Nigerians in the disapora beg for money - Dr Bright Okogu | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 9 December 2011

Nigerians in the disapora beg for money - Dr Bright Okogu

"To survive the harsh economic climate abroad, Nigerians now beg their relations at home to send money to them. This is what I have seen, this is what I have heard, and it is as bad as that,” The Director-General (DG), Budget Office of the Nigerian Federation, Dr Bright Okogu said during a press briefing yesterday.

So that's what you people 'in the abroad' do eh? We don hear o! Lol, some of the things these govt people say eh..

32 comments:

So who and who did this so called Dr. see begging for money...Nigerians and their senseless and baseless surveys, trying to make us that live abroad look bad. I will rather clean floors before i beg anyone in Nigeria fro money. God forbid!

Silly comment dumd minister....what about the millions abi na biLlions we sent to keep families and SME afloat in 9ja..smh

Ehen and so? Don't see anything wrong in that. We all need help sometimes especially when we don't have access to govt coffers like Mr Bright!

Dr Okogu, should know that Nigerians in diaspora are hard working and self made people trying to survive in the recent economic climate. With a lot taxes to pay and harsh reality of surviving in a predominantly white/capitalist society as a black African , I find Okogu's statement sickening and it comes across as cheeky and uninformed! At least in the west there is nothing like embezzlement and bribery so people live on their sweats and in fact a large chunk of their earnings are sent back home to support families in the past and also invested into the fraudulent Nigerian capital market to enrich dodgy business bigwigs! What has been done about that? nt

A lot of government officials the president and his leadership team included really do lack skills in decorum, public speaking, and this often shows in their leadership. I am not surprised that Mr Okogu would make such a tardy, not well thought, and ignorant statement. Oh well it is what it is !

Linda no be lie oh. things are realllllly bad here. to all those planning to come through libya, i pray God helps you cos you go suffer for desert come suffer extra for obodo oyinbo. Nigerians may not drive too many cars back home but most are bought outrightly without fear of a bank repossessing it. lets be content. Nigeria is a great nation. unfortunately many nigerians cant even save £100 in a year, making it hardto gather money to run back home especially in these tough times!

they shud keep quiet abeg.do u kno how many people send money home.i'm sure its only students tht do this

Linda it is true o!

Oh yes its true! Although alot of Nigerians who are currently facing economic hardship will not admit it due to ego and pride. Times are rough and people are getting laid off daily here in the states and around the western world. Some Nigerians want to come back home but are stuck because there is no money to move back home. Its not easy. Even my humble self begs my mom for money once in a blue moon abi wetin man go do?

Ermmmm, it is true!
We send $$$ to my grown sister on the reg jor

I read this stupid article earlier and I could not stop hissing. I live abroad and my monthly salary is equivalent to 1.5 Million naira including bonuses so please tell me who should I beg for money back home? Nigerians in YANKEE are balling out of control even in these harsh economic times. AMERICA is the greatest country in the World and whoever lives here and has to beg people in a third world county for money needs to have their brain examined.

Maybe its the Nigerians in London and co that are facing hardship.

Dont mind this PDP government. They are so full of lies. If not for Nigerians in diaspora, Nigeria economy would have collapsed long time ago. Save for Nigerians in Diaspora, feeding about 50% of the population, through their remmitances, Nigeria would have collapsed long time ago. Their spoilt, lazy children living abroad, of course will require their parents to be sending them stolen funds, and as far as the are concerned, all Nigerians in diaspora are the same. Idiots

Hi AGIP,
AGIP(All Govt In Power)
Most of you politicians are liars because you wanted to impress your boss(pres/Gov) started saying ....

Read your papers and listen to international news very well.
Western union and money gram reported huge profit from remittance to Africa last year..
I know how much I send home every month...
1,000.00 USD = 161,700.00 NGN

Awe said...

Who cares if people in on the moon are starving or begging for money. There are people starving and begging for money in Nigeria just like in USA, UK, Japan, Saudi Arabia, UAE, Russia and they are not all black people or Nigerians. Bright Okogu is talking shit from his stinking arse. In less than 4 years from now Bright Okogu will be jobless. Bright Okogu is foolish and not formulated in mind. Bright Okogu and the stupid moron that gave him the "Director-General of Budget Office of the Nigerian Federation" position deserve to be flogged. Bright Okogu is not bright. Bright Okogu is ignorant. Bright Okogu is very dim. 

entertainmentscenes.blogspot.com said...

You can now listen to snippets from 9ice's "Bashorun Gaa" and "Versus" albums and also grab both copies online here:

http://entertainmentscenes.blogspot.com/2011/12/web-exclusive-listen-to-snippets-from.html

Where are my comments Linda?

They only beg those with access to government coffers.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Dr Minister ode oshi..had to latch on to this like a wild dog..rememeber Akunliyi said Diasporans are the probs 'cos we speak the truth..now a couple of facts!!

1.Diasporans serviced the commercial activity when the Military kept all the money
2.Diasporans solely partronise Nollywood and 9ja musicians giving them international exposure
3.Even Linda do your survey and you find your Bloggers are 80% diaspora..
4.Nuff guys/gals doing positive things in 9ja were abroad at some point in their lives so where do u draw a line??
5.A good turn deserves another
6.Off to Western Union(Zenith) joor..make i go collect my monthly renumarations..from u guess where

Str8FrmDaHips said...

I'm a 9ja to the core but Let's get real here..even if u dirt poor in UK/US/Canada you would always get help so why beg??..unless u no get papers...look at the poverty level in 9ja probs 70% of population..and just 'cos a few are flashing all the stolen wealth don't mean sh.it..obviously useless Bright..just had a taste of it too..make boko haram catch u!!

Am a security guard here in London i earn about N500K a month, I have a four flat in Lagos, I give my mom 50k every month, I eat well, I live well, I drive a nice (09) car I bought from police auction NOT HP.,,am single and am Happy....

He is a foolish man,maybe his famlies abroard beg him for money,i can survive been poor where iam, than been in nigerian, with lot of money i sent to my useless family everytime in nigerian.

It is a lie unless he meant that families of rich people like him beg for embezzled money from the treasury.

A recent report says Nigerians in the Diaspora sent over a billion home this year. So, Dr Dumb Bright was trying to RUBBISH that report. Silly fool!

Naija impressions said...

I do not what dis man is talking about.people abroad are making money and not just by doing menial jobs ooo, there are people who have worked there way through hardwork to achieve a lot for themselves, we v got entreprenuers, business men and women, doctors, qualified IT professionals, engineers, d list goes on n on who are infact living there dreams abroad. so maybe na him family people im dey refer to sha.

My Dad still sends me money. Is that begging?

Punk!

How to make money online internet said...

For me i dont see any thing bad in it if thay dont have money it is left for us to send for them

agudosi said...

@anon 4:32 ...no vex abeg which kain work u dey do? mayb i need to change jobs....lol

Hater is back!! said...

few do when they are in dire need. I had seen, but the person paid back immediately things improved. Maybe it's students that do ask.

singing *dont be tardy for the pardy* oooh!

yeey dey smell abeg make the man go sidon somewhere who told him that? ehh

Go to hell Dr Okogu. You have no empathy you stingy bastard. Oh and by the way, thanks for cutting the fuel subsidies so regular Nigerians have to suffer. Do you honestly expect us to believe that the only way to help Nigeria's infrastructure is to take food from the mouths of the poor. You are in charge of the budget and are probably the biggest thief in the land. Why not make the finances of the government transparent, then we can all see where our money is being spent. Soon it will be you begging for your life when the revolution comes.

Dr Okogu is from the Niger Delta, where the oil that makes Nigeria rich comes from. Why is he not allocating money in the budget to clean up his own homeland, the most polluted place on the planet?

Why is he not allocating money to force Shell to stop their illegal gas flares which loses billions of dollars every year, poison millions of people with cancer causing chemicals, kills thousands of people, animals, fish crops every years?

Why is he allocating 20% of the budget to military spending, the same military that shoots and hangs innocent people if they dare to stand up for their rights?

Talk to the local people and they will tell you the gods are angry. And you dare to talk about begging. Go and beg your ancestors Bright Erakpoweri Okogu...