Richard Branson opposes the new anti-gay law in Nigeria | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 5 December 2011

Richard Branson opposes the new anti-gay law in Nigeria

Here's what the British Billionaire, who has some investments in Nigeria, wrote on his BLOG today...

Nigeria’s cruel anti-gay law - Richard Branson
Too sad to comprehend that Nigeria are passing a law in this day and age to put gay people in prison just for being gay.

The Prohibition of Same-Sex Marriage Bill passed through Nigeria’s Senate unopposed last week. It means gay couples entering into either marriage or cohabitation will be jailed for up to 14 years. Even people "witnessing" or "abetting" gay relationships could be punished under this sad, repressive and cruel law.

Like everyone else in society, gay people have an enormous amount to offer and Nigeria should embrace them not prosecute them.

All of us with influence in Nigeria must do what we can to stop this cruel law. I would urge educated Nigerians all over the world to do what they can to help fight this discrimination.

107 comments:

its been rumoured dat brandson have flair 4 gay .. however i support what the national assembly has done ... d shld not interfere in our own internal politics ....

Keep your sh*t to yourself Richard. This is naija not your country... Don't try to incite bulls**t. It is our country and we all say a big NO to gays getting married. Christ what is this world turning into.

Ori e ni o kpe. No mind am..he just had brandy in a VA flight at 35,000 feet. you know what they say about alcohol and height.

viva4eva said...

All i got to say is da LIVE AND LETS LIVE!! Every1 got a right to choose there preferences in sexuality. Although BEASTIALITY should be condemned cos is INHUMAN! *NUFF SAID*

KenyanBabe said...

It is really sad to see Nigeria move a step back instead of forward! With all the issues they have, its the gay they decide to attack. Quite retarded of a country like Nigeria.

Bravo Nigeria.....atlast we are getting international recognition.*sad*

I say a big no to gays getting married AND I also say a big no to gays going to jail for 14 years for being gay. It's ridiculous. Are they the greatest sinners? What about all those robbing the country dry? Talk about misplaced priorities!

abeg is it his country? mschewww! he shud mind his business.

My suggestion is for the West to deny nigerians visa.since they have their own lives to live.Maybe after farming 3 acres of land with Nigerian made hoes and cutlasses,those concerned with gays will have more to think of....the government inciting Us cannot provide for us,yet they pass a bill to distract us from their own shortcomings and to make the self righteous nigerian crowd to nod in folly.indeed,you all are too naïve to realise that no country can be truely sovereign for political and economic reasons

Miss E said...

Oga, please park well!

in AWE! said...

Hahahaha @ the person who commented that "ori e ni o kpe". But seriously Rich, there are certain things our culture will not and should not condone. We do not believe a man and a man or a woman and a woman shld destroy the institution called marriage by getting married. We have values and those values should be respected. It is not everything the Western world calls "right" we have to hop on and copy. I think you should respect the laws of our land. I do think the sentence is harsh but it is what it is. You may keep your money and investments out of naija if u wish but really our laws shld be respected. You probably nake a gazzillion of bucks out of us anyways so it may be no love lost if u choose to have nothing to do with Nigeria

You're crazy rich drop out dude. Why don't you study our culture to know majority of Nigerians frown against such act. Having sex with your mum is more than worse than doing with your girlfriend or any female you can think of. That's is scenario here. We're not perfect but this same sex act is just too bad. Men satan wanna rule the world. We won't let him be. Richard think for a moment, how were you born. Ofcousre, you grew up to see your mum and dad. That's what make the generation go on with peace. Yes, we all(society) want peace. Same sex union will spell doom. Go and do the scientific research, even wonderful doom that you can't explain and never think of in your life. Sorry for first statement, it just depict what was you said in blog. We don't want same sex union period.

Jez said...

Linda please don't mind Richard Branson. How many times has he allowed someone like Linda to spend a week on his Island like his numerous friends?

He is not educated but he wants educated Nigerians to fight for what they don't believe in. He is not gay but fights for his gay friends.

He is dyslexic and was just lucky to be rich. In Nigeria, once you are dyslexic, even your parents will give up on you. Branson should start dyslexia associations worldwide and pump his money there.

You said he has money in Nigeria. Please name his business. Has he not sold the airline?

All I can say, He should get prepare to close his businesses and return to his country and practice GAY. Foolish People.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

@Anon December 5, 2011 7:25 PM
Ode..na only UK..get goods..they get more from our natural resources..dummy..and we buy more from them..who would they sell their goods to??
This comment is as bad as his Virgin Nigeria!!

KenyanBabe do you live in Nigeria? If you do, I don't know why you would say that. The bill is exactly in keeping with a country like Nigeria. Since when did Nigeria push boundries/ was forward thinking???

Demilade said...

He should go and die. Idiot of a guy. I Think homosexuality is disgusting. No offence.

mark said...

this guy sucks!!! go chop chicken ..white fool u are ..am out!!

Kemiismyrealname said...

Mr. Branson, so you can still talk after making millions of pounds from this cruel country.........

Oga mind your business, London to NY and London to Lagos is the same flying time, how come you charge us double the price for a Journey that takes the same 6hours...
deal with that on ur blog and charge us the same £299 to NY or shut the F**K up!

lizA said...

GET LOST! Mr. Branson!

church said...

these anonymous people...as if u guys dont need our oil.withold visa indeed...and kenyan babe please park there before calling us 'retarded'...you are not better....anyhoo,the law is extreme.i'm totally anti-gay but that law is extreme.

Jenson said...

@Anon December 5, 2011 6:47 PM.

"its been rumoured dat brandson have flair 4 gay"

Piss head, drunk, again? 

That's a false, malicious and defamatory allegation you made. 

Put your name to your silly allegation and see if yo arse won't get sued out of civilisation. He's married with wife and kids. You lot in Naija have resorted to smear tactics to shut down voiced of reason and whoever dares oppose the Gay Legislation / marriage ban. FYI, i'm not gay and I'm not sympathetic or in support of the gay mafia or whatever, but from the point of law, the legislation is biased, unfair and discriminatory. Gay people are humans, too. We're all supposed to be equal before the law and before God, but the new law violates the basic human rights of a large number of Nigerian whose "crime" is being gay. 

People who engage in homosexuality, lesbianism, adultery, abortion, theft, cheating, corruption, bribery, murder, rape, armed-robbery, drug smuggling, drug taking, are evil, debased and demented. Let's hang and send them to the hottest place in hell and see if there'd be anyone left in Nigeria.

"People shouldn't be ostracised for what apparently is not their making. There is an innate gene in their make-up that gave occasion to homosexual or lesbian tendencies." - Miss Obihu, a lesbian, a Nigerian.

Should Nigerian government, senate, public and the people running their mouth on this debate put the same amount of enthusiasm in solving Nigerian's problems, within 12 months Nigeria will be the best country in the universe.

This dude needs to go and sit down. I don't approve of jailing homosexuals. I think they should do what they want in their bedrooms BUT they should not expect Nigeria to allow same sex marraige. Even here in the U.S, only 3 states recognize same sex marraige so why is it that when it comes to Nigeria, everyone and their mother want to open their mouth and talk rubbish? Is it because we are Africans? What happens if same sex marraige is approved by law, where does that leave churches and mosques that prohibit and preach against this unnatural union? and yes, it is unnatural because if it was not, same gender couples would have been able to make babies naturally but they can't! You need ovum and sperm to make a baby and not ovum/ovum or sperm/sperm. This world is coming to an end. Those who are supporting same sex marraige, if everyone was gay, what will happen to the human race? Would we be on earth if all men and women dated and married someone of the same gender as they are? can 2 men make a baby? can 2 women make a baby? Anyway, whatever!

Bella said...

I haven't even read the post but I'm irritated. How is it any of his business?

grace said...

kenyanbabe hold it right there! you are in no position to call Nigeria retarded! Even if it is its not in ur place to say so.

@7.25pm,you are indeed a fool very shallow argument,maybe you come from a very poor home where you farm acres and need visas from the west to feel wanted and appreciated,for your information,you are indeed as stupid as can be,and i know that you are as Gay as can be,break the law and see if the west will save you from the law,you idiot,that cannot get affectionate with the opposite sex,very soon from your line of argument if the west say it is acceptable from man to make love to animals,surely you will accept their perception,you mind of inferior complex,Why then did you obtain education?,learn to be wise,or shut the hell up,enough of this damn freedom of expression,What about the laws of God?,how come people choose to accept the western democracy as the guidelines to living,have you forgotten the divine,I don't blame you,definitely you come from a family that sells land to send one abroad with the hope of a million folds,then either man goes into crime or the woman hawks her body,from the abundance of the heart the mouth speaketh,Linda do not post any article any more as regards this Gay issue,let us move on and stop attaching importance to this ignoramus.

Thank you Mr Investor as an educated Nigerian i would rather fight for decriminalization of suicide in favour of rehabilitation. No tradition or religion favours homosexuality, we don't always have to do it the western way! Kudos to Ghana for doing the same

gay people are emonic people and invoke the wrath of God like in sodom and gomorrah. It is a shameful act and should not be condoned.period. you cannot wear pant and bra in the streets of afghanistan or pakistan. ojo yen lo raye mo. so, Nigerians say no gay legalisation. If gays want to keep up with their acts, they should but Nigeria shoud not support it. Thats called"Mo yowo mi, mo yese mi"

Bee said...

Nonsense. Are civil unions/marriage for gays allowed all over Europe and America? Why is he not commenting on that.

Pssst

Str8FrmDaHips said...

First HIV didn't work..then Polio Vaccines..now Gayism...all about one thing population control!!..they already complaining in Europe that the World Population is way too much and they looking at 9ja...most populous BLACK nation!!

Lola Idije said...

The senate are just full of dumb people, imagine them wasting resources and money on gay issue.

Abeg, they should do more about the electricity, education, shelter for the masses and many more.

Gay marriage or gay people, i don't care.... I want better life for suffering Nigerian. No matter what they do, there will and always be people with different sexual preference.

I tire for that country called Nigeria sef.

all these foolish gay supporters may thunder struck you dead and as for you RICHARD BRANSON keep you dirty opinion to yourself and your country.
all these anonymous supporters of gay people if you are nigerians then shame on you cos you are fools i'm sure you parents trained you well but your block head refused to learn

Yeswecan said...

Richard, can you face your business. What does Nigeria laws have to do with you. Stay in Britain that allow it, it's that simple.
I hate when people oppose something that they have no business opposing. And if Britain wants to cut ties with nigeria because of it, we will gladly release you guys, you guys do nothing for us anyway unless oppress us more by stealing our resources and act nice to our face. Nigeria leaders, this should be a wake up call to start building that country so we don't have to rush to Europe or America for goodness sake. Sigh.

PEOPLE CAN CALL US BACKWARD ALL DAY, I DON'T CARE. NO TO GAY IN NIGERIA, YOU WILL BE PUT IN PRISON FOR IT, SO ALL THE GAY PEOPLE IN NIGERIA, YOU HAVE ALL HEARD IT. AND IF YOU CANNOT DEAL WITH IT, FILE FOR ASSYLUM TO EUROPE OR AMERICA, THEY WILL GLADLY GIVE YOU. ALL THOSE POLITICIANS LURING THESE GAY BOYS, MARRIED MEN SLEEPING WITH THESE GAY MEN, GOD WILL PUNISH ALL OF YOU GUYS ALL TOGETHER.

Anyway, good job Nigeria. Enough of this gay news, it's getting old and tiring. Can we focus on more important things like building our infrastructure, creating more jobs for our youths. Jonathan, stop sleeping, wake up, your country is in shambles.

Wetin concern am?

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Yeah Linda...nuff of this Gay stories..they should just keep their stuff undercover...as per the LAW..it's our WAY or the HIGHWAY!!..they have been warned!!..
and R.Branson can FACK off!!

Micheal Peters said...

The same people saying "Is it your country?", what did you say when Mr Branson was bringing business and creating jobs for our people?

Probably created more jobs than your govt.

YOUR FATHER!!!!

This guy should shut his mouth and keep his nose in England! Money allows any kind of people to talk how they want! Or is it just because his airline is running in Naija, he feels that he must stick his oar in?! We all have different cultures and beliefs, and is Nigeria not supposed to be a religious country, all the books do not allow homosexuality, so there! If we all suddenly turn gay, who will have children, to continue the human cycle. God created Adam and Eve, not Adam and Adam or Eve and Eve.

Oh my GWAAAAD!!!!I miss Abatcha!You all know how he would have attended to this issue!!!kapish!

@kenyanbabe 7.04pm pls and pls do not call the generality of NIGERIANS retarded, PLEASE. Ah! Ah! For wat now? Imagine.

Well I am Nigerian and I think everyone that's using God as an excuse to hate gays is not only ignorant but a bloody hypocrite.

Maybe gays should not get married, that is fine. Saying someone should not do whatever they feel like or have gay relations is a violation of human rights.

For those who use God as an excuse, most of you go to clubs to watch people almost fornicate. Is that moral? No. You fornicate, commit adultery, bribery etc but that's okay. The bible says sin is sin but surely that can't be right by your standards. The bible says "whoever says to his brother, you fool is liable to the hell of fire" but surely that's okay.

You openly commit all these "sins" but when it comes to people being gay you mention Sodom and Gommorah.

Do you also know what people in Sodom and Gomorah did? They fornicated. One person slept with two sisters.
Sound familiar to you?

What happened to when Jesus preached love and ate with sinners? What happened to when he said "whoever is without sin should cast the first stone"??

Surely, that does not matter as you pick the bigger sins, you should henceforth, equate yourself to Jesus as you think you know better than him and question what he taught.

For those who use culture, may I remind you that it was once part of some of our cultures to kill twins, to circumcise women. It is still part of some of our cultures to commit adultery, to not respect women and dare I say it to kill.

But all these inhumanities, surely they are okay because it is part of our culture, there is no need to use our common sense to think for ourselves is there?

The future of my country Nigeria scares me, you justify these and next thing you would justify Boko Haram.

You think that's extreme? No it isn't. A group of people think they know what is best for everyone else, they know what religion you should practice and things that are immoral and things that are not and it does not matter if what you are doing affects them or not. If you don't agree, you would be punished.

Sound familiar to anyone?

Richard Gayson or branson abeg go hug transformer..idiot and oloshi

KejiN said...

@Jez, you're not even ashamed to admit that Nigerian parents would give up on a dyslexic child! Linda just see the type of trash that read this blog. Someone sent you a video of a young child putting out an inspiring message for others like him contemplating suicide and you didn't post it, but this one, you were quick to post because you know your trashy readers would hop on it fast.

For the fools saying same sex marriage will end the world, will two people being gay MAKE YOU gay? Are you not interested in the opposite sex? How e do you? If God wanted only Adam and Eve in this world wouldn't he have left them here alone? How does your neighbors homosexuality make you impotent? Will your wife leave you for a woman if they don't jail gays? 14 YEARS! The worst thing is that you are not even considering the sheer possibility that one of your family members is a closeted flaming queen! That is how they'll lock your brother with his Master's Degree ati gbo gbo e in jail for FOURTEEN YEARS 'cos he's gay!?

A man that has invested billions of Naira in your country is talking and you are blabbing balls? Anyone who opposes your absolutely BARBARIC bill is gay and must love men?? Do you have brains at all? Like honestly, WTF!?

oral and visual soliloquy said...

WILL YOU KEEP YOUR STINKING MOUTH SHUT??
ITS NOT HIS FAULT CAN HE GO TO SAUDI ARABIA,AND OTHER CORE ISLAMIC NATIONS AND SAY THE SAME IF THEY WONT STONE HIM TO DEATH...
I WONDER WHY THESE PEOPLE JUST FEEL THE NEED TO SECOND GUESS AND PATRONISE NIGERIANS ,MAJORITY OF 170 MILLION PEOPLE SUPPORT THE BILL AND HE THINKS HIS OWN SINGULAR VIEWS SHPULD OVER RIDE??PLEEEEASSEE

Emy said...

All Nigerian Christians know is to curse and insult, Not one of them can make an intelligent point. it appears that to be saved you have to sacrifice your brain and ability to reason. Most of them cant even speak or write proper English. Nigeria is indeed full of backwardness. Christianity is indeed slavery.

Its funny that a country totally dependent on the west is trying to show bravado. Nigeria makes NOTHING. you cant even refine your own crude oil, even with borrowed technology. Our Forex come because they west buy our products. We are nothing without them.

I'm sure an ignorant person will jump on this to tell me of complex. truth is, our life depends on them. Every part of our lives including the computer you type on and the language you'll use to insult me are theirs. We make nothing.

HOPELESS NATION

'I would urge educated Nigerians all over the world to do what they can to help fight this discrimination'- well, educated Nigerians have made a decision by standing up and applauding the senate for banning gay marriage!! It is an abomination in our culture and our society and we will not allow it. If Richie Branson wants to take his business out of Nigeria because of our laws, then he is welcome to do so- we will not negotiate with the devil over homosexuality in our country, so why should we negotiate with Branson just because he thinks we are discriminating against gay people by banning same-sex marriage? You need to visit Britain and the US to see how homosexuality is destroying their society

@KenyanBabe- what do you mean by a retarded country like Nigeria? How about Kenya where homosexuality is apparently so rampant that even Kenyan politicians are known to have small boyfriends, in addition to being married. We are certainly dealing with our problems but Nigerian haters like you and your fellow countrymen prefer to focus on the negatives- mind you, Kenya has far more problems than Nigeria does...

I don't see anything wrong with what he said. Its funny that most peeps complaining on this page are gay. Live ur life and tryna take out the log in ur eye first.

dee1 said...

Brandson!!,Brandson!! Richard Brandson!!! Hold ya ears. How many times i call you? Mind your business. No think say because you get small money you fit open mouth for matter way no concern you...

QUEEN EVA said...

nigerians would never fail to amaze me
Please i would like to refer every one to the Constitution Of The Federal Republic Of Nigeria 1999. Chapter 5 has entrenched our fundamental Human Rights in the Constitution, please note the following RIGHTS should be of interest
s37. The right to privacy of citizens, their homes, correspondence, telephone conversations and telegraphic communications is hereby guaranteed and protected.
s38. (1) Every person shall be entitled to freedom of thought, conscience and religion, including freedom to change his religion or belief, and freedom (either alone or in community with others, and in public or in private) to manifest and propagate his religion or belief in worship, teaching, practice and observance.
s39 - (1) Every person shall be entitled to freedom of expression, including freedom to hold opinions and to receive and impart ideas and information without interference.
(2) Without prejudice to subsection (1) of this section, every person shall be entitled to own, establish and operate any medium for the dissemination of information, ideas and opinions:

NOTE!!!! Section 1 of the CONSTITUTION Of The Federal Republic Of Nigeria
(1) THIS CONSTITUTION IS SUPREME and its provisions shall have binding force on the authorities and persons throughout the Federal Republic of Nigeria.
(3) IF ANY OTHER LAW IS INCONSISTENT WITH THE PROVISIONS OF THIS CONSTITUTION, THIS CONSTITUTION SHALL PREVAIL AND THAT OTHER LAW SHALL, TO THE EXTENT OF THE INCONSISTENCY, BE NULL AND VOID.

SO EXACTLY WHAT IS THIS DEBATE ABOUT PLEASE

The new Gay Marriage Bill is largely inconsistent with the humans rights we have, which is entrenched in our CONSTITUTION. for the bill to attempt to insinuate 10 years imprisonment for persons found to be gay rights activists is ludicrous. Majority of the provisions outlined in the bill are unenforceable in the nigerian courts..

we as nigerians need to realise and appreciate the amount of good money that has been wasted in getting the bill to this stage

each senator and house of reps member is making 45m every 3 months in allowances, aside from the basic pay and aside of the bribes that we all know they get on a regular basis.
you do the maths....... how much do u believe this bill has cost US...... i say us, because at the end of the day, fundamentally we are the ones who are gonna pay for their mismanagement of OUR assets.

NO GAY MEN/ WOMEN IN NIGERIA WANNA GET MARRIED, to the best of my knowledge they have never at any point in our history protested that they wished to be legally recognized as a couple and to the best of my knowledge you would rarely find 2 gay men cohabiting as a couple.

this whole debate is inciting tension between the British and the nigerians. the funniest thing is that when David cameron made the statement about aids sanctions, he was not solely addressing Nigeria, but rather all common wealth countries, so why is it that it is Nigeria who has decided to push a mainly void and inconsistent piece of legislation through, there are better ways of saying 'Cameron We Don't Agree', than to attempt to enact a stupid and unenforceable piece of legislation.

wow, open ur eyes guy...... THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY HAS BIGGER ISSUES TO BE DEALING WITH AND FOCUSED ON

never mind Richard Branson, Nigerians are a couple of centuries behind the general trend of thinking..it is not their fault they still reason like prehistoric animals....it is the because they are still at the early stages of their mental evolution...all i can say is am glad i don't live amongst these animals

QUEEN EVA said...

Since the change of Government earlier this year, what exactly has been done and discussed
1) Single tenure vs No Single Tenure
2) Oil Subsidy
3) random removal of government officials without explanation or notice
4) Goodluck flying from country to country with no apparent result

then from a christian point of view, is it not the same Bible that says "those without sin, cast the first stone"????? When all the gays get to the gates of heaven and God turns them away, exactly how is that your concern???

SO EXACTLY WHAT IS THIS DEBATE ABOUT????

THE SENATE NEEDS TO TELL US WHATS REALLY GOING ON!?!?!?

people are soo ignorant they fail to acknowledge the fact that there is an underlining argument going on between the current Nigerian government and the British Government.

if we cast our minds back there have been a few public confrontations between the two, namely the issue with the flight slots and the proposed reduction in the number of times British airways would be allowed to fly into Nigeria. also the nigerian government fining the British government hundreds of millions of pounds, in regards to purposely inflating flight ticket prices.

IF NIGERIANS USED THE ENERGY THEY HAVE SHOWN IN REGARDS TO THIS ISSUE TO TACKLE THE REAL ISSUE CRIPPLING OUR COUNTRY, NIGERIA WOULD NOT BE IN THE MESS IT IS IN TODAY.

SO EXACTLY WHAT IS THIS DEBATE ABOUT PLEASE?????

sel-t said...

Seriously thinking...wat is romantic in males falling in love wt each oda?so disgusting, to mi ds is nt an issue at all. When has Nigeria issues become an international issues? Branson & co r nt commenting on d deplorable states of our roads, schools, hospitals,boko haram, armed robberies and corruption but gay. Nigeria lawmakers v made law for their pple supported nd generally applauded by d pple for goodness sake "wch one b their own" (branson nd co)?in d nxt 100yrs many of us will nt b here, we nid to lay a strong foundation for d nxt generation. Since d US nd UK love d gays so much dey shuld gv dm visas to go nd practice it in their country, dt is d solution..seriously, ds is nt an issue at all.

Mr Brandson, i hope you remembered that United Nation did not pass this into Law. Let's start from Asians( The Chinese) rejected it, the Saudis, Iranians all the middle eastern part of the world called it evil and opposed it. Let me ask you Sir Richard, that comment you made against Nigeria about GAY. You know that if you should make such comment to any country in the middle east , believe you me they will all ban your airlines from flying into their respective countries. Have you forgotten what to 2 British tourist (a man and a woman) that were caught making love at the beach in Dubai, they were jailed immediately, did you make any comment about that no, and GAY people are not even allowed in all the Arab countries not to talk of. If you try it they will revoke all the Licenses they have given to you. Please start your protest and Campaign but withdrawing all your business interest from Nigeria. Once United Nation passes that into law and all the Arabs abide as well, then Nigeria will join. Finally, kindly divorce your wife and get married to a GAY man, then we all will know that you are right. God will judge will misguiding people of little faith. Remember that nothing can stop God from bringing down your empire , if you want to start using it in an evil way.Other Billionaires like Billgates, Warren buffet, Oracle Ellison, Ambani Brothers are not promoting this evil thing called GAY, e.t.c. and plz leave Nigeria alone I await to hear that you have withdrawn your statment and ask God for forgiveness.

You know how much Branson chop from 9ja??..The only thing we gain from this people na Commonwealth and dat one no mean jack shit as EU(European Only)na im dey reign now.
I trust my 9ja people dem never protest for Nepa/Bad Road..na Gay rubbish dem go come die for!!

PLEASE LINDA IKEJI AND I KNOW THAT YOU ARE AN IGBO AND CHRISTIAN FOR THAT MATTER, KINDLY STOP USING YOUR BLOG TO PROMOTE ANY NEWS ABOUT GAY, BECAUSE YOU ARE GIVING THEM ENOUGH FREE PUBLIICTY.

Seems you muthafucker called Richard Branson have never heard of sodom and Gomorrah....I understand cos ur not educated enough to read.

A said...

At anonymous 10:23... Sin is sin and most of the sins in the bible are criminalised in most States including Nigeria. Be it murder, theft, incest, etc. So that we have decided to criminalise another sin means we are progressing towards covering everything. In any case, the law cannot be used to curb every immorality, either because it's nature is vague, there is no majority consensus on its immoral nature A good example is indecent dressing which the legislators tried but failed to legislate upon.

You mention religion, someone once said that being gay is not a sin in the same way we lie knowing fully well that lying is wrong. The person said that it is going against the very nature of God by calling him a liar and saying that He was wrong when he instituted marriage. Remember scripture says for this reason shall a man leave his parents and cling to his wife...not a partner!

Your argument on not casting the first stone is flawed. Of course as christians we are not to judge each other but that doesn't mean we should condone sin. Plus the legislators are leaders and since you're been religious, I'll remind you that the bible does admonish that we respect the laws of the land as all authority come from above. The only exception is when the law contravenes the will of God as was the case with Daniel, and co.

Of course God created and loves us all but he cannot stand sin and anyone who decides to turn his back completely on God and continue in sin will be forsaken. Indeed even His son was not spared, when on the cross he bore the sins of us all. Indeed, it has been said that homosexuality is from a demonic spirit, in that case I would like to add that while Jesus ate with the tax collectors, he rebuked the evil spirit in the demoniac. He did not sit down and have a nice long chat with the individual until he was saved. Do you think Mary Magadalene would have been accepted as a disciple if she had continued in her sin?

You're right! Our cultures in Nigeria include or used to include very sick practices. But they also include very great aspects such as strong family bonds which is the reason we do not have old people's home springing all over the place as in the west; respect for our elders and a great sense of community. Therefore, culture in it's self is not a bad thing, that we have done away with some of it's bad aspect does not automatically mean we should do away with it entirely.

Finally, your boko haram point is just confusing. Our legislators represent us. Us being the majority, that's why it's important to vote. By voting we have given them legitimacy to act on our behalf. Indeed the fact that only very few oppose the law, with many of this few not opposing the law per se but challenging the sentence as too high, there is enough evidence that it is a law that is backed by the people.

Conclusion: I see no valid arguments in your comment. I understand and share to some extent the sentiments of those that argue that timing might be wrong but at least they implicitly agree the law is a good thing. It should be noted that we cannot wait for all the serious problems in Nigeria to be solved first before we get to these 'sideline' issues. The truth is we'll never get to them as problems spring up daily, legislators have to work as issues arise. Believe it or not homosexuality is becoming a menace and so is rape and that's why we must also celebrate the new victims hotline as a step in the right direction...

And on this note I rest my case #wandecoal. Let's hope this is posted and that people can be bothered to read the epistle. I really want feedback. Who knows my points might be fatally flawed. Now waiting to learn from you all.

gay is not good but why should they go to jail for 14 years? People use your brain. Who should be in jail? The gay man or the person stealing money meant to build roads and thereby causing thousands of deaths on the bad roads?
Even Boko Haram people will not get 14 years if caught

naijababe said...

Mr Branson, keep your opinion to yourself. His business in Nigeria is different from making an opinion about homosexuality. Is it by force?
It's not his country, so why is he bothered about it.
No to homosexuality, it's that simple.

Galore said...

Make i sing like that Ghanian Guy "Thank GOD am Not a Nigerian"
Una no sabbi pass swear,,,,And i dont blame you pple.....You all are so FRUSTRATED,,,,you need a Brian check or The country itself needs Another Name......Whats ur fuckin problem about d Investors opinion,,evry one has right or freedom of speech......IGNORAMUS commentators.....Take Panadol aabeg

HISS said...

The way i understand this matter is that, gays are still allowed to be what they are within the limits of their bedrooms but DISCOURAGED to get marry, hence the 14years imprisonment which truly is too harsh,since they did not kill anybody.

All the same,it is spreading like wild fire, in the west, some do it out of adventure mostly, while in naija,it is more out of financial and festish reasons!

Some of our politicians are into it big time,and it was because of homosexuality God destroyed Sodom and Gomorrah, hence the name SODOMY was derived. For those saying nigerians like quoting the bible, and also question the existence of God, is it not written in the books of history about sodom? and a man was smart enough to drill for oil there, and is now rich?

Some people that are supporting gays would react differently if they find out their own child or sibling comes out to confess he or she is gay! How do you expect parents to react if their ONLY child or son says he/she is gay?

Listen, if everyone is left to do whatever they like, won't there be chaos in the world? There must be LAWS and VALUES to govern the human race.....even animals with low intelligence don't mate with the same sex! Before some would argue a certain fish (forgot the name) does, it is when it's in the 'heat' and there is no female around to 'relieve' it...but can such be said about humans, where both sexes are so much?

Please lets call a spade a spade, and nothing else....IT'S WRONG NATURALLY, MORALLY AND SPIRITUAL! We humans like to find excuse for any of our faults and mistakes. GOD IS A PERFECT BEING WHO CAN NEVER MAKE THE MISTAKE TO CREATE A HOMO, THE BIBLE ONLY RECORDED EUNUCHS WHICH THE HOMOS ARE USING AS THE BASIS / FOUNDATION OF THEIR ARGUMENT.

doll (retired blogger) said...

this bill is generating a lot of attention

Smart said...

I just hope he doesnt feel bcos we operate democracy which features freedom of speech permits him to question what we nigerians know is right on our own soil.He can take his investments(virgin nigeria and co.) back to his country if he's not so pleased.we have indigenous airlines.WTH?

Is it because the Federal Government is after Virgin Atlantic that's why Branson is opening his mouth? Abegggg make him go siddon. Yeye oyinbo man! What the Nigerian government has done is simply to nip a future trend in the bud before it becomes a problem . . .

Grace get a grip already. every1 has a right of self. Senate cud sit their ass down and dare worry abt gay ppl? wen the government is abt to remove oil subsidy, graduates are without jobs and the decadence is unending. Abeg we gat more pressing issues than gay ppl. If we dey adopt everytin oyinbo de do, its abt time u adopt this too naa. shu. na to dey pass gay laws na him them de chop our moni for baa? God purnish Devil.dont be suprised some top politicians are gay o, their ass hole done pass elastic limit. They only succeeded in commercializing GAY. Shikena. Wu can afford let him come and buy!

VANESSA OBIOHA said...

Abeg, go and sit down jooor!!!

....let him who is without sin be the first to cast a stone......

Soul Searcher said...

this guy dey mad ni.............abegi remove all your investment in Nigeria. we would survive with out you. stupid man. oshiiiiiiiiiiiii

Sikiru Salami said...

I think Branson is just blabbing on GAY madness. He wants to incite who against who? This is diversionary. Omoale, has he paid the fines imposed on his thief-thief Virgin Airline for surcharging Nigerian Passengers? This bombastic billionaire illiterate! By the way what investment does he have left in Nigeria that he's threatening us about? Kutumboro oba!

am sure Richard Branson is not well in his brain for making such comment let him go and support that in his country, we don't do that in our country some of us still love our country.pls we learn to call say wot is evil is evil and wot is good is good, GOD is watching our heart we re not the owner of our life.

Kenyanbabe; you are typical of the rest of Black Africa that has an inferiority complex right next to Nigeria(ns).
Sir Branson should stick to Westminster for his take on politics please.

let him mind his own business

Maybe the man dey tap current both ways. They should leave Nigerians alone concerning this matter. Mind their business oh! I definitely do not want to bring up my children in a country where homosexuality is promoted. I reject it! Please on this matter, westerners, mind your business.

Most of these comments show how backwards most Nigerians still are. So what if two consenting adults choose to be gay? This show that Nigeria still has a long way to go, before it can truly be called a civilised society.

Richard Branson please mind your own business!!!!! We do not need you to run the affairs of our country.... That your society is morally depraved does not mean we should follow in the same footsteps Mtcheeeeeeeeeewwwwwww!

Kenyan Babe you see the difference between Nigeria and the rest of other African countries is that we do not follow the bandwagon. We know who we are and will continue to uphold it. If you no like am go hug transformer jor!!!

@ Emy yes You ARE NOTHING!!!

Smama said...

Nigeria has not reached the stage where we would be discussing this at all. We have more pressing issues at hand and need to attend to them. Heck, the World has got global issues.

Its amazing though how much audience been got from this anti gay bill, lets scream and use the same energy to fight for changes we want/don't want to see in our society like a change in our constitution-its old, or freedom of info-they lie too much.

It was a joke, lets forget it. Now can we all get together and fight our Government for stealing, bribery, unemployment, terrible living conditions, my headaches :)

Many thanks.

Smama said...

Nigeria has not reached the stage where we would be discussing this at all. We have more pressing issues at hand and need to attend to them. Heck, the World has got global issues.

Its amazing though how much audience been got from this anti gay bill, lets scream and use the same energy to fight for changes we want/don't want to see in our society like a change in our constitution-its old, or freedom of info-they lie too much.

It was a joke, lets forget it. Now can we all get together and fight our Government for stealing, bribery, unemployment, terrible living conditions, my headaches :)

Many thanks.

mariamah said...

This is not your country, abi? So shut up.

devour said...

we are the educated nigerians sir branson and we say no to anything gay !

devour said...

@jenson,sir branson is gay ! sue me n u will get only coweries cos av got no moni n i wont go to jail cos mi govtmnt is behind me

jojoophina said...

mumu.com

look it is very simple those of you that support gays could change your nationality we don't need rotten eggs in Nigeria. those of you that feel the government is not working get lost all you can do is complain what has been your input to the country? all of you reading the constitution upside down QUEEN EVA that section is referring to passing of information you may want to read the matrimonial course act or the marriage act its obvious you are a layman as we say in law and to you EVA you may consider changing your nationality cos your life depends on the west and not the life of Nigeria

KELE GOLDMIND said...

Naija forever, if you want to practice Gay or Lesbanism, go to UK & other places where it is acceptable but leave Naija for us! ok?...Non sense talk from a yeyecious Briton!

Mr Richard Branson, the mouth piece of imperialist demons, or are you?
UK and their threat of withdrawing the change they give to criminals in power, from the lumps they have been stealing from Africa is no longer effective. UK, is getting as poor as every crock with no moral, and their decades of looting Africa is ending soon! Africa/ns do not need the likes of UK and morally bankrupt allies to teach them morals.
UK should focus on their destruction of EU and putting stumbling blocks to everything good, because evil is what they thrives on.
Mr. Branson let us rephrase your stupid argument (holy man) thus:
...Like everyone else in the society, demons, armed robbers, pedophiles, murderers, assassins, polygamies, rioters, Prostitutes, drunk-drivers, even 'innocent' refugees (That languish in UK dungeons, for crime of seeking asylum), etc., all have an enormous amount to offer and UK should embrace them not prosecute them.
How about that Mr Branson?? Do you really understand what it means to show RESPECT to other peoples’ traditions and way of life?
That is why your country's seed of evil and destruction in Africa is causing untold harm and pain to the people!
How many of your children (If you have any) are Gay or Lesbian?

Abeg make the guy park well, mscheeewww.

Commonsense said...

@kenyanbabe, you sound like an idiot. I will like to see how gay rights has helped or will help your country in moving forward looking at the fact that Kenya is one of the poorest country in East Africa.

@ elsalivia, another idiot, you make absolutely no sense.

@ Emy Yes, it's sad and a shame that we can not do anything without their help. it's called neo colonialism. To refer to christianity as indeed slavery is ridiculous. Yes, Nigerians are overly religious to a default but people still hold on to morals and values that they believe in. Yes, I don't support homosexuality lifestyle. Does that make me out to be a villain or acting like I'm perfect? No, I'm not perfect. If that's what the world see as bad then let it be. I will not compromise my beliefs so I can appear more open to others. Sin is sin, agreed.

The attraction of same sex is something that has been universally proven to be abnormal, so it's not solely about religion. It's been scientifically, biologically proven to be abnormal. Other religions are against it so why are christians attacked the most for going against it. No sin is greater but the attraction between a woman and a man is normal. It becomes wrong when it's done outside of a marriage from a biblical point of view. People stop pushing abnormal things that will never be normal from every aspect. Just like how some people are trying to push beastiality, STOP THE FOOLISHNESS.

Oh, I get it. Christianity is the most hated religion in the world because Christ himself was the most hated and still the most hated in the world. No matter, how people want to put man made human standards to be the norm, there is God's standards vs human standards, there is a truth that everyone goes by.

When certain countries go against laws benefiting gays, let's take china or saudi Arabia for example, everybody respect their beliefs and their opinion. But, when Africans go against it, we are called animals and being backward by our own people and Whites because of that? And some blacks are stupid enough to equate racism/discrimination because of skin color that you can't change, whereas being gay is a choice. Seriously, black folks are one lost group of people, wake up.

Mr Branson is entitled to his opinion. No matter who speaks in support of it, whether celebrities speak for it, and the whole world is in full support, it's still doesn't take the truth away from the truth. It's called Ad populum.

We are so quick to pick up sticks and stones and like all mob actions a lot on innocent by-standers get hurt

I doubt if many of the bloggers making comments here have read the bill passed by the senate. If there is a law banning same-sex marriages, it should be well thought out and fair (just) like any other laws governing human interactions.

Knowing our legislators, the bill will have scant thought put into it and will simply criminalize in a broad brush manner and that is part of the danger....you can't cure an evil with another evil.

The law, when passed will make "Aiding and abetting" a crime punishable by a jail term. Soon all you bloggers (ala Linda et al)who publish gay related news on your sites will be charged by the famous Nigerian Police for aiding and abetting.....hmmm, I can just imagine the day

Always be wary of laws made my men, they are always warped to suit all manner of selfish motives.....it is more important to know and live according to..God's Laws

Ultimately we should not be attempting to address the outward effects that are visible (homosexuality) by vilifying those who are affected.

Instead people should seek true knowledge so that they can get an explanation of the origins and basis of homo-sexuality. When we have true knowledge, the only volition that would well up in true human beings would be to help rather than to harm.....FIRST THINGS FIRST.

For this man to even interfere in promoting moral decadence in a place struggling to see God's face once again, is a call on Tsunami!
This call is not only to the people in the British made evil called Nigeria, to all Black people all over the world that still have regard for God and his commandment.
BOYCOTT VIRGIN AND ANYTHING THAT HAS TO DO WITH IT,
That way he will quickly feel that power of the people that still fear God!
The West is simply dry in moral, they experiment with anything in the name of freedom to sex. Animal prostitute of any kind is all over. So in the quest to fill the huge vacuum they have, they turn to Sodom and Gomorrah to mock God. Not only that they now want Africans/black people to go down with them.
BRANSON WE ARE AFRICANS! WE HAVE TABOOS AND ABOMINATION. MAN + MAN OR WOMAN + WOMAN, WILL NEVER MAKE A BABY/REPRODUCE, SO WHY NOT HELP THEM WITH PSYCHIATRICS?

Already by this comments this man according to this law is already 'GUILTY' of aiding and abetting 'Gay/Lesbians'.
When will he be arrested to show example that that law is working???

Phreak said...

Death to sinners. Sin is sin. No sin is greater than another. Hang anyone who sins. 

To create a different law to penalise gay people is discrimination and Human Rights violation. We are equal before God and before the law. 

I speak the Truth.

I'm not for or against gay or non gay people. I don't like gay people. I don't like straight people. I don't like bi-sexual people. I don't like multi-sexual people. I don't like Christians, Muslims, Hindus, Budhists or pagans. I don't discriminate; I hate everybody, equally. 

I have spoken.

Lol Kenyababe last time I checked homosexuality was also illegal in Kenya and majority of Kenyans technically frown on gay acts so please don't throw stones in a glass house.

Bullied student tickled pink said...

Anti gay law is pro gay bully law. Anti-gay law is unlawful. Stop it. Don't criminalise people for their sexuality. It is wrong.

Bullied student tickled pink by schoolmates' T-shirt campaign.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/nova-scotia/story/2007/09/18/pink-tshirts-students.html

I Have A Dream said...

Jailing people for being gay is like white people jailing black people for being black.

Jailing people for being gay is like gay people jailing us for being straight.

Let freedom reign in Nigeria.
Let freedom reign in Africa.
Let freedom reign in the whole world.

I have a dream that everyone will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by their sexuality, but by the content of their character.

Human Rights said...

And the Universal Declaration of Human Rights: All human beings are born free and equal in dignity and rights. 

@@@@@@

Rights are not conferred by government; they are the birthright of all people. It does not matter what country we live in, who our leaders are, or even who we are. Because we are human, we therefore have rights. And because we have rights, governments are bound to protect them.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/mobileweb/2011/12/06/hillary-clinton-gay-rights-speech-geneva_n_1132392.html

Shadaybrity said...

Nigerians are being referred to as backward,hypocrites,animals because we are anti-gay,who cares?!1 Tim4:10.Let them call us idiots,we Christians know better!1 Tim4:1

Mr Virgin,abi na gay virgin I go call u. Just stfu n keep enjoyin ur riches whilst u still can
For d rest of u talking shit here
D bill has been passed. Deal wit it.
For those cursing Naija n saying they're glad they're not from Naija. We know ur type. U dream n wish u were Naija but we won't have u! Not even in ur next life,or d next,or even de next. *Kiss my creme ass*

Thank u Richard............but We are Ok with our Godly believe.........dot push us to hell.......go to hell alone........OHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.....fool........Richard.......satan ....right hand gay..Go fuck satan.........oloshi

Smama said...

I am not so certain RB will get to read most of these comments that put down his opinion about gay rights.

The energy we've got to attack RB and others-could we channel it elsewhere-lets not digress from the real issues plaguing Nigeria.

When a huge chunk of us are employed, have an improved living standards, appreciated and appropriate security-then let's discuss gay people cos then we would be so comfortable, we would need more to engage in-hierachy of human needs-sex and sexuality is not the boTtom of that pyramid-its food, shelter, water, security, survival!

Till then! Leave gay people! We'll either let them be or not bt till then leave them!

"At anonymous 10:23... Sin is sin and most of the sins in the bible are criminalised in most States including Nigeria. Be it murder, theft, incest, etc. So that we have decided to criminalise another sin means we are progressing towards covering everything. In any case, the law cannot be used to curb every immorality, either because it's nature is vague, there is no majority consensus on its immoral nature A good example is indecent dressing which the legislators tried but failed to legislate upon.

You mention religion, someone once said that being gay is not a sin in the same way we lie knowing fully well that lying is wrong. The person said that it is going against the very nature of God by calling him a liar and saying that He was wrong when he instituted marriage. Remember scripture says for this reason shall a man leave his parents and cling to his wife...not a partner!

Your argument on not casting the first stone is flawed. Of course as christians we are not to judge each other but that doesn't mean we should condone sin. Plus the legislators are leaders and since you're been religious, I'll remind you that the bible does admonish that we respect the laws of the land as all authority come from above. The only exception is when the law contravenes the will of God as was the case with Daniel, and co.

Of course God created and loves us all but he cannot stand sin and anyone who decides to turn his back completely on God and continue in sin will be forsaken. Indeed even His son was not spared, when on the cross he bore the sins of us all. Indeed, it has been said that homosexuality is from a demonic spirit, in that case I would like to add that while Jesus ate with the tax collectors, he rebuked the evil spirit in the demoniac. He did not sit down and have a nice long chat with the individual until he was saved. Do you think Mary Magadalene would have been accepted as a disciple if she had continued in her sin?

You're right! Our cultures in Nigeria include or used to include very sick practices. But they also include very great aspects such as strong family bonds which is the reason we do not have old people's home springing all over the place as in the west; respect for our elders and a great sense of community. Therefore, culture in it's self is not a bad thing, that we have done away with some of it's bad aspect does not automatically mean we should do away with it entirely.

Finally, your boko haram point is just confusing. Our legislators represent us. Us being the majority, that's why it's important to vote. By voting we have given them legitimacy to act on our behalf. Indeed the fact that only very few oppose the law, with many of this few not opposing the law per se but challenging the sentence as too high, there is enough evidence that it is a law that is backed by the people.

Conclusion: I see no valid arguments in your comment. I understand and share to some extent the sentiments of those that argue that timing might be wrong but at least they implicitly agree the law is a good thing. It should be noted that we cannot wait for all the serious problems in Nigeria to be solved first before we get to these 'sideline' issues. The truth is we'll never get to them as problems spring up daily, legislators have to work as issues arise. Believe it or not homosexuality is becoming a menace and so is rape and that's why we must also celebrate the new victims hotline as a step in the right direction...

And on this note I rest my case #wandecoal. Let's hope this is posted and that people can be bothered to read the epistle. I really want feedback. Who knows my points might be fatally flawed. Now waiting to learn from you all."

U'VE SAID IT ALL!

Linda, the way you dey support gay people and promote lesbian practices in your blog is suspicious. You sure say you no be one? It is really really apparent that you are a lesbian!!!

Girl living in 2011 said...

you all should be ashamed of yourselves! you have no right to judge a fellow human being! sin is sin. There is no difference between a gay person and a liar and i can comfortably say you are all liars in your respected ways!

I am not gay neither do i support it however, if that's the way the cookie crumbles for some who the hell are you judge?

we live in a world of rapid growth and differences in cultural, sociological and religions. don't be ignorant. if you are not racist don't be homophobic either.

this is what happens when no one thinks for themselves and merely accepts every norm they were socialised into. I would very much like to believe you all are not educated and if you are well shame on you!

put yourself in a situation where you were being judged on the colour of your skin.... it would never be condoned so why the hell would you condone discriminating against people of 'different' (note not strange) sexual orientations.

Also i want you to understand that the mere reason why the members of the senate are against this is only because they don't want to be stigmatised as being gay! its all part of the Nigerian mentality!

please rethink some of your statements and think for yourselves!

Hater is back!! said...

Please remind me again: IN WHAT WAY HAS THIS GUY CONTRIBUTED TO THE DEVELOPMENT OF OUR COUNTRY THAN BLEEDING US MORE FOR THEIR OWN SERVICES HUH?

And as for thus applauding him, you guys are like people drowning who would gladly grasp at anything to save yourselves!

I AM ANTI-GAY AND PROUD TO SAY IT OUT!