions.
The issue here is not about the lady needing help, which might be a talking point, but the animal called DKB.
Its really sad seeing comments here that doesn't totally support the girl...seriously where r u people from?

Is very bad for her to be peeping a man when he is taking his bath, what does she want? is the Slap and i like it.

Infact Zinab is better you go and apologise to DKB because you have a mental problem eventhough you victim of Sexual Abuse, you suppose to be afraid of men not going to peep them while they are having their bath

Its really sad that people in this part of the world, people think its okk 4 males to hit women. A real man, REAL MAN, who was brought up properly will never ,NEVER raise his hand on a woman. In civilized countries, he would be arrested,he had a choice to walk away, but he choose to hit. Too bad animals are being raised,called men,and are accepted in my society. God help Africans to live like civilized people.

mama ifu said...

I think we can all agree that Zainab was in the wrong. The gentlemanly thing would have been to walk away. I would have respected DKB more if he did that. I don't agree with Zainab, but I've lost ALL respect for DKB, fighting like a little bitch with this chick who's half his size. If I were dating DKB, I would immediately break up with him. Who does that, and calls himself a man? One slap is one thing, but he's going back and forth with her, dodging objects etc...This is village square fight. He could have just held her arms above her head or behind her back until she cools down. So this is how he would fight with his sisters, or his mother, or his girlfriend? Like a little bitch? Puhleezzz...

Naijarian said...

But the guy fall my hand sha... To say na me eh, i go wait make she enter baffroom or enter toilet dey shite... I go come open door wen i don sure say she don open everywhere yakata, na so i go just take my camera take enuff pishures...

PLEASE TO ALL MY LADIES OUT THERE: ANY MAN WILL SLAP YOU IF YOU PROVOKE HIM WELL ENOUGH.BRIDLE YOUR TONGUE,ACT LIKE A LADY AND YOU WILL BE TREATED AS ONE.IF NOT,FLEE FROM TROUBLE,STAY OUT OF HARM'S REACH. MEN ARE ALL SAME;WHITE OR BLACK,PASTOR OR NOT.THE SAME WAY U USE UR TONGUE,HE WILL USE HIS HANDS.DON'T BE NAIVE!UR FEMININITY IS NO LICENSE TO RUN UR MOUTH O!LINDA,THE SAINTS ARE NOT YET BORN!

all i can say is FUCK ZAINAB

The opinions shared by some are very disappointing! Women all over the world suffer violence daily. Dkb is wrong!!!! Why didn't he slap Prezzo who too got in his face and was provoking? Prezzo even spat at him. This guy is a real jerk and if you believe he's right ....go figure!

A said...

She needs help abi?..... ehen... the guy helped her by giving her a dirty slap that she wont forget in a hurry.
I'm tired of seeing sluts and thugs on TV and watching people idolise them. Give me good, old fashioned decency anyday.

wot rubbish linda.....wtf. to hell with d gurl abeg. OLOWO

How dumb are you? A man should never raise his fist against a woman....what is wrong with nigerians

Ope said...

Those saying Zainab slapped DKB first, where did u watch ur own o? NTA abi. PLEASE WATCH IT AGAIN ON YOUTUBE & THE DISCUSSION UPVILLE HOUSEMATES HAD AFTERWARDS. If zainab slapped him first,big brother would have called her into the diary room and not him.The reason Zainab too was disqualified was bcos she threw things.DKB is more troublesome than evry oda person in that house,he had issues with Mampi,Prezzo,Roki&Zainab. DKB SLAPPED ZAINAB FIRST AND THAT MAKES HIM A POOR ESCUSE FOR A MAN AND A DISGRACE TO HIS COUNTRY! PASS THE MIC IF YOU HAVE NOTHING SENSIBLE TO SAY,PLEASEE.

Rhipple...looks like you will marry a woman bigger and stronger than you that will always beat the living day lights out of you

GBAM!!! U said it all

SENSE said...

@nonsense, I'm glad u submitted your comment using nonsense as ur identity coz there's really no sense in what u wrote. DKB is full of stupid ego, it is dis same guy dat said the role of a woman is cooking and cleaning.

This babe really said it all. Kudos.

Ola said...

@big sister, at least I have a pure water sachet in my head,u don't seem to have anything in your own head.I know ur kind of lawyer,either charge&bail or defence attorney for rogues....agbaya. i'm sure you're not married yet and even a big-bodied man with a little boy's brain&mind will suit you perfectly.u can reply dis agn bt i dnt hav ur time anymore,mscheew!

I don't understand why some myopic women will bring their unrelated marriage analogies to this matter?

WKB and Zainab are not married. They were not in any relationship. He owed her no respect except that which she earned.

Please carry your marital problems away from this place. If you like call your husband or boyfriend a bitch, you will deserve and get a black eye. kmt

chillysauce said...

Linda, if u didn't care what any of us had to say, then u wouldn't keep posting this.

I followed big brother, Zainab is such a liar. a very good entertainer, no doubt. i loved watching her. Don't go believing everything she says because if u really did listen to her speak, u'd have noticed her stories do not tally up. assuming she indeed was raped, had a hard life etc, can u not as well enlighten us on the hardships that DKB has been through? cos i assume his life has not been a bed of roses either. That way, we can weigh their anger issues and analyse d reason he cldnt control himself.They went thru psychological tests so if BBA deemed her fit to be there, then she is fit, and should take responsibility for her actions.

Women love to hide under the umbrella of "men dont hit women". fool urselves. try that outside and see if u dont get worse.
i dont like DKB, i watched him too. nothing about him is pleasant.
In this instance, they were both animals . both r wrong and when u behave like an animal, u get treated like an animal. Behave like a whore, u get treated like a whore. If u want respect, then earn it.

I agree wit u linda

chillysauce said...

Rape indeed. She should be scared of penis then not longing for it with each breath of hers

She ought to be locked in a cage, (since u ve admitted her behaviour is abnormal); not unleashed on the public.
She's too stupid. blah blah blah daily. I doubt most men could ve held back themselves if put in that situation. look at it, he didnt wake up and slap her... things were too heated...

DKB was wrong, of course. was Zainab right then? she should do it again tomorrow then?

I owe him a drink!!

If there are times it's right for a man to hit a woman, there must be times it's right to be a cannibal. What ever happened to walking away with your dignity? I remember the lady that was beaten and stripped by Naval ratings in Muri Okunola. They share the same barbaric orientation with DKB. No matter what a woman does to warrant this kind of treatment, walk away and work on yourself.

All you daft ppl here. The video is what happened after zainab was slapped and not before. Get ur facts right and stop talking crap. Backward people. Thatis why your country has refused to progress.

Bovoj says.....

He must have a really tiny dick to be that badly hurt by her peeking - not like I support the peeking.

Correct well-endowed boys will say 'I hope you liked what you saw' with a wink and walk away confidently.

Next time silly ass, hold a pair of scissors to his face and then, ask him to slap you... small prick na hin dey pain am. hehehehehe

AMEBO said...

ZAINAB DID NOT SLAP HIM FIRST! HE SLAPPED HER FIRST.
They were both wrong , I wish she didn't leave sha.

Aha! Excuses upon excuses!! I went through this video severally and quite frankly the Zainab girl provoked the situation! How she go dey peep at man in the bathroom?? No be the man's intergity she want flaw like that? We be Africans now so she actually asked for the trouble but bobo for no slap am. He should have walked when she jumped in his face. People try to get away with all kinds of excuse. Sierra Leone, rape, wars then should not have got herself entangled in this if she was that traumatized. Really Linda, you may not publish this but as a very objective girl, I think the girl started it.

James said...

I feel like killing that Zainab my self and see what comes out of it. So, men should not be mauling women but a woman is permissible to treat a man as she wishes. If you are a woman why not conduct yourself as one and don’t incite any man to lose his anger on you. As simple as I am sorry settles it all rather she long to prove strong. Everyone ought to have deference for others the same as DKB deserve vast respect from so called Zainab period.
I can’t just imagine how I feel watching this bunkum video.

Never hit a woman.....msscchewww. That's the lame excuse most women hide under to disrespect and act abusively. I wuld' v given her a serious brushing. Double Rabbish!

@CHINKY God bless u! @chillysauce,i pity ur wife/girlfriend...u go beat am tire...SMH

Olusola said...

Big brother's ojoro is too much abeg.so Zainab gets sent home for provoking DKB by saying 'slap me bitch'.i'm sure big brother purposely sent Zainab home to give hope to some of his favourites coz many of d housemates alrdy predicted that Zainab was going to win.when Prezzo pushed and spat on DKB,that act didn't qualify as 'provocation', why didn't big brother send Prezzo home and why didn't that big fool called DKB even try to react to Prezzo's 'provocation'.

Screw dkb!! I feel like smashing things on his head too and I'm not even a violent person. When he had arguements with men in the past, he walked away but when it was a woman he was quick to slap her. That says a lot about him right there.....

Living in a civilized society has no bearing on Zainab or DKB's behavior. There are countless women (aggressive or not) in civilized societies, violated and abused every single day. Abuse has no economic or political barrier. Aggressive and abused women live in Sierra Leone, Nigeria, France, USA, globally.

The comment here makes me a woman feel really dense, like im a caricature and unable to discern things on my own. the facts are clear, you provoke expect to be provoked, you slap expect to be slapped. whats all this domestic violence thing... When the person supposed to protect you begins to hit you then there is a problem. But when u go outta ur way to harass someone that owes u nothing even after knowing that he/she is absolutely stronger than you... that just makes u stupid as far as am concerned... the rape must have occurred in zainabs brain.

i am not condoling what the man did as i am a woman myself but this lady was acting like an animal my goodness amean if you have a woman like this as a wife just be rest assured that your life is over. i don't want to say it but i think in this instance she deserved what she got shikena

this is evident that 90% of african men are domestic violence crime offenders.. a man hitting a woman is plain wrong, whether she's disrespectul, provokes him or not. it takes a real man to walk away and not respond... but then again, he was trying to prove he's a man right? instead by slaping her, he proved he was a coward!! one of the reason i can never marry or date an african man

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 251 of 251   Newer› Newest»