Bridge collapses in Enugu, cuts off 1m residents | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 8 June 2012

Bridge collapses in Enugu, cuts off 1m residents

The 37 year old metropolitan bridge linking the largest populated suburb in Enugu City, Enugu State, has collapsed. The Abakpa-Nike main bridge, built shortly after the Nigerian civil war, collapsed on Wednesday night June 6th after heavy rainfall, cutting off one million residents of the city. Fortunately, no life was lost in the mishap.

The State Govt has deployed construction workers to site to rebuild the bridge

35 comments:

RITA H said...

THE WAY THINGS RE HAPPENING IT JUST SAYS ITS THE END TIME....TOO MANY CALAMITIES IN THIS WORLD

Thank God no life was lost. What if it happened during the busy hours of the day? It would definitely had been tragic.

Tnk God no one died ooh! Wat iz really happenin? I'm so scared. Itz time to make my way right

Atobatele said...

Thank God no lost of lives

SBG said...

Nigeria and poor maintanance culture!!! The bridge had to collapse first before it could be fixed!!! Thank God no life was lost..

Fuck up!

To God be the glory, no life was lost.

Linda there we go again all the money meant for maintenance are being used to buy property abroad that they do not even reside in. the one for example that bank-ole bought here in surrey is derilate as i leave in surrey not far from the property. useless people

MAXIMUS™ said...

SBG God bless u! Why do we always need disasters as wake up call, in Nigeria? Same with Dana crash. There had been so much rottenness in the Avaition industry. Signs where there. They all played blind, deaf, dumb to it. Until the Dana crash. Now everyone's woken up from their medieval slumber

Chris said...

Poor country

Ozorlastbornblog said...

U way dey talk say poor maintance,u knw ow many yrs dat bridge don dey,no b me n u dey pour dirty der..rubish talk..abakpa na d place i leave so kp ur mouth shout..FOOL

Nigeria and her governments. I am sick n tired of selfish and senseless people. Is it until bridge collapses before they do something? shouldnt dey conduct maintenance regularly?
One million ans one reason Nigerians in the diaspora would not return.

collins said...

What about the Niger Bridge? GEJ had better fulfill his campaign promise of constructing a second alternative bridge before the worst will happen because we are tired of his condolences and 'it will not happen again' press releases.
http://tinyurl.com/bqyh6hx

Maintenance culture? We dnt av any!

sarafina said...

All one needs to do is make his ways right b4 God cos at any time, anything can happen. Lord have mercy.

and d state govt waited 4 d bridge 2 collapse 1st b4 repairs.....

Cynthia said...

That is Nigerians for you. We like Medicine after death. Didn't the stupid Governor know that it was collapsing before? He had to wait till it totally collapse.

@SBG, June 8, 9.33AM- maintenance would only have delayed the inevitable- that bridge would eventually have given way regardless of whether or not it is maintained on a regular basis- if you look closely at the picture, you will see that the bridge was constructed on soil that is eroding- I understand that soil erosion is a major problem in the east and heavy rain creates problems for the soil. The weird thing is that the soil being diverted for road building would have been better suited to agriculture

This is getting too much, dear lord help your people in this country!!

Obinna said...

I wl nt forget this bridge cos i grew up in Abakpa Nike ! Just imagining the stress that 3million people living there wl be facing now!

Hahahhahahahah... They will patch it and make you people thank them for patching it. Better get your asses off the couch, ask for a new bridge and better maintainance b4 millions die like its the norm.

Why is it dat we hv no maintenance culture in ds country? Do we hv to watch till a dilapidated buildin collapse b4 we move to into action? Ds habit is really ruining a whole lot of infrastructure in ds nation!

well i'v got not much 2say. Let d govn't fix d bridge fast n proply 2 so dat pple wil continue wit thier evry day activity

sakara said...

pls contractors if u do a shoddy patchjob, Go wl deal wt u all, do d right thing so it wl not claim lives, God is giving u pl a second chance to do the right thing, dont mess it up and come and tell us say na winch for ur village spoil d contract o

It is not the end of anything! Nigeria needs to develop a culture of maintaining her infrastructures.

Nigerians are used to managing. Managing without water, power, security etc. managing bad network services- Mtn and the other shitty networks.

We just manage and say that is how we do it in Nigeria.

I am nneka,

Corrective maintenance is our culture!to spend stipends on regular preventive maintenance is a problem for us.kobo wise,naira foolish...smh

Lost of lives?????#okbye

Woman of Virtue said...

D funniest part is dat pple dnt realise dat we ar d cause of all dis happenings..not evry calamity is of d end time.hian!

Where's the next generation..

wat is really wrong dis days God av mercy o!!!!!!

A bill should be passed! Every establishment must hav a maintenance department and so shld every structure! (In GJE voice) Livia has spoken!!! Hehe nonsense country

Choi!me is 042 boi!lol dat bridge dn try gan.tank God say nobody bin dy bath 4 dat place wen dat tin fall.bridge's kinda old tho.d holdup dis ish causd wuz huge

IZU said...

my hood is on lib yup!

dunga gerald said...

we all don dey talk like say we be visitors to nija... Mtchwwwww... Cynthia *8th june* take ur time oo... No call our governor *stupid*.... U wey never achieve anytin 4 life dey call person 'stupid'... For una wey dey form prophets n prophetess... No be signs of end time joor... God talk anytin abt bridge wey go fall if em wan come...mtchwwww... Everybody take time oo...