Nigerian gay pastor dares Senate, recruits more members | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 4 December 2011

Nigerian gay pastor dares Senate, recruits more members

Rev Rowland Olajide Macaulay is a gay pastor who used to run a gay church in Nigeria called House of Rainbow, located at No 36/38 Yakoyo street, Ojodu Berger, Lagos. I say used to run, because after a newspaper exposed the activities of his church, he packed up and relocated to London where he is still running his gay church. He appeared some time ago on CNN, where he proudly talked about his church of gays.

Rev Macaulay is in the news again because he's speaking out against the anti-gay bill which was passed in the senate recently. Continue to read a Vanguard Report on it...

Culled from Vanguard...

In 2008, Saturday Vanguard reported a story about a gay Reverend Rowland who was running a church secretly in Nigeria. The Church called House of Rainbow was situated at No 36/38 Yakoyo street, Ojodu Berger, Lagos. Reverend Roland some time ago reportedly appeared on Cable Network News, CNN, where he proudly talked about his church of gays.
The initial reaction about his exposure was that such a church could not exist within Nigeria as such things are common outside the country.

But an uproar in the Anglican communion in Europe on gay bishops brought up the case of Reverend Rowland, a Nigerian, and was residing in Lagos. He was also operating his gay church in Lagos.
In his plot 145 flat 1, Jakande Estate, Isolo, Lagos, where Rev. Rowland Olajide Macaulay, the gay pastor lived, the apartment was locked. It was learnt that the Reverend had left his house on Saturday, September 13, immediately after a national newspaper carried the story of his homosexual church.
According to the neighbours, the Sunday service was unable to hold both at the Jakande Estate branch and the Ojodu headquarters of House of Rainbow Ministries after that publication.

Right now, Rev. Rowland has relocated abroad where he is presently running his gay church,”House Of Rainbow Fellowship”.

According to him, “ My Church is a voice of the younger generation of citizens, activists, and diaspora, and our collective belief in a more progressive Nigeria. They are afraid of our growing influence as we gather allies not just from the West, a people that are not afraid but powerful and resilient.
“Right now, they are spreading their tentacles to every village, town and city around the world”. The Church is also calling on faithful and dedicated local leaders who believe in homosexuality and lesbianism. Ten House Of Rainbow Fellowship local leaders are in Ghana, Nigeria, UK, Burundi, and Lesotho.

According to the gay pastor,  “any negative effect on the anti-gay bill will have detrimental effect on the work and mission of House Of Rainbow in Nigeria. The lives of LGBTI people and their friends, families and allies will be further frustrated with fear and prejudice. We need to pray and stand up against injustice”.

Nigeria is kicking against the practice of same sex marriage where homosexuality is punishable by up to 14 years in prison, so it might be a terrible time for both gay and religious leaders who are in support of this practice.

Meanwhile, Rev Rowland Jide Macaulay, the gay minister who founded the church, is leading a comeback even though he remains in self-imposed exile in London.

”Religion is a backbone to life in Nigeria, so we all want to go to church,” he said. “But we don’t want to lie to God about who we are.”

Macaulay first set up House of Rainbow in 2006, where he openly held Sunday services in a Lagos hotel hall decorated in rainbow colours. A public backlash culminated in members being beaten as they left the church. Macaulay fled to the UK after receiving death threats.

This year, he has recruited a small team that includes his local leaders in Lagos in his voluntary role.
The project could even spread beyond the borders of Africa’s most populous country. Macaulay has recently recruited a local leader in Accra, the capital of nearby Ghana. He is considering applications from Rwanda and Zimbabwe.

Pentecostal pastors often see gay desire as the work of demons. “You might start casually but, once you get into it, you will be possessed by the spirit,” said Emmanuel Owoyemi, a pastor in Lagos.
Meanwhile, in the 12 sharia states in the North, gay sex carries the death penalty, although no executions have yet taken place.

A national anti-gay marriage bill, which pushes for jail sentences for anyone who even assists gay marriage, has been before Nigeria’s parliament since 2009 and was passed recently prohibiting the practice. Macaulay, however, is not taking any chances this time.
Prayer sessions are being held in secret locations. No unknown newcomers are being admitted. He continues to preach via YouTube from London – he thinks it would be unwise to return home. “We have learnt our lesson,” he said. “It is a hostile situation.”

Being gay is regarded as an offence across much of Africa.

Apart from being on the wrong side of the law, many homosexual Nigerians say exclusion from church is one of the hardest parts of being gay. ”We are brought up to believe that you should belong to a religion. We feel that, if we don’t go to church, God will not answer our prayers,” says a young gay man in Abuja, .

56 comments:

Na wa for all this Gayness going on in naija
!! Wth

i am just tired of all these crapidodo

This evil agent macaulay had better prolong his exile till eternity. God please protect our generation and the ones to come, Amen.

How does a gay pastor 'RECRUIT' members? To do what? What a word.

Enkay said...

This Macaulay guy,is a false prophet indeed! I wonder wat he preaches in his so called Church. May God have mercy on him.

Mtshew! He (the pastor) can't do shit! NEXT!

"We all want to go to church, but we don't want to lie to God about who we are" :)

childofthemosthigh said...

Matthew 7:15 - Watch out for false prophets. They come to you in sheep's clothing, but inwardly they are ferocious wolves.

2 Peter2:1,3- But there were also false prophets among the people, just as there will be false teachers among you. They will secretly introduce destructive heresies, even denying the sovereign Lord who bought them—bringing swift destruction on themselves. 2 Many will follow their depraved conduct and will bring the way of truth into disrepute. 3 In their greed these teachers will exploit you with fabricated stories. Their condemnation has long been hanging over them, and their destruction has not been sleeping

1 John 4:1,3 - Beloved, do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits, whether they are of God; because many false prophets have gone out into the world. By this you know the Spirit of God: Every spirit that confesses that Jesus Christ has come in the flesh is of God, and every spirit that does not confess that Jesus Christ has come in the flesh is not of God. And this is the spirit of the Antichrist, which you have heard was coming, and is now already in the world

Gayism, lesbianism what so ever, is a taboo at the same time, anathema to christianity... Fake pastor go away!

Danielcy said...

this people are just telling God dat their creation was a mistake.but common sense should tell dem they cant produce there kind.

chillysauce said...

This "pastor" resemble devil. Being gay is one thing. Having a gay church is on another level.
If he was led by d spirit, in Nigeria, to open a gay church, now that he's in England, why cldnt he just belong to Church of England? Afterall, they accept gays and have gay bishops? Being gay is like Legal in Uk so what's he still on about? He still wants to segregate himself in the London?
Anyways, he should enjoy his 15 minutes of fame.

Nkechi said...

Hey Mr. Chudi what were you saying again about this bill not being necessary? Considering where Nigeria is currently, the last thing she needs is this. I really have nothing against people choosing to live this way, but for God's sake why must this believe be shoved down our throats? Nigeria is not the place for this, if you truly believe this is ur way of life then go to a place where it is accepted, a whole nation cannot change their belief just to accommodate a few that chose to adopt other people's lifestyle. Every institution, every organized body and definitely every sovereign nation has its laws, if you do not agree with the law that governs the nation you live in, or the institution you belong to, then by all means migrate, relocate, Nigeria is not the only nation in the world!

Your father said...

How one man can put his penis in another man's nyansh and start phucking is still beyond me. I just pray that one day all their anuses will tear apart forever.

Kween said...

*Disgusted and speechless*

James@ how to make money on internet said...

Why every one will come out and start say what he dont realy know about ...... Plz tell me wht is gay pastor ...nawa... 4 niger

asiandiva001 said...

This is crap!!! Pastors wld say we shd emulate d life of jesus in d bible.jesus was never in support of same sex marriage bt HE condemns it.God destroyed a city cos of these acts n others also

Str8FrmDaHips said...

used to??..abi play play he don use style get ASYLUM..na the new trick be dat..make him no try MM Airport again o!!

Evan said...

I want 2 ask an honest question. What do they preach in such churches n 2 whom do they pray .

One thing the whole world and Nigerians in particular didn not get stinked well into our mind is that God almighty brought SODOM AND GOMORAHdown with fire because of this same gay and lesbian issue mostly........Oh God the creator of the whole universe look unto our nation Nigeria and help us out of this Amen......In you God we put our trust and hope.

C'bone said...

I want to give out some of my money to people who need it. BB pin 312AD095. Twitter handle is @iheduruc.

Demilade said...

This is simply apalling!

mschewwwwwwww!

I don't blame anyone but the govt of this country for not facing issues that need urgent attention. Right from the beginning of time, opposition has always led to the growth of "causes". This govt opposition will increase the voice of this people as well as the number of recruits. When this happens, more people "claiming" gay/lesbian will begin to seek exile in advanced countries. These same politicians who are spineless will overturn this ruling when there is pressure from other quarters.

Abeg no one should give this guy audience jo
he is on youtube misquoting bible...have told him on youtube that he is being led by devil not God....the more blogs and newspaper keep giving him audience the more he is becoming relevant.

So many dumb comments smh. Shows why Nigeria is/keeps going backwards.

t said...

I wish the church was still around so I could attend in solidarity. All this ganging up against so-called-gayness, y'all should face your own matter.

MmaY said...

May God help us oh.

I can't wait for this awful bill to be revoked and for this discrimination to end. I am not gay and do not know what it feels like to be gay but as a human being who is able to REASON it is evident that someone cannot wake up and just be gay, if this is something that people were just pretending to be obviously everyone would just stop and be straight, but this is OBVIOUSLY not the case. There was a time white people used to think having black skin was a sign of evil and that we carried all kinds of diseases so we shouldn't share swimming pools and toilets with them. We should not discriminate between each other especially on an issue that is not actually hurting anyone. As long as they are not going about raping people and it is between two consenting adults what is my business who people choose to love. God does not make mistakes there are people born blind or deaf or dumb and they too contribute to this wonderful world. Everything happens for a reason, who are we to judge? and so many gay people around the world are blessed with such talent and happy, i do not believe the devil has such power. At least let us not hate each other and try and listen to each other and solve the problem. CLosing our eyes wont make it go away.

Diva said...

there is no doubt that this pastor is a product of the devil/antichrist. how can you promote such evil. even when the bible speaks and condemns such. what sought of God does he serve? does he not knw that this is the same reason why God destroyed sodom and Gomorrah? does he not know that this pathetic act annoys the most high God that he claims to serve? wow! we really need to wake up to reality!

L Y N N P O P E S said...

Mhmm, anybody who has not yet repented should do so fast. All these wars, rumours of war, boko harams, homosexuality & gay churches/ pastors are warnings that d end time is near.

palominose said...

The false prophet is not the gay pastor because he has come outright to tell everyone what he and his ministry is about,rather the false prophets are those men of God that keep asking for money and preachoing prosperity in the name of God

Emeka said...

What is the difference between boko haram that bomb and kill people because of a difference in belief and Christians in Nigeria/ the world who threaten gays, beat them up, curse & hate them because of a difference in sexual preference?

Answer: NOTHING
Christians & religious Nigerians are as hateful and as wicked as the boko haram & terrorists all over the world. As long as you support hatred of gays be ready to be bombed and destroyed by the hared of others. Quoting bible won't save you.

dee1 said...

He should have stayed and let our new law catch up with him. we would have jailed this scum and posted him to Nigerias alcatraz prison.

son of sin

This bast**d is a disgrace to the Yoruba tribe and his family. I don't mind people being gay but to use it to pull down Christianity is absurd.

Have you seen a gay Imam? A gay Imam would be beheaded before midnight. They are not that stupid and would not accept rubbish. PM News reporters chased him out of Lagos sometime ago. Nonsense!

The Activist said...

Funny enough Rev. Jide did not grant any interview to Vanguard and this is a reliable source. He has not even spoken to any newspaper about his stand.

That said, we are so quick to judge and condemn people!!! When Linda made a post about a pastor owing 4 jets many pple said the pastor should not be judged. Now this is a matter of loving and living and pple cant see the point.

This clown has come again,anyway he is not bold enough to step his foot back home,as stated previously,we will deal with any one who wants to drag this nation into the times of Sodom and Gomorrah,make him come back if him get mind.We dey wait patiently.

true blood said...

Gay "Pastor"????.....
Seriously,as a xtian,homosexuaity is as immoral and sinful as "stealin" and "fornication" accordin to bible standard.....so let's be careful ow we judge,especially for dose claimin to be Saints!
Remember, Jesus said remove d Beam from your eye b4 Ʊ assis your broda remove the Peck fron his eye.
I fink Ʊ can correct people in love,and not promote violence,or else Boko Haram activities will be classified as "Justified",,and dats y i respect d few pple dt saw sense in wat Chude said few days ago....
Bottomline: Endtimes're here,but bear in mind ųя reactn to issues could be counted against Ʊ in d court of "Judgement"
Just ma humble opinion!!!!!

emeka/emy your a lost soul just like this gay fake pastor hope you find the LIGHT before the son of God returns

I have actually watched dis man preach live..all d while he was preachin n prancin like a drag queen..I just wanted 2 punch his face..dis dude turned d story of David n Jonathan upside down sayin they were gay..he even said Ruth n Naomi were lesbians..never heard sumfin more ridiculous..

sometimes I hate writing on Nigerian topics because we can make a sentence without say God or quoting a biblical reference. This is just a forum of thought.LET TALK OF OTHER VITAL THINGS IN NIGERIA. HOMOSEXUALITY is not our major problem. Is not even a problem. We have TOO many problems to be discussed which people don't call problem. SODOMY is not ideal to me by SCAM, KIDNAPPING, ARMED ROBBERY, FUND EMBEZZLEMENT, ETC are more vital for our leaders to be considered

Ebonyexcite said...

Personally, i think that this report is not a a true representation, the press make it look like he is going to go out and grab people and turn them gay. yes Nigeria is not prepared for the gay thing and I do feel we should be tolerant of gay people. unfortunately its not going to happen for a long time.We fail to see that homosexuality has been in Nigeria for a long time.

@C'bone Iheduru: There are so many places where you can give away so supposed excess money, so do not advertise it cos you are acting like the pharisees

galore said...

"We all want to go to church,,we dont wanna Lie to God about who we really are".......YES!!!That is right,,pls LIVE and lets LIVE...........Any body wen go talk yeye here,,,,,,Make him/her no forgot to use PANADOL or CANon Extra for him/her Headache

anon 849pm is very ignorant indeed. there are more gay imams than you'll ever know. Their many wives are evidences of being different...Otherwise, after 3 wives, don't you think they'll turn on to something else? Their unkempt kids and wives pay dearly for the 'monsieur' in the University living the 'good' muslim life.. Don't tempt me, i might start giving names outta my lil black book- but on second thoughts, I'm not goinu do that. Fags don't squeal on each other...

naijababe said...

Is this all propaganda? what's all this gay news that is rushing out of Nigeria of recent. Oh, it's signs of the end of the world.

Hope some people can still hold on to God's truth in the midst of this shenanigans.

Smart said...

A group of people who want to be terrorists saying they are activists.Do you have to go through all that to serve God?
Whatever he likes he can do over there in england,the fact remains that he dares not come back to Nigeria to fumble when its now policy restricted, and if he does,he's finished!!
It is possible for a cricket to make a noise for everyone to hear,but when its proximity to human is closer,it keeps shut!!
He's only a cricket.

Heavenbounddisciple said...

@PALOMINISE Hey, childofthemosthigh is so right, false prophets are those with false teachings. wheter or not they claim to believe in JESUS CHRIST,they must also believe in his teachings, laws, commandments and ordinances.
the people i pity most are those who need GOD Himself to come down and point at this idiot as being a false prophet

@evan they preach to lost souls like GALORE and her fellow gays *tufia*i spit on em all

You better come to Nigeria and let us lynch you.

I promise to be the first to start hacking and continue until you have ceased to breath and so help me GOD!

if truly homosexuals is good then God would have make a man to be with adam in the garden of eden. i am so disappointed. this people are definitely sick in the head what is there to enjoy with fellow man or with fellow women. that man should be burnt alive. gay church need to see a head doctor

oloriburuku. and who are the members? who are the senseless demonic hellborne members. Just stay in ur UK o. we never finish with Boko haram before u pple now bring down the wrathh of God. Another sect called Gay_Haram go come emerge and start bombing evry1gay or not.

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, END TIME.

The Perilious Days are here. The signs are all here

Go to hell for using God's name in vain. Hell is waiting for you.

As long as the bible says a woman & a man shall become one.Why do we want to change it now to suit our demand.

And even as they did not like to retain God in their knowledge, God gave them over to a reprobate mind, to do those things which are not convenient; Romans 1:28.

This is not but a perverse generation. the end is here. it is so worrisome how a blind man leads blind.

The bible say "And even as they did not like to retain God in their knowledge, God gave them over to a reprobate mind, to do those things which are not convenient" Romans 1:28.

People, the end is here, these are signs of end-time, all these shows a perverse generation the bible was talking about.

Rev Macaulay will surely get his crown in hell as he is set to populate hell, oh what a pity!!!