Ebonyi female lawmaker suspended for drunkenness | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 6 June 2012

Ebonyi female lawmaker suspended for drunkenness

The Ebonyi State House of Assembly yesterday June 5th suspended one of its members, Lilian Igwe, for allegedly getting drunk and acting inappropriately.

The lawmaker was allegedly seen on several occasions drinking herself into a state of stupor and vomiting on herself.

Ewwww lady, stop that!...lol. Continue reading...

“The House has been brought to ridicule by the member representing Ivo State Constituency, Lilian Igwe," Blasé Orji, the member representing Afikpo South East said while moving the motion, on Tuesday, to suspend Igwe (PDP, Ivo), "She does not only engage in excessive alcoholic drinking, she also boards commercial tricycles, popularly called KEKE NAPEP, to the House, thereby not carrying herself as an honourable member. Mr Speaker, based on this therefore, I move a motion that Hon Lilian Igwe be suspended from the House."

The motion was seconded by Christian Ursulor, (PDP, Ezza South).

And when the House Speaker, Chukwuma Nwazunku, put it to question, members unanimously adopted it.
Reacting to the development, Igwe, a lawyer, who was absent from the plenary, debunked the allegations. "Only the members’ imaginations played out the petty behaviour they accused me of," she said.

Source: Daily Times

55 comments:

So, I understand the idea of getting drunk being unacceptable. But entering Keke NAPEP? So when the government provided it they assumed it's befitting for the common man to be dishonorable? Naija sha...soon they will impeach president for eating cassava bread..lol

Disgraceful! And women want to run for 2015,all I can say is issokay, issorai.

LucidLilith said...

Was she drunk on the job? So what if she likes keke napep? Shio. ye ye.

Cynthia said...

What a shame!

St.Ozzy London said...

objection my lord lol..............

Biko Lilian Igwe, I na-anurutu something were nwayo ooo. Which one is their business with her boarding keke napep? Who should board it? So because they work in the house of assembly they come from the moon abi?

chillysauce said...

kai but who snap am dis one? seems private... probably was drinking wid d person!

Objection sustained....so its dishonourable to enter keke napep. I see.smh

I guess she's schizophrenic.

suspended! why not expelled!

Prosperrich said...

Dis actually shows us d typ of pride that are in these pple. I'd it now a crime to ride keke mapep. And d fiction
Govt is providing them!they are so proud to d extent of stupidity. So keke nspep is meant for Those not on d assembly. Boko joi.let us see what these pple will do when they are opportuned to get to d federal level. The poor pple should be banned from existing where they are existing. So proud and garulous. Z.2.what if the woman is showing solidarity with the poor and common ppl she's representing.she refused to be an hypocrate like themselves of holier than thou..what of she's saving fund for a specific project for her constituency.AND THEY CRUCIFIED HER BECAUSE SHE DECIDED TO EAT WITH SINNERS LIKE JESUS.HYPOCRSTES.OHOUSEMEMBERS WORKINKING FOR AND LOVING THEIR NELLIE

Sochi said...

I can understand if they claim she was suspended for drunkeness, that is if it is true. However, saying that entering keke napep is dishonorable is unimaginable. How can connecting with the people she is representing be dishonorable? The same keke napep that they the politicians use as a tool of empowerment for their youths. So they have been dishonorable the people that voted them in by giving them keke napep? The same keke they use for campaign. It is a pity!

tezy said...

Ok i get the point of suspending her due to her drinking. But what do they mean that she is a disgrace because she rides keke NAPEP.. hian!! That is why most of them steal. There is nothing wrong with riding keke NAPEP more people in power need to do that, the mayor of NYC Mike Bloomberg takes the train to work everyday..

Irene said...

Dama... No be Ebonyi?

SHA SHA SHA SHAME!!!

All of the law makers should be investigated, because if they are really living on the salary approved by the constitution they will surely be riding keke napep as their take home after all deductions cannot accommodate their lifestyles # bloody thieves

Ndi nwa-nwa. Lol @ Keke. Na crime? She probably hasn't stolen enuff or she squanders all her moni on liquor. Hehehehh.

Bimbocruz said...

Seems like a case of give a dog a bad name and hang it. Sure those men needed an excuse to get her out of the house. Getting drunk is not morally right for any right thinking person but I smell a fish here. We all know of sex orgies this legislators get involved in and none of them has been suspended for that immoral act.

I don't like the way news re been posted on this blog,wit advert coverin half of the news it is frustrating and annoying pls do sometin about it.

so fucking what if she takes KEKENAPEP/HUNH if thats what she enjoys or loves taking they should let her be/which one is it is not befitting?so we that enter okada and kekenapep we have 10HEADS mmmsssccheew abeg this is not news as for the DRINKING ASPECT THEY ARE PURSUING HER FROM HER VILLAGE THIS IS NO NEWS ABEG NEXT...........

We have plenty problem in this country. That she is drinking to stupour is a pointer that something is definitely wrong somewhere. Did anyone care to find out if she is going through some emotional problem and she might need some sort of support to overcome it? Is suspending her the solution to her drinking problem? If she is so loved/liked they should be looking for ways to help her and not castigate her. The suspension might even have a greater negative effect on her

......and who says she cannot travel on a keke napep??? It's her choice and I don't see how that is an offence.

Look at these yeye people oo!!
So it has now become a crime for someone to ride in a Keke Napep?

These people self! trumped up charges jor!

Divinebaby

mayor of London uses a bicycle to get around town....

Web_evangelist said...

so to board keke napep now belittles the house hen? Unnecccessary self aggrandizement of uncivillized lawmakers.

How ?? Biko explain to me how ?? U people like dropping names of sicknesses anyhow smh

This is all a load of crap...Its obvious theres something else going on here...Dont believe a word of it people...

Dats outta order!

Janded said...

If it was a man would they have suspended him? maybe she did not give it up to one one of the men there.
http://abroadtales.blogspot.ca/

Ebonyi state we know is the most Backward state in the East when you measure the people's thought patterns. OBJ's ADC while he was president wedded with a keke NAPEP, now Ebonyi 'Lawbreakers' are telling us it is 'dis'honorable for one of them to ride in one yet they did nothing when it was introduced.
I hate drunkards and for a woman? It is 'un'African.

FortySeven said...

@chillysauce do u ACTUALLY believe thats a picture of the drunken lawmaker or are u just being deliberately obtuse??? Look up the meaning of the phrase "Stock photo." SMH @ u.

And then...keke napep is dishonourable??? The problem is that these people have no idea what honour means!

Sad, sad country we live in...but e go better!

God bless Nigeria!!

TOTAL RUBBISH

Str8FrmDaHips said...

The drink she needs counselling..but cmon for keke napep she needs to be lauded for that!!..very economical..

chillysauce said...

@fortyseven : u mean that's not d picture of the lawmaker?? oh wow!! lolol smh@chillysauce

Objection

She shouldn't be doing Drunken Mistress but nothing's wrong with cruising in Kekenapep

iamfascinating said...

oh, really why would corrupt politicians be cruising in keke napeps?, does she think she is a human being like the rest of us? smh.

Do you have an uneven skintone, acne-prone skin or you just wish to defy the aging process? answers and products are now available at www.thestunninglady.blogspot.com

It's unfortunate that noone has cared to figure out what the underline reason for her alcoholism is. Do they have AA or rehab centers in that state. Those are the things they should do first. Goodness!!!
That's one of the problem in Nigeria. So quick to judge n dismiss whereas people are dealing with serious mental health issues.

Mee said...

Hmmm KEKE now a sin that only poor masses can commit? We just lose sight of important things in this country

Professor X said...

Linda, that she uses keke napep wasn't the problem. She got drunk, passed out and was carried into a keke napep by secondary school students who found her. That's why keke napep was mentioned. You didn't get the actual story.

CooLKiD said...

What's the problem with Keke NAPEP? Didn't the government make them for the people? Are they above the people?

Woman of Virtue said...

Shameless woman! Beht is keke Napep dat bad? Nawa oooo

Lilspicer said...

Wetin our politicians know onli money spending abeg madam carry go I SUPPORT YOU NA ONLI U DEY SHAYO? (OMO-IWO)SAYS SO.... BUT WETIN DO KEKE NAWAOOOO

Lilspicer said...

Wetin our politicians know onli money spending abeg madam carry go I SUPPORT YOU NA ONLI U DEY SHAYO? (OMO-IWO)SAYS SO.... BUT WETIN DO KEKE NAWAOOOO

At first,when i saw dis pic,i taught she had been used for money rituals..lol,yeye gal

F

please let her be drinking doesn't mean she is not a good lawyer... she is just been herself... bt she should reduce it.

Ds is a set up. Was she drunk at work? Like dos men don't drink. Mtscheeew. Wat if she prefers to enter keke napep. Must u drive a big car b4 ppl appreciate u. Nawaoo

Dis lady was obviously drugged, we have 3 wine glasses, d wine is not opened, d person dy sent to frame her forgot to open d wine, pure amateurs, anyway the truth will eventually b exposed, dis lady she also not forget to sue them for all they are worth. They should make available vehicles they can b proud of personally. There is no case here, so I say authoritatively, case dismissed.

Bamz said...

This is a shameful act by a woman for that matter...She is a disgrace to women.

first kweshion is how old is this idiot?!

I love this comment. Makes toatal sense!

Let's not be quick 2 judge this woman, for all I care if it were one of their "honourable" male members who drinks and carries young girls around, no one would be talking.

Why is such behaviour acceptable for a man and not for a woman. Not that I encourage it in any way but I believe they would have sought beta means to handle d situation; either recommend she goes for therapy or something else.

I guess it was a slow day for them and they had nothing beta to do.

madetycoon said...

Her drink was probabely drugged, might be a setup cus if she wasn't a person of substance she probabely wouldn't have gotten 2 that position (think they needed her out of d way 4 a while cus we know how despirate nigerian politicians can be)

It sounds like she is an alcoholic and needs help. The govt has not handled this right. Don't they have any rehab out there?

Dr. Augustine said...

If we can actually turn law makers, particularly the ones in the Nigerian national assembly, into alcoholics, then Nigerians will worry less about the speed with which politicians loot our national treasury.The goal of an alcoholic is just to find a few change with which to buy a bottle or two of ogogoro. A sober politician is dangerous and sleek than one who is in constant state of stupor.Let the bottle be their best friends!

Dr. Augustine said...

And who says alcoholics are stupid?Look at how much distraction the honorable member has already created for the people of Ebonyi state and the entire Nigeria by her show of shame at the bar. Add driving under the influence to the mix, then you get a combustible outcome. I understand she is a lawyer, and with her new found fascination with brown liquor, she has been truly called to the BAR. I commend her for understanding her limitations, and knowing better to travel to the House of Assembly in KEKE NAPEP.The last time she got behind the wheel, she drove against the opposing traffic, and ran every one off the street.The Alcohol Anonymous (AA) is doing spectacualr things these days!