Lauryn Hill facing jail time after failing to file tax returns for 3 years | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 7 June 2012

Lauryn Hill facing jail time after failing to file tax returns for 3 years

Lauryn Hill was this morning charged with failing to file tax returns for three years by a Federal Court in New Jersey. The 37 year old mother of six is accused of not filing the returns in 2005, 2006 and 2007 despite earning $1.6 million in that time.

Lauryn could face up to one year in prison for each count and $300,000 in fines, according to TMZ. She will appear in court on June 29.

25 comments:

Blunt Queen said...

Poor chic. America really rocks coz nobody is above the law

Pssht she is not going anywhere

haba! if dis is true then i am disappointed in my very own Lauryn :(

Ko easy!

Following Wesley Step

Best album in the world miseducation but I hear she joined some religious cult and has been acting odd. How can she file tax return in between six kids and 3 baby daddies.

after making all that money,,now she can't even pay her tax...so sad....i still luv you though

Jibz said...

Oh my! I had no idea she has 6 kids.

All I can say is I luv dis chick.

mimi j said...

Everytin is just going wrong 4 dis girl. Her marriage ended this year and now dis. If she was a nigerian she wud say na people from her village send am

Is she still on drugs? Hope she gets herself soon...

Na wa o...

the lady with the best voice in the world can't pay tax you kidding me right???

Stop sheddig crocodile tears for her......how many of una dey pay tax for naija?

My tots exactly, im sure she didnt want to pay an accountant also

She's not yours,innit?

Wesley Step?

Bee said...

It did not say she failed to pay taxes, it said she failed to file tax returns. When you file tax returns either of these scenarios happens

1. You get money back from the govt, because you paid too much taxes, or you have certain credits that give you a tax break

2. You owe the govt because you did not pay enough taxes.

Lauryn has 2 baby daddies and she was was never married. Get corrected. Okbye.

Yep, if u don't pay ur taxes in d states, or u owe after filing. D government will be after your ass. Def happened to me, owed them some $ nd of course, they came after me. Thank God I finish paying them. Not a nice situation to be in. nd yes they can garnish ur paycheck to. American government, no they play with their money at all.

If the govt provide what they are suppose to provide my tax is a must. Besides some of us still pay tax andthe govt has nothing to show for it. So govt in USA is doing something at least so let her pay her tax. Give to ceaser what is for ceaser

Its always good to do the right thing cos its non penal and its the law, sowi lauryn but u ave to pay ur tax and also file in returns!

Please if u don't know when to use 'innit' just don't use it at all... U nigerians and ur remix ! Smh

Lagos tax 4 traders is so annoying,my mum own a bar n they give her bill 4 everytin she sells in her bar...tax 4 peppersoup,tax 4 drinks,tax 4 radio n tv,tax 4 bobo drink n gala n tax 4 d main shop...lasg will give them bill 2 distribute they will all change it in d office 2 make money..its so cray

wish na naija she dey. Na to just shake hand na.